Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hanley & g'em rockin' the Nationals

• 02-04-2007 8:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭

Hanley is far too humble and dignified for this kind of self-pimpage but meh, I'm not, so I thought I'd share some good news with y'all.

This weekend Hanley and I travelled to Monaghan for the IDFPA National Powerlifting Championships. It was my first competition, but Hanley is a seasoned lifter having done a number of Single-Lift comps, Nationals and even the Worlds last year (i.e. when he gives advice about lifts, listen!!).

We both had a fantastic time, he lifted on Sunday equipped, I was on Saturday unequipped.

Hanley's results:
    Squat: 190kg
    Bench 150kg
    Deadlift: 220kg
    Total: 560kg

Those are ALL National Records giving him 7 National records in total and a spot in the World Championships later this year and he's the number 2 Junior drug free lifter in the country.

g'em's results:
    Squat: 130kg (World Record)
    Bench: 62.5kg
    Deadlift: 158kg (World Record)
    Total: 342.5kg (European Record)

This also gives me a spot in the Worlds (the main aim of the day) and I got a nice big shiny trophy for the Overall Women's Unequipped Championship. Not bad for a first-time competitor!!

I just want to say a massive thanks to Hanley for everything he's helped me with in the last few weeks; from drawing up a training plan for me to giving me advice on form/ technique/ how not to lift like a muppet to giving me a run-down of the comp and being on the platform with me (and Hanley give L a hyoooge thanks too for the lift!!). A big thanks too to tribulus (thanks for the bench lift-off!!), JayRoc and t-ha who came with us to the meet and provided fantastic support and to everyone who sent on their best wishes and good luck messages. Roll on the Worlds!!

P.S. D, my day was dedicated to you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

W00t!!!!!!!!

Congrats to both of ye!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Wow! Serious congratulations to both of you. Had this been posted yesterday I would have passed it off as an April Fools joke but well done guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭Lothaar

Well done!

... did you break or equal the world records, btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

g'em wrote:
    Hanley is far too humble and dignified for this kind of self-pimpage

sorry when I finally stop laughing at this part I will say congrats, but that might not be for a while.

ah classiv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭cathald

Well done, man!

jsb wrote:
    sorry when I finally stop laughing at this part I will say congrats, but that might not be for a while.

ah classiv

I heard he wanted an open top bus tour of Dublin ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Lothaar wrote:
    .. did you break or equal the world records, btw?

I broke them - previous squat WR record was 125kg (I think) and deadlift WR was 157.5kg so I broke it by half a kilo!!!! Smashed the European total by about 70kg though.

My previous PR in squats was 120kg and that was my goal weight for Lift 3, but I got 115kg in my second attempt and I was going for 120/125kg for Lift 3 but Hanley convinced me to go for 130kg and it paid off.

The DL was a funny one - I got 120kg for lift 1 and 140kg for lift 2. I'd attempted and failed 150kg in training so the 150kg Lift 3 was a major psychological mind-game but I got it, and because that was a new European Record I was allowed a fourth attempt. I decided to go for it but it was the end of the day and I was shattered and I honestly didn't think I'd make it but I set my lift for just above the WR and pulled a grinder!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Grats guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Some excellent figures there folks, congratulations on the wins, lets hope for many more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

really big congrats to both of you. Very impressive work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Thanks y'all.

Here's the videos from my lifts... I'm working on getting more up right now too.

190kg Squat http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0PyeA_CSxQ
    150kg Bench http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLfbgvohHH0
    220kg Deadlifft http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ZICFp4xxoE

All credit for these goes to my wonderful and amazing girlfriend Lu. Thanks for putting up with all my **** on BOTH days (lessthanthree)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Well done to you both, this should get some kind of media attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

g'em wrote:
    g'em's results:
    Squat: 130kg (World Record)
    Bench: 62.5kg
    Deadlift: 158kg (World Record)
    Total: 342.5kg (European Record)
    Congrats again, doesn't your fourth deadlift count towards your total though? I.e. 350.5kg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

Ah James knew that wouldn't have been a problem for you! Well done again:cool:

4th attempts are only good as record breakers. It would be fair on competitors if you could further your total on a 4th attempt that they might not have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Gotcha, that makes sense alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Amazing work guys, can't wait to hear how you do at the world champs!
    What does unequipped and equipped mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

equipped is when the lifters use knee wraps, squat suits, bench shirts etc..

unequipped is basically without any of them...

Cool thanks. I didn't see any wings or anything strange sticking out in Hanley's vids so I didn't know what it was. ;) Great work once again guys, I hope that one day I can come close to those numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I'll be honest, I don't totally understand what it all means, but hell, you guys broke records and that certainly deserves some congratulations!!! :D

So Congrats you two, well done!!

Malteaser! wrote:
    equipped is when the lifters use knee wraps, squat suits, bench shirts etc..

unequipped is basically without any of them...

BUT you don't have to use ALL of them in conjunction. I wasn't wearing a squat suit (jsut a singlet).

I've found knee wraps do nothing. They're jsut a safety thing at this stage til I learn how to use them properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

Excellent work you two, congrats. I think we have two very authoritative figures on this board now:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Hanley wrote:
    I've found knee wraps do nothing. They're jsut a safety thing at this stage til I learn how to use them properly.

Really? Is it the length of them or just that they weren't tight enough?

So you basically just did a belted squat of 190?
    Niiice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Very well done to both of you :) Will be interesting to see what g'em is deadlifting by this time next year - 200 kg is surely possible? Also, it is quite sick that Hanley is as strong as he is at just 20 years old, imagine what he'll be like by 25!

tribulus wrote:
    Really? Is it the length of them or just that they weren't tight enough?

So you basically just did a belted squat of 190?
    Niiice.

Haha oh man the funniest thing... I didn't even close my belt on the 180!! So it was basically a 2x bodyweight beltless squat.

And I'd say so.. I did 182.5kg last july in just a belt.

Hanley wrote:
    Haha oh man the funniest thing... I didn't even close my belt on the 180!! So it was basically a 2x bodyweight beltless squat.

And I'd say so.. I did 182.5kg last july in just a belt.

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

I've got a lot of catching up to do-how long have you been weightlifting man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Congrats guys! Really inspiring stuff :D
    g'em wrote:
    and he's the number 2 Junior drug free lifter in the country.

I think I know what that means ie. there's a problem with drugs in the sport? Or are drugs legal and there are two sections in which you're ranked?

Excuse the noObness :o

Some federations test, others don't.

The one the two lads competed in does test and take it fairly seriously from what I saw.

So Hanley has the second best total out of all the junior lifters in that federation - the IDFPA.

As a matter of interest Hanley was it the 110kg guy Fennelly who's number 1?

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

I've got a lot of catching up to do-how long have you been weightlifting man?

Ohh about 3 years. My first compeition was last April. I've taken my squat from about 140 in Jan 06 to 190 yesterday.

Trib hit the nail on the head about the testing.

And yeah, Fennelly came in first. 675 @ 102. But it was his last year as a junior so it's mine for the taking next year.

Are there weight divisions or just age? (gawd you're being plagued with n00b questions today.)

Both.

Weight goes:

56, 67.5, 75, 82.5, 90, 100, 110, 125, 125+

Age classes are:
    T1 (14-15)
    T2 (16-17)
    T3 (18-19)
    Junior (20-23)
    Open (any age, but generaly 23-40)

Are there weight divisions or just age? (gawd you're being plagued with n00b questions today.)
    lol, you're grand, it's all quite complicated tbh!! Divisions are by age and weight.

There's teen, Junior (<23), Open, Masters I, II, II, IV and V (starting at 40 and then going in 5 year increments afaik).

For women the weight classes are: <44kg, <47.5kg, <50.5kg, <53kg, <58.5kg, <63kg, <70kg, <80kg, <90kg, 90kg+

For men: <56kg, <60kg, <67.5, <75kg, <82.5kg, <90kg, <100kg, <110kg, <125kg, 145kg+

(Correct me if any are wrong Hanley)

I was in the 80kg Open class (weighed in at 77.9kg) and Hanley was in the Junior 90kg class.

And yeah, the testing is pretty rigorous. Both Hanley and I had to do urine tests.

Here's an edited video of all my 9 attempts http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX5rXo8JExk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Here's a link to all the results.
    http://www.idfpa.plus.com/2007%20IRE%20PL%20Results.pdf

As well as g'em and Hanley lifts, what stands out for me are some of the lifts by the older competitors. Eg Laurence McConnell who is 61 years old and did a 220 kg squat and 245 kg deadlift unequipped @ 100 kg.

Hanley wrote:
    Here's an edited video of all my 9 attempts http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX5rXo8JExk

Savage stuff man, but be honest it's all in the hair isn't it ;)

/me runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Good stuff, congratulations to both of you.

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    Savage stuff man, but be honest it's all in the hair isn't it ;)

/me runs

Lol, ya see hanley, ya do need to get it sorted :p

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Lol, ya see hanley, ya do need to get it sorted :p

Do you honestly think I had time to care about my hair on the day of the national powerlifting championships?

My hair was all cool on Saturday, but I couldn't have been arsed on sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

eh what exactly is wrong with his hair??/

Hanley wrote:
    Do you honestly think I had time to care about my hair on the day of the national powerlifting championships?

My hair was all cool on Saturday, but I couldn't have been arsed on sunday.

Sure we'll have to take you're word for that like.

In the mean time you can all donate to the " Help Hanley get a haircut foundation"

Kenny deals with the money, I'm just the face

Are you sure we can raise enough? ;) 3rd world hunger might be an easier goal :p

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Are you sure we can raise enough? ;) 3rd world hunger might be an easier goal :p

:o low low !!

but funny :rolleyes:

I'm only joking Hanley....

.....we'll buy you a hat instead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

fair play to you both, best of luck at the worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Where are the world's being held? No offence to Clones but Hawaii would be so much better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Yes really great stuff, i am very happy to see ye do well.. I wish ye the best of luck.. It is really great to see ye do well, and it is great to get advice from ye here on boards..
    CONGRATZ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Guvnor

Good lifting by both.
    Is there a site with all the results?

Where are the world's being held? No offence to Clones but Hawaii would be so much better :)
    lol, no such luck!! It's in Scotland on 16th - 18th November

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

g'em wrote:
    lol, no such luck!! It's in Scotland on 16th - 18th November

As well as your squatting suit, bring your thermals!!!

Seriously well done to the both of you, hats off thats some serious lifting.