Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Anyone Else Dislike Lee (Bambi)

• 21-04-2007 5:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

[rant]

I just thought Id get this off my chest. Over the 3 seasons Apollo has shown himself to be the poorest example of a soldier . He is emotional but most of all his loyalties lie wherever he choses to place them . And whats the chances all will be forgotten again !

He also cries alot

[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Has he ever actually cried?

Anyway,

Of course he's not a soldier he's a damn pilot. There's a difference of sorts...

Tom Cruise - Maverick - whiney bitch

Sylvester Stallone - Rambo - look out he has a gun

Also I reckon the creators have at least watched a bit of GUNDAM in which case everyones a whiney little bitch....its just how things roll.

But yes, there is a fundemental underlying flaw in the military nature of the show and its begining to crack under the strain.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Apollo really annoys me, as does Helo. I wonder how either of them got so far in the military given their high moral standards and penchant for disobeying orders. This kinda thing worked in Star Trek where Starfleet wasn't quite the military, so Picard could afford to be forgiving. Adama however is responsible for the survival of the human race and at one point threatens to shoot Tyrol and Cally for mutiny. But he lets anything Apollo and Helo does slide.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Noooo! I won't have a bad word said about Helo, the guy is a legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Lee is not the worst IMHO. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Dontico

WARNING SPOILS SEASINO THREE FOR LOSERS THAT HAVENT WATCHED IT YET.

At the end lee gets cool when he defys his da and defends baltar. I dont think the writers intend for us to like any of the characters. They all flip flop. The admiral seems cool most of the time. but at the end it seems like a spa. The coolest character so far was baltars lawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Dontico wrote:

Fair play. :D

Just FYI in case you're not familiar with them, the spoiler tags are like this:
    [SIZE="2"][[/SIZE]spoiler]this stuff would be a spoiler[/spoiler]

and that comes out like this:
    this stuff would be a spoiler

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Dontico wrote:

At the end lee gets cool when he defys his da and defends baltar. I dont think the writers intend for us to like any of the characters. They all flip flop. The admiral seems cool most of the time. but at the end it seems like a spa. The coolest character so far was baltars lawyer.
    Yeah I agree with that actually. I thought Lee's character was really cool in the beginning of the show, but he lost his way badly. The love triangle/quadrant(!) stuff with Kara was pretty terrible - he was acting like a pissy, immature highschool jock, not the commander of a Battlestar. The lawyer stuff at the end of S3 was a definite return to form for him - especially the conflict with his dad, which is the most interesting part of his character, as well as Adama Snr.

Looking forward to seeing how the pair of them deal with the fallout of it next season. Hopefully they don't kiss and make-up easily, that'd be a cop-out. Admiral Adama was waaaaaaaaaaaaay out of line, Lee shouldn't let him off the hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Reptileboy

Yeah, Lee is a bit annoying. When we first see him in the miniseries he drifting through his service. Then as the series starts, he gets a hard on for fighting for democracy and shacking up with Roslin and freeing terrorist. Then he gets his own command, gets incredibly fat and then promptly blows it by destroying his ship. Then he wants to be a lawyer!

One of the things that really annoys me about BSG is how it just seems to throw stuff at the characters. Yes it is dramatic, but it hardly feels realistic.

Lee just suck period and I'd like it if he got suck into a black hole never to return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Bazookatone

As far as I am concerned, Lee is great, for one simple thing, in the Black Market Episode, he pulls a gun on yer man from Predator (the REALLY black guy) and there's this Mexican standoff, and just before it cuts to commercial, the guy says "you're not gonna kill me" in this eminently calm, reasonable I'm totally in control holding all the cards crime boss way.

When it comes back, they're still standingthere, ans he repeates it and says "You're not going to ki-" and Lee just shoots him in the chest, no long speech,no waxing lrycal, no heavy breathing or macho threats, he just pulls the trigger and doesn't think twice about it. And all the gangsters are in the room, , and even though they are armed,they are crapping themselves, because even though there's only one of him and 7 of them, he's just shown them just how cold and merciless he can be, and he's convinced them in their minds that he could execute every one of them right there, and they wouldn't be able to stop him. Normally the hero says some macho speech like "you come here again and I'll kill you" but Lee doesn't even have to do that, he just tells them exactly what they're going to do and walks out.

Because of that scene, I will forgive Lee everything else, the whining, the AWFUL love triangle plot, everything, for that one beautiful scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Lee was fine up until the middle of the 2nd series, but after he was left floating in space in the 2nd part of Resurrection Ship he turned into a whiny bore that even the hotness of Jamie Bamber could not alleviate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

The only two real soldiers imo in the entire show are Bill Adama and Saul Tigh, pity Saul is now probably a cylon, but in fairness they are the only two who come close to being realistically "Military" in my view.

Another character who came damn close would be Admiral Cain.

And there are others out there who looked like the part but they've being in it so little you can't really see.

Fact is, any of Apollos, Starbucks etc's whiney bitching and complete disregard for authority would have them shot against a bulkhead if the circumstances weren't so unique. i.e > In a time of war BS like Apollos and Starbucks and etc would not be tolerated at all.

<rant>

I think maybe alot of this might come from the US military in its current form, i.e > pandied up relative to how it was years ago.

Heres a good one for you as an example. In the British Army, they "tested" what was called the stress card. Basically, low ranking NCO's (Privates, maybe corporals i'm not sure) were given a "stress card" (Literally a coloured card). If their superior NCO (Sergeant etc) was "stressing" them out too much they could use the stress card. At which time the sergeant or other would have to just turn around and walk away because they were stressing the poor lad/lassie out too much. :eek:

Needless to say it was a complete joke, a complete failure and the worst idea anyone in the military has had since George Custer.

Actually every western military has gotten bad the last while. In an attempt to stop "bullying" in the military etc which in all fairness is a problem, they have neutered the ability of high ranking NCO's to do their job. I was talking to a Sergeant recently in the Irish Army who said the quality of soldier they were spitting out in the last few years made him sick. He literally said "I can't do my job anymore".

To all us FCA etc heads lets just call the problem A7 :)

I don't mean to sound bad or anything but a certain "type" of harrassment, bullying and brutality is necessary for any military. The military isn't the police, it isn't a civilian organisation, it isn't some job u can give your boss abuse in.

I don't mean a certain "level" of harrassment, bullying etc. I mean a certain "type". i.e. physical and mental abuse, but for the right reason, for discipline and making them better soldiers.

The military has being brutal for hundreds of years for a reason, its not nice to think about, its not nice to see, its not nice to go through but its necessary. Look at the foreign legion for one example of how things should be done and even that is getting "pansied" up a bit.

The current rules etc that are coming into western militaries are trying to treat soldiers as people doing a job. They are NOT people doing a job, they are soldiers doing a job. You can't take civilian life rules and apply them to the military, it doesn't work.

Imagine this scenerio. Junior Officer orders half of his platoon to basically commit suicide and cover the retreat of the other half or they'd all be killed. Imagine whiney Apollo in that situation, imagine Jim Murphy from Tallaght but only wanted to do his minimum time in the army and then get out. Do you really think hes going to follow that order when the worst hes gone through during his training was getting spoken to loudly at (shouting too loudly is now practically not allowed in the Irish Army).

Discipline in the Military is (used to be) brutal and sadistic for a reason.

</rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

Yeah Lee got Whiney but that didn't make me dislike him.
    The moment he sent Dee out to find Starbuck made me dislike him
    Althou that did change over the season.

The one person I almost grew to hate was Adama. The boxing match were he beats on chief nearly turned me againist him till I saw what he was up to.

My real Issue with Helo is why was he given every Job that became available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Dontico wrote:

I still think the best character is Baltar himself
    Although in season 3 Saul Tigh is an amazing character, his little speech at the end of season 3 and the events on new caprica.
    As far as I am concerned, Lee is great, for one simple thing, in the Black Market Episode, he pulls a gun on yer man from Predator (the REALLY black guy) and there's this Mexican standoff, and just before it cuts to commercial, the guy says "you're not gonna kill me" in this eminently calm, reasonable I'm totally in control holding all the cards crime boss way.

When it comes back, they're still standingthere, ans he repeates it and says "You're not going to ki-" and Lee just shoots him in the chest, no long speech,no waxing lrycal, no heavy breathing or macho threats, he just pulls the trigger and doesn't think twice about it. And all the gangsters are in the room, , and even though they are armed,they are crapping themselves, because even though there's only one of him and 7 of them, he's just shown them just how cold and merciless he can be, and he's convinced them in their minds that he could execute every one of them right there, and they wouldn't be able to stop him. Normally the hero says some macho speech like "you come here again and I'll kill you" but Lee doesn't even have to do that, he just tells them exactly what they're going to do and walks out.

Because of that scene, I will forgive Lee everything else, the whining, the AWFUL love triangle plot, everything, for that one beautiful scene.

Very Fair point, i did feel the same way about that episode it does get annoying when no one takes the shot or when the "good guy" hands his gun over because of a hostage or something like that