Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls that are possessive of their male friends

• 11-05-2007 11:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭

Have you ever met someone like this? I know a few and I hate them. They are "really close" to their male friends and get rattled when other girls talk to them. They slag off other girls' appearance and make a big deal out of how close they are to their male friends etc. They seem to think the lad is really cool and accuse other girls of fancying the male friends, saying things like "I'm his best buddy and he wouldn't go near you" etc. They slag you off in front of the male friend and generally have a superior attitude. It's like they feel threatened?

And they are always fat.

Sorry it's just I am having difficulty with one of these types of girls AGAIN and am sick of being constantly glared at when I talk to their male friends!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

It's not because they are really possesive.. It's because they fancy the ass of their male friends and are trying to keep any other girl away from him so he can eventually realise that the perfect girl has been beside him all along and they fall in love and live happily ever after.

(It rarely happens, but that's what's going on in their little heads)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

It's not because they are really possesive.. It's because they fancy the ass of their male friends and are trying to keep any other girl away from him so he can eventually realise that the perfect girl has been beside him all along and they fall in love and live happily ever after.
    In my experience this is often true.

I've also seen it in a more protective fashion, but the criteria involved in being "good enough" for the friend are generally based more on the gal's tastes, than the poor unfortunate guy's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

And one of the male friends in question has told me he likes me as well. These girls always seem like realy nice, bubbly girls, and then as soon as the male friend is around they get their claws out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

Nala wrote:

And they are always fat.
    LOL! Brilliant, I'd agree thought that they most likely have a crush on their friend and only hate you coz your getting all their attention. Ignore them, you'll be the bigger person at the end of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Do these girls ever have a boyfriend?

I know one just like you've described and I reckon she's been hoping for the last two years plus that he'll come to see her as more than a friend. She has moulded herself into the perfect mate for him....likes everything he does, feeds his ego all she can, roars at matches, drinks as much as he does, is always available for any outing.....So yeah, jealous and threatened by any attention/chat between her "best bud" and another girl (especially a half-decent looking one).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Thank christ I was born a guy, couldn't deal with all that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

I'm in that position now, my friends GF is like that i think everyone realises she fancies me apart from her boyfriend!! No girl is ever good enough for me apart from her!

They are ALWAYS fat!!!! Always!!!!!!

Oh yeah and she's always mad into the same films etc as him.

No they never have boyfriends, they are always the type that never score but are always going on about how much hotter they are than you. Even though you score way more than them.

(I appreciate that some girls score more than others for different reasons, e.g. some girls are easier when they're drunk, but at the end of the day there is always a correlation between looks and pulling ability!!!)

Oh, and they usually are obsessed with going on about how their boobs are bigger than yours and all the lads love them,, and you're just dying to tell them their boobs are bigger than yours because the rest of them is also bigger than you. They are the type that make more of a deal out of their own boobs than any lad would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Nala wrote:
    Oh, and they usually are obsessed with going on about how their boobs are bigger than yours and all the lads love them,, and you're just dying to tell them their boobs are bigger than yours because the rest of them is also bigger than you. They are the type that make more of a deal out of their own boobs than any lad would.

Yep, I know a girl (different girl), who went on and on in the pub on a saturday night about the new underwear she had just bought that day. "It's a wonderbra, can you tell?", "I'm bigger than most girls so they didn't even have one on display, I had to ask the girl to get it". The guys would crack a few jokes then leave it but she'd keep bringing it up. I think she was the only one who didn't realise wonderbras are meant for smaller boobs, it didn't fit her, and all it did for her was give her four boobs! :eek: Next week she'd talk about her new thongs and how comfy and sexy they were, then the following week back to bras....

Quite sad really.

Yeah they are always going on about all these lads they know that fancy them but you never actually see anyone being interested in them!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Nala wrote:
    They are the type that make more of a deal out of their own boobs than any lad would.
    I seriously doubt that.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

yip, i have a male friend (we are only friends, nothing happening there at all) who's has another "girlfriend" who has to mark her territory when i am around in an ever so slight way, that only another girl would pick up on!!! you have to laugh about it though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Seems as how we now have BG&RH maybe we should have some forum where shielas can whine and bitch about other shielas. Only seems fair. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Nala wrote:
    Have you ever met someone like this? I know a few and I hate them. They are "really close" to their male friends and get rattled when other girls talk to them. They slag off other girls' appearance and make a big deal out of how close they are to their male friends etc. They seem to think the lad is really cool and accuse other girls of fancying the male friends, saying things like "I'm his best buddy and he wouldn't go near you" etc. They slag you off in front of the male friend and generally have a superior attitude. It's like they feel threatened?

And they are always fat.

Sorry it's just I am having difficulty with one of these types of girls AGAIN and am sick of being constantly glared at when I talk to their male friends!!!

You perfectly described a friend of mine. Very well written!

They always make a big deal out of "we are just friends, i love him as a friend" and out of "why would he be bothered with you". if you are so confident that he wouldn't be bothered with me then why are you constantly trying to make me look bad in front of him???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Nala wrote:
    And they are always fat.

LOL :D:D

Cant say Ive seen it all that much, but then me and my friends are too shallow to hang areound with obese women ;) It reminds me slightly of birds who, during even a minor "crisis" seem to take charge and tell everyone else to get away. Remember once I was waiting outside (poxy) Redz for my mate and his bird to arrive. She was returning home to the US and so it was kind of her leaving do. Anyway, my mate had been drinking since four, he got out of the taxi litreally barely able to stand. He wasnt allowed in, me and the lads ripped the piss a bit, talked to him and some fat yoke he knows decided to take charge and tell us to feck off. I bluntly told her hes been my friend for the past 15 years and we have been in alot worse states than this and lived to tell the tale and that she had some balls telling me when I could and couldnt talk to my mate. Arseholes the lot of em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I have a few close boy mates and I have to say I have never behaved like this. I’m the opposite if anything. I try and get girls to come over and talk to them. It might be because I’m in a relationship myself but I couldn’t imagine anyone behaving like that. Maybe its younger girls that do this and not oldies like me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Nala wrote:
    And they are always fat.
    sonners wrote:
    you'll be the bigger person at the end of it.

Tut Tut .... You could've chosen your words a bit better sonners :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

irishbird wrote:
    yip, i have a male friend (we are only friends, nothing happening there at all) who's has another "girlfriend" who has to mark her territory when i am around in an ever so slight way, that only another girl would pick up on!!! you have to laugh about it though:D
    Please please tell me this way that the guys wouldnt pick up on. It sounds interestin!!!

I have a good female friend and she would be the exact opposite if im single she spends half her time sizing up girls for me!!! And in case she ever reads this she's also not fat:D

Bambi wrote:
    Seems as how we now have BG&RH maybe we should have some forum where shielas can whine and bitch about other shielas. Only seems fair. :)
    True True thats an idea right there
    Theres way too much man on this forums sometimes

I've seen this before I've probably done it before too
    Its probably a territory thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

cooperguy wrote:
    Please please tell me this way that the guys wouldnt pick up on. It sounds interestin!!!

Swap "not pick up on" for "not care about" :)

Thing i hate about these girls is that they pick on you for something that isn't your fault- I mean I don't force-feed the pies into them!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nala wrote:

And they are always fat.

*Hands Nala the big "general sweeping statement" brush* :D
    Lollers at thread :D

Biko i am guessing you are a boy, in which case, you may not have noticed such girls. But they do exist!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

Nala wrote:

No they never have boyfriends, they are always the type that never score but are always going on about how much hotter they are than you. Even though you score way more than them.

(I appreciate that some girls score more than others for different reasons, e.g. some girls are easier when they're drunk, but at the end of the day there is always a correlation between looks and pulling ability!!!)

You sound just as bad as this girl tbh....
    Get a life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭ruprect

Nala wrote:
    Oh, and they usually are obsessed with going on about how their boobs are bigger than yours and all the lads love them,, and you're just dying to tell them their boobs are bigger than yours because the rest of them is also bigger than you.
    Known in the trade as "Default Tits", most blokes that fat would have a bigger pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

Nala wrote:
    Biko i am guessing you are a boy, in which case, you may not have noticed such girls. But they do exist!!!
    Yes they do exist - but you also have the girls who fancy your male mate, and decide the best way to get to him is to suddenly become very pally with you :rolleyes:
    So they act all friendly but you are able to see through this fakeness :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

cAr0l wrote:
    Yes they do exist - but you also have the girls who fancy your male mate, and decide the best way to get to him is to suddenly become very pally with you :rolleyes:
    So they act all friendly but you are able to see through this fakeness :p

Ah, the opposite of cockblocking then. I wonder if there's a name for that yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

If these sort of women are such blatant eejits, why do lads bother hanging around with them anyways? They don't sound like much craic to me.

mickey mate?

cum chum?

endless possibilites...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Quote:
    Originally Posted by cAr0l
    Yes they do exist - but you also have the girls who fancy your male mate, and decide the best way to get to him is to suddenly become very pally with you
    So they act all friendly but you are able to see through this fakeness

cockFLOCKING it can be called nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Blockcocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The obvious choice would be a "cúnt shunt". (I thought I had coined the phrase there just now but it appears Urbandictionary has it too. Damn I feel like Gottfried Leibniz!).

Anyway sounds to me like fatty was just looking out for her mate there. You sound like a total prat Nala.

Pigman II wrote:
    Anyway sounds to me like fatty was just looking out for her mate there. You sound like a total prat Nala.

Cheers! She isn't innocently looking out for her mate. If she was she would be happy for him to have other mates besides her!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Nala wrote:

And they are always fat.

my best friend is a guy,but always try to be really nice to the girls he talks to or likes,and no I'm not fat I'm a size 8-10,and as for the being in love with him i have a bf of over 2 years:)so yes girls with guy best friends can be nice sometimes lol

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Bambi wrote:
    Shieladome? Fangs and claws in a cage? I can ref!

meh...I dont care what its called once all bitchy wimmens issues can be banished to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Nala wrote:

while ur first post made SOME sense, now you just sound bitter & jealous of her relationship with whoever it is.

Give men SOME credit, im sure theyre able to identify whether they like a girl or not. so if he doesnt like you, get over it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

(It rarely happens, but that's what's going on in their little heads)

yup of its an ex they are mates with and still a bit touchy bout seeing him smoochin another lass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I was with you till the fat bit

sar84 wrote:
    if he doesnt like you, get over it.

He does, and that's what annoys her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Nala wrote:
    He does, and that's what annoys her!

is he not man enough to go for it with you if he really likes you???