Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who you going to vote for?

• 27-04-2007 9:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭

Me: Not FF - too weak; they've let the PDs, who got 4% of the vote, run the country and make a hames of things. They're in the pocket of the builders. They let the taxpayer pay for the Catholic Church's corruption and compensate children raped by priests and betrayed by bishops. They've paid millions of taxpayers' money to the Ireland Funds, a privately run foundation not under the control of this State. They intend to give private companies a €40 million tax break for every €100 million spent in building private hospitals, in which the State will have no ownership. They've run a motorway through the sacred site of Tara. The corruption and brown-envelopism appears to be endemic from bottom to top of the party.

Not the PDs: they're very self-satisfied and full of lectures, but incompetent. In their bootlicking admiration of the US, they've attempted to model the Irish health system on the American disaster rather than the superb French system. They have no concept of the meaning of education, and are trying to turn it into a form of commerce. They are trying to turn Irish policing into the horror that's American gun-totin' cops.

Not Labour: when they go into government they become lapdogs.

Not Sinn Feinn: they appear to have no policies, and are reactive rather than proactive.

Not FG: Who?

I would vote for a party that wanted to make Ireland great; that saw being in government as an opportunity to serve the people of Ireland; that used good models - France for health, Denmark for social systems, Portugal for an anti-drugs programme, the original Garda Siochana for a correct model of good policing by power for personality, Pearse's model of St Enda's (based on Montessori's) for education.

Who will you vote for? 149 votes

Fianna Fail
    0% 0 votes
    Fine Gael
    10% 16 votes
    Labour
    21% 32 votes
    Greens
    23% 35 votes
    PDs
    20% 31 votes
    Sinn Fein
    6% 9 votes
    Socalist Party
    8% 13 votes
    Independent candidate
    4% 6 votes
    Other
    4% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

None of the above. Oh and look here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

Not allowed vote, long story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Greens, SF, Labour, FG in that order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

What team does bertie ahern play for? Cause im voting for anyone but them.

See how much i care about Irish politics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

SF, greens, independent, labor, FG. Not that I think they'll do any good I'll just vote for anyone but FF/PD. They wasted the boom and left the west behind, this country needs a new party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

0ubliette wrote:
    What team does bertie ahern play for? Cause im voting for anyone but them.

See how much i care about Irish politics?
    I'm using the same excuse to not vote for that twat Kenny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

World Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'm tempted to vote Sinn Feinn because I think they might be the only party that will change the status quo. I'm no fan of theirs but something has to change and I've absolutely not faith in FG or labour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Yore Ma! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

im just choosing not to vote:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

AH do not dare to move this thread to the Politics or General Election forums at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

im just choosing not to vote:)
    Why? I never really understand this, it's your country

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

FG, Labour, Green, SF - I do not want FF/PD's in again:

- PPARS disaster
    - LUAS cost overruns, and afraid to upset city centre shops for everyone's good
    - Endemic mismanagement in Dublin Bus and Irish Rail tolerated by government
    - Idiotic privatisation of electricity customer supply
    - Conversely not enough support given to independent electricity generation
    - Afraid to tackle green issues, prefer to 'buy' a license to pollute
    - Allowing erosion of digital freedoms

the list goes on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

:| wrote:
    Why? I never really understand this, it's your country

Well it's not like there are any politicians that you can put your trust in. They'll all screw us over if they get a chance in power. It's like the Alien Vs. Predator tag line: " Who ever wins, we lose".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

humanji wrote:
    They'll all screw us over if they get a chance in power. It's like the Alien Vs. Predator tag line: " Who ever wins, we lose".
    id vote predator every time.... most of the TDs voted into power have his stealth powers to avoid any problems

As tempted as I am to vote FF + PD to let them sort out the problems they have created.

I'm going to go FG + LAB + Green 1 2 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

1. Election forum ftw
    2. I don't vote. Chaos should rule mohahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

humbert wrote:
    I'm tempted to vote Sinn Feinn because I think they might be the only party that will change the status quo. I'm no fan of theirs but something has to change and I've absolutely not faith in FG or labour.

Not much of a fan either... especially 'Rockin all over the world' , really dislike it since it turned into your very average wedding song.

They were good in Les's wedding in Corrie though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

FG,Labour,Greens

I am sick to my ****e of Bertie. The VIP shoot of him, his daughter and that twat from Westlife with their two ridiculously named sprogs is only around the corner. I have no doubts he was up to something dodgy with those briefcases in the early 90s. Dont trust him, or anyone else born out of that Corupt Haughey FF bunch.

I reckon Pat Rabitte has a good head on his shoulders like to see him get into government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Can we post soccer threads in AH too? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

humbert wrote:

Dead right! As soon as they take power, it's kneecappings and beatings for all dissenters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Sinn Fein and no one else. at this stage wish we could vote against a certain party instead of voting for one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭slinky

SF, Greens, Labour, FG. Not only this government but the Dáil needs a good shake-up. I think a lot of politicians and especially some cabinet ministers are out of touch with the day-to-day realities of this country especially in the health service. I suppose if you're driven in a car from A to B and back to A again and you don't have personal experience of the health service then it's easy lose touch. I hope this election gives them a sharp reminder; I won't hold my breath though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Oh... I see there's an Irish Monster Raving Looney Party now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

slinky wrote:
    SF, Greens, Labour, FG. Not only this government but the Dáil needs a good shake-up. I think a lot of politicians and especially some cabinet ministers are out of touch with the day-to-day realities of this country especially in the health service. I suppose if you're driven in a car from A to B and back to A again and you don't have personal experience of the health service then it's easy lose touch. I hope this election gives them a sharp reminder; I won't hold my breath though.

I suppose at least the shinners have experience of putting people into hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Also won`t be voting. Never met one politican/potential politican I ever had any respect for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Fine Gael, everybody else is just boring to me, and as for SF ha ha ha ha ha NO!:mad: No way would i give my vote to those Scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm voting for None of your business:p
    Is Dustin running this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Green, and then FG

I will prolly vote Labour next, but the 2 lads in Dublin South are both new and dull as dishwater from what I can see.

But like a lot of people, I will vote for everyone bar those muppets in government, and do my best to get the worst minister for health in the history of the state out of government..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Ghupta Yahd

I have not made up my mind yet. I would be inclined to vote Labour but if they get in with FG that means we have Enda as Taoiseach. I'm not so sure that I would like that. My preferred option would be a Labour FF coalition, That worked well in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Green or Labour. Nobody else interests me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

eoin_s wrote:
    I suppose at least the shinners have experience of putting people into hospital.
    classic
    don't forget their expertise at running prisons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Oh, forgot about the Greens. They're just the National Teacher party. "Excuse me, is something amusing you, Murphy, would you care to share it with the rest of us?" Shower of patronising twats.

As for Rabbitte, he was in power with FG and with FF, and each time Labour failed the working people.

I want honest statesmen and stateswomen who want to *serve* their country, who have some humility and a lot of straight dealing.

I don't want a government run by the building industry and its suppliers, to share money around a lot of greedy industrial barons with payoffs for their political lackeys.

And yes, Out Harney, Out McDowell.

I vote for Hypnotoad

hypnotoad.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Probably:

1- Labour
    2- Fine Gael
    3- Greens

Was gonna give Sinn Féin my 3rd preference, but they want to raise the corporation tax... that won't do us any favours. The Greens are big on public transport, so that's a plus for them.

Not giving owt to FF or the PDs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Oh... I see there's an Irish Monster Raving Looney Party now.

finally, a reason to vote...

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If I was goging to vote I would vote for the two lads from my local town at hom, one if FF, one is FG. I would never vote for SF under any circumstances though as their policies would ruin us.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

In order:

1. Greens - have always voted for them since I could vote
    2. Independent - if there are any worth voting for
    3. Labour - only problem here is that I've moved since the last election and Joan Burton is the Labour TD where I am. God, I hate that woman and her whiny voice.

I would vote FF, FG and even PD before I'd ever give SF a single vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

5starpool wrote:
    I would never vote for SF under any circumstances though as their policies would ruin us.

Agree 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Am I the first to suggest a poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Is it hard to register, well anyway when I register i will vote for

1- Greens
    2-FF as i think FG and labour if they get in will make an absolute hames of everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Labour, FG, Green - in that order. If I could vote negatively against FF & the PD's I would.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

plonk wrote:
    Is it hard to register, well anyway when I register i will vote for
    QUOTE]

You should do it sooner rather than later. All you need to know is here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

will vote FG, labour, greens,SF in that order. FF and PDs have been in power too long and have become incredibly arrogant and have squandered millions in taxpayers money. time for a change me thinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

FG, labour, and the green party, in that order.

Felt the rainbow coalition did well (94-97), FF/PD's wasted loads of money, can't stand McDowell and don't trust Bertie.

A change is needed anyway. If FF get in again they'll feel they can rest on the laurels, and nothing will be done to improve the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Im not registered and tbh I dont like this thing of having to go to the station to do it. In the old days didnt you automatically come on to the reg when you turned 18? (though Id imagine this was open to abuse until the early 60s when most families had at least one child who died before adulthood) Garda stations are like dentists and hospitals- you dont want to be there and you only go when essential.

As for who, with the good weather I havent seen the Irish news much lately. So somebody just point me in the direction of whoever sounds like they will resolve our awful house price situation within the next 5 years please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Don't think any of them are gonna do that..... lol

FG and Labour say they're getting rid of stamp duty for first-time buyers, but most economists seem to be saying that the builders will then just raise the prices. If people are willing to pay the price they are now, then they might as well come in and get the money that the new government will no longer be taking.

SF are subscribing to that school of thought too, they're proposing an increase in mortgage tax relief. Dunno what that'll do, I aint an economist! Fianna Fáil also say they're not changing stamp duty, although they might decide the day before the election to announce that they will!

Don't think any parties are proposing anything particularly radical with relation to the property market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

DaveMcG wrote:
    FG and Labour say they're getting rid of stamp duty for first-time buyers, but most economists seem to be saying that the builders will then just raise the prices. If people are willing to pay the price they are now, then they might as well come in and get the money that the new government will no longer be taking.

SF are subscribing to that school of thought too, they're proposing an increase in mortgage tax relief. Dunno what that'll do, I aint an economist!

2nd hand house prices would be more affected by getting rid of stamp duty than new house prices, so it's more likely existing owners who would get the money.

As much as it pains me to say it, SF's idea could be one of the better ideas - while the government would still get the stamp duty, they would also be paying some of it back to the people via tax breaks. House prices wouldn't drop, but a monthly mortgage payment may be a lot more affordable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Stamp duty isn't just a problem for first-timers; friends of mine wanted to move near to a better school for their kids for secondary, but the stamp duty would have crippled them.

But these things are trimmings.

What we need is an honest government, in hock to no one, with the interests of the Irish people at the centre of policy. Not crooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

luckat wrote:

What we need is an honest government, in hock to no one, with the interests of the Irish people at the centre of policy. Not crooks.

Dream on.