Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to drink?

• 11-05-2007 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭

So ever since I turned 18 (2 years ago) I've been a cider man. It's all I really drink if I'm going out to the pub. I occasionaly drink other things, tequila and JD & Coke being the main culprits, but usually it's always the Bulmers.

Last night I went to a mates house for a few cans, so I bought Bulmers and just wasn't feeling it at all. Didn't taste good anymore, so I'm at a loss as to what to drink! (Not that I have to drink, but I enjoy it the odd time) The beers I've drunk I've severely disliked, Bud, Heineken and Miller all left a horrible after taste in my mouth so I wouldn't wanna be drinking those.

So what else is out there, that can be gotten easily enough in most pubs? Preferably something sweet.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Koperburg.

Pear or apple or mixed fruit cider. its very sweet, and ive found when i get sick of bulmers, and go on this for a while, it makes bulmers taste better when i do go back to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭olaola

Koppaberg is nice.

Have you tried Smithwicks? I quite like its mellow flavour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭guildofevil

You could try some Belgian beers. Some of them are quite sweet. Gribergen is a good example of a sweet blonde beer. Leffe Bruin, Chimay red, or many of the other dark Belgians have a malty sweetness to them too. Look out for Delirium Tremors and Delirium Nocturnum. They have funky labels with very strong relativity sweet beer in the bottle.

Now that I think of it, if you see Maximator you should try it. It is a German bock bier, with a very nice melanoidin malty sweetness. Mmmm.

Wheat beers also tend to be on the sweet side, so why not try Hoegaarden, Paulaner, or Schoefferhofer, all of which have a fruity sweetness. Erdinger is more neutral, while Franziskaner has certain phenolic bitterness you probably wouldn't like.

If you want to go the whole hog with sweet drinks there are also fruit beers. The Porterhouse are doing Fruli on tap at the moment and you can get a range of other fruit beers there, or in many offies around the place. Good ones are Mongozo Banana beer, Kriek Boon (a cherry lambic) or any of the Floris range of beers. Be warned though, some of these are VERRY sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Aye saw Kopperburg in the offo last night and almost bought it. Might give it a bash next time.

guildofevil, some of those sound good but they're hardly gonna be available in pubs and such are they?

EDIT: Yeah I've tried Smithwicks, not my cup of tea either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭happy_acid_face

I recently changed a pure cider drinker (a friend of mine) to beer over the last couple of weeks, he still drinks cider from time to time but thanks me for introducing him to a world he was missing. I'll give you a few sweet beers

I'm going to give a few picks because alot of people forget names but remember pictures...

this may annoy people so i'll keep the picks to as minimum as i can...

hoegaarden.jpg
    Hoegaarden. Try with a peice of lemon. Lots of different tastes such as cinimon.

Schofferhofer_Hefeweizen_L.jpg
    Schofferhoffer. A nice fruity introduction to german heffe-weissbeir. Also can be tried with a bit of lemon if you feel like it.

If you are planing on trying something different out and about look for Erdinger.
    ERDINGER.jpg
    Another German heffe-weissbeir but this one is alot more widely known and easier to find.

westmalle-blonde-triple.jpg
    Westmalle Tripel. Very strong, but still keeping to the sweet fruit style. Definatly worth a try!

If you're going to buy in the off licence ask for their help, they should be able to advise in the direction in what you're looking for. Also, If you do buy a different drink and you don't like the first sip, keep with it. don't dismiss it keep at it and your taste buds will adjust. It will get easier and nicer to drink as you drink it!

If you're heading out, and live in dublin, try going to somewhere like The porterhouse or Pravda. Again, tell them what you're looking for let them advise you or if the don't ask for a wheat beer. You'll like it!

Sorry for the long post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Personally speaking if you aren't liking beer too much yet I'd keep away from the Belgian beers because they often have a very strong flavor that will be appreciated by fans but is often an acquired taste. Also going on the beers you've tasted, you seem to have been taken in by all the flashy marketing (not your fault, happened me when I was younger ;) ). The fact is many of the more commerical beers are weak, and bland, so that they can appeal to the largest number of people. Start by looking for some continental beers, or the bottled cabinet in the pub or offy. Both should have a good selection at this stage. Have a look at whats on offer and try some of the stuff you can't pronounce. At the minute I've taken to ale quiet a bit, so its smithwicks in the pub and occaisonally macardles at home (don't get to drink too much these days). Best thing to do really is just try new drinks until you find something you like.

Not so much fallen for flashy marketing as having mates buy me what they drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Good ones are Mongozo Banana beer
    *shudders at the memory of how sweet it was* Very weird beer. Enjoyed Fruli though when I used to drink it in London. Was big in Belgo and most funky pubs there a couple of years ago. It's strawberry flavoured for anybody who hasn't had the pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Jesus, dont torture yourself with tequila. The hard mans drink :rolleyes: people having to use salt, and acid to mask the horrendous taste.
    (I know some tequila lovers will complain but even they must admit that a decent tequila is harder to get in pubs that a reasonably priced mixer;) )

If you like sweet drinks try some decent liquers, grand marnier, cointreau, absolut citron, - all with ice, or soda, or at worst white lemonade, but dont kill them with coke. If you like your coke try some rum, 3 year old havanna club, captain morgans spiced rum, mount gay (when its not your round to ask;) )

jdivision wrote:
    *shudders at the memory of how sweet it was* Very weird beer.

Yeah, a lot of those fruit beers are a bit too sweet for me too. The recommendations I gave for fruit beers come from my better half's tasting experiences.

Slurms, I think your best bet is to try a wheat beer.

They have nice fruity flavours, thanks to the yeast used and they never have much in the way if bittering hops. A lot of people are drinking them now, so you can get at least one in most pubs or off-licences.

I have one brewing myself at the moment. Wheat beers are great summer beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Slurms wrote:
    Not so much fallen for flashy marketing as having mates buy me what they drink.

Ah I see, well that explains it. I reckon you and some friends should go to the offy, buy about ten bottles each of different beers, preferably each one shall be from a different country, then sit down and have a good tasting session!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Ballyman

Your taste buds have been destroyed by Bulmers. I was in the same boat a few years back! Alcohol should NOT be sweet.

However, all is not lost. You will find that you despise "beer" at the moment until your system clears itself of sweetness that Bulmers has left you with.

Keep at the beers. Slowly you will get a liking for them and then a love!! Bud, Miller etc. are not beer but yellow piss so steer clear of them. A favourite of mine is Peroni, an Italian beer or Budvar, a czech beer. Both of these can be got in most off licences.

When you have fallen in love with these, and you will, you will then be able to subject yourself to that piss from the states if you are stuck for something to drink in bars that havent got other beer. Heineken (bottled) is the only one that actually tastes like beer so id advise this when this occasion occurs.

If you stick with the bulmers then youre in for a tough road of heartburn in a few years time my friend!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

TBH, try Erdinger Crystal with a slice of lemon. Lighter than the Weissbeer but still damn nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

feylya wrote:
    TBH, try Erdinger Crystal with a slice of lemon. Lighter than the Weissbeer but still damn nice.
    The "silver" clear erdinger is also a weissbeer, just without the yeast (beige) which I presume is the one you meant to say it is lighter than.

Just beware and never get the "blue erdinger" which is alcohol free and many barmen are ignorant of this.

feylya wrote:
    TBH, try Erdinger Crystal with a slice of lemon.

Blaspheme! Never, ever put lemon in a weissbier! Never!

The oils in the rind destroy the head and the flavour of the lemon interferes with the wonderful, complex, naturally fruity, flavour of the beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Ballyman speaks some truth there , your taste buds are not attuned to ' dry ' drinks yet.

Wean yourself off , maybe a lager top ( lager with a splash of lemonade ) ( I know the beer people will go NOOOO at this but it's what younger people were raised on in my time :) ).

We also used to drink Newcastle Brown Ale , which is somewhat sweeter than other beers . If you do try that , get the bottle and a HALF PINT GLASS , and keep topping it up.

Davidth88 wrote:
    Wean yourself off , maybe a lager top ( lager with a splash of lemonade ) ( I know the beer people will go NOOOO at this but it's what younger people were raised on in my time :) ).

:(

Weeping openly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I know , I know .......................

But as a weaning drink ..............and you will get it here easily enough.

Just trying to be helpful to the OP , not trying to blind with science :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Ballyman

Davidth88 wrote:
    Ballyman speaks some truth there , your taste buds are not attuned to ' dry ' drinks yet.

Spot on man. This is what I did. Got woeful abuse from the lads about drinking a pussies drink though but after the first night out you couldn't care less.

GF is now the same. Trying to wean herself off that alcopop ****e and back to beer.

Keep at it lad. You will succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Im having similar problems as the original poster, only this times its with the so-called piss drinks, bud, miller fosters etc. Its got to a stage that thats all i will drink. Bulmers is nice too but not in a decent quantity imho. Been trying guinness lately and just cant get into it, I find it disgusting to be honest, although I would like to be able to drink it. As I would the tougher, stronger beer brands from belgium etc. Just wondering how I get out of the bud/miller stage to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Guinness is an 'acquired' taste. Stick at it, you'll get there.:)

As for the other beers, why not try the new-ish Becks Vier. It has a nice taste, and doesn't seem to be as bad as the likes of Miller and Bud.

Having said that, plenty of off licences are stocking a great range of European beers, some of the Czech and Polish beers are great. They are fairly inexpensive aswell, buy a few different bottles and sample.

Go into any of the Porterhouses and try a few of the beers they offer from different parts of the world, if you live in Dublin.

Also, The Czech Inn, opposite the Turks head has some quality beers on tap.

rag2gar wrote:
    Im having similar problems as the original poster, only this times its with the so-called piss drinks, bud, miller fosters etc. Its got to a stage that thats all i will drink. Bulmers is nice too but not in a decent quantity imho. Been trying guinness lately and just cant get into it, I find it disgusting to be honest, although I would like to be able to drink it. As I would the tougher, stronger beer brands from belgium etc. Just wondering how I get out of the bud/miller stage to be honest

As said before, Stick with it! Buy a pint, not like it, then buy another! The second is always easier. I was originally the same! Always wanted a guinness but never liked the taste... Now i love it and drink possibly way too much :p

If it still doesn't sit try a polish like Tyskie, Lech or Zywiec (Pronounced Ju-ve-ett). All very tasty, found in most off licences and bars these days and something you'll find easy move to from the run of the mill lagers.

Also try a Heffe-Weissbier Like Erdinger, Schofferhoffer or Franziskaner. Alot more in your face flavours (bananna and corriander to name a two) than a lager. It's made with wheat and will be quite cloudy. I'm sure you'll enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I have always drunk beers like Bud, Heineken and lately strong German beers like Chimey when I can:).(im 18 btw)
    I didnt start on anything else and I find I generally like the taste of beer but I
    cannot "get" into Bulmers at all, I just cant stand the stuff.
    I am not a big fan of spirits either, as my friends got me to drink the "kiddies"
    drinks like WKD, Smirnoff ice etc which repulse me.

Drink beer more than cider as its better to drink something "dry" and not as easy to drink as the "easy down" alcopops for example which will leave you drunk faster and will eventually make you sick faster relative to beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

seansouth wrote:
    Guinness is an 'acquired' taste. Stick at it, you'll get there.:)

Not always true, i've never been able to acquire a taste for Guinness, maybe its because I drink Smithwicks and have done for years....but everytime i try a Guinness i feel sick and the second pint always makes it worse!

In reply to the OP, Kopperberg Pear Cider might be the change you need....also I found the Chinese beers i've tasted (Tiger and Tsing Tao) are a bit more mellow than the "regular" beers in Pubs (Heineken, Carlsberg, Miller etc)....

Bit of an update:

Was out in Messrs yesterday (celebrating exams being over) and started my experimentation. Had some wheat-bear. Wasn't too impressed, then I had a lager which was actually quite nice. They were both Messrs own brews so I'm not gonna give up on Wheat beer. Next I saw a bottle of Koperberg and got that, it's delicious. Really nice taste so I'm seeing myself stick to that for a bit, but like I said I'm still gonna try some different wheat beers.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Yeah, keep tasting, as someone said the Chimay Red is one of my fav's. Also you could give tyskie a go too, it's Polish I think. There's loads of variety in most bars these days so stick at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Slurms wrote:
    Bit of an update:

Was out in Messrs yesterday (celebrating exams being over) and started my experimentation.
    Fair play!

Messrs is a good place, most of their in house beers are good anyway.

As are the Porterhouse in house beers. If you like a 'cheesy music' night out, try The Porterhouse that used to be Judge Roy Beans at the end of Grafton Street, taste some great beers in there.
    Also you could give tyskie a go too, it's Polish I think.
    Yes, I like Tyskie aswell. It is indeed Polish :)

Slurms wrote:
    Bit of an update:

Was out in Messrs yesterday (celebrating exams being over) and started my experimentation. Had some wheat-bear. Wasn't too impressed, then I had a lager which was actually quite nice. They were both Messrs own brews so I'm not gonna give up on Wheat beer. Next I saw a bottle of Koperberg and got that, it's delicious. Really nice taste so I'm seeing myself stick to that for a bit, but like I said I'm still gonna try some different wheat beers.

Good to see you going at it! Don't let the Messer's "Wiess" turn you off. I'm not a fan of it either. It doesn't have the fruity edge that is charactrised in a German Hefe-Weissbier. Not a great representation of the style... Keep up the good work!

Going to a 21st on Saturday. I'm gonna grab some Schoefferhofer in the off license and drink that there. I'll report back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Try some Molings Red Ale for experimenting purposes.

If you like Caramel chocolate, it has the taste of caramel and is indeed quite drinkable :)

Has anyone tried Rekorderlig ciders? Very good stuff.