Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money found

• 25-04-2007 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭

Posting this here becasue I'm not sure whereelse it would go. I've got a dilemma. Two months ago I moved into a rented flat. My next door neighbor seemed to disappear when ever I left the place – she seemed scared of me. I later found out this was because a drug dealer lived in the place before me – now in jail. The landlord never mentioned this, but I understand why he wouldn't. Last week I was cleaning out an old cubard under the stairs and found a lose panel. Pulled it off and found a bag of money with wads of rolled up notes. I counted it up and it's quite a lot. I can't really keep this can I? I could give it to the police or to charity. What would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭foxy_19-89

grizzly wrote:
    Posting this here becasue I'm not sure whereelse it would go. I've got a dilemma. Two months ago I moved into a rented flat. My next door neighbor seemed to disappear when ever I left the place – she seemed scared of me. I later found out this was because a drug dealer lived in the place before me – now in jail. The landlord never mentioned this, but I understand why he wouldn't. Last week I was cleaning out an old cubard under the stairs and found a lose panel. Pulled it off and found a bag of money with wads of rolled up notes. I counted it up and it's quite a lot. I can't really keep this can I? I could give it to the police or to charity. What would you do?

id keep some ;) then buy a car THEN tell the police

no honestly, if your financially stable, id tell the cops. if not. you do whats needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Keep it and move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Keep half for yourself and half for a charity. Thats fair enough.

Give it to the cops.

Or else you might be better off leaving it there. He could come back looking for it whenever he's released from jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭dublad23

grizzly wrote:

In fairness I would leave it there - The dealer won't forget about it and with all the Gangland Shootings I'd be a little bit on the edge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Right, didn't think what might happen if he comes back for it. I found out he'll be out in another 8 weeks or so. I'm going to give it to the cops – but I might still be in trouble when/if this guy shows up. It may not even be this money – he might own it to someone really nasty. **** I've just thought I'll have to change the locks on all the doors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Take it and move!

grizzly wrote:
    Right, didn't think what might happen if he comes back for it. I found out he'll be out in another 8 weeks or so. I'm going to give it to the cops – but I might still be in trouble when/if this guy shows up. It may not even be this money – he might own it to someone really nasty. **** I've just thought I'll have to change the locks on all the doors!

Being totally honest? Your best bet is to leave it be and just move out before he gets out. I wouldn't really like to be around when he comes looking for it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Find out from your neighbour who the dealer is, and write to them asking for advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Arrange for the dealer to be murdered, using the cash and it's yours with no strings attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Normally my karma beliefs would stretch this far but feck it, hes a drug dealer, Id actually take it, might stop him being able to peddle drugs to other souls, even if its only a lil pot or something, tough sh*tsky, finders keepers!

How in the hell will he know its you and not the landlord or the garda finding it?

If he calls to your door you play dumb, that simple! Unless you cant lie for sh*t!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boffin

Fieldog wrote:
    Normally my karma beliefs would stretch this far but feck it, hes a drug dealer, Id actually take it, might stop him being able to peddle drugs to other souls, even if its only a lil pot or something, tough sh*tsky, finders keepers!

How in the hell will he know its you and not the landlord or the garda finding it?

If he calls to your door you play dumb, that simple! Unless you cant lie for sh*t!

I'm guessing your being sarcastic but just in case!!!

This might be naivee but do the guards not keep a record of everything they seize (persume they wouldn't pocket a load of money)

And I'm sure he'll know it wasn't the landlord as what landlord would be rooting around in the closet

I doubt very much that'll he'll kindly knock on the door - "would you mind terribly if I could collect a load of drug money that I left in the closet - I won't be a sec"

I would leave it where it is and move out because in 8 weeks I'm sure he'll want his "nest egg" back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ask for a tip in the Horse Racing forum and bet the lot of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

Use it to buy drugs and become a bigger dealer than he ever was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭olaola

How Tempting!!

Firstly - if you think there is ANY chance that yer man will find out who you are... leave it be.

If you think that he won't be able to find you (doubtful) I'd leg it with the bobs.
    I wonder if he knows if it is there or not? He might have forgotten.

Another scenario... Leave it where it is. If he hasn't called around for it in the month after he is released, it's yours/tell Gardai/give to charidee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Does your landlord have enough personal info on you to give to this guy?

If not, I'm stuffing my pockets and moving house.

You could always take a couple of grand and replace it with fakes.

Or, you could take it to the bookies and back some short odd favourites, keep the profit and then put the cash back.

Giving it to the Guards, then staying in your house is about the silliest thing I've ever heard. You would face the same **** had you spent it tbh.

In all honesty, probably just leaving it there is the safest thing to do, but fcuk it, I'd gamble.

Edit to add, if by 'a lot of money' you mean less than €5k, I don't think it's worth the trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 kenzie

Fieldog wrote:

When he realises the money is gone he might act first ask questions later. He's a drug dealer I wouldn't expect him to have morals or a conscience.

If I were you OP, i'd leave the money be and move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ruu wrote:
    Ask for a tip in the Horse Racing forum and bet the lot of it.

My thoughts exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

Take it and move!

Seriously thats your best bet.How much money is it approx?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

because you posted on this board you wont be able to keep it.

that was a silly mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

sportswear wrote:
    because you posted on this board you wont be able to keep it.

that was a silly mistake.

Why no one knows him anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

#Elites wrote:
    Hes out in 8 weeks, i wouldnt want to be in his old house where he stashed his money :eek: move out, or stay and just leave the money where it is / change the locks.

oh bejaysus - i've no doubt he'll attempt to reclaim it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I believe your incriminated for Laundering if you don't report it.

Go to the Legal Discussion board. Personally I'd report it and maybe you will be allowed to keep some of it. They may hold it though as evidence against the dealer for X amount of time.

drdre wrote:
    Seriously thats your best bet.How much money is it approx?

About 9 grand, some of it has what looks like dry blood on it – very scary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

If theres enough money to warrant it, take it, move, leave no forwarding address.

If you're confident in your ability to lie/deal with a pissed off drug dealer, then just take it and play dumb.

If you're one of those silly people with a conscience then give it all to charity, but make it a good one, like cancer research or something, none of those pansy "feed the children" ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

if you take it and move on, you could leave a note in it's place with the contact details of somebody you don't like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

He'll probably break in some night to get it back, find it isnt there then come looking for you!

grizzly wrote:

I'm a detective in Harcourt tce. I'm afraid I'll have to commandeer that money as evidence. I shall meet you outside the Central Bank in Dublin in one hour.

I'll be in plain clothes.

As a side, does anyone know if Wed or Thurs is late night shopping in Dublin?

Why no one knows him anyway

i had a friend who got stung by university authorities slagging off the uni on boards.ie

if it ever comes back to haunt him in the future and there are police involved these things can get easily found out.

a lot lot lot of people read after hours and the consequences of getting caught by either the man who stole the money or the police are quite severe.

someone out there knows exactly where that money is....:)

thursday i think

none of those pansy "feed the children" ones.

not to go off the point but whats pansy about them . i would have thought cancer research would use the money less efficiently

sportswear wrote:
    i had a friend who got stung by university authorities slagging off the uni on boards.ie

if it ever comes back to haunt him in the future and there are police involved these things can get easily found out.

a lot lot lot of people read after hours and the consequences of getting caught by either the man who stole the money or the police are quite severe.

someone out there knows exactly where that money is....:)

Something similar happened to me. I had been discussing something about where I work in the Galway section and apparently the managers had read this but thankfully enough they didn't know who it was. Luckily enough, it was only positive things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Buy an Italian suit, a diamond encrusted watch, neckware and rings and some nice cuban cigars. Go and see our mutual friend during prision visiting hours with your new acquisitions and peel him a few notes off your gangster roll to buy smokes and sweets by way of thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

dont give it to the gaurds, as your man could be charged for it and might have to do extra time, and u could be called as a witness.
    if you have no ties in dublin you could take the money and move, if you stay in dublin he will find you.
    you could leave it where it is for at least 3 months take a grand out of it, if he comes back tell him its there give him the eight and tell him its better than nothin.
    and i wouldnt be writing about it on internet forums, the are gaurds on this forum, u have an ip address and can be easily traced. STOP BEING STUPID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

grizzly wrote:

Well if there is indeed blood on it, you definitely have to turn it in so they can do some DNA testing.

He'll probably want 9 grand back alright. Dealers aren't really that flippant with cash.

My advice: Well if you're going to keep the money, tool up and be ready for him. At least go down in style. Either way bad things are gonna happen.

Overheal wrote:
    Well if there is indeed blood on it, you definitely have to turn it in so they can do some DNA testing.

wat are you on about DNA testing, this isnt CSI MIAMI at all, no one gets murdered with a twenty euro note, thats blood from someones nose, it was rolled up and used to snort coke.
    welcome to the ghetto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Anyone stupid enough to post about finding 9k in drug money hasn't got the intelligence to deal with hiding or laundering it.

If it was me I would have taken the money and not told a soul about it. Also what's to say the landlord didn't take it. No-one could ever prove it was the OP.

lezizi wrote:
    wat are you on about DNA testing, this isnt CSI MIAMI at all, no one gets murdered with a twenty euro note, thats blood from someones nose, it was rolled up and used to snort coke.
    welcome to the ghetto

At CSI: Miami, we never close. Or so Horatio says anyway, he'd have a morally correct solution to this predicament.

Snorting coke eh? Welcome to the ghetto indeed. Alternatively spend the nine grand on cans of coke (ca cola!) and when he asks where his coke money is, show him > "I have your coke"

I've decided to hand it in to the police and ask them to tell the dealer that they received his money – that way he won't come looking for it. I feel much better about this now.

grizzly wrote:
    I've decided to hand it in to the police and ask them to tell the dealer that they received his money – that way he won't come looking for it. I feel much better about this now.
    Dont do it grizzly
    he will be charged, you will be called as a witness, and believe me the state wont protect you if he gets extra time because of your good nature,
    if you want nothing to do with it leave it where it is and move out and forget about it
    if you hand it in it will lead to trouble
    DONT DO IT

do what lezizi says, he should know.....he's from limerick..... ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

grizzly wrote:
    Good for you grizzly. Hand it in to the CAB or GBFI down in Harcourt Terrace and avoid the mules down your local cop shop.

right now that dealer is in prison dreaming about his 9g for when he gets out, and you are going to hand it too the gaurds
    i hope you have 9g to reimburse him when he comes lookin for you or say goodbye to your kneecaps

grizzly wrote:

grizzly (end)

cson wrote:
    do what lezizi says, he should know.....he's from limerick..... ;):D

its true im from limerick, i know trust me
    and im a she by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

It's not every day you find 9K like that. I would say don't hand it in, move, give a large chunk of it to charity. Has the landlord changed the locks himself yet? If the guys does come to get it he's not going to knock on your door, he will get some other dude to get the money for him using either his old keys or by breaking in. On a side note, cops raided a house my aunt has in flats a few weeks ago. I had to let them in, 2 plain clothes and 7 regular cops. Guy was eastern european and was into credit card and atm fraud. They took loads of stuff from his place that he had bought with his ill gotten gains. Luckily I swiped a load of cash off the table and told the cops he owed it to me. A couple of hours later fraud squad arrived and took more stuff the first guys didn't find, skimming machines and equipment. Maybe I'll have a deeper look and see if I can come up with any money in hidden places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Am I the only one thinking South East Asia/South America for 12 months :D

grizzly wrote:
    I've decided to hand it in to the police and ask them to tell the dealer that they received his money – that way he won't come looking for it, but instead will thank me for my good deed to society and give me a big hug. I feel much better about this now.

FYP.

ps, Get a grip.

FX Meister wrote:
    It's not every day you find 9K like that. I would say don't hand it in, move, give a large chunk of it to charity.

Why are people saying give some to charity, in this case a large chunk!!?

If you decide to take it and run, you're taking a huge personal risk, no offence but fcuk charity.