Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do ye get over bad beats??

• 30-03-2007 10:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭

Lads jus wonderin how ye get over bad beats... I know its fluctuations and stuff. But past 3 times I've played live I've been beaten by a 1 outer and 2 2 outers on river.

Coupled with going home to gf and she sayin you always say you're a good player and that poker is only gambling. I'm not one just to brag about big wins. If I lose I'll say honestly how much I lost regardless how much it is or whether its bad play on my part or not.

Its a fairly broad thread that Ive posted.

Comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

just realise you wont win every hand. some you lose, its inevitable. poker is a lifetime game and you just have to realise that they happen, accept them and get over it. what annoys me most is getting it in behind, not having someone one outer me. it means your playing well when your repeatedly getting it in ahead.
    girlfriends=life rake (unless she is really hot in which case stop playing poker you muppet!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

keep a notepad beside your computer, or mental one if live play.
    set a limit for hat ever you consider a bad beat, flush draws, open enders,
    6, 4, 3 and 2 outers.
    Keep note of EVERY time somebody suck outs on you.
    But also keep note of everytime you do it to somebody.
    Its alot easier to remember the time some fish hit his low card when you had him dominated.
    but everybody forgets about the time they hit a card when they made a move and got called

afer a while count you should noticed that you do it more than you notice. But as long as you are getting it in ahead more often that not, you're good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

play lots and lots, after a while they just roll right off you. it's just variance anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Usually i find the best medicine is to move up levels.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Usually i find the best medicine is to move up levels.
    this advice is too vague in my opinion and therefore unhelpful.

Move up Several Levels, i think is more appropriate. tut tut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

bad beats tend not to bother me too much. I can walk them off fairly quickly. I usually just log off if i see that they are affecting me and come back in a while and im ok.

The things that plague me are when i make a very stupid mistake and it cost me my stack. I find those things hard to walk off

I've never moved up levels after a beat/losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Lately i just switch games. if i'm tilting at texas holdem, then i move to omaha or razz

With live bad beats, i usually have the advantage that i have to leave the cardroom, and go for a walk in the air. Went on a really shocking run of beats in the sporting emporium in january and february, but would usually just walk for about 15 mins to clear my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Bad beats don't bother me too much but I tilt like a lunatic when I'm beaten by crappy play. Guys chasing and hitting draws on the river when they're getting 2 to 1 to call, mid position players calling a preflop raise with K2o and turning or rivering trips with the crappy kicker, sitting there for 25 hands and raising from LP, getting 5 callers (wtf?) and an ace comes down on the flop. This is usually followed by a min bet and 4 folds leaving me to try to outplay the idiot with my Kings or Queens (never happens - like, who'd fold an ace man?). All these things make me insane. Maybe moving up is the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Vamos

Just think of the g-bucks

Vamos wrote:
    Just think of the g-bucks
    pity g-bucks don't pay the rent :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Vamos

lol, and they don't they don't taste too nice either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

Im get over bad beats with a big ladder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

Its a fairly broad thread that Ive posted.

Comments.

Good observational skiils. Do you want a mathematical formula or a psyco-analysis? Ship me some $$ I can come up with whatever you wants?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭kebabfest

You were happy enough when they put all their money\chips in with the worst hand so how can you whinge now just cause you got dogged ?
    this was worked ok for me.
    However a succession of bad beats is hard to stomach and if you're wandering into a card room with the "fear" of having one hanging over your head then you need a break as it will affect your play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Online, open 8 tables of micro stakes omaha and pot at every opportunity

I think it's a lot harder live when only playing one table. whatever you do don't point out your opponents bad play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭BobSloane

Bad beats turn me on, so I usually jerk off after one...

(Edit : This is socially awkward playing live)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I tend to beat the missus and it all goes away.
    Fecking one outer just cost me a few hundred.
    Damn you case ace.
    Now, where is that soap and pillow case.
    Honey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Try some mind tricks.

Supposedly the best one for poker bad beats is this.

http://www.trans4mind.com/personal_development/mindMastery/anchoring.htm

Opr

opr wrote:
    Try some mind tricks.

Supposedly the best one for poker bad beats is this.

http://www.trans4mind.com/personal_development/mindMastery/anchoring.htm

Opr
    this was used brilliantly in an episode of the office (USA) where Jim kept turning off his computer and then giving Dwight a mint, it was v funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭BobSloane

this was used brilliantly in an episode of the office (USA) where Jim kept turning off his computer and then giving Dwight a mint, it was v funny.

lol i remember that. US office is so great

BobSloane wrote:
    lol i remember that. US office is so great
    probably better than the English one, or at least equal due to the extra complexity of storylines thrown in with the extra series. some great one liners like "im always thinking one step ahead like...........a carpenter...who makes stairs" lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Just say "goodnight, everyone" and leave. Of course if you do that when playing online, don't forget your house keys.