Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SideShow RoadShow

• 01-05-2007 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭

Ok lads and lassies listen up to this pitch

I was contemplating my next move last night in the Old Oak in Cork (sans alcohol!) , after returning from a pretty full on weekend of Poker debaunchery in Kilarney.

There was chat of a team event in Carlow and the possibilities of a trip to Waterford/Wexford.

I got to thinking of all the cardclubs i have played in over the last year, the good times the bad times the people you meet along the way .

Then Bingo, a mad idea came to me ,would it be possible to play in every card club in the country on consecutive nights ?

Slept on it last night and thought that i have the stamina for the irish poker roadtrip from hell. I would like to bring a charity element to the challenge and after chatting to Mike Lacey this morning he concurred that the idea is a genuine runner.Mike thinks the timing is crucial and a tie in with a national televised charity event ( children on weed etc) would maximise publicity and
    the profile of the whole concept.

Would clubs be interested in running a tournament the night the roadshow hits town?

possible talk of a film crew to document the trip and a website to keep every one up to date with progress.

I would like to hear the forums thoughts and any help advise offers etc greatly appreciated

His SideShowness

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Are you not a bit shy for all of this Bob?

If done in the right way I can see this being a good idea. I am not sure if you meant this or not, as it is hard to tell, but contacting a load of clubs to see if they could have charity tournies on those nights would be a good idea. there may be some who might not accommodate you but there are still ways of fulfulling your challenge without full buy in. Most places might welcome the publicity though.

I would say getting a list of all the clubs might be your biggest challenge, and there may well be around 30 places on the list. It will involve a good bit of mileage and buyins I'd imagine, so you better win a few of those tournies to ease the pain.

Best of luck with it.

Edit: Not meaning to be smart, but how will you achieve this if you are barred from a club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The timing is crucial and a tie in with a national televised charity event ( children on weed etc)

is this a grass-roots organisation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

well it be great but it would have to be every card club in the country less one:D fairly close to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

great idea bob!

i'll join you for the south-east leg of the trip and mrs bops will kindly put you up if you visit my local (i'll make sure they do something charlty-wise for you)

gl buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

i could always stand outside with me collection box on the night in question. i am hoping to find a traveling companion who is as mad as me to share driving / bed/ etc better be goodlucking !

i would hope to supplement my income along way by means of cash games as ye all know i am a tournament donk.

Does anyone have a definitive list of cardrooms in the country incl n iron?

anyone out there any good at sponsorship wirh regards expenses hotels etc?

Really looking forward to getting this project off the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

Bob you could get in contact with tv3 who might get a camera guy to follow you around in a kind of fly on the wall format.. and you would give interviews etc... then they can edit it into some sort of show i'm sure. But the best part of the show would be the climax at the end. With some political pressure etc, maybe get someone from the UN in to broker a peace deal between you and the club in question and then tv3 could capture the whole reunion scene where you and himself would embrace and explain to eachother how much ye have missed eachother and it was all a big misunderstanding...that would make great television!!! Be a huge hit i reckon!! maybe grainne seoige could get on board too!! :-)

mormank wrote:
    Bob you could get in contact with tv3 who might get a camera guy to follow you around in a kind of fly on the wall format.. and you would give interviews etc... then they can edit it into some sort of show i'm sure. But the best part of the show would be the climax at the end. With some political pressure etc, maybe get someone from the UN in to broker a peace deal between you and the club in question and then tv3 could capture the whole reunion scene where you and himself would embrace and explain to eachother how much ye have missed eachother and it was all a big misunderstanding...that would make great television!!! Be a huge hit i reckon!! maybe grainne seoige could get on board too!! :-)

you watch too much daytime tv. :p

geoff maybe a tad too much hollywood even for me! like the bit about about grainne getting on board im sure i would be WELL UP for that , ahh yeah:D :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

how much is too much hollywood tho?? what can i say, once i get a notion in my head it grows, gathers momentum and before u know it, it has plots, subplots etc... oh and rigger, don't actualy watch daytime tv but if that's what it's like maybe i should!!! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

possible talk of a film crew to document the trip and a website to keep every one up to date with progress.

Yeah, I'm sure the lads in Hollywood have been up all night trying to get Tarantino to direct. Sounds to me like the most boring documentary ever contemplated.

here is my list of card clubs,off the top of my now closely cropped head

Kerry

Cue Club Killarney

Waterford

Blazin Aces

Wexford

Caesars Palace New Ross

Newbay , Quays Wexford town

Tipperary

K&K Clonmel

Carlow

Big Slick Carlow town

Dublin

Fitz, Jackpot and Sporting Emporium

Louth

Joe the shows, Riverside

Galway

4 Aces, Sylvesters

Limerick

New Vic ,Fitzpatricks

Adelaide Sligo

Mayfair Arklow

Mayfair Gorey

Crane Mullingar

Bridge Banbridge

casa casino roscrea

i know there are tons more info contact no.s please

It might not be possible to run a tourney in every club but have a collection any way for the Charity

Any thoughts on which charity would be best to benefit

just working out how to get from place to place and scheduling the tour is gonna be a logisticla nightmare , i would like to criss cross the country and not play the dublin clubs all together , Guerilla poker so to speak.;)

here is my list of card clubs,off the top of my now closely cropped head

In Sligo, there is the Adelaide Casino.

Also, as regards the Charity aspect, it might be a good idea to speak to BigDragon on a couple of fronts. Firstly, there is the cancer charity that he currently runs through poker, OnePercentPledge, and secondly, even if this was not to be the charity involved, he has experiene in the whole poker for charity thing, and also in convincing people to give up time slots for this type of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Bridge Club, Banbridge
    Crane Club, Mullingar
    Mayfair, Gorey
    Mayfair, Arklow

Will add these to list and will defo be interested in speaking to the dragon can someone pm me his number;)

Best bet is to PM him yourself. Middlemen can get awkward at times. He is on here most days though so shouldn't be too long getting in touch with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

Guide Dogs for the Blind - Great charity in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

casa casino roscrea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

as ye all know i am a tournament donk.

but not a cash game donk? lol!

Great idea Bob. i would donate but I'm also barred from my local poker room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

This could be a great idea and if well planned out it could be a big money spinner for some lucky charity.

I presume each club would donate part of the proceeds of the tournament & also part of the tournament reg fee & also a % of the cash rake on the night.

Each club / club member could try to get sponsorship of prizes for the night and more of the proceeds could then go to charity.

If you decide to run with this I would be delighted to offer any admin assistance I can but I will be somewhat limited until after mid July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Tournament reg, yes but theres not a hope of a club offering a % of cash game rake.

Nice 1 kakak, this is a good idea, thanks for offer , this will be organised for after july so your offer may well be taken up. i wil pm my number for a further chat

cheers mate

nicky im sure u can lend ur assistance at some other venue:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

2 that I see missing from the list (but I know nothing about them):
    Maynooth and Athlone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i think it would be a good idea for a local in each club to do the ground work for you, helping set things up for your arrival (arranging with management/advertising etc.) - all you need to do is put an overall structure in place...this will make your job a lot less complicated

i'll get it organised in New Ross for you when the time comes

i'll sure you can get a sucker like me from most clubs to help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

make it the same tournament in each place - so you might even win the odd one by the end of it you`d surely have the hang of it?!ha :)

Gold Club Letterkenny,
    River club, Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Kendriver

You have a great idea there sideshow and of course we will welcome you to sunny maynooth:)
    If its possible for you to include us on your visit across the island then of course we will organise a charity tourney and make it financially worthwhile.

Check out our website for contact details and look forward to working with you.

Ken

www.favouritesclub.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Carlow and Clonmel will organise for u mate no problem .... And donation to your trip and charity will be made from the Tourny

Neill

rMPXLUI_wT_1LqafkI4ysqicP360a6kA.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Super idea Sideshow, should be interesting. just curious have u a charity in mind...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

best of luck sideshow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭SpermManJelly

Laminate The Trip.

bohsman wrote:
    Tournament reg, yes but theres not a hope of a club offering a % of cash game rake.

and why not, what is it about poker that the players pay for everything.

Call it a % of the rake, call it a donation from the rake, call it a straight donation or call it what you like, but I would be expecting every club owner to stump up to this great idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

St Vincent De Paul. We have money. Some people don't.

And you dont think there might be a reason for that?

You cant back out of the argument and claim I have a ingrained prejudice against poor people, that couldn't be further from the truth! I do have an ingrained prejudice against intellectual incompetence though, the one that thinks charity = good, capitalism = bad. Anyway im sure the SVP does great work all around the world just like every other massive catholic organisation, spreading enlightenment and tolerance wherever it can.

JACKFA%7E1.GIF

DOUGAL: Why's Jack so scared of doctors, Ted?
    TED: I think they just remind him of illness. He doesn't like thinking of his own mortality. That's why he's always hated visiting the sick.
    DOUGAL: O God, yeah he hates the sick, all right. And the poor, he hates them as well.
    TED: Yes, the poor really get on his nerves.
    DOUGAL: And the needy.
    TED: Them as well. What was it he always used to say about the needy? He had a term he used for them...
    DOUGAL: A shower of bastards.

Hector, you were banned last summer for some tounge in cheek (presumably from your perspective that is) comments that really offended some other posters on the board. Remember? You didn't come across as particularly apologetic about the entire thing if I remember correctly.

Intellectual incompetence? Mmmm...I take umbrage with that sir.

First of, there isnt long before the match so ill answer these two important points. Firstly, I wasnt banned for that at all. I have been banned twice, once directly insulting rooney dives in the BBV forum after he posted some of my tournament hands, and another time for posting in the mustard forum.

That thread, which is probably my favourite of all time (anyone have a link?) resulted in loads of other people being banned, but not me. I wasnt banned because I kept calm and asserted my position. I have never apologised about it, I never felt the need.

Secondly, apologies, I wasnt referring to you.

Anyway, I dont want to derail this thread any further, so ill answer the rest in the bbv thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

OK, whatever people's views on Charity or the Poor it's not relevant to this thread so please take it to the BBV thread as HJ says he will, so anyone who wants to respond, respond there. Back on topic now please.

And come on United!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Caboose

Alrite Bob!!! Nice one mate.

As Neill said we'll set you up here. Even if we have a house you can crash as well making that trip all the bit easier. If there's a couch you can take it and Grainne can stay with me :D

Any help required at any stage you have my number. Gluck bro.

Collect a tourney chip from each club and auction them on ebay for charity!

Ste05 wrote:
    OK, whatever people's views on Charity or the Poor it's not relevant to this thread so please take it to the BBV thread as HJ says he will, so anyone who wants to respond, respond there. Back on topic now please.

And come on United!!!

excuse my ignorance but what is the BBV thread ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

It's this one:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=318578

it's a sticky on the front page where people can post about anything basically...

kakak1 wrote:
    excuse my ignorance but what is the BBV thread ????
    Brags
    Bad Beats
    Variance

its 2+2 term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

Brags
    Bad Beats
    Variance

its 2+2 term

the extra b is for byobb...

anyone?

Hector, ......, least. :)
    good post lloyd, agree with most of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hi there, Your Sideshowness,(bow)
    We here in the cue club would be delighted to help out in your charity drive/madness.
    Once we have some notice of his royal highness's visit, we will organise a tournament and hopefully pre sell entry tickets to ensure a crowd on the night. We'll also advertise it that 20% of total prize pool goes to the charity and we'll even throw in Bobs entry fee so that theres no cost to him (dont all Royals get stuff for nothing anyway).

Great idea Bob, love to help in any way I can. Talk to you soon

Connie

the extra b is for byobb...

anyone?
    Homer's BBBQ. The extra B is for BYOBB.

Lisa: What's that extra B for?

Homer: Typo.

Classic.

Ahem, back on topic etc etc.

5starpool wrote:
    Homer's BBBQ. The extra B is for BYOBB.

Lisa: What's that extra B for?

Homer: Typo.

Classic.

Ahem, back on topic etc etc.
    thats seriously lol stuff.

thanks connie neil and ken(wow that feels weird) for all your support.

i will be letting ye know in the coming weeks what the story is. Probably september maybe august defo after world series. I am still harbouring hopes of going to vegas as my bankroll building is goin well at the mo.

Connie thanks for a super weekend and send my regards to al your staff.
    Fnar fnar

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Already been in touch with Sideshow. His mind reading abilities preempted something Mike and I were planning but will now throw our support behind Mr Show (if that IS your real name :p)

DeV.