Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mac compatible software/games

• 09-04-2007 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭

Hi guys hope ye are well
    Thinking of buying a macbook in a few weeks instead of a hp laptop
    Im over here in the statesat the mommment and the lappies are well cheaper
    But imwondering will I be restricting the amt of software avaiable to me
    Im a fan of GTA and I no that this game is not available in a mac compatible version
    What about free internet downloads, will these avenue suddenly be off to me, by changing from PC to MAC?
    Thanks for yer help lads
    Ed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 freeluas

All the new Macs come with a software package called 'Bootcamp' which allows you to easily install MS Windows and then you could install any PC software you like. Possibly you can you Windows from an old PC if you kept the CD. Otherwise your supposed to buy Windows.
    Myself I would never buy a PC as they are so poor and although I have one in work I use the Mac mainly. If you want a cheap Mac I bought one from the Apple refurbished store. Theres at least 240euro off a MacBook and a grand off a MacBOOK Pro. Bought a MacBook Pro for 1299.00, which is 1,000 off and it was fine and brand new. Only thing was the packaging was different and the model is slightly out of date, ie built in December 2006 and had a slightly slower processor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭sozbox

I was in the same situation when I was considering switching a while back. The first thing I did when I got my Mac was to download BootCamp with plans to install XP. But so far (6 months) I have been able to find a Mac program to replace anything I used on Windows so I have never had the need to install XP.
    With the ability to install Windows you'll actually have access to more software (OS X and Windows) than if you were to buy a Windows only PC.

What exactly do you mean when you say "free internet downloads"?
    Everything on the internet will still be available if you get a Mac, so no worries there.

If you have more questions before buying, post back.
    Since I "switched" 5 people I know have switched also as a result of seeing and using my MacBook and so far not a single complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭eurotrotter

thanks for all yer help
    im convinced im gonna get one
    my other concern is whether a 80 gb hd is sifficient to have mac os x and xp on the one hd, hiow many gb's will remain with these hd space already occupied?
    im gonna get a white on eiwth a 80gb hd and a 2.0ghz processor with 1gb of ram.
    do the battery/laptops themselves heat up as muchh as othe rlaptops.
    using a dell laptop here and the heat dissipation is firstly uncomfortable on my lap but also concerning
    one other concern i have is the trackpad, i find it v v slow on macbooks compared to on say dell laptops can this be configured to behave like a dell trackpad with a bit of tinquering at the settings?
    thanks for the posts lads and especially jason

Jason1984 wrote:
    I was in the same situation when I was considering switching a while back. The first thing I did when I got my Mac was to download BootCamp with plans to install XP. But so far (6 months) I have been able to find a Mac program to replace anything I used on Windows so I have never had the need to install XP.
    With the ability to install Windows you'll actually have access to more software (OS X and Windows) than if you were to buy a Windows only PC.

What exactly do you mean when you say "free internet downloads"?
    Everything on the internet will still be available if you get a Mac, so no worries there.

If you have more questions before buying, post back.
    Since I "switched" 5 people I know have switched also as a result of seeing and using my MacBook and so far not a single complaint.