Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS3 Crashing

• 23-03-2007 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone else is having issues with there PS3?

My mate got his this morning and set it all up but it has started to crash. when browsing through the menus you can see graphicl glitches and after a few seconds it freezes. now ya can still hear sound but cant do anything.

I ran the online update but it made no difference. Tried playing games but they all Lock up and. tought it might be a heating problem so moved it out in the open and still the same problem..

Ive called over to him just after picking up mine.. hoping its not in the same boat :(

If anyone has any idea what it might be let me know. in the mean time its being brought straight back to gamestop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

as someone with a broken 360 currently in for repair.

Bring it straight back as he might get a replacement before they sell out. It sounds fcuked. Return immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

no issues with mine....(fingers crossed). tell him to bring it straight back to shop and he'll get a nice new one that should work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

Yep happened to me this morning, done the update and was registering it and it crashed. The screen just froze. Tried a game and teh same thing happened. Brought it straight back and got it replaced straight away although i knew the guy in the store

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

[Nelson Munce] Ha Ha [/Nelson Munce]

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Doesn't sound good if its crashing already!!

that's 3 people on boards already. StevieC also

well at least its a pretty instant failure unlike the 360 where you just never know when its going to go :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Vegeta wrote:

Sounds like it dies when it calls home, no?

Anyone else smelling yet another PR disaster for Sony?:rolleyes:

(PS: The Sun, 24/03/07, headline "€630 for Sony's shiny brick" :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

Vegeta wrote:

well at least its a pretty instant failure unlike the 360 where you just never know when its going to go :mad:

Seriously ... this has to take the award for best brand loyalty comment ever ...

... Yeah, the PS3 crashes, too. But at least it crashes faster than the 360 ...

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:):D:p: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Seriously ... this has to take the award for best brand loyalty ever ...

Must be all that extra power it has :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Careful lads,
    that level of "shardenfreuder" has a way of balancing itself out :)

Unfortunately there is always going to be a level of fallout with new systems released but appreciate how frustrating it is for a new owner on launch day..
    As with the 360 there will be a few here and there, although statistically speaking (for the US/Jap regions) it is a lot lower..

I currently have a Jap and EU one setup here beside each other with no problems with either (touch wood!)....Jap one since Nov 06..

One thing to watch for is the heat level of the PS3......try to give it as much breathing room as possible, and also try to stand vertically as the heat needs to escape from the top and right side..

Seriously ... this has to take the award for best brand loyalty comment ever ...

:D it may seem that way but I am not a fan of Sony's business practices and don't own a PS3

it stems from my anger as a 360 owner, the 360's reliability is sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭scrapland

McDermotX wrote:
    One thing to watch for is the heat level of the PS3......try to give it as much breathing room as possible, and also try to stand vertically as the heat needs to escape from the top and right side..

Yeah the machine quiet but it gets v.hot. Like the 360 make sure it has plenty of ventilation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

McDermotX wrote:

It was getting very hot the lads in the shop were surprised with how hot it was. I did the usual craic to check if it was ok. give it room also tried both HD and SD cables still had no joy. I was just after picking mine up. was in the box beside me when his died so i popped it straight out and played away so was thankful it was ok.

Brought it back and they gave a straight replacement obviously they aint selling out too quick if they were able to give it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Pablo-El-Vagabu

McDermotX wrote:
    I currently have a Jap and EU one setup here beside each other with no problems with either (touch wood!)....Jap one since Nov 06..

Why do u have 2???

For same reason I imagine some of us have 2 360's as well as a PS3. Personal choice and for different rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Why do u have 2???

for when one crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

McDermotX wrote:
    that level of "shadenfreude" has a way of balancing itself out

Not to worry. I feel for anyone that has shelled out €400 for a 360 or €630 for PS3 only to have it keel over and die. There should be Hell to pay M$ or $ony if their equipment is proven to be dodgy or unstable.

I just found it an amusing observation

Hopefully that balances out my Karma and should protect my consoles from exploding for another while.

Not to worry. I feel for anyone that has shelled out €400 for a 360 or €630 for PS3 only to have it keel over and die. There should be Hell to pay M$ or $ony if their equipment is proven to be dodgy or unstable.

couldn't agree more, I am really pissed about my 360 and would be about a PS3 too

Thing is there is a very good chance my next refurb'ed 360 will break also

back on topic the last thing Sony need is broken consoles, they're costing a fortune to manufacture already so yields would want to be very high otherwise they're throwing money away. If Sony have to start paying for repairs aswell as selling at a loss it could bury the PS3. At this stage in its life i'd say its quite a delicate balance sheet being closely watched.

Like a year ago MS were making a loss on each console and had to repair them for free. They were basically losing money at every turn. If they both sort out reliability they will save a fortune in repair costs at least.

What's weird lads is that there wasnt this many reports when it launched in the USA or Japan.

So.... with them already fiddling with the hardware taking out the PS2 hardware, what other cheap or changed components have they started using that's making the European models, (and looking at reports its the UK and Europe too that are breaking down) pack up and die...

I mean I know Europe and especially UK which then has a greater knock on to us - always gets screwed, but this is THE LAST thing Sony needed.

I mean if delaying a console 5 months and they still feck up the launch and euro machines are crapping out is the best they could do, then seriously they and we as consumers are screwed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

scrapland wrote:
    What's weird lads is that there wasnt this many reports when it launched in the USA or Japan.

So.... with them already fiddling with the hardware taking out the PS2 hardware, what other cheap or changed components have they started using that's making the European models, (and looking at reports its the UK and Europe too that are breaking down) pack up and die...

I mean I know Europe and especially UK which then has a greater knock on to us - always gets screwed, but this is THE LAST thing Sony needed.

I mean if delaying a console 5 months and they still feck up the launch and euro machines are crapping out is the best they could do, then seriously they and we as consumers are screwed....

please advise us where all these "reports" are. a handful of people on this forum have had trouble and all of a sudden PS3's are dying all over Europe!! Give us a link please where you have all of these reports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

I just found it an amusing observation

Hopefully that balances out my Karma and should protect my consoles from exploding for another while.

That's fair enough :)
    Unfortunately the consensus over the last year or so of the 360's life and 4 months or so of the PS3's life do lend credence to a lowering of QC standards (more so in MS's case I fear).......much like consumer electronics in general these days unfortunately, whether that be 360's, PS3's, HD-DVD and BD players, LCDs, Projectors, PC GFX cards etc etc......you name it..
    Heat is the biggest factor here is most cases, which is usually more so down to design flaw than anything else......other cases can be down to insufficient cooling methods etc (which is a laugh considering the fan noise/external power from 360s :D )

I've been quite fortunate so far with consoles and PCs in general, but I've had first hand experience of other people's issues with said products, and it isn't a issue I would wish on anyone..
    As long as people go in with their eyes open, understanding the nature of such devices, and know their rights.....they should be OK......doesn't make it right for the likes of MS and Sony to be oblivious to such things of course !!

As for having two PS3s.....as Scrapland says, certain circumstances demand it....both personal and professional..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I read this but thought it was someone messing about it!!

http://www.joystiq.com/2006/11/18/ps3-is-following-in-360s-footsteps/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

namloc1980 wrote:
    please advise us where all these "reports" are. a handful of people on this forum have had trouble and all of a sudden PS3's are dying all over Europe!! Give us a link please where you have all of these reports

You have to understand that it's a handfull on _this_ forum, from very few sold in Ireland, and these are the only ones we know about, obviously it's not only boards users console's that tend to die.

Just visit other forums (gamespot, mac forums etc) and you will see similar reports.

Now I'm not saying its a mass exodus of ps3's that are crashing, but there certainly is more forum posts about it than there was when it came out in the USA & Japan , which you have to admit is strange.

I've had a USA machine since Jan and have 10 games for it so far, so before you get your fanboy heckles up - I think the question
    "What have they 'additionally' changed in the Euro model" is valid......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭sicruise

I got it at midnight last night and i'm starting to get tired now... maybe its time for a nap... but i'm 23rd in the world with the first car in gran turismo!! Only 22 more people to beat!

Anyways... already had a few issues with the MIIesq feature... kept loggin out about 2 this morning when i was trying to update motor storm... v annoying... but that was prob just down to load. The ps3registration site was down for "maintanance" from 12 to about 1.

Anyways no crashys.... best day ever... sorry to you all where you got another black brick...