Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new wii

• 26-04-2007 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭

greetings wii'ers,
    I've been reading your threads enviously for the last few months + today I've finally got my hands on a wii, (Argos extra on Childers Road Limerick, they have a couple more in stock).
    a few questions from a wii newbie for ye ... (feel free to delete if they've been answered loads of times before)

I'll be setting it up after work, is there much to setting it up at the start, apart from pluggin it into the TV?

Do I need to do some kind of update before the SD card will work?
    I dont have an internet connection in my gaff so I suppose I'll have to bring my wii elsewhere for any updates.

Will my wii have a dodgy handstrap or was that just the first batch that was produced?

Any other tips for 1st time setup, best position for the sensor bar etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr Soft

Strap shud be grand. Think the only reason they were breaking was people completely ****ing them round the place.

Put the sensor bar on top of the tv, thats where i found it worked best.

As far as i remember it only took a few mins to setup. U shud be playing within 10 mins of taking it out of the box anyway.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Tiny bit of setup when you plug it in and turn it on. You can be playing your game within 2/5 minutes.

However, downloading the few firmware updates as well as the free channels ('lets vote' and 'internet') can take up to 20 minutes depending on your internet connection.

Ask away if you have any other queries, good hunting.

EDIT: You will need the firmware updates to use your SD card (i think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Where you put the sensor bar depends on where your TV is. If it's lower down, on top is good, but if it's on a higher cabinet or, say, an LCD/Plasma mounted on the wall, on the bottom might be better.

You can adjust the sensor bar in the system settings/menu too. Don't forget to plug the sensor bar into the back of the Wii, people seem to forget that sometimes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭rok

thanks dudes, it was very easy set up alright.
    We were up + running in about 10 mins from opening the boxes.
    4 of us playing it last night, I only have wii Play + Sports so far, the Tennis, Bowling + Cow Run are by far the favourites, good laugh with the Boxing too.
    One of the remotes got smacked off the mantlepiece already - an over eager backhand return while playing Tennis, but no damage done to it.

I got an error a couple of times when changing the discs between wii Play + Sports , "An error has occurred ... remove disc + restart system" I think.
    I had to eject the disc, power off or Reset the wii, maybe I'm swapping discs incorrectly , I'll look for instructions, must keep an eye on that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

rok wrote:
    thanks dudes, it was very easy set up alright.
    We were up + running in about 10 mins from opening the boxes.
    4 of us playing it last night, I only have wii Play + Sports so far, the Tennis, Bowling + Cow Run are by far the favourites, good laugh with the Boxing too.
    One of the remotes got smacked off the mantlepiece already - an over eager backhand return while playing Tennis, but no damage done to it.

I got an error a couple of times when changing the discs between wii Play + Sports , "An error has occurred ... remove disc + restart system" I think.
    I had to eject the disc, power off or Reset the wii, maybe I'm swapping discs incorrectly , I'll look for instructions, must keep an eye on that!

did you return to the wii menu before removing the disc?