Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUIG Info

• 21-03-2007 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

I've dug the directions to NUIG from the post last year, should be below and a map should be attached.

Also, could the advanced archers who have sent their names in who want to shoot on 3-spots make themselves known (post here, PM me, mail to archery@clubs.nuigalway.ie, smoke signals, whatever)? We need to know so we can do up the shoot lists.

Looking forward to the comp - just a reminder again, its on SUNDAY, not Saturday!!!!!!!

MacD

Right, getting to NUIG. There should be a campus map attached to this post.

For those getting a taxi from the bus/train station, ask the driver to bring ye to the university sports hall. If he doesn't know where the hall is, get him to drop ye at the main University Road enterance (marked with a * on the map), the hall is only a short walk from here.

For those driving to us, got these directions from the NUIG webpage - God help ye! Be prepared for a feast of roundabouts!

From the South (Cork / Limerick / Shannon Airport) N18
    From the South (Cork, Limerick) approach Galway on the N18. Pass straight through Ennis, Gort, Ardrahan and Clarinbridge. You will arrive at Oranmore roundabout (the first of many roundabouts as you approach Galway).
    Bypass Oranmore village by going straight through this roundabout and the next, which is only about 0.5 km further on (take the 2nd exit at both).
    Please skip to 'Oranmore to NUI Galway', below.

From the North / East (Dublin / Belfast) N6
    From the East or North (Dublin, Belfast) approach Galway on the N6. Pass straight through Athlone, Ballinasloe, Loughrea and Craughwell. You will arrive at Oranmore roundabout (the first of many roundabouts as you approach Galway).
    Bypass Oranmore village by taking the third exit from this roundabout and going straight through the next, which is only about 0.5 km further on.
    Please skip to 'Oranmore to NUI Galway', below.

Oranmore to NUI Galway
    On approaching Galway, follow signs for Galway / Clifden N59.
    1. Follow the dual carriageway (still the N6) to the 'Martin' (next) roundabout (about 3km) and take the 2nd exit (signposted Galway West).
    2. Proceed to the 'Lynch' (next) roundabout (about 1km) and take the 2nd exit (signposted Galway / N6).
    3. At the 'Morris' (next) roundabout take the 2nd exit (signposted Clifden).
    4. At the 'Font' (next) roundabout take 2nd exit (signposted Clifden).
    5. Approximately 2 Km later, take the 2nd exit on the 'Kirwan' (next) roundabout.
    6. At the 'Bodkin' (traffic light controlled) (next) roundabout, take the 4th exit (signposted Clifden / N59).
    7. At the next traffic lights, turn left (signposted Lower Salthill).
    8. At the next set of traffic lights (with the AIB bank on the left), turn left on to Distillery Road. Continue along this road which will curve to the right with the Corrib River on the left. The car park at the end of the road is the best place to park.
    9. The sports hall is in a building called “Áras na Mac Leinn”. From the car park, walk past “Aras Ui Chathail” and the "National Diagnostic Centre” (on your LHS). Turn left at the Bank of Ireland ATM machine (on your RHS). Ye’ll see a glass fronted building – this is the sports hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Panserborn

Crap, map didn't attach .....................

Maybe its attached here ..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

hi what time is the early group starting at?

and I am bringing a camera to the shoot to take footage for a college project I'm doing does anyone have a problem being filmed?
    its for college use only and will only be seen by lectures and externs.

If the early group could be there at 9.30 for a 10.00 start. The start times and the groups are detailed in a thread from Karen (Cu Anarel (spelling!) in a recent post.

On closer inspection the times aren't there! My bad! :o

The early group is 9.30 for a 10.00 start and the late group is starting at 11.30.

Thanks to all who came to the IV at the weekend, we had a great time running it and I hope ye all had a great time taking part in it!

See ye all in UL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭MicS

Thanks for the good IV. Congratulations to NUIG who won their first IV and set their own team record.

Results are on UCD website http://www.ucd.ie/archery/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

Well done to Karen and Niamh and all at NUIG for a great shoot and some great shootin, It's nice to win your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

great shoot guys went real well.

and i would like to say thanks for people not messing around with me while i was filming i'll try and get the best bits on youtube for you all to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

Fair play on the shoot lads. was mighty. Congrats on winning the thing too.

An fair play ta NUIG team for the extra gesture. I was well impressed. think i'l move on ta three spots for UL...

Now ladies be warned you'l have to form an orderly queue when me an tom become youtube stars with padraigs vidjeo...