Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please be cool

• 13-04-2007 9:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭

With the sunshine & post-Van City buzz, its a great time to be skatin.
    Just wanted to ask a favour:

If you're gonna drink in Bushy, PLEASE don't leave empty bottles all over da gaff. I'm not on some kill-joy buzz (I like a beer as much/more than da next lad) but some people are really takin da piss.

Yesterday there was a line of empty bottles (Stella, I think) carefully placed along the coping on the right hand side of the bowl.
    Does somebody think this is amusing for some reason?
    - there's a bin about 20 yards from where the bottles were left.

When I asked a few lads if they knew who owned the bottles nobody had a clue.
    Amazing.
    In fairness to Paddy he got rid of 'em.
    There was another load of empties left in the park last Friday too.

Broken glass in a bowl is no fun - and another great reason for the local residents to complain (they're still at it by the way)
    If a kid gets hurt cos of somethin like this its gonna cause major grief.

Anyway, rant over - if ya see somebody actin da boll*x, have a word.

Nice 1,

JohnBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

If skaters are doing it thats bloody stupid! Im guessing its from skaters who actually live in other counties!

If no one saw who did it maybe it was travellers or something overnight?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wideangle

Ya thats not on,littering the place even with plastic bottels is not right.I cannot believe the locals are still complaining,so sad.

DeafVision wrote:
    If no one saw who did it maybe it was travellers or something overnight?

Very hard to get in when the place is locked up I would imagine,and that's a good thing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Yea but it was obviously travellers

There is no way of knowing if it was travellers if know one saw who put them there.It is not a good thing to drink alachol and use a skatepark anyway as insurance would not cover any injuries if under the influence.
    All it takes is local residents to see first hand skaters/bikers/bladers with alachol in there and there will be worldwar 3!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭JahEerie

Yea but it was obviously travellers
    Not sure if that was meant as a joke....it was skaters.
    Its sad that some people are so spoilt that they EXPECT parks & then they act da bollix. Not suprisingly none of these lads were anywhere to be seen when we were petitioning for a park & going to meeting after meeting with the council.

Bushy (& the other parks) aren't for:

Knacker-drinkin
    Gettin baked
    Creche facilities/kiddy playground
    Mountain bikes
    Scooters/trikes/or any other toys

Unfortunately the more freedom some people get, the less they can actually handle it. If ya skate or BMX these parks are for you - if not, ya really should be somewhere else.

Cheers,

JohnBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

JahEerie wrote:
    Bushy (& the other parks) aren't for:

Knacker-drinkin
    Gettin baked
    Creche facilities/kiddy playground
    Mountain bikes
    Scooters/trikes/or any other toys

What?!?!? And where should I learn to ride and jump my new bike?

Would it be such a problem by respecting all users? If yes, you are going to make me very very sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Kenjd

ThOnda wrote:
    What?!?!? And where should I learn to ride and jump my new bike?(
    On a mountain/grass/hill/pavement/road..........
    Theres acres of green areas all over dublin, why confine yourself to a small skatepark like Bushy????:confused::confused:
    FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

My bike is going to be a little shorter and I would like to learn using U-ramp, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 sdLOVE

i know for a fact that the kid that scribbled slipknot on one of the quarters drinks in the park at night, we're trying to portray our feelings of how he isnt wanted in the park by making sly comments about his girlfriend and clothin attire.. soon enough he should get the message if all goes to plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭theo4130

"we're trying to portray our feelings of how he isnt wanted in the park by making sly comments about his girlfriend and clothin attire.. soon enough he should get the message if all goes to plan"

sorry sdLOVE but this is a bad idea, just tell him to stop or else (a good auld push and shove works) no need to bring anyone else into the situation.

If ya 'Know' that people are graffin or doin anythin thats gonna put OUR skatepark at risk, TELL THEM TO STOP!!!
    Askin is for reasonable people & assholes aren't reasonable.

There are enough of us real skaters/bikers out there to keep things cool.
    Some folks mightn't know about all da hassle we had to get Bushy (& other parks) but I can assure you that we won't sit by & watch other eejits f*ck it up.

If I personally see people doin dumb ****, they'll be told - & if that doesn't work we can 'discuss' it outside da park.
    This isn't some 'locals only' nonsense either - everybody's welcome, as long as they're comin to skate/ride.

If you're on some ASBO mission, f*ck off down to da bandstand
    - that's been a knacker drinkin spot since i was a kid (20-somethin years ago)

See ya in da deep end

JohnBoy

PS - Bushy is now open from 9.30am
    All us ol' fogies can get a roll in before work (if ya don't start at 9 ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 sdjustin

well i dont know about anyone else but when slipknot is written in the park by some dickhead rocker i think that deserves a nice suspension from the park lol i think people that do **** like that should be told to p1ss off for a month or whatever .............. as for the drinking thing there i mean a can or 2 chillin is allright once its binned i don see why it should be a problem well once the locals dont see ya ! lol

peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭luapenak

sdjustin wrote:
    as for the drinking thing there i mean a can or 2 chillin is allright once its binned i don see why it should be a problem well once the locals dont see ya ! lol

peace
    I dont think people should be drinking in skateparks. its a really bad example for the young kids there.no doubt the older people who are people theyll be looking up to and who they think are "cool"

Its kinda been a tradition to drink in Bushy :o
    - I'm not gonna be a hypocrite & say people shouldn't
    BUT drinkin in a skatepark is different.

I heard from the council today that some Rathdown residents are STILL complaining about the skatepark. They are actively lookin for reasons to get an injunction/solicitors involved.
    These people are petty-minded begrudgers, & they would be only delighted to see ASBO-worthy behaviour.
    I've witnessed them first-hand at numerous meetings - THEY HATE THE SKATEPARK & EVERYBODY WHO USES IT!

Everybody knows the score - if ya wanna skate/ride in the park, come on down. If ya wanna knacker drink go to some of the more 'traditional' spots.
    Lunapak is right too - drinkin in front of kids isn't 'cool'
    Some day these people will cop on, til then we all need to protect what we've got.

Peace out

JohnBoy

bushy's now open at 9.30am...nice 1! See you there some morning m8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Kenjd wrote:
    bushy's now open at 9.30am...nice 1! See you there some morning m8!
    they didnt open untill 12 last saturday :(

• Site Banned Posts: 59 ✭✭boarderco

reason for it not opening early las sat was the council told the"security" but didnt tell the parkies n they take care of it on saturady..
    typical of the council not to talk to each other.
    hopefully itll be all sorted this weeknd.
    happy skating
    wg

www.boardercoeire.com
    ps. vote green party! :) or dustin

The original plan was to only open early during the week, but this may be changed to weekends too.

There are lessons for kiddies on this Saturday - May 5th (10am til midday)
    so it'll be the usual 12 bells opening time.
    The lessons only happen every few weeks, so next Saturday (May 12th) should be early opening

Cheers,

JohnBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

sdjustin wrote:
    well i dont know about anyone else but when slipknot is written in the park by some dickhead rocker i think that deserves a nice suspension from the park lol i think people that do **** like that should be told to p1ss off for a month or whatever .............. as for the drinking thing there i mean a can or 2 chillin is allright once its binned i don see why it should be a problem well once the locals dont see ya ! lol

peace

Not in any way looking for a fight or anythin but Graff in skateparks is gonna happen no matter what you say or do. You gotta be real It cant be stopped. However i do beleive if graff is gonna be done it should be done well. Also drinking and getting baked should not be allowed in any skatepark because skating and drinking is not a good thing which a number of my friends have learnt the hard way and they regret it. Also you dont wanna take the risk of being seen or else you will have the whole community around you bitching about it.

slipknot hahaha FFS he deserves a slap no matter where he wrote that!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 blader dude

Any I Know Wer Cabra Skate Park Is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Beks

why buy a mountain bike if you want to ride a park? pretty stupid idea. mountain bikes are for mountains. same as road bikes are for road use. seeing mountain bikers riding street/park on their bikes on extreme channel always makes me laugh, they're doing all the same tricks as bmxers... just get a bloody bmx!! :rolleyes:

20 inch wheels = Good
    26 inch wheels/suspension/gears, etc = Bad:mad:

Bushy will officially be a NO MOUNTAINBIKE zone shortly
    Nothin personal MTB'ers, but as Beks said - GO TO THE MOUNTAINS
    ....or fields/trails/dirt jumps....ye've got plenty of choice

Nice 1

JohnBoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Pawsome

oh cool so its open every day durin the week at 9 30? how but sundays? :)

Weekend opening time is still midday
    This will probably change as it gets closer to summer.

Early mornings & late evenings on weekdays are best bet for quieter times

JohnBoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Beks

JahEerie wrote:
    Weekend opening time is still midday
    This will probably change as it gets closer to summer.

Early mornings & late evenings on weekdays are best bet for quieter times

JohnBoy

Thank god! I'd love to go really early on weekends, when nobody else is up yet cos they are all still hungover. hehe.