Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farewell to the chief

• 02-04-2007 5:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Shock horror one of the best ever cash game players to grace th se may be gone forever.Caught by the bollox tonight having a fag in the jaxx,the chief was barred shipped out of the place.Will he be back who else will put mick the lips kids through college? all these ?s may well be answered in the following days he will be missed.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Shock horror one of the best ever cash game players to grace th se may be gone forever.Caught by the bollox tonight having a fag in the jaxx,the chief was barred shipped out of the place.Will he be back who else will put mick the lips kids through college? all these ?s may well be answered in the following days he will be missed.:D

T'was inevitable I guess. Thanks for the update on the soap that is the SE Jimmy! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

LOL, smoking in the jacks...... memories of schoolday suspensions. Is the ban permanent? If so the SE has lost one of its Celebs...I will shun it foreever:)

bring back the Chief
    bring back the chief.

Maybe Spiral can record something...

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Jackpot/Fitz has gained a superstar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

I can never understand the stupidity of people who do things like that.
    Its 30 seconds down the stairs ffs.
    Maybe the ego got to him and he believed he was above the law :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Jimmy Hoffa

Above the law he is the law.Agree stupid thing to do used to be 3 or 4 of em at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Sorry lads I love the chief but I hate smoking more. I ve gone into that toilet plenty of times after people smoking and I hate it. FFS walk down the stairs and have ur cancer stick.It happened in the gresham regularly by 1 guy who often plays in the SE and I know of 2 others at it in the SE. A big boo to them.

Anyhow I think the ban should be temporary cos the chief is good crack but he should know better.

OK i ll get off my soap box now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

I agree with Jay - hate the smell of smoke - but a barring is a bit harsh imo.......How about a warning and if your caught again you're barred.......The sporting have barred a good few of their most regular and loyal customers so I just don't get it......

I heard the other day that the Macau have banned a load of their regular (big cash game) players for not an awful lot???

How does this make sense - or benefit other regular players???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Im open to correction here

- this was the 3rd time he was caught, he received warnings on the previous occasions.

- he has been banned for "a period of up to one month"

carfax wrote:
    I agree with Jay - hate the smell of smoke - but a barring is a bit harsh imo.......How about a warning and if your caught again you're barred.......The sporting have barred a good few of their most regular and loyal customers so I just don't get it......

I heard the other day that the Macau have banned a load of their regular (big cash game) players for not an awful lot???

How does this make sense - or benefit other regular players???

Hey Stephen,

I'm pretty sure the chief has been warned on this issue a few times. Alex chided him on it once or twice when I was within earshot. At some point you have to introduce a ban.

As for wider banning issues I'd say you have to discuss those on a case by case basis. I'd say most of them were warranted and the SE is still making plenty of money without them but most of them arose from people being allowed to play drunk when they should have been turned away at the door.

Im open to correction here

- this was the 3rd time he was caught, he received warnings on the previous occasions.

- he has been banned for "a period of up to one month"

It's all a fix anyway to let Mickste win the league!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

who else did they ban? other than an odd random drunk who was kicking up a rucus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

who else did they ban? other than an odd random drunk who was kicking up a rucus?

Fish and Vinny from the Sporting, which I think was a bit harsh as someone started a fight with Fish (so I'm told).......And they were two of their most regular players a year or two ago when the card room was otherwise pretty quiet......

I didn't realise he had been warned and that its only a 1 month ban, so fair play.

I suppose you do have to have rules etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Well if he's been warned then he's been warned and only himself to blame. Thems da rules and he being a bit silly pushing his luck..

Yeah I heard when Vinny got barred he got involved in the row between his mate and some drunk dude when he did not need to. Anyhow I think Vinny has well served his sentence and twas a bit harsh anyhow i think.

I think we should all boycott yeah... I know I know not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Jayminator wrote:
    Thems da rules and he being a bit silly pushing his luck..
    Sure soesn't he always say that you'll never win a cent if you don't push your luck now ans again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    The SE takes no sh!t from us lowly punters. Particularly the poker playing type.

in fairness to the SE, they have no choice with this. Smoking inside the premises is illegal, if they know people are doing it and turn a blind eye then they are liable for fines etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭fabsoul

yes it not a big deal to go down the stairs and smoke outside.
    But still a lot of ppl with miss the fish!!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mickste

It could be a longer ban than a month.

damn you Olly my plan has been uncovered..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

ohhhhhh fu@k the CHIEF is going to be lost now..... *but he was warned a few times so maybe now he might learn his lesson*

The Chief has just been Turf'd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Jimmy Hoffa

Carfax u say fish was banned the man is the biggest dick in the dublin poker scene.A lound mouth abusive idiot who is only tolerated cos he bleeds chips at ths cash tables.Never seen him playa night without abusing staff or other players and his bling makes him look like a wannabe rapper as well.Spiral has that mantle already taken ty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭BuChan

hah! this news has suffered some serious chinese whisper effect already, i was told today that chief was smoking the peace pipe in the toilet! whatever he was smoking it's a damn shame he's barred even it is for just a month, it won't be the same without him.

hehe........ big chief brody smokum peace pipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The last time I was in there he was smoking a fag in the bathroom too :p

I just thought that the rules didn't apply to the Chief, he seems like such a renegade.

Men want to be him, and women want to be near him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

The-Rigger wrote:
    I just thought that the rules didn't apply to the Chief, he seems like such a renegade.

the chief.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I lolled. If only I knw who the anonymous bandana boy was, I could post an equally humorous picture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

hahaha. brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

We are in danger of going off topic here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Poker in Ians house. He cant afford the heating bill since he lost his job...

Attachment not found.