Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand National

• 10-04-2007 8:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭

Ive narrowed it down i think and would like to what people think

Homer Wells: Recently beat Homer Wells and Numbersixvalverde in Ireland

Point Barrow: Won IRISH National last year like Numbersixvalverde did

Longshanks: Must have a chance on national fences form, missed it last year when fancied because didnt make the cut.

Silver Birch: Rejuvenated this year after leaving Paul Nicholls yard, fell at chair last year

Clan Royal: Proven National form and i dont believe his weight is high enough to prevent him finally winning.

Le Duc: My dark horse, unseated last year at canal turn, looked good in cross country races this year.

Risk Accessor: 5 or 6th last year i think, so must go close as horses in front have all got weight hikes.

Jack High: 2nd to Numbersixvalverde in Irish national 2 years ago and was 2nd recently to homer wells in front of Numbersixvalverde and Point Barrow

Ballycassidy: was going well last year in lead by a few lenght when fell, would have possible made frame

This is as good as i can narrow it down, please some extra help would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

why u discount the form of last years beecher chase?euro trk might have too much weight (stats) but bewleys berry gets in nice off 10-7 (Bewleys Berry ran a fine race on his first outing over these fences. The handicapper hasn't given him a great chance, but he's always looked a thorough, sound-jumping stayer, and he proved it by finishing second here after racing up with the pace. Considering his relative lackof experience, it was a sound effort and he is another who could prove a live National contender in due course.)

dunbroby millar in third might not get in but these have got round the national fences and race can be a good guide to the national

the horse in forth was nil desparandum who was forth in last years national and who was antepost fav for this year before he died

so the one im taking out of the race is bewleys berry

these in turn had joes edge back in eight that day and at the moment there is an almighty gamble going on that horse he should just get in on a feather weight of 10-2 with the right man in the saddle this time

i have just focussed on the beecher form but will update other trend races later or tomorrow and between us all we might get the winner this year -i have had the winner of this race 5 out of the last 6 years -skill or luck i dont know but i look forward to it

00dyel wrote:
    Ive narrowed it down i think and would like to what people think

Homer Wells: Recently beat Homer Wells and Numbersixvalverde in Ireland

Point Barrow: Won IRISH National last year like Numbersixvalverde did

Longshanks: Must have a chance on national fences form, missed it last year when fancied because didnt make the cut.

Silver Birch: Rejuvenated this year after leaving Paul Nicholls yard, fell at chair last year

Clan Royal: Proven National form and i dont believe his weight is high enough to prevent him finally winning.

Le Duc: My dark horse, unseated last year at canal turn, looked good in cross country races this year.

Risk Accessor: 5 or 6th last year i think, so must go close as horses in front have all got weight hikes.

Jack High: 2nd to Numbersixvalverde in Irish national 2 years ago and was 2nd recently to homer wells in front of Numbersixvalverde and Point Barrow

Ballycassidy: was going well last year in lead by a few lenght when fell, would have possible made frame

This is as good as i can narrow it down, please some extra help would be nice.

point barrow fits in well formwise with previos irish winners and ridden by man of the moment phillip carbury he hasnt raced all week might be saving himself lol

clan royal?might be too old i dont know but mccoy on lami who ran kauto very close but weight could be an issue with l,ami

silver birch is interesting as a good second at cheltenham last time and if u go back three years to his gold cup 4th and as u say seems to be rejuvinated

same race at chel brings in le duc who also ties in with beecher chase form (see previos post) when finishing one place in front of joes edge

i seem to be coming full circle here lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭00dyel

your right about bewleys berry i forgot to add him to my list, im discounting Eurotrek due to the high weight, i feel anything over 11-3 or 11-4 wont be able to carry that amount round.

we just need them to stand up now or not get brought down thats half the battle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

What about these horses dont they have good chances too?

Bothar Na
    Slim Pickings
    Knowhere
    Simon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

The jock wrote:
    What about these horses dont they have good chances too?

Bothar Na
    Slim Pickings
    Knowhere
    Simon

I've had an antepost bet on Bothar Na at big prices, I think I will lay it off. Willie Mullins has been saying he thinks this year may be a year too soon for him.

Couldn't have Simon on fast ground.

I'm also on Dun Doire at 16/1 Ante Post but the ground has definitely gone against him so I've laid that off.

I still think Liberthine could run a big price despite the presence of Mr. Waley Cohen.

Dun Doire and Simon i feel need softer ground, Slim Pickings im not sure has the quality to win the race, Liberthine i think doesnt have the stamina for this distance but should handle the fences well.

John Mccrick (spelling) this morning tipped Mckelvey and Billyvoddan as they are both top of the ground horses. Billyvoddan has been tipped by quite a few experts and can't understand why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

I still think Liberthine could run a big price despite the presence of Mr. Waley Cohen.

Might not be the best jockey riding in the race but has a phenomenal record over the fences. Liberthine's chance was last year.

Billyvoddan is well in. Would be handicapped a lot higher if the weights were framed after cheltenham.

I like Numbersixvalverde with Ballycassidy and Zabenz as two speculative outsiders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

Dunbrody Miller and The Outlier each way.

Horses that have won me a few bob in the past, two heart over head bets.

still cant get away from bewleys berry -jury still out on the jockey though would prefer if g lee was still on him -any one else any fancies to sway our discissions ? i see dunbrody millar is 3rd reserve for the race but still holds an entry to the topham tomorrow if he doesnt get in -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭mickc

I'll be backing Mckelvey ew in this race currently 20-1 on pp

Running of a nice weight of 10-4, I feel 20-1 is too big a price to ignore (although I was on at a larger price ;) )

19th November 06 - Mckelvey finished 18th lengths behind eurotrek (carrying 11-7) at aintree on good ground carrying 11-2. Joes edge finished a 35l 8th that day carrying 10-10.
    joes Edge carries 10-2 in the national so imo opinion Mckelvey should hold him on that form. Mckelvey also won a 4m 1/2 f race in uttoxeter in july 2006 on good to firm and while its a little short of the national trip i think he'll see it out

might have a small play on bewley berry ew on knighted's advice as he's had 5 winners from last 6 nationals and i'd kick myself otherwise (Mckelvey finished 10l behind bewleys berry in the beecher but is now 3 pounds better off i think.)

opinions?

edited to spell the selections name right! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭badbrian

Anybody know who Don McLean tipped?

I backed McKelvey, Ballycassidy and Royal Auclair (on closer form inspection this last one does not look so promising).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭delrun

Don McLean tipped POINT BARROW & MCKELVEY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭theKED

I fancy Monkerhostin, Billyvoddan and Liberthine all each way.

Chect out

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/other_sports/horse_racing/6538701.stm

for all the top tipsters tips.

the top tipster tips are in this thread!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭theKED

mickc wrote:
    the top tipster tips are in this thread!!! :D

Ha Ha. Not if I listen to some of ye for the Irish Grand National. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

The more I look at the race the more I like Point Barrow, he has the perfect profile for the race. Has won an Irish National so should stay, won on good ground, very good jumper, 9 year olds have very good record in the race, horses carrying between 10-8 and 11-1 have won the race for the last 7 years - Point Barrow carries 10-12 and has been aimed at this race for the past year.

He's still 10/1 with Paddy Powers who are paying 5 places, he's only 9.5/1 less commission on Betfair.

I agree with Knighted that Bewleys Berry could go well.

My final selections are:

Le Duc- E/W, running well over cross country, good ground suits
    Bewleys Berry- was 2nd in Becher, Dunbrody Miller was 3rd, better off in weights than Eurotrek. Good Ground Horse.
    Mckelvey- GOOD GROUND suits, 6 in Becher which looks like a good pointer.
    Longshanks- in at 3rd time of asking, proven national course form.

dunbrody millar wins 2 day didnt see the race but hoping bewleys can deliver 2moro still cant get away from him -was checking out his point to point form also -looks good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I have a bet to nothing to win 300 on betfair on bewleys berry but I don't think he'll stay 4m 4 in a horse box. Hope I'm wrong!

Must say its a wide open national, don't really fancy anything in it. I don't fancy Number6, dun doire, simon, eurotrek, idle talk, l'ami or bothar na.

has a free tenner bet with spoils so stuck 5ew on ballycassidy at 50s. will like the ground and was still travelling well when departing last year. Has been in terrible form this year tho but i'm willing to take a chance at 50s. In any case its a free bet!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

00dyel wrote:
    My final selections are:

Longshanks- in at 3rd time of asking, proven national course form.

I will be backing this one too - likes the course and trip should be more suitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

For what its worth il be having a few bob e/w on :::

Mckelvey(14s) - won lto - gets trip - goes on the ground - low in weights - havs form over fences in the Beecher
    Puntal(80s) - a bit speculative but 6th last year - likes the ground - gets the trip - tom scudamore on board
    Hedgehunter(11s)win - CD winner - ground suits - super jumper - Ruby up

Good luck to all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭keepitquiet

can anyone tell me why knowhere is in the national? it cant jump! l'ami and longsanks for me:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I did todays lotto too, gone for these 3

Bewleys Berry 20/1
    Gallant Approach 66/1
    McKelvey 14/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

My selections on Grand national day

1.45 Jubilant Note 14/1
    Will like the good ground

2.15 Twist Magic 9/4
    Was travelling sweet when falling at Chelt

2.50 Arcalis 16/1
    Will love the ground.Ran well at chelt.Good ew bet

4.15 Bewleys Berry 25/1 and Bothar Na 25/1 .Both have good course &
    fences form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Got a tip for Jubilant Note in the 1.45.Connections expect a huge run from this horse today.Will love the ground and has been aimed at this race since last year.Best price is 16's in Boyles paying 1/4 first 4 !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Robin1982

I'd like to see Detroit City win the Aintree Hurdle and at 7/4 i may even be tempted to have a rare bet.

In the National, I'll go for

Idle Talk
    Numbersixvalverde
    Hedgehunter
    Bewley's Berry

in cross straight forecasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

McKelvey
    Idle Talk
    Longshanks
    Thisthatandtother
    Liberthine

These are my 5 selections all to place:D ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

heres my bets for todays national:

point barrow 9/1win
    mckelvey 20/1 ew
    bewleys berry 20/1 ew
    BALLYVODDAN 20/1 WIN

heres my dads bets:

lami 16/1 ew
    simon 16/1 ew
    ballycassidy 50/1 ew
    mckelvey 20/1 ew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭justbringit89

what time is mckelvey and bewleys berry races at??

4:15pm
    what time is mckelvey and bewleys berry races at??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

Goldcupfav wrote:
    Got a tip for Jubilant Note in the 1.45.Connections expect a huge run from this horse today.Will love the ground and has been aimed at this race since last year.Best price is 16's in Boyles paying 1/4 first 4 !!

Agree,I was at Thurles that day when he came 6th in a 1mile handicap in yielding ground.He will really like this ground today.Bet of the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭kmot90

1. Numbersixvalverde
    2. PointBarrow
    3. BotharNa
    4. Slim Pickings
    5. Hedgehunter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Mckevely €5 EW
    Bewley €2.50EW

ziggy67 wrote:
    Few each-way bets for me:

Is the race available to watch live on-line anywhere?

racing post is showing the racing online for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

E/W Bets for me are

Slim Pickings
    Bothar Na
    Numbersixvalverde
    Le Duc
    Jack High

The old dear asked me to pick one for her so I choose

Liberthine (she wasn't impressed at the name for some reason :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I put some thing on Ballycassidy. I 'm going to put a bet on Clan Royal. Down with ageism!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Next race
    Lennon win

National
    Bewleys
    Mck
    Both ew

Best of luck!

Is it just me or does most people seem to have there money on bewleys and Mckevely!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I agree with the above.

I'm thinking L'Ami and Hedgehunter myself.

how did 2.15 go??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

chump wrote:
    I agree with the above.

I'm thinking L'Ami and Hedgehunter myself.
    i agree. same 10 ew on hedgehunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

My Dad stuck a few quid on Dun Doire for me at 18-1.

*crosses fingers*

what happened with jubilant note.

Goldcupfav wrote:

11th

comments in running from the racing post site

held up, headway 6th, hung left and weakened approaching 2 out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

****ing donkies the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

still in it.. Bewleys Berry and Silver Birch.. COME ON!!

edit: Damn.. BB just fell! :(

aaaarrrrrrggggggghhhhhhhhh