Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gimme the film outta that camera!!

• 21-04-2007 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭

Just wondering if anyone has any idea if people have a right to demand the film from your camera, or tht you delete your photos?

I was doing a promo shoot with a band, somewhere we kinda knew we shuldnt have been, we hadnt climbed over any walls, fences, or walked past any legable no trespassing signs etc, tho so we reckoned the worst case we would be asked to move on after a while.

Two security guards turned up after a while and were fairly abusive and threatening. One demanded he got the film from the camera, i explained it was digital and i cudnt give him the film,so he made me delete the photos,i agreed cos i was just after startiing my second memory card,f(first one with most of the photos was in my pocket) i figured id be able to delete the photos and restore them at home, worst case lose a few shots.

Thought at the time it would be easier just to play ball, but looking back i wish i had been more defensive and i was wondering, if he had any right to ask me to delete the photos.

he wasnt in any of them,in fact no people other than the band were in the photos
    we werent taking photos of anywhere top secret, the location is right beside a public park.

they took our names and addresses, which i also was wondering if they had any right to do, but at the time i felt quite intimidated and just played along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭mathias

I wouldnt know anything about the legal side of it , but I have seen bouncers or minders take cameras and smash em on the ground , so you got off light I think !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

I presume this was in a private location right ? The fact that you didn't need to climb fences/go through gates/pass any no-tresspassing signs doesn't mean that you weren't trespassing. You're aware of that for a start I'd imagine.

read this ...
    http://www.digitalrights.ie/2006/05/09/photographers-rights/

I'm actually not too sure how the law stands in relation to security (who -do- have every right to remove you from the premises, employing reasonable force if required) actually asking you to delete photographs or confiscate your film. I have the impression that they overstepped the boundaries there.

Where was this if you don't mind me asking ?

-edit- it appears that in the UK at least a court order is required for the confiscation of film. I presume given that our laws are quite similar to our neighbours that the same might apply here. IANAL ! -edit-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

I would've (politely) told them to go to hell and just left. I especially would have refused to delete any photos. If they try to interfere with your equipment you can fairly claim assault.

I've been in a similar situation once as I've a thing for photographing ruined places. I invited them to call the gardai, they might take a dim view of the whole proceeding, but I couldn't see myself getting hauled up in court because I was photographing some rubble. As it was they got no details from me and I left.

In future, and especially if you're doing any kind of work for someone, inquire in advance and secure written permission. Having something like this happen just doesn't reflect well upon you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭King Eric

Id rather not say where it was, just in case, it was just 2/3 metres walking beyond where the public would normally be though so i didnt think there would be major hassle

(it wasnt somebody's gaff like tho)

i suppose i was expecting to be asked to leave at some stage, not cos we were doing anything dangerous or illegal, just that we hadnt gone looking for permission, and theyd rather us not be there

i didnt expect to get the hassle and abuse in the way we did in the end
    in particular when i was made delete the photos and when one of the lads was asked would he like "a kick in the head"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

I'd file a report to the gardai about it. Unless you just want to let it slide I guess. It was private property right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭King Eric

think its best for everyone to let it slide, i suppose we were on private property but i wont be deleting my photos again if asked, think i may consider where i shoot diferently tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Carrigman

You were trespassing. You cannot be prosecuted for trespassing unless you are causing some damage. Signs saying "Trespassers will be prosecuted" are nonsensical as trespass is a tort - a civil wrong - as opposed to a crime. The only recourse for the property owner is to take a civil action against the trespasser. The Gardai would not be interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

*threads merged*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

No they have no right to take your film. Its YOURs. Unless they have a warrant or that sort of thing they dont. Ditto for digital info. You make it its yours.

Of course if its covered by the official secrets act you MIGHT :D be in trouble but from the sounds of it I dont think it was photos of Bertie Ahern in bed with a man...:eek: