Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 1x20 - "Five Years Gone" - **SPOILERS WITHIN**

• 01-05-2007 12:09pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Alright, what did everyone think?

What did you think of this weeks episode? 116 votes

Amazing
    0% 0 votes
    Great
    89% 104 votes
    Okay
    6% 8 votes
    Bad
    3% 4 votes
    I wish I could go back in time 5 years and tell myself not to watch it!
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Un****ingbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

The Nathan/Claire scene BLOODY HELL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Holy bleedin' jaysus!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

OMG I haven't even watched the episode yet and all these one word reviews are getting me very excited :D. Can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Possibly the best hour of Television ive seen all year. I need to let it sink in but just WOW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

OMZ Amazing stuff I love it!!!!!

Peter was teh uber jedi!

No lightsabres in 5 years time? Damn....

EDIT: OH MY ZOZ THE NATHAN AND CLAIRE SCENE MY ZOZ!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Excellent episode, nice seeing Claire in some hot pants!

Only thing I was hoping for was at least a glimpse at the Sylar/Peter battle. Lights and sound effects did not suffice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

There should be a superlative greater than amazing for that episode,better than most action films i've seen in a while!

bad ass peter, nice... got a kinda neo matrix reloaded look about him with that costume..
    nice to know sylar is still tickin around, I wanna see that fight!!!!

wonder why the haitan was working against the specials, given his helping of claire?

you could see the hints of nathan being sylar when he was in the oval office talking of "getting rid of the competition"... very slick.

why can't lost be this good? i'd say this is way better than lost was back in season 1, much more satisfying.
    Another week to go! dammitdammitdammitdammitdammitdammit....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

... i think i need to go lie down.

Amazing episode, shades of the "age of apocalypse" from the Xmen comics, so much going on, it's a shame it was only one episode in lenght, i'd loved to have seen more.

What I love so much is all the subtleties. Like when Peter finished speaking to Nikki and walked out to FH and Ando. On the way across the room he moved furniture out of his way with Telekinesis rather than walk around it. Just a nice little touch.

I really still don’t know what to say about this episode and what we have learned from it. I suppose the biggest thing is that Peter is the bomb. In that case if Hiro kills Sylar he doesn’t necessarily stop the bomb unless Sylar has already had a feast on Ted’s brains before it happens. This means that Peter can’t absorb exploding powers from either Ted or Sylar.

Claire was hot in those denims and with dark hair. If this makes me a pervert I’m sorry but I just can’t help it.

It all hangs on Hiro and Ando now. Does anyone else see Ando sacrificing himself to help Hiro? I hope not but it seems to be working out that way.

The Nate/Sylar and Claire scene was awesome. I really enjoyed seeing Sylar finally getting what he wanted. So creepy. His performances are amazing. I really don’t want to see him go so lets hope that Hiro decides to just kill Ted instead.

I actually liked the fact that we didn’t get to see the Peter and Sylar showdown too much it means we have something to look forward to.

I thought the characterization of future Matt was spot on. It also drew a lot of comparisons to Bennet and how he ended up in the situation he was in. One thing that irks me though is if Matt was around the president so much how come he didn’t figure out it was Sylar? How did Sylar mask his thoughts from a psychic who seemed to have pretty good control over his powers by then?

I also have lots of time travel concerns but I think it is always best to leave these alone as you just end up confusing yourself even more. Cant wait for next week now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Great episode. Loved Sylar being president and Peter was damn cool! Love this show,will be a killer when it ends and we have to wait months.

MikeHoncho wrote:
    One thing that irks me though is if Matt was around the president so much how come he didn’t figure out it was Sylar? How did Sylar mask his thoughts from a psychic who seemed to have pretty good control over his powers by then?

I would imagine that in the five years since the bomb, he's eaten someones braaaaains that gave him the ability not to be read.
    It's implied that he got cadices powers first (shape shifter), then went after nathan, who was already president at the time.

Actually, the more i think about this, the more i'm convinced that the writers have a big stack o' Xmen comics beside them when they write this.
    Which is no bad thing.

And looking back i like the scene with nathan/sylar and mohinder in the white house
    "You're one of them nathan, should i march you off to the gas chamber too?"
    "I can fly, i'm hardly dangerous"

ooh, you devious fecker sylar.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I like the possibility that this episode opened. In the middle of storylines, Hiro could just skip into the future to see the impact that it had . Also Claire looks better with brown hair, alot better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Best 45 mins of tv ever!!! dam i love heroes...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

as everyone said, the claire/nathan scene
    wow
    first thing so far in a tv show that was that huge that i didnt see coming at ALL!
    next week wooooohoooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

i just have to post twice... it was that good
    i mean, that easily could've been the series finale it was so good!
    JAYSUS!
    heroes is suuuuch a refreshing break from lost, they gladly seem to be busting out the series finale quality stuff at will, such a satisfying series. i think i might go watch it again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

what an episode! Sylar/Nathan plot, wow what a twist!

Anyone think the comic book Future Hiro/Current Hiro has was made by Sylar? The artwork seems to be different to that of Isaac's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Brilliant episode! Too bad we didn't get to see the Peter/Sylar fight but alas, the rest of the episode made up for it. Really loving this show so far.

Also I think it's a bit early to be comparing this show to Lost, it's really only just starting out, where as Lost is in it's 3rd season. Everything's great when it's still new and fresh. Guaranteed this time next year there'll be no shortage of people whining about Heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Amazing.

I actually thought the Sylar / Peter fight was okay. It didn't show the whole fight, but it was a great teaser (still hope, and expect, to see that fight before the end).

What I did expect more from was the fight in the lobby. "Shall we freeze time?", "No, I haven't had a good fight in years", *angry face*, ...and then we skip to the end :(

Aside from that minor gripe, maybe the best episode yet - and that's saying something. LOVED the Sylar reveal. Didn't see it coming at all, and the fact none of the characters seemed to know either made it all the better. That scene, and the whole episode really, seemed wonderfully under-played. They've got these fantastic events, twists and reveals which wouldn't be out of place at the very end of an episode of, for example, Lost (accompanied by big dramATIC MUSIC!, and following a 40-minute walk to get there) - but in Heroes it's just thrown in, one after another. Brilliant :)

Though Peter being the bomb wasn't handled quite as well, I thought. Fantastic in terms of the story, but the scene just didn't have the impact it should have had. Maybe I was just still in shock from Sylar's scene to really care at that stage ("Peter's the what now? Yeah, whatever... SYLARS THE PRESIDENT!!1OMFGBBQ!!11").

And now we know why Sylar's picture of 'Nathen' in the Whitehouse looked like it could.. maybe, possible.. be Sylar himself.

All this makes me wonder what they're saving for Series 2. This storyline seems to be on full steam ahead towards it's conclusion.. here's hoping they've got something equally as good for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

wonder why the haitan was working against the specials, given his helping of claire?

The Haitian was working for Nathan's mother when he helped Claire, who is Nathan's daughter. His loyalties are obviously to mama Petrelli's wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

#Elites wrote:
    i always thought the painting:
    It was this one I was thinking of, Sylar drew it in the last episode (19) after killing Isiac :
    sylarwhitehous.jpg

Wasn't sure at the time whether it was Sylar, or Nathen in a grumpy mood combined with Sylar's dodgy painting skills. It looks sort of half and half, which fits perfectly with what we've now seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Volvagia

That was sooo good, the sylar nathan twist was amazing, only one more week until the start of the three-parter finale!!!!

are we going to get the 3 parts as one :D or across three weeks :( ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Just to echo whats ben said. Stunning episode tht felt like 10 minubtes when watching. Not one bit of filler IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

freekin awesome... best tv i've watched in a long time... maybe i'll post again tomorrow after i've come down from the sheer awesomeness of it.

the sylar twist had to be the best part of the episode though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Sonderval

Awesome episode :)

Man, Sylar is a right dick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I'm confused.

Alternate timeline: Peter doesn't save Clare. Hiro stabs Sylar. Sylar regenerates using Clare's powers. But then Clare shows up in the future???

I said it to my housemate and he suggested that we were seeing a second timeline where Peter saved Clare but Hiro chickened out of stabbing Sylar so Hiro needed to get to the point where they had a timeline where Peter saves Clare and Sylar is dead. But if they're in that second timeline, then Peter should have Clare's regeneration capabilities, so how does Peter have a scar?

It has all gone very X-men, I was almost expecting someone to say "In a world that hates and fears them".

Sylar looks hot with his new haircut by the way :) I'm getting frustrated that it's just tease after tease with the Peter vs Sylar fights though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

What an episode WOW best episode of the series, the finale has a lot to live up to

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Superb episode. The Sylar-as-Nathan reveal was one of the best I've ever seen. Completely got me and, judging by a scan of forums, it got everyone else too.
    But if they're in that second timeline, then Peter should have Clare's regeneration capabilities, so how does Peter have a scar?
    Could he have kept it as a reminder? Is it possible that he chose not to heal himself? It looks cool...

The ending would seem to support your theory - Hiro only got the courage to kill Sylar by teleporting to the future and seeing what it would cost not to do that. So there's a third timeline created from the moment he went back, which is where we'll pick up.

As to not seeing the fight - well they can't spoil us for the finale showdown. As it is, we got more than enough of the two of them using their powers to satisfy me for a week :)

Oh and the latest Heroes comic does a nice little aside into how FuturePeter and FutureNiki met (it's part one of a two-parter).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Wow. Wow. Just wow.

Peter looked so damn hot in that black coat! I think that shots of him wearing that were my favourite part.

It's all been covered above already, so I won't go over anything more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Ok this is the best series on tv hands down.

Once again Sylar Nathan was brilliant. Caught me so off gaurd I was like "Nathan is stealing pow...........OOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH"

Love this show, I m going into a coma when this series ends cause I will not be able to wait.

Peter is by far my favourite not cause of all the powers but because he s transformation from the younger screw around brother to what we saw in E20 is just excellent

Edit: If we send them all our money will they run it every week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

That was the best 40-odd minutes of tv I've seen in years and the President Sylar reveal was the best twist any tv show has ever come up with.

Well he was working for Angela Petrelli, who was presumably killed when Peter blew. He must have been at a loose end so Parkman, who knew what he could do, probably recruited him.

Nice to see Eden again too, if only for a while. It was interesting to see how dark some of the more optimistic characters had become (Hiro, Peter and Parkman especially).

Nikki has also triumphed over Jessica and seemingly she can still use her powers, although I'm not sure if we really saw any examples of her super-strength in this episode. Must have another look.
    MikeHoncho wrote:
    Claire was hot in those denims and with dark hair. If this makes me a pervert I’m sorry but I just can’t help it.

QFT. The actor playing her fiancé must have bounced off the walls with joy when he read the script.

What an episode. How are they going to top it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

that was....... stupendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭wordofmouth

Wow. Just wow!
    My only hope is that the creator/writers/producers don't become too money hungry and start fillers and extend the story for the kish cash( I'm looking at you lost and prison break)

I mean think of the fond memories you'd have of prison break if it had ended as originally intended on the last episode of season 1?
    And i still watch lost but it seems like the writers aren't much further ahead in the story then us..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Best episode seen of any tv show this year. Truely amazing television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Overheal wrote:
    are we going to get the 3 parts as one :D or across three weeks :( ?
    2007-05-07	1x21	The Hard Part
    2007-05-14	1x22	Landslide
    2007-05-21	1x23	How to Stop an Exploding Man

:(

What a fantastic episode. Topped everything so far. Never saw Sylar coming at all. I'm actually glad that not much was shown of the Peter/Sylar fight for two reasons. 1. It kept it understated just like a lot of the storyline so far - one of the reasons I love the show. And 2. That's the second showdown - the final one will be a humdinger :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

But if they're in that second timeline, then Peter should have Clare's regeneration capabilities, so how does Peter have a scar?

I reckon at some point in the next few episodes the Hatian will stop Peter's powers and then he'll get sliced.

I heard somewhere that the next series isn't going to focus on the current main cast, and develop the supporting cast instead (Eg. Mohinder's sister... or brother, can't remember)

Fremen wrote:
    I reckon at some point in the next few episodes the Hatian will stop Peter's powers and then he'll get sliced.

Good thinking, makes sense.

So will 1x23 be a 2-hour finale?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 92 ✭✭alanjgrace

Anyone an opinion on this..

In the end we assume that Hiro is going to kill Sylar now he has learned from his future self why it was important to save Claire. Peter is the one who explodes according to himself in this epsiode so the city still gets ruined if Sylar gets killed or not. In the future Sylar was alive because he apparently stole Claires power and regenerated when Hiro tries to kill him..

A few episodes back however...

When Sylar was in the cell there was cockroach and Sylar was staring at it and studying it. I was wondering why this was so important so i went on to wikipedia..have a look at the heading Biology and read the last 2 paragraphs. I assumed it was to do with slowing down his heart rate so the doc would pronounce him dead, but then i saw the last bit in the paragraph.

Could Sylar still live and withstand the bomb without Claires powers because of this, assuming Hiro doesnt actually get to kill him and Peter still explodes.

alanjgrace wrote:
    Anyone an opinion on this..

In the end we assume that Hiro is going to kill Sylar now he has learned from his future self why it was important to save Claire. Peter is the one who explodes according to himself in this epsiode so the city still gets ruined if Sylar gets killed or not. In the future Sylar was alive because he apparently stole Claires power and regenerated when Hiro tries to kill him..

A few episodes back however...

When Sylar was in the cell there was cockroach and Sylar was staring at it and studying it. I was wondering why this was so important so i went on to wikipedia..have a look at the heading Biology and read the last 2 paragraphs. I assumed it was to do with slowing down his heart rate so the doc would pronounce him dead, but then i saw the last bit in the paragraph.

Could Sylar still live and withstand the bomb without Claires powers because of this, assuming Hiro doesnt actually get to kill him and Peter still explodes.

you have just sent the eeriest chill down my spine since watching the episode :eek:

But then I thought "wait Sylar inherits powers only by understanding how they work: he would have to be able to emulate them to some degree. He's only able to do this with hero-powers because he has the gene himself: if he knows what way to 'think' to turn invisible for example, thats all he needs, so long as he can see the biology of it."

then I read on how he would accomplish this via Roach
    The cockroach's ability to withstand radiation better than human beings can be explained in terms of the cell cycle. Cells are more vulnerable to effects of radiation when they are dividing. A cockroach's cells divide only once when in its molting cycle, which at most happens weekly. The cells of the cockroach take roughly 48 hours to complete a molting cycle, which would give time enough for radiation to affect it but not all cockroaches would be molting at the same time. This would mean some would be unaffected by the initial radiation and thus survive, at least until the fallout arrived.

Sylar would basically stop his cells from dividing, and hence survive the fallout.

Eh...still the slight question of the BOOOOM though...

EDIT: .... but I gather from what we witnessed at the Bennet houshold, that there would be not so much "Shockwave" as there is fallout from Peter going Nova; though
    we are suggested to by the trailers that there will be a shockwave, there is still a lot of building standing/to protect yourself in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Just got around to watching it now.... Brilliant stuff.

I edited the "terrible" option on the poll... although I'm not sure why we always put so much effort into that option we never seem to have to use it.

it's pratice for season 2 when people start to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

Anyone not think peter = a cooler Neo minus the "i'm so cool" sunglasses? he's got the coat look, kickass powers, just with a better, badass attitude.

Who needs kung fu when you can fire radiation, stop time, be invisible, fly...?

The New One!

Tosspots at IGN dont agree with boards. Typical yank response. They said there wasnt enough action. I understand why the writers didnt show us too much because if we see the guys 5 years experience using their powers it becomes less fun for us watching the series as a whole. We want to discover new things about them as they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

FH said he stabbed sylar but it didnt kill him as he had claires regen power

so he went back in time to tell peter to save claire meaning that sylar would be killable

peter and mohinder remember FH travelling back to tell Peter that and we know claire is still alive in the future. so they were successful with the "save the cheerleader" mission and sylar doesnt have the regen power. but hiro still stabbed sylar and sylars still alive

does this mean that even if hiro stabs sylar (who doesnt have the regen power) that sylar still lives?

farfetched bit: what if the only way for linderman to get all the power he wants is to have sylar alive, so he heals sylar? (i dont know why that would be the case though)

DEmeant0r/ I think the comic book is still one of isaccs, it just hasnt been coloured so it looks a little different

I'd love it if the bomb goes off, the edgy future thing looks really interesting

best ep yet imho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

agamemnon wrote:
    :

Nice to see Eden again too, if only for a while.

I don't think the girl with Bennett was Eden, it was the girl who went to see Ted in the desert. This happened before Ted and Matt broke into Bennett's house. We haven't seen her since, I think.

10/10 amazing stuff. Obviously most of the best parts were covered already. I liked the Lindeman act which was set up 4 yrs ago and other small references. I must watch this again.

Also FH mentioned to Bennett that he brought DL in. Didn't Sylar use DL's power of moving through objects when he grabbed Peter from behind the door?

pokerwidow wrote:
    I don't think the girl with Bennett was Eden, it was the girl who went to see Ted in the desert.

Just checked it again and you're right, it's Hana. Where is she in the more recent episodes?
    sendic wrote:
    farfetched bit: what if the only way for linderman to get all the power he wants is to have sylar alive, so he heals sylar? (i dont know why that would be the case though)

I think this might be exactly what happens - Peter is central to Linderman's plans and if Peter doesn't want to go along with them, Linderman could use someone who looks just like him instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭teck-x5

Is no one going crazy over what Furture Hiro was trying to tell Ando?

What kinda power does he have, or is it the case of something different, like "Dont leave me, Buddy!" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

sendic wrote:
    peter and mohinder remember FH travelling back to tell Peter that and we know claire is still alive in the future. so they were successful with the "save the cheerleader" mission and sylar doesnt have the regen power. but hiro still stabbed sylar and sylars still alive

does this mean that even if hiro stabs sylar (who doesnt have the regen power) that sylar still lives?

I think only Future Hiro remembers the timeline where Claire dies and he stabbed Sylar. I think in the timeline everyone else is aware of, Peter saves Claire, but Hiro doesn't stab Sylar.
    teck-x5 wrote:
    Is no one going crazy over what Furture Hiro was trying to tell Ando?

What kinda power does he have, or is it the case of something different, like "Dont leave me, Buddy!"

He was probably trying to tell him how not to get killed.

He gave Ando another page of the comic that Present Hiro has. Maybe it shows Ando's death or how to avoid it.