Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the worst war film ever?

• 24-03-2007 1:32am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

A number of famous war movies that came out in the 60ies that were appalling in regards to prop choice, dialect and bad acting, goofs etc Ex In the Great escape Steve Mc Queen was seen riding a 1960s T120 Pre unit Triumph in a WW2 movie instead of a period BMW, DKW or BSA M20, (mind you he couldnt have jumped the fence on an M20!) http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0057115/goofs
    Others eg, Where Eagles Dare where all the gestapo spoke perfect English! (probably normal in older movies) http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0065207/goofs

When you watched them all on big screen as a kid you found them realistic and brilliant but when you go to watch them now on tape they are quite funny. Can you beat these? Im sure theres newer ones that will top Them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Citizen_Erased

Anything that was written by an american just gets me , nothing but blind patriotism etc etc rally the troops to war bull crap . Not to mention blatantly ignoring the facts like the film about the enigma and the like. Sorry I cant name any names right now but i'm sure some will come to me later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

worst one for me that springs to mind at the moment is the Thin Red Line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Chopperdog

Christ,

dont be so pedantic, maybe you should bring this to the media or arts forum....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Pearl Harbor, I'm amazed the Japanese found it as it was mis-spelt.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

I'm with Mike65 on this one...Pearl Harbor sucked.

Such a disappointing movie for the time period it was made in and the amount of money pumped into production.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

Agreed,....... my ex actually cried at that movie!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

Bradidup wrote:
    Agreed,....... my ex actually cried at that movie!!!!
    why, did she think it was that bad

Chopperdog wrote:
    Christ,
    dont be so pedantic, maybe you should bring this to the media or arts forum....
    You dont have to be so serious! its only poking at a bit of trivia.
    babybundy wrote:
    why, did she think it was that bad
    No she was serious!
    She would do the same watching soaps, explains all.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think this thread was already done not so long ago...

Not a contender for 'worst war movie ever' by any stretch but in terms of historical inaccuracies, The Battle of the Bulge was pretty terrible. None of the tanks featured were actually faithful to the campaign whatsoever. Although most sixties films did suffer from what you've described at least most of them were relatively faithful at least in the equipment/armour side of things.

Although this still plagues most films to some extent. Whilst visually things are much more brutal and believable, in terms of accuracy they often remain similar. Example Saving Private Ryan - good film but reverted to the classic 'stupid germans get mown down' formula during the climax of the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Black Hawk Down.

A truly fúcking awful adaptation of possibly the greatest book of modern combat to date. A travesty of a film. Terrible.

HavoK wrote:
    I think this thread was already done not so long ago...

I wasnt too gone on the plot in Saving Private Ryan as you said it had all the hallmarks of a typical "American gun em down" movie, however I thaught the effects were excellent though particularly storming the beach, the only reason I went to it was to see if I could recognise any of the scenery and spot any of the M20 bikes that were used.

Attn Mods, Im fresh to this site and wasnt aware that the subject was covered not long ago you can leave it or lock it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bradidup wrote:
    Others eg, Where Eagles Dare where all the gestapo spoke perfect English! (probably normal in older movies) http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0065207/goofs

Indeed. More time spent at the range learning how to hit barn doors instead of in language class would have served the reich far better. I quite liked how clint eastwood was able to take out half a panzer division with a single magazine though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Anything made in Black in white..lol,Typical view from the Bebo Generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Seloth wrote:
    Anything made in Black in white..lol,Typical view from the Bebo Generation.

What! :eek: ..........The Longest Day was B&W, I seen it done in 'color' but it looks gawdy and weird. Class movie anyway!

I dont think it classes as a 'war' movie as such, (more of a horror set during WW1) but seen as ye guys are noting inaccuracy's, in the movie DeathWatch the British troops are using No4 Lee Enfields with some form of Jap, or Turk bayonet stuck on the end of them, even though the No4 wasnt issued until 1942 :rolleyes: (cant figure out why they couldnt have got No1's, plenty of them about!).

Good movie, but when you let a little thing like that bother you it sort of ruin it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Black Hawk Down.

Noooo it was class , buy yourself a surround sound system and watch it for the choppers in the opening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Anything that was written by an american just gets me , nothing but blind patriotism etc etc rally the troops to war bull crap .

What about Platoon? Paths of Glory? Catch 22? All American films, all anti-war. There's plenty more like those too.
    Not to mention blatantly ignoring the facts like the film about the enigma and the like. Sorry I cant name any names right now but i'm sure some will come to me later.

That was U-571, and how can you not like a film in which Jon Bon Jovi's head gets torn off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Not to mind Apcolapyse Now.Proably the grand daddy of the US anti war movies?????Actually,you could include John Waynes the Green Berets as well,It was a turkey as a war film,and a turkey that the anti Vietnam crowd used to good effect as propaganda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Citizen_Erased

cushtac wrote:
    What about Platoon? Paths of Glory? Catch 22? All American films, all anti-war. There's plenty more like those too.
    Well perhaps yes I should have stipulated non antiwar american films .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Damn,should have added M*A*S*H the original film,as an anti war film as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Bradidup wrote:
    Others eg, Where Eagles Dare where all the gestapo spoke perfect English! (probably normal in older movies) ...

I don't see whats strange about that. How about allied agents speaking german?

Lots of goofs in that movie, but who cares its still excellent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Black Hawk Down.

A truly fúcking awful adaptation of possibly the greatest book of modern combat to date. A travesty of a film. Terrible.

Why so? I thought it was ok. Obviously too US bias which is a pity.

No film is going to be completely accurate to the book".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 audizerstoren

U-571...truely awfull...total bull

Pearl Harbour...what a waste..but good flying sequences..well some of the time.

what was that yoke with Melanie Griffith & Michael Douglas ?..gave up watching about half way through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭brav

TBH I don't think The thin red line and Black Hawk down should be in the worst category
    I know they have some hollywood juice injected in them but still they are not bad compared to others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 MrsRoundy

mike65 wrote:
    Pearl Harbor, I'm amazed the Japanese found it as it was mis-spelt.

Mike.
    Im with you on that one. Plus even as e female i was thinking how they managed to make a piece of well know war history into a poxy love story .:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭coyote6

The last time this came up I think I said "Windtalkers" and I still think it's one of the worst. Nicholas Cage was just lookin' for a paycheck on that one. They took a good story about the Navajo code talkers and ruined it. Absolutely horrible combat sequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

And as I am aware Najaho "code talkers" weren't deployed in the first line at all...

And the worst for me? What's the name of this one with Terry Salavas as Greek partisan. Germans had V2 in it acting like robots in Star Wars costumes. "Private Ryan" pitty about this one, "Pearl Horbor" the same ****e, still don't know if it is a comedy or some sort of joke. "Lost Battalion" is another one awfull attempt...
    But any war movie is propaganda especially them from 40s - 60's /credit to makers of "Battle of Britain" the best flying movie ever/

And tell me, what is wrong with "Thin Red Line" or "Apocalypse Now"? I think those are very good movies

Personally, I thought the Lost Battalion was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Hahaha. If the effects weren't so appalling atrocious, it might have been enjoyable. Some of the uniforms, weapons and locations were pretty cool....but yeah, those effects. They were....yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Asok wrote:

Ok, I never heard of this, but from reading the IMDB refrence:

"The soldier is a big zombie that has electric powers."

and

"The monster is nearly impossible to defeat, but it is eventually stopped by a fearless soldier."

I think I will give it a miss to be honest :eek: :rolleyes:

My nominations for worst war movie:

Charlotte Gray (French people with American and British accents :confused: )
    Monsignor Renard (a tv mini film - again, the accents!)
    U-571 (We all know why)
    Pearl Harbour
    Jar Head (I feel as if I lost a couple of hours of my life watching it! :mad: )