Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did all the old cars disappear off the roads?

• 11-04-2007 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭

I was just watching Reeling in the Years on RTE last night and the street scenes were naturally full of everyday older cars 99.99% of which have gone to the scrapyard in the sky by now :):( I was just thinking about a few older cars and wondering when I last saw one, when they were common, when they started to disappear off the roads, when they became almost extinct.

Take a common series of cars Mk1-Mk4 Escorts. When did the various marks start getting scrapped. Lets say you took a walk down a busy street in 1997 would you have seen any Mk3 Escorts or were they all/mostly gone by then.

If we take newer cars I am pretty sure that Citroen BXs were still quite common in 2002 but had virtually disappeared by 2007. And I reckon the Renault 19 will shortly be joining the BX in oblivion.

How about the following cars, when did they disappear.
    Mk1 Fiat Ritmo
    Renault 18
    Ford Sierra Mk1
    Golf Mk1
    Datsun Bluebird 910
    Opel Ascona
    Corolla KE30
    Mazda 323 Mk1
    Morris Minors
    Hillman Hunter and Avenger

Surely they weren't all culled at the time of the scrappage scheme in circa 1996? Did anyone notice a major disappearance around this time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

saw a mk4 escort at the weekend and a Mk1 Sierra most days....most of the rest gonew though...

shock horror, at the Car Show in Killarney last sunday there were TWO Cariina II 's on show......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

corktina wrote:
    shock horror, at the Car Show in Killarney last sunday there were TWO Cariina II 's on show......
    :D:D:D:D

I think the nct has a big hand in this, think about it the average joe soap who's 89 fiesta failed on things more than the car is worth, is hardly going to put money into an old car, more likey to put his hard earned into a newer car.

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The weather must have something to do with this as well, cars rot and many old hacks get left out in the winter weather bearly turning a wheel for weeks while rain leaks in the peeling window rubbers.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

The scrappage scheme cleaned out most of the stuff, a lot of dealers were still running it after the official one was over. I remember seeing a lot of very good stuff going to the crusher, a lot of stuff that was crushed was better than most of the stuff on the road at the moment and better built too.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Lots of classic taxis around Dublin these days ;-)

There's the '88 Carina, the '92 Corolla, the '93 Nissan Prairie, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭andreas_220D

franksm wrote:
    Lots of classic taxis around Dublin these days ;-)

There's the '88 Carina, the '92 Corolla, the '93 Nissan Prairie, etc.

That reminds me on the W123 taxi i saw quite often. Does anybody happen to have a telephone number from the driver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

The more time goes by, the more I notice the likes of my car (Nissan Micra K10; square model) are disappearing fast from the roads, and only 6-7 years ago they were plentiful. Shame really, go over to the States, or even France, and you'll see many 80's (and even the occasional 70's) cars on the roads daily. I think ever since the start of the Celtic Tiger, everyone wants a new car, keeping up with the Jones' I guess.

In saying that, I saw a Mk3 Escort (1984 Ghia model) for the first time in about 3 years there 2 days ago, and today I saw a '89 Ford Orion & a '87 Mazda 929 Estate, I actually can't remember the last time I saw one of those before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

hi, yep think the celtic tiger had a lot to do with a lot of cars vanishing of irish roads, and the second thing was our weather, rain , damp , more rain , more rain equals a lot of rusty metal . havnt seen first gen 323 in a long time now , nor many original starlets , came across a minter at the paddys day run in clane. there is still a lot of morris minors around in all their different guises. seen two renault 4s recently , still in everyday use.there are a few toyota cressidas and crowns around that pop up from time to time . mk 1 escorts are still around , and i seen a fiat 128 awhile back . so some people out there are taking care of them.

Looking on it now, these everyday cars from the '70's and '80's are the ones that will really turn heads, now and into the future, mainly because these are the cars that we will have the most memories of.

TBH, if I was going down a road and I spotted an, for example, early 80's Mazda 323, I would find it far more interesting than say a Porsche 911. It's all about nostalgia at the end of the day.

Just thinking there, can anyone remember the last time they saw a Yugo, Lada, or a pre-VW Skoda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I'd say the Micra K10 is one of the most common older cars. I still see plenty of them.

Also, small cars tend to stay in everyday use for many years in this country. Due to insurance etc they tend to be popular among young drivers and are still worth something even when 10+ years old.

In other stuff I have seen 3 Mk1 jettas recently. A blue one in Offaly, a beige one in Cavan and a red one in Cavan. I think the two Cavan ones are owned by the same fella.

And I saw an 87 Daihatsu Charmant today and a pre 87 Suzuki Swift yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

BrianD3 wrote:
    I'd say the Micra K10 is one of the most common older cars
    Saw one this morning (no pic) in Donabate on 'SI' plates (1986?).
    BrianD3 wrote:
    Datsun Bluebird
    Opel Ascona
    Here's a picture of a Bluebird taken recently in north Dublin and an Ascona spotted in Rome.

BrianD3 wrote:
    I'd say the Micra K10 is one of the most common older cars. I still see plenty of them.

While there is a good many of them still around, they are disappearing of the road quite quickly. The oldest one I seen lately though was a Jap import 1985 March, not too many of those of that vintage left on the roads.

As for that 'SI' reg. Bluebird someone else posted, I've seen that car quite alot in the Firhouse/Knocklyon area. Must be a local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

When I was in New Zealand in 2004 there were (still are) lots of 70's and 80's cars in everday use. I bought a 1988 Bluebird when I was there to tour around in. It was in great condition with 100,000 miles on the clock. I bought it for $900 and sold it 2 months later for $1200! :)

I spotted a Datsun/Nissan Laurel for sale on the B&S in recent weeks (c.€1200) ....not many of those around!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Revelation Joe

I have a '93 Renault 19, ther's still quite a few around.
    I see an original Ford Anglia estate pretty often in Roscommon plus a Mk3 Escort 1.3L
    Were there ever Vauxhall Victors and Vivas here, or were there only Opels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭8~)

There were Victors and Viva here. I remember seeing an ad/program in the early 80s where an FE Victor used as a Garda car.

I'd like a reasonable FE Victor if anyone knows of one available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

The answer is obviously that they gradually go extinct.

Even the Mk1 Mondeo (we have one so I notice...) is getting rare enough on the roads. The Peugeot 405 is disappearing, Audi 80s the same. I think once any model is gone off the market by 7-8 years the numbers on the road decrease dramatically.

Its a pity, because most cars have plenty life left in them when they are laid up and left to rot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There are loads of Audi 80s about the place - mainly with Polish plates though!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭alfarocks

Its called progress. The old have to make way for the new generation of soccer moms and their latest 4x4.

alfarocks wrote:
    Its called progress. The old have to make way for the new generation of soccer moms and their latest 4x4.

That's true, but I'd take an old Peugeot 505 Estate over any of the modern people carriers or soccer mom SUV's anyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

mike65 wrote:

Mike.
    They seem to have gone more for the Audi 100s in these parts!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

mike65 wrote:
    Great cars! I had one in "champagne" for years that I still miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Appox four Ford Capris running around Limerick. One is a Capri Laser,other three various marks.
    Plus four old Mercedes G wagons 1984[mine] an 87, two 89s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭cxcully

Were there ever Vauxhall Victors and Vivas here, or were there only Opels?

A feisty old lady in Ballinasloe can still be seen bringing her 30 year old brown Viva into town on Sundays.As a previous poster said,I get far more excited seeing an old everyday car still trundling alone than some pampered Supercar.
    In my travels( past 3 years)-Original Irish Reg cars (cars in use/not at shows-off the top of my head);
    Mk 1 Jettas in Gort/Mountbellew/Williamstown (Co.Galway)
    Ford Cortina-light brown metallic-immaculate Williamstown
    In Ballinasloe (area and town)-light blue Fiesta-EFI Reg,Mk 1 Daihatsu Charade,amazing rusty Ford Anglia Estate IX Reg
    Light blue boxy Mazda 323- Moutbellew
    old reg Honda Civics-Ballinasloe and Castlebar-love that shape
    Galway City-old man in bright Opel Kadett early 80s,Daihatsu Charade and Nissan Micra with those strange plasticky 80s dark plates with letters in light brown.
    VW Golf Moylough
    The great survivers are the 80s Toyota Corollas,strangely not Starlets-have seen circa 7-8 on the old plates in Galway/Mayo and Roscommon
    Love this thread-more will come back to me.

Immmaculate big Volvo saloon ?840- SI reg Claremorris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭AMHRASACH

. . fair play, cx, your heart's in the right place. Plenty of Renault 4's in Portugal, not a spec o rust; one o the best cars ever built, could drive across a ploughed field. Great comfort on a long run 'cept rolled a bit on sharp corners.

I've only seen one R4-an ex-Post Office one in Ballaghdereen last year...driving but not in great shape.Unfortunately I've seen no 2CVs on old plates...have seen 3-4 post 87 ones.My dad once drove in his R4 back to Galway from a rugby match in Dublin in the late 70s with five players on board.......stuck in 3rd gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Lets face it most of the cars that vanished quickly were just crap anyway. Who honestly mourns the truly dreadful Ritmo or Mk III escort. You don't see any Mazda 323's now because they were made of cardboard. Corrolla K30's rusted worse than any Alfa - I am glad they are gone.

The we have such delights as the datsun 120Y, Cherry, stanza etc - good riddance.

I was however shocked at how the galvanised Fiat Tipo just went into oblivion so quickly. Proof that rust alone will not send a car to its grave.

Now of course special cars that had some magic about them will always survive. I have the following in my garage as proof. :cool:

1975 TR6
    1978 Alfasud Ti
    1980 Mk I Scirocco
    1981 Alfasud Sprint
    1983 Alfasud Ti
    1990 Golf Gti Mk II.

Lets face it most of the cars that vanished quickly were just crap anyway. Who honestly mourns the truly dreadful Ritmo or Mk III escort. You don't see any Mazda 323's now because they were made of cardboard. Corrolla K30's rusted worse than any Alfa - I am glad they are gone.

The we have such delights as the datsun 120Y, Cherry, stanza etc - good riddance.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. ;)

My parents had an '81 Escort Mk3 back in the early 90's, it was a red one and it was a heap of shít, no denying it (the engine went on fire in the end!) However, I have fond memories of the car, and I always liked them. I often thought of getting on as a classic (or soon to be) or something, just to bring back the nostalgia. Ahh, memory lane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

Failed NCT ("ah it will cost too much to fix, lets just buy that new base model Daewoo"), Celtic Tiger (ah the ol' 89 D plate is embarrising, lets just buy that new base model Daewoo), Lead petrol phased-out (ah this additive malarkey is a right pain, and no mistake, ets just buy that new base model Daewoo), Child seat belt laws, SSIA, ETC

vector wrote:
    Failed NCT ("ah it will cost too much to fix, lets just buy that new base model Daewoo"), Celtic Tiger (ah the ol' 89 D plate is embarrising, lets just buy that new base model Daewoo), Lead petrol phased-out (ah this additive malarkey is a right pain, and no mistake, ets just buy that new base model Daewoo), Child seat belt laws, SSIA, ETC

Sad but true:(

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Ballykine43

Followed a re-registered Montego from Belfast today. Very good appearance and moving fast. Couldn't believe it when a Maestro crossed us at traffic lights, looking a bit rough but still presentable. Haven't seen either in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

I have seen a Maestro near me made in I998.. it was one of a number that was originally intended for sale in Bulgaria. In the last month I saw an original Austin A60 Van from I973 on its original Irish plates driving around.

I saw an '89 Ford Orion yesterday. Now only 10 years ago these car were pretty much everywhere. Now you'd only see only once in a blue moon. Shame too, I liked those cars.

I even saw an Austin Metro the other day. Now they are probably one of the most rarest cars on the roads in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭breanoh

Yesterday, in a scrapyard in Rural Clare, I came across a 1983 Fiesta, re-reg'd, but intact. I also saw an 80's 323, I think it's the MK1. There was also a couple of Micras, and some others like that. Another car that is getting rarer is the MK2 golf and Jetta, the volvo 340, the fiat uno and panda, and many others...... where are they all going? even the merc 190 is getting rarer!
    and even the R5 mk2. Where are they all going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

Max_Damage wrote:
    I saw an '89 Ford Orion yesterday. Now only 10 years ago these car were pretty much everywhere. Now you'd only see only once in a blue moon. Shame too, I liked those cars.

I even saw an Austin Metro the other day. Now they are probably one of the most rarest cars on the roads in this country!

I know someone with a very early Metro, 80 or 81, its in dry storage, needs a bit of mechanical work for NCT. Its in Dublin.

breanoh wrote:
    YI also saw an 80's 323, I think it's the MK1

Their is a early 80's 323 sitting in the driveway of a house in Templeouge. It's been their for years, and it's in rough condition at this stage. Other's I've seen in the same area is a Nissan Cherry and an early Volvo 340.

Does anyone remember the Nissan Laurel? Haven't seen one of them in a about 15 years! Another is the mid-80's Mazda 626. My father had one about 7 years ago, It was the last one I saw in this country since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭$Leon$

Max_Damage wrote:
    Their is a early 80's 323 sitting in the driveway of a house in Templeouge. It's been their for years, and it's in rough condition at this stage.

Is the 323 gold on original Irish plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Those Mazda 323s ye're talking about sound like the circa 1981-1985 version, think these would be referred to as the Mk2.

The model before that was very common here for many years then started to disappear and the scrappage scheme wiped out the last of them.

They had chrome bumpers with early ones having round headlights and later ones square. A blue one can be seen in the film Into The West!

As for Datsun Laurels - saw one in Cavan about a year ago. Bronze coloured normal driver on old style plates, circa 1981.

$Leon$ wrote:
    Is the 323 gold on original Irish plates?

It's silver, and yes, it's on old Irish plates. XXX OSI (or maybe it's the other way around). As BrianD3 said, it's the Mk2 model.
    The model before that was very common here for many years then started to disappear and the scrappage scheme wiped out the last of them.

They had chrome bumpers with early ones having round headlights and later ones square. A blue one can be seen in the film Into The West!

Time to go down memory lane once again :D :

MHV_Mazda_323_1st_Gen_02.jpg

I remember these were everywhere alright. The last time I saw one was in a scrapyard in Cavan about 5 years ago. They were nice looking cars too.

Nissan Laurel!! jaysus theres a blast from the past loved those cars!!

/walks down memory lane:D

-VB-

It's sad to see the good ol' days gone. We may even be saying the same thing about today's cars 15-20 years down the line!

Max_Damage wrote:
    It's sad to see the good ol' days gone. We may even be saying the same thing about today's cars 15-20 years down the line!

Not likely i'm afraid, most cars have too many tech bits in them more to go wrong and expensive bits, hence more likely that they'll be scrapped rather than repaired

Seen a mazda in clontarf, 1987, just around the corner from gerrys gaff

-

-VB-

There is an '87 Mazda 929 Estate in Rathfarnham that I see quite regularly. I've been meaning to take a picture of it, it's in showroom condition by the looks of it.
    Not likely i'm afraid, most cars have too many tech bits in them more to go wrong and expensive bits, hence more likely that they'll be scrapped rather than repaired

You're probably right actually. No one will be bothered trying to restore cars of today in years to come because of the complex electronics in them. That and the fact that today's cars are just seen as 'white goods', they'll be scrapped when their 'sell by date' is up. I think cars up to the mid-90's are the last of the 'DIY mechanic friendly' type of cars.