Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PA for free

• 09-05-2007 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭

If anyone has an old PA system they want taken off their hands for free i wouldnt mind it - my band is havin some sound issues practicing and we need something cos we cant hear ourselves!

there must be some generous person out there eh!

..maybe you've an old one taking up room and gathering dust and your thinking of throwing it out because it's an old old model and wont sell and is a bit finiky..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

I'm looking for a free 1959 Les Paul, mint condition. Some of you must have a few spares knocking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭James_sb

It's worth a shot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

James_sb wrote:
    If anyone has an old PA system they want taken off their hands for free i wouldnt mind it - my band is havin some sound issues practicing and we need something cos we cant hear ourselves!

there must be some generous person out there eh!

..maybe you've an old one taking up room and gathering dust and your thinking of throwing it out because it's an old old model and wont sell and is a bit finiky..

look at the prices PA systems are sold for on ebay
    http://musical-instruments.listings.ebay.ie/Pro-Audio-Equipment_PA-Systems_W0QQsacatZ47094QQsocmdZListingItemList

do you really think you are going to get one for free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 HeroinIsSo90's

look at the prices PA systems are sold for on ebay
    http://musical-instruments.listings.ebay.ie/Pro-Audio-Equipment_PA-Systems_W0QQsacatZ47094QQsocmdZListingItemList

do you really think you are going to get one for free?

Your talking 350 quid there. We're all a little broke you see.. I know it doesn't sound like much, but when you compare it to incomes... Well you get the idea.

No don't really expect to get anything for free, but it's worth a shot. You never know....

I'd have to buy a stand for that then and.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Cheapo PA's can be got for next to nothing these days so a rock band of 4 or 5 lads really have no excuse other than tight-arsedness for not chipping in €100 each or whatever. Treat it well and you'll get at least 50% of the cost back when you sell it on, meaning it'll only cost you around fifty blips for the time you have it. I'd say yiz spent more than than on beer.

Ah yeah, and you'd be right most the time I'm sure. There's 3 of us, and only one of us drinks... Actually that's the loud feckin drummer!

Maybe we should just kick him out.... do an acoustic act or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

Ah that's it..... blame the drummer!

What is it? Are you just jealous coz he can be heard and the rest of youse can't?!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭filament

Savman wrote:
    Cheapo PA's can be got for next to nothing these days so a rock band of 4 or 5 lads really have no excuse other than tight-arsedness for not chipping in €100 each or whatever. Treat it well and you'll get at least 50% of the cost back when you sell it on, meaning it'll only cost you around fifty blips for the time you have it. I'd say yiz spent more than than on beer.

either youv'e forgotten what it was like as a student or mammy never took the silver spoon out of yer gob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

well considering i had to practice with a bassist and a guitarest oon 15 watt amps today i think youll be alright
    if the drummer cant hear the music then either get bigger amps or put the amps behind the guitar

i do have a Pa lol but i couldnt bring it to school and we didnt want to take out the schools one, bunch of lazy cnuts we are!

i got the head of my Pa for free 5 channel 200 watts. dont give up lol

i got the speaker from an old set for 50 euro and the lad who sould it to me still has the other one but neither of us needed 2 since they are feckin huge
    but it does the damn job. you might get somthing cheap or free if your lucky, but i wouldnt bank on it i got this because it was just in storage and nopbody was using it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

also might be an idea for the drummer to invest in a set of mutes

filament wrote:
    either youv'e forgotten what it was like as a student or mammy never took the silver spoon out of yer gob
    Neither actually but thanks for your wise input Yoda :rolleyes:
    So students are hard up for cash, me heart bleeds. They can still afford beer mind you.

Also, where does the OP even state that he's a student? I've read back thru the thread and funnily enough the only person who even mentioned the word "student" was you. Go figure.

Sorry my telepathy skills are a bit rusty, I still shoulda known.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭filament

Savman wrote:
    Neither actually but thanks for your wise input Yoda :rolleyes:
    So students are hard up for cash, me heart bleeds. They can still afford beer mind you.

Also, where does the OP even state that he's a student? I've read back thru the thread and funnily enough the only person who even mentioned the word "student" was you. Go figure.

Sorry my telepathy skills are a bit rusty, I still shoulda known.:p
    thats right, because when you litter you're responce with smileys it gives you the moral high ground.

in other news, not all students can afford beer, I kknow I couldn't and most of my friends were in the same boat.

As for him saying he's not a student? Use some intuition, minimum wage is 350 a week so the only way he's no affording 100 euro is if he's homeless or notin full time employment. As 99% of people on these boards are like 15-25 it's safe to assume it's because he's a full time student

nearly forgot :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Can you guys stop fighting and get me my 1959 Les paul mint condition already? geez.

filament wrote:
    in other news, not all students can afford beer, I kknow I couldn't and most of my friends were in the same boat.
    Like I said, my heart bleeds for you and your poor geeky mates.
    As for him saying he's not a student? Use some intuition, minimum wage is 350 a week so the only way he's no affording 100 euro is if he's homeless or notin full time employment. As 99% of people on these boards are like 15-25 it's safe to assume it's because he's a full time student
    So it's safe to assume things about people you know nothing about? A bit like:
    Yeah I see a pattern here alright but unfortunately there's no smiley for it...

You're very defensive of this guy's free PA quest, you shouldn't let it bother you kid. If it does, there's always the PI forum. Either way, grow up ffs.

:D;):p:):rolleyes::o:eek::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Ah darn....

James_sb

You where doing so well, I was going to give you a free PA, top of the range and all....but then you just got nasty....

Ah well.

Sure if anyone has a free MusicMan'77 mapel neck I'd love it....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Begsy the first spare Steinway Model D.
    It HAS to be model D mind, no Model C malarky for me.

...please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

James_sb wrote:
    Ah yeah, and you'd be right most the time I'm sure. There's 3 of us, and only one of us drinks... Actually that's the loud feckin drummer!

Maybe we should just kick him out.... do an acoustic act or something..

Yas don't drink? Yas oughta be loaded. I can only imagine the setup I'd have if I didn't drink! And I'm a student living away from home - and no, I'm not doing Arts or one of dem joke 5 hours a week courses.

Next ya'll be saying you still live with your parents or somethin.

Summer's comin up - college finishes - get a fulltime job - problem solved. Unless your not actually a student, in which case why can't you afford 100 euro? What do you guys work at?

Yeah, ye's are right. I'm not in employment cos I'm a student. Paying rent, well I still haven't figured out how I'm doing that. I imagine when I get work this summer, it'll go on bills, food and rent, I hate being broke. Hopefully this whole education thing will land me a cushy job in the end...

Hey Weeder, the mutes might be a good idea, but we've said it to him. He doesn't take suggestion kindly....funny guy really.. I've heard of people being given old stuff that just wasn't being used, is very big and old, and likely wouldn't sell. Even something on it's last legs, with the speakers nearly blown would do us. (You should see the drum kit! Oh lord!) Yeah, like I said, i'm just putting it out there on the off-chance.. Ya never know..

weeder wrote:
    also might be an idea for the drummer to invest in a set of mutes

Christ! Who the f*ck let HIM in?!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

irishthump wrote:
    Christ! Who the f*ck let HIM in?!!!!

I guess there poor man must play a few times a week and have to listen to a loud drummer week in week out....You never know....maybe mutes are a kind of dream for some people!!!!;) Or hotrods!!!

I feel sorry for people like that, I really.

You know the ones I mean, the guys that need drums to come with a label saying - "Warning, these may be loud!"