Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm off to collect my new classic from the Uk on Tuesday

• 26-04-2007 8:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭

I'm all excited! It's one of the old Triumph 2000 MKIIs. Pics when I get it. Anyone had one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭spidersonmars

Class!!

I was looking for a 2500 for a while, saw a couple...look out for rust, they all seem to be riddled with it!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

You driving it back? ROAD TRIP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭deckie27

I wanna drive a classic back from the uk or Europe at some stage
    might end up as a nightmare but would be a real experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭NEVCC

I have a 2500 TC for sale ZV plate if any one is interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭spidersonmars

I brought my P6 back from england last summer. I fly to blackpool to by the car. The ferry was in fleetwood 12 miles away, it took 4 hours as the car broke down...flat battery!! The AA fitted a new as the charge in the old one was not great. Got to Larne the car broke down again, AA again, driving down to dublin via M1, AA again. The following day I broke the driveshaft!! you guessed again the AA were called. That said it was a great 36hrs, just to see my brothers face when the car acted up. Have to say the AA were brilliant and would recommend them to anyone. I used them four times in 72hours. The car is fine now. My brother has never been the same. Dosent want to even see my car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

I have a original Irish MK1 , half heartdly trying to sell it, SWMBO doesn't like it. Lovely smooth straight 6 engine in those Triumphs, handle well too. Watch out for rust and filler in the wheel arches. What year is the car? P/Steering was an option on MK2s.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I brought my P6 back from england last summer. I fly to blackpool to by the car. The ferry was in fleetwood 12 miles away, it took 4 hours as the car broke down...flat battery!! The AA fitted a new as the charge in the old one was not great. Got to Larne the car broke down again, AA again, driving down to dublin via M1, AA again. The following day I broke the driveshaft!! you guessed again the AA were called. That said it was a great 36hrs, just to see my brothers face when the car acted up. Have to say the AA were brilliant and would recommend them to anyone. I used them four times in 72hours. The car is fine now. My brother has never been the same. Dosent want to even see my car!
    LOL great story.

I drove my '72 SL from Biarritz to Roscoff, and Rosslare to Dublin with my brother in Feb. Not a bother the whole way.

But I'd never attempt a long drive with a car of uncertain history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

NEVCC wrote:
    I have a 2500 TC for sale ZV plate if any one is interested

NOW you tell me...:rolleyes:

Road trip is right!! Bringing my 16 year old son, see if I can get into that empty teenage head of his on the way from Devon to Holyhead!!!

The car's 1970.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Me, my wife and two kids (5 & 3) came back from London in a '75 911 earlier in the year. Great trip and car was imaculate all the way but we couldn't find a hotel in Wales (as per original plan) and we thought that all 4 of us would have to sleep in the car. Thank God we were able to fit onto a 3am sailing is all I can say! Apart from that it was uneventful...

Unlike bringing a '67 Merc in from Holland a couple of years earlier... Not being used to driving a classic at the time and being on the "wrong" side of teh road I took a wrong turn. I took a "side road" that was actually a cycle path to get back on teh main road and ended up going teh wrong way down a duel carriageway. Later that day Mrs A was driving when teh car siezed up at a major junction in teh middle of The Hague. Joined the Dutch AA and got rolling but missed our ferry and overnighted in a hotel that looked a lot like a brothel. Eventaully got back to UK and picked up teh wee lad (2 at this stage). Brakes felt wonky so I called teh AA and was told teh car was undrivable. We ended up having it on teh back of a truck all teh way home.

But it was an adventure! Going over in a week or so to pick up (and hopefully drive home) a '63 Mk II Jag so fingers crossed it won't be quite as exciting ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

When I bought my '64 230SL I travelled over by plane to a Classic Auction in Cambridge. Thankfully the weather was foul and the turnout was very small, with mostly British cars and memorabilia being bought. Unfortunatley my car was 4th from last and the auction started at 11.00 but it was 6.00pm before my car came up.

I was succesful, got it at the right price, but had to wait ages to pay up and get moving. the idea originally was to drive back to Hollyhead for the boat that night but that wasn't possible now. Anyway I started off, having never driven one for more than a mile or two, and straight away I could not get the seat belt working, and the drivers door kept opening.

I stopped at th nearest filling station which luckily sold tools, bought a few and spent about 20 minutes repairing the belt and adjusting the door. Now I have a terrible sense of direction and cant read maps to save my life, so when I eventually got onto the M1 I headed in the wrong direction !!

Realising my mistake I turned around, into the wind and immediately smelled raw fuel. I pulled over when I found a safe spot and spotted a fuel leak near the dizzie. I tried the next 5 filling stations for some fuel pipe ( they used to sell these in every station) with no luck. It was getting late now and not really wanting to drive much further like this I stopped at the final station and decided that SOMETHING had to fit.

Anyway the attendant had a gas fire in the corner and I asked if he was using it, he said "No" so i gut the orange pipe of the back and off I went !

No more problems, car drove great through Wales, stopped overnight somewhere and got the early boat !

Road trips are cool !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

The reason my wife doesn't like my 2000... on its first run after being brought back to life after a 20 year lay up was a trip to the now defunct Celbridge Show. Filled the car with juice and drove to Celbridge with no trouble at all. Left at 3pm and noticed a slight stutter in power at Tyrellspass, which got progressivley worse resulting in the car stopping, refiring a few minutes later and running ok for 7-8 miles or so before stopping again, eventually it stopped for good in Loughrea, got a tow form a Ford Consul!!, boy was the 1.7 working hard there:D Turns out the car had sat with 1/2 a tank of petrol which protected the bottom 1/2 of the tank, but when I had filled it I had washed 20 years of rust and crud of the sides into the new fuel lines and eventually it had blocked the filter in the fuel pump. oh and sometimes it likes to move the 4th gear selector when engaging reverse leaving just 4th and reverse available, luckily they have a torquey engine that'll take off in 4th, murder on the clutch though;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 V8Man

I drove '78 Camaro V8 from Poland by Germany and France. Cherbourg - Rosslare. Great trip. Me and my wife... :D :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

I flew to Germany with my 6 year old son to pick up the '72 Merc. Went via Rotterdam, Hull and Holyhead. It didn't miss a beat.... and hasn't yet... 10,000kms later!

I picked up my Passat from near Cambridge.. again via Holyhead. No problems.

I picked up my motorhome in Dortmund and SWMBO and I drove it back via Calais and Dover. Now THAT was an interesting trip! I had never driven anything bigger than Mondeo before. We also ended up driving on a motorway in Belgium passing abandoned cars with water up their windows!!

I took my wife out for valentines day this year in the Merc and I let it run out of diesel and no motorway emergency phones would work. Breaking down is fun depending on the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

best of luck with your motor man. hope you get as much fun and enjoyment out of her as the rest of us classic owners do, cheers man.

Thanks Chevy, that's nice of you, man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭tyney

The AA membership takes the sense of adventure from it. Do halfords sell imperial spanners?

G'way you!

I'll pck up soem rust treatment for you while I'm in there!!

It might actually be a good idea, now that you mention it.The RAC route planner should list Halford's branches along with service stations and speed cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭NEVCC

Best of luck with the trip.... you'll have a blast, I have picked up a good few cars over the years and the drive home is always the best part :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

You'll love it - and Wales is superb in this weather. Forget the A55 main road along the coast, take the A5 instead through the mountains. Betws-y-coed - lovely little village.

Is that longer, Frank, to go that way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Drove an MGB from Stansted to Limerick a few years ago on my own was a great trip weather was beautiful car drove like a dream, skipping over the Severn bridge with the top down what an experience! Must do it again soon....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 351GT

Drove a 66 ford mustang from Holland through belgium then france then boat then up 2 Dublin once.best trip of my life i must say

Must say, you're all making it sound very much like I thought it would be - a bit of an adventure! I'm really looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Best of luck, I always fancied those 2000s, an underrated motor compared to the Stag (whose shortcoming are well known).

Austin-rover.co.uk has a nice couple of articles on the 2000/2500, which you may have already seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭folkswagen

deckie27 wrote:
    I wanna drive a classic back from the uk or Europe at some stage
    might end up as a nightmare but would be a real experience

Would be an adventure no doubt;)

The only bit that's worrying me about this now is the bus to the airport in the morning!

I don't trust them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Yea its a bit of a long way out to the airport to where ya are, You'll be grand:)

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

overdriver..... if the back road to the airport is still closed due to that unfortunate incident then there could well be delays in the area, so perhaps allow some extra time.

Will do.
    Thanks lads - see yis Wednesday ( hopefully!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭8~)

What happened? Did it make it?

No bother yeah!

It went like a train all the way. I got pulled by Welsh police, but that was the only event to speak of.

Its a wee bit rougher than I thought, but it'll give me a chance to brush up on my bodywork skills this winter!