Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A few friends smoking crack i think?

• 04-05-2007 7:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Well today at school one off my friend made a bong out of a coke bottle i thought i was just a joke but then he got out a piece of tin foil & put it over the top off it. Then he took out what i thought was a little stone & started shaving bits off of it. Two off my other friend knew what he was doing & I didn't. He got out a lighter & lit it & started puffing it threw it. After 10 Min's & it being passed around the three of them. The rest of us were just in shock. Its just when I got home today & saw that add where a woman's smoking at a wedding reception & all the black smoke going all over the room & I remembered earlier on with the bong. Its just know I worried that some off it has after going into my body & is know working its way threw my body & also got a throbbing headache after we went back to class & I still have it. Its just I worried that if i get randomly chosen for a drug test I might get done for smoking that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Probably just cannabis resin through a homemade bong. I wouldn't worry about it too much if I were you. That's not to say that I support your friends' actions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

IMHO I shouldn't worry. The dosage you would receive with such exposure would be tiny. Negligible TBH. If second hand smoke of any kind transferred that much of the drug then people who lived with tobacco smokers would start craving nicotine. Fact is they don't. The size of the dose if any will be leaving your body in short order. I suspect your mind playing tricks with the headache.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 -ego-

I was nealy climbing the walls with worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

That's probably why you have the headache, the worrying. Relax and don't get sucked into what they do, just leave them at their own things and don't dabble.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You haven't said what school it is, but if I was a parent looking to enrol my child in a school, I would certainly want to know if pupils were using drugs on the premises. Use will attract people who like to sell, and it won't just be hash they are selling.

I think (and I know this may not be popular) you should tell your Principal, even anonymously. You need not say who you saw doing anything, just let the school be on the look-out. It's your safety at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 -ego-

I should do the right thing & tell the principal or year head but they have been my friends since 2nd class & I know from past experiences that my year head (who is also my art teacher) isn't the best man for keeping secrets.
    Would you think it would be good for an anonymous phone call on Tuesday Morning ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Jaysus don't tell your principle about them :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

spurious wrote:
    You haven't said what school it is, but if I was a parent looking to enrol my child in a school, I would certainly want to know if pupils were using drugs on the premises. Use will attract people who like to sell, and it won't just be hash they are selling.

I think (and I know this may not be popular) you should tell your Principal, even anonymously. You need not say who you saw doing anything, just let the school be on the look-out. It's your safety at the end of the day.

better home school your (future) kids as it happens in every single one weather on the premises or in a regularly visited area while on break
    I should do the right thing & tell the principal or year head but they have been my friends since 2nd class & I know from past experiences that my year head (who is also my art teacher) isn't the best man for keeping secrets.
    Would you think it would be good for an anonymous phone call on Tuesday Morning ?

imo you should not do anything you say friends since 2nd year so i assume your prob in 4th/5th yr. what will telling your principle achieve??? if your scholl is anything like mine was then nothing accept an assembly with a 50 something lecturing at you for something you do not feel is doing you any harm no matter what he says(im using the royal you not you personally)

iv never done any drugs accept a bit of hash and i didnt start till iwas finished school alot of my friends started smoking hash at the end of 1st year but i never saw the point and didnt start drinking till 5th yr and that was with parents permission..........my point is there is no reason for you to think any differently of your mates just coz they smoke a bit of hash if you dont wana do it then dont and if you dont wana be around themwhen they do it then dont but it is their choice imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

spurious wrote:
    You haven't said what school it is, but if I was a parent looking to enrol my child in a school, I would certainly want to know if pupils were using drugs on the premises.
    Good luck with that.

1/ I would say 99% of schools have, at some point had pupils take drugs, or be on drugs on the premises, and:
    2/ They're not exactly going to tell the staff now are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

spurious wrote:

Most of the schools now have a list go in and talk to the principal and they can give you a rough guide of how many people are using drugs.:rolleyes:

What is wrong with you are you that naive get a life people do drugs thats there choice obviously its very stupid but why do you think you have the right to stop them go mind your own business have you that little to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Once you didnt smoke any you'll be fine ;) Dont associate with them if it bothers you that much.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

OP, it's up to you.

You can do the right thing and let the principal know, without naming any names or anything vaguely 'rat' like, or you can be cool and hip and sure what does it matter anyway since you're all at it.

Your post here in the first place shows which camp your tent is in. Good for you.
    What is wrong with you are you that naive get a life people do drugs thats there choice obviously its very stupid but why do you think you have the right to stop them go mind your own business have you that little to be doing.

What's 'wrong' with me is I take my job as a teacher seriously and in loco parentis I would not want any child in danger. Are we to take it that if you were a parent, you would want your child to experience all sorts, in a non-naive way of course. Where would you draw the line in the panoply of experiences they should have on offer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

there is no line.
    are there drugs in "your" school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

OP don't worry about, some good advice is to keep yourself to yourself. No point reporting peeps for having a bash of wacky tabacky...

subway wrote:
    there is no line.
    are there drugs in "your" school?

There were, about 5 years ago we had a young lady ran a thriving trade from the toilets, all co-ordinated using mobile phone texts. We found out about it, called the guards while she was in situ, had her arrested and now we lock the toilets and keep a very close eye on things. We have no problem calling the guards to remove certain parents and students who we know engage in it.

Doing nothing stops nothing. Pretending it's alright because everyone does it or not 'ratting' helps no-one.

spurious wrote:
    OP, it's up to you.

You can do the right thing and let the principal know, without naming any names or anything vaguely 'rat' like, or you can be cool and hip and sure what does it matter anyway since you're all at it.

thats exactly the type of argument that people his age will not respond to and its a pity people in the teaching profession have not realised that

What's 'wrong' with me is I take my job as a teacher seriously and in loco parentis I would not want any child in danger.

while i agree to an extent i believe that the school SHOULD have nothing to do with this particular subject unless they are forced to act by catching someone doing/selling drugs on the premises.

i believe this because the only people who have had any influence over me in my decision to take drugs or not is my parents and it was no 1 elses responsibility, imo, to do this. i have been threw more than most when it comes to drug related matters from family experience to the particular profession i would like to pursue(happens to be one where theres drugs everywhere) and having seen the very very worst affects of drugs i still believe it is the individuals choice

Are we to take it that if you were a parent, you would want your child to experience all sorts, in a non-naive way of course.

i guarantee you if/when i have kids they will be as informed as possible as early as possible and they will not be dealt with hypocritically when they make their own decisions
    Where would you draw the line in the panoply of experiences they should have on offer?

you are not offering anything they have decided to do something,for whatever reason, and they hoave sought out the means to do it..........you make it sound like there is a vending machine with various drugs and sex toys at the door to the school
    I would not want any child in danger.

missed that the first time but what danger exactly???

PeakOutput wrote:
    missed that the first time but what danger exactly???

By that I meant the dangers of drugs other than cannabis.

I'm talking about a lot more than cannabis, which would not be the main one being sold in schools, at least from what I hear from colleagues in other schools.

It was also not the drug being sold by our lady friend in ours.

spurious wrote:
    There were, about 5 years ago we had a young lady ran a thriving trade from the toilets, all co-ordinated using mobile phone texts. We found out about it, called the guards while she was in situ, had her arrested and now we lock the toilets and keep a very close eye on things. We have no problem calling the guards to remove certain parents and students who we know engage in it.

Doing nothing stops nothing. Pretending it's alright because everyone does it or not 'ratting' helps no-one.

you dont do anything other schools don't but guess what it still goes on and i would be very suprised if hash was not the number one seller in secondary schools closely followed by ecstasy when they get older

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

-ego- wrote:
    No don't do that! It's none of your business, people experiment with drugs when they're young, that's what happens. Most of them will grow out of it.

Forget about it and stop being so alarmist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

spurious wrote:
    What's 'wrong' with me is I take my job as a teacher seriously and in loco parentis I would not want any child in danger. Are we to take it that if you were a parent, you would want your child to experience all sorts, in a non-naive way of course. Where would you draw the line in the panoply of experiences they should have on offer?
    TBH it's alarming that as a teacher your head is this far in the clouds - nobody is saying you don't take your job seriously, but if you really think you know everything your students get up to, you are just deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

rofl, thats the funniest thing i've read in a while. Its hillarious that kids dont know this stuff or aint skooled in this stuff in school. Your innocence is a blessing, but tbh your living a very sheltered life. Dont take anything i have to say as an offence - im just telling you the facts from personal experience. Ill fill you in on what i know, because i guess your drug program in school is terrible.

Its hash, crack isnt brown. The contour bottle is used to gather as much smoke as possible. There generally is a hole poked on the bottom of the bottle, and the bottle is filled with water (hole is plugged). They put the tinfoil on top and poke holes in it, so that the drug can lay on top of it and burn while air gets sucked passed it when the filled bottle drains out sucking the smoke from the ambers of the hash into the bottle filling it with DARK brown smoke(sometimes turns a very dark green if done right). Thats called a waterfall. A bong is similar, only the hole is in the middle of the bottle, and the has sits on a gause (tinfoil), and its sucked throught he top of the bottle, the smoke filters through the water and cools down, making it easier to smoke.

The known problem with smoking hash - even passive (as i experienced it from mates smoking it), is that its known for giving stupid headaches. Hence all your stoner mates going on about the irish stash being crap. Thats why they spend their money going to amsterdam, all the weed they can smoke, a proper buzz, and no headache. If they havnt been yet, you can bet your bucks if they like their smoke they will be going there soon enough after school finishes.
    Originally Posted by -ego-

Jesus no. If anyone i knew did that to anyone, i would instantly hate them with a passion. It would make you an utter ponce. Telling on your friends is NEVER The 'right thing', unless it harms someone else or it will harm them seriously. Ok, you dont know about smoking, so in your eyes its the devil. Fair enough but its really nothing to be worried about.

Your still in school.. ok, by now i guess society expects you to kinda have some knowlege on this stuff. Its totally normal, and being frank there is an 80% of the population that smoke it. Everyone smokes it or has smoked it at some point. If you go to college, i will put money down that around half your class will smoke it. I know a fair bit of computer science does where i went, and those who didnt... didnt really have creativity to get the extra marks in college - hows that for messed up eh?

As far as you getting stung for a drug test in school go - seriously... wake up. That will never happen, infact its NEVER going to happen in school. And just on the off-chance you did have to get tested for something, even outside of school, it wont show up unless they are looking for it, because the people who do the blood tests test for certain things, they have LOADS of blood samples to get through each day, they aint going to go doing stuff thats not needed. Second hand smoke doesnt contain even 1/5th of the 420 odd checmicals that are contained within weed. The main chemical in weed is the THC, which is on the buds of weed in the form of little crystals, which are burned instatnly, and give your the 'high'. the worst you could get done with is passive smoking, and thats not an offence anywhere on the planet.

Stop worring, your friends will come to realise its nothing special, and dont worry about yourself in the matter. If you dont want to smoke it, dont. Dont make a scene, except that people will smoke it around you, and just get used to it happening. Then again, you could always go get new friends, but chances are it will come up again in your life very soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Welcome to the world of drug use. You will no doubt see a lot more of it in the future. I suggest you start reading up on it a bit more so you can familiarise yourself with what you are seeing. Better to equip yourself with some knowledge. If you have any questions, ask an adult whom you trust, most would be more than happy to tell you what they know, and they would not pressure you into trying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I agree with red ice.... I assumed the OP was 12 when I read the thread initially. You're incredibly naive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Right, you go to St.Pauls so I'll be blunt. Go into the toilet at nearly anytime druing the day and you'll see the same thing. Don't tell your year head or the principal as your friends are only experimenting but do tell them not to be stupid by doing it in school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

What Red_Ice said.

Don't worry about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

spurious wrote:
    By that I meant the dangers of drugs other than cannabis.
    Did you just shoot yourself in the foot? Cannabis is considered dangerous, especially for the developing brain.

OP, you were foolish to stick around while that was going on. If a teacher had appeared, you could have been the 'baby with the bath water' - i.e. you could have been suspended or expelled with the rest of them. Next time, walk away.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

red_ice wrote:
    Your still in school.. ok, by now i guess society expects you to kinda have some knowlege on this stuff. Its totally normal, and being frank there is an 80% of the population that smoke it. Everyone smokes it or has smoked it at some point. If you go to college, i will put money down that around half your class will smoke it. I know a fair bit of computer science does where i went, and those who didnt... didnt really have creativity to get the extra marks in college - hows that for messed up eh?

I've never smoked hash and I never will. I know several like me. So you're wrong with your "everyone" comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭lizzyvera

It just sounds like they were smoking hash. You'd never be tested for that anyway because it's harmless unless you smoke loads and loads- then you have a slightly higher chance of developing schizophrenia in middle age.

Anyway, telling on them would be a very bad move. You'd get them in far more trouble than it's worth, possibly expelled, and they won't like you very much after that. Personally, I wouldn't forgive you.
    Just talk to them about it.

lizzyvera wrote:
    It just sounds like they were smoking hash. You'd never be tested for that anyway because it's harmless unless you smoke loads and loads- then you have a slightly higher chance of developing schizophrenia in middle age.

Ha, there are other problems you can develope a hell of alot sooner then middle age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Rat on your friends, and you may need to get new ones, as they may be thrown out. Their lives may get f*cked over. Why? Cos a "friend" ratted them out.

And if your name comes out, you're f*cked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭lizzyvera

Not if you smoke it about ten times when you're teenager. Drink is just as bad. Four people in my family have been killed by drink (cancer and bleeding of the brain). Very few people ever if any have been killed by hash, more from mixing it with tobacco.
    I don't like it personally, I can't smoke, but it's not that bad for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭EyeDeeOne

dont rat on your mates.
    thats just ****.

smoking hash is nothing :/

i know alot of people that do and they are getting along just fine

if you rat on yer mates ya deserve to get yer ass kicked ^^
    (no offence like)

and there are no side effects of smoking hash except youll sit at home getting high alot more like a loooseeerr!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭EyeDeeOne

red_ice wrote:
    Second hand smoke doesnt contain even 1/5th of the 420 odd checmicals that are contained within weed.

420 haha =]
    nice choice

EyeDeeOne wrote:
    and there are no side effects of smoking hash

Cannabis Psychosis?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Meh, most people I know smoke it, I doubt a random drug test will just befall you after you smoke it too.
    Mmm.
    As the tshirt I'm wearing says, don't worry, be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

might be a smart idea to remove your bebo page from your signature.

boreds wrote:
    Cannabis Psychosis?

the only people that suffer from the above have a natural tendancy towards mental illness (badly worded but you get the idea). it is the hash that sets it off but it is only a trigger not a cause so to speak

for 95% of users cannabis is perfectly harmless accept for the usual consequences associated with smoking

PeakOutput wrote:
    the only people that suffer from the above have a natural tendancy towards mental illness (badly worded but you get the idea). it is the hash that sets it off but it is only a trigger not a cause so to speak

for 95% of users cannabis is perfectly harmless accept for the usual consequences associated with smoking

Your facts are based on what exactly? The affects of canabis are apparent in those that smoke it regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭chris_oc

oh my god man,get a life and cop on to yourself a bit!the fact that you were even considerin goin to the principal is rat like.honestly whoever said that he'd be the hip kid for tellin on his so called friends,i mean c'mon!!he'd get the head bet of him!and thats putting it lightly...

by the way,could you not have just asked the lads what they were smoking?!
    to the 'spurious' teacher one,get with it a bit will ya...

this thread is seriously funny but i actually feel sorry for the op,seein as you left a link to your bebopage i took the liberty of lookin at it because i thought you might have went to the same saint pauls school as i did.man stop tryin to add friends who arent actually your friends,people will just think you're weird...

nuff said.

chris_oc wrote:
    by the way,could you not have just asked the lads what they were smoking?!
    to the 'spurious' teacher one,get with it a bit will ya...

Spurious isn't coming from the point of view of some D4 tosser out for a laugh. I suspect she's seen a side of drug culture that you can't even begin to imagine. It wasn't that long ago that certain areas of inner city dublin where open air drug markets, and people would come from all over the city to share in our delightful drug dens. That type of exposure tends to make people hardline on the drugs issue. I know plenty that started off on hash only ot muve onto much harder thing.

Boston wrote:
    I know plenty that started off on hash only ot muve onto much harder thing.

ah come on boston thats a bit cliche..........we all know someone who smoked hash and went onto coke ecstasy or whatever but i bet you know 20 more who either tried it and didnt like it or tried it, did it for a while and either grew out of it or continued smoking in moderation

as i have said in another thread my uncle did start on hash and ended up on heroin BUT that is not the normal route that the very vast majority of users take
    Boston wrote:
    Your facts are based on what exactly? The affects of canabis are apparent in those that smoke it regularly.

alot of my mates smoke it very regularly and the affects on them(after the "high" wears off) are precisely zero. most of the mare almost finished their degrees whereas i (someone who very very rarely smokes) have been bumming around for 2 years and will only be starting my degree after getting my act together next year

btw here is propoganda from an american organisation that is pro cannabis use for medical reasons only http://www.drugpolicy.org/marijuana/factsmyths/ some of the facts are irrelevant to this particular thread and when i get home i will try and find the anti drug stance links

PeakOutput wrote:
    ah come on boston thats a bit cliche..........we all know someone who smoked hash and went onto coke ecstasy or whatever but i bet you know 20 more who either tried it and didnt like it or tried it, did it for a while and either grew out of it or continued smoking in moderation

as i have said in another thread my uncle did start on hash and ended up on heroin BUT that is not the normal route that the very vast majority of users take

Actually, most of the guys I knew dealing hash, went on to dealing harder stuff. But besides the point, see one kid go down the road of heroin, it's enough to turn you.

Boston wrote:
    Actually, most of the guys I knew dealing hash, went on to dealing harder stuff. But besides the point, see one kid go down the road of heroin, it's enough to turn you.

we are not discussing dealing here we are discussing using dealing is a completely different matter

you are missing my point.these people who go onto harder drugs and thats a tragedy BUT it is not the hash that does it they are people with addictive personalities(like i have) who will find something to be addicted to one way or the other be it gambling alcohol or prescription drugs.

now obviously i am not talking about people who start when they are 12/13/14(like my uncle did), that should obviously be stopped by whatever means necessary, i am talking about people who are 17/18/19 and are adults and able to make an informed decision based on what they want and not what their friends want

i have to run i'll catch up on the thread tomorrow

PeakOutput wrote:

now obviously i am not talking about people who start when they are 12/13/14(like my uncle did), that should obviously be stopped by whatever means necessary, i am talking about people who are 17/18/19 and are adults and able to make an informed decision based on what they want and not what their friends want

i have to run i'll catch up on the thread tomorrow

Well the OP does sound like he's in the 12 -14 range.

You are more likely to develop a drug induced psychoses if you start smoking regularly as a younger teenager. I'm not an Anti cannabis campaigner, many of my friends smoke frequently, I have given up for health reasons. No it doesn't effect everyone the same, I would guess it boils down to your chemical make up. I just don't like to hear all the time that it is completely harmless when I have seen the harmfull effects first hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

spurious wrote:

aww how naive

fact is there's drugs in every school in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

spurious wrote:

do you think there is no longer drugs in your school?

Sigh...sometimes this forum is like 201 on a Wednesday.

No, I do not think there are no drugs in our school. I just have to look at some of the students to know there are drugs being used and as I've said before, I'm not talking about hash.

We've had (and probably still have) kids who are heroin users - I'm not talking about a few little boys being ever so daring and rebelling by smoking a joint at break time.

They are NOT being sold in the toilets though - I know that for a fact. It is impossible following the procedures we have put in place.
    We have also made it much more difficult for them to be sold anywhere on the premises. This was made possible by the fact that a student told us initially what was happening, something I asked the OP to do in his school. If schools are not told they can do nothing.

Of course if you think they should be awash with all sorts and teachers should make no effort to stop it, then I'm never going to convince you.

As a matter of interest, are any of the 'sure it's only a bit of blow' brigade posting here parents?

Boston wrote:
    Well the OP does sound like he's in the 12 -14 range.

well he said he has been friends with these people since 2nd year so i am assuming hes about 4th year which means hes 16 pretty much.....although we cud just check his bebo lol

and no im certainly not a parent as i said already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

PeakOutput wrote:

In my experience 17-19 year olds are just as stupid as 12-14 year olds. If not more so, as they're desperate to get laid. I certainly wouldn't describe the average 17 year old boy as being either "adult" or capable of making an informed decision about anything.