Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hungover in work!

• 10-05-2007 10:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

What do people do to disguise the fact theyre hungover in work? Curious cos where i work we've the same amount of disabled bathrooms than non-disabled ones on each floor...theyre massive so have often "gone on a message" for an hour, but secretly had a little kip!!! What does everyone else do to get through the hazy 8 hours? And before anyone goes pc mad..we have had one disabled person in the building in 4 years!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I make a point of not going into work hungover. Just not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah I've only done it a few times and it was horrible. Work is bad enough, being hungover only adds to the misery! :D I try and avoid it, but sometimes ya just gotta soldier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Scientist...thank god...gettin a bit worried there that nobody gets p*ssed durin da week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

I usually end up getting into work in the still pissed stage, the first few hours are a mix of thinking im doing what i should and spells of trying to fight the sleep (you know the one when your eyes are closing but you try to keep them open, but you can't!!). Once i make it passed not falling asleep the hunger will kick in, usually followed by a breakfast roll, or at the very least a pack of rashers. During the roll i will then recollect on the first few hours, thinking did i do x or y?? Then frantically checking, and realising i did but cant for the life of me remeber doing it.

As for disguising it, there is no disguising it, fortunately i work in a place where there is most of the time me and one other person. Usually the first question i get asked is "Out last night??" followed by a an "ugh" sound and a half-nod. I've done the bathroom thing a couple of times, best thing to do is turn off the light ;) allows you to get into a more comfortable position as you dont have to cover your eyes. Recently enough though, i have had a double red-bull and vodka while out, then when i got home a good 3/4 pints of water before bed, and the next day i've been grand, in fact i believe i worked better than if i hadnt been out.

sure i'm getting pissed right now , a few mates and myself always get together on thurs

I always end up talking them out of going to the blacker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I dont hide it, I just suffer through and bitch about it all the time.

Being in work drunk is fun though, specially when ya get away with it... not like the last time!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Slurms wrote:
    Being in work drunk is fun though, specially when ya get away with it... not like the last time!
    You're not a Paris based royal chauffeur, are you?

Word to the wise, avoid the tunnels my friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yea you just got to suffer through, there's not much you can do once you get to work, you have to do damage control the night before or early morning. If ye people in offices think working with a hangover is bad try having to use a heavy duty petrol driven hoover to clean a car park outside a shop! Gawd that is painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

sure i'm getting pissed right now , a few mates and myself always get together on thurs

I always end up talking them out of going to the blacker :)

Noo way The Blacker...Northside Shoppin Centre Blacker...have had waaay too many work-hangover nites after there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

i usually get my hang overs after work... I test drink for a living! :D (nah i dont but imagine that!)

I would do my best to get off early or have an extended lunch break. Then i leg it to my car, drop 2 panadol, and sleep! I have a hot mug flask thing that keeps tea VERY hot for a good while, i fill that before i go to my car, then i drink it all on my way back to the office!

IMO The best cure for a hang over is getting a 1-2 pints of water down you before bed... "lucky you for being able to remember that". No, i leave the bottle there before bed! Take 2 panadol before sleep, set the alarm an hour early, take more panadol, go to work, pray you make it to the lunch time ritual! If you manage that, its clear sailing, and tbh, im fresh by the time i get off work - which is when it matters most!

Thats how i did it back in the day anways - i reserve drinking to special events these days ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

a heart attack roll in the morning and plenty of water and fruit as the day goes on, but really try to avoid it, I am a shift worker with the shifts 8-8 and its two dangerous driving to work when you know you still would be over the limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Robbo wrote:
    You're not a Paris based royal chauffeur, are you?

Word to the wise, avoid the tunnels my friend.
    Oh, too soon Robbo!

I'm lucky enough where I work we always go to breakfast at 9 and you can usually go on a message after that and really take the piss. The majority of people I work with usually leave just after lunch as well, which sounds like a good idea!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

3 words folks

Wake And Bake.

Used to have a bong in the car for the commute when I lived in Greystones.

tho I dont get away with that over here cos I'm management and have to lead by example. tho on the rare occasion that I do show up with a pounding Hangover I can usualy excuse meself from the yard and hide in my office, theres nothing like the sound of a sawmill to wake you up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

hungover is bad but if you drink until you have to leave to go to work thats where you know that its all gone horribly wrong.

Few years back working for a UK company here in dublin and didnt have paddys day or the day after off because they wouldnt give it (company closed down :) )

anyway drank from when i finished till 8 in the morn then went to work...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

when i come to the office with a red bull and fried egg butty everyone knows straight away, so there is no point in disguising it, and then i spend most of the day staring in to space - oh usually come in at 10am, go to the park between 12-2pm and go home at 4pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

irishbird wrote:
    oh usually come in at 10am, go to the park between 12-2pm and go home at 4pm

Where is this magical workplace you speak of?

I am absolutely wrecked here at the minute but that will usually subside around lunchtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Just arrived in work now. I've been told it's Friday so that's good

I was late :(
    and my head hurts and i feel like i've been eating sand

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

petes wrote:
    Where is this magical workplace you speak of?

well, you need some incentive to stay here!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

anniehoo wrote:
    What do people do to disguise the fact theyre hungover in work? Curious cos where i work we've the same amount of disabled bathrooms than non-disabled ones on each floor...theyre massive so have often "gone on a message" for an hour, but secretly had a little kip!!! What does everyone else do to get through the hazy 8 hours? And before anyone goes pc mad..we have had one disabled person in the building in 4 years!!

You've gone into the disabled toilet & slept for an hour? Theres something really wrong there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

LOL @ CSG going to the Blacker, I can understand from the perspective of the cheap drink but if it was full price there's not a chance I'd go in there.

Was in coppers last night myself, rather drunk and now really really tired............roll on tonight for more scoops :D SCOOPS!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

irishbird wrote:
    when i come to the office with a red bull and fried egg butty everyone knows straight away, so there is no point in disguising it, and then i spend most of the day staring in to space - oh usually come in at 10am, go to the park between 12-2pm and go home at 4pm

sounds like a plan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

seamus wrote:
    I'm the same. No drink on a school night for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

When in my early 20s, and a divil for going on the lash, i worked in the stores dept of a large production company. There were about 7 of us in the stores
    and it was cool to be hanging. There was very restricted access to the stores
    so it was cool to go up to the mezz level where we kept all the packaging stuff. Just make a bed out of big rolls of bubble wrap and sleep your little head away....
    Cant do it now tho, just takes me much longer to get over hangovers (mid 30s) altho was at a works do recently on a thursday night, up drinking til 5ish, in work at 9 with a head like Oliver Plunkett, not a very pleasant experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

seamus wrote:
    Same here. I am completely useless when I am hung over. I get nothing done, so best way to disguise it is to avoid it altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Kenny 5 wrote:
    LOL @ CSG going to the Blacker, I can understand from the perspective of the cheap drink but if it was full price there's not a chance I'd go in there.

Was in coppers last night myself, rather drunk and now really really tired............roll on tonight for more scoops :D SCOOPS!!!!!!!

LOL :D
    I used to go to Dhulaigh, and went to the blacker almost every day, but I haven't been back once since leaving the college.

Like you said, great for the cheap booze, but my God ,its some hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The worst hangover at work is when you go in still merry from the night before thinking everythings fine. Have lunch and then it kicks in.

Kenny 5 wrote:

I didn't end up going and I do always try and get out of it
    and yes 3 euro a drink on thursday when you live 2 min's away is tempting

Yes its a total dump but great fun is always had!
    petes wrote:
    The worst hangover at work is when you go in still merry from the night before thinking everythings fine. Have lunch and then it kicks in.
    This happened to me last saturday I was on call at 8 and by 2 I was feeling it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I didn't end up going and I do always try and get out of it
    and yes 3 euro a drink on thursday when you live 2 min's away is tempting

Yes its a total dump but great fun is always had!

I feel the same about McGowans of Churchtown.........well I did up until last night when we went there and realised it was closed due it being sold :rolleyes: DIME BAR!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Kenny 5 wrote:
    I feel the same about McGowans of Churchtown.........well I did up until last night when we went there and realised it was closed due it being sold :rolleyes: DIME BAR!!!!
    Yeah, you should have seen LAST Thursday!
    (Maybe it was the thursday before:o ....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

A friend of mine who drives a crash recovery truck said he saw a driver stuck in traffic on the Rock Road with a full sized bongola sparked-up between his legs.

Please say it was you he saw, as the propspect of two drivers driving around Dublin 'on the pipe' is a scary thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

red_ice wrote:
    Take 2 panadol before sleep

Bad idea. The combination of alcohol and paracetamol will beat the crap out of your liver, and you won't get any benefit from the painkiller anyway, being asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

3 words folks

Wake And Bake.

tho I dont get away with that over here cos I'm management and have to lead by example.

Driving around half pissed and stoned while mothers are bringing their kids to school eh? I hate managers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 redsauce

Hungvoer to bits all day today. Just sat staring at the computer screen all day barley blinking, drinking coffee and eating chocolate. Prayed to God no-one would ask me to do anything, and kept well clear of the boss. But the girl beside me is in the same boat so its kinda funny cos we're still a bit pissed! Breaks up the monotany of the week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

drink untill you don't care anymore! i did it once.. got away with it...