Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spa on Leeson St shouting every night

• 21-03-2007 5:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Seems to be some kind of spa evrey night come 2.30am on leeson st shouting at everyone. this has gone on for weeks. I reckon he's retarded as no one beats the lard out of him despite his constant abuse of everyone.
    Cops keep picking him up but he keeps coming back.
    any tips on what we can do???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Move out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Accept that you live in a city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Take it to the Dublin forum. We culchies don't care about your city's strange esoteric customs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dave McSavage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

DaveMcG wrote:
    Dave McSavage?

I tip my hat to you sir.

Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

I don't like the words your using describing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

karma baby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What kinds of things does he say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

DaveMcG wrote:
    Dave McSavage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Perhaps he is going to Leggs or Bucks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

get some ear plugs?:)

I swear, ye dublin people are the worst for posting everywhere but the dublin section! *ahem*

Just move away.. wouldn't it be a better option? Or else make a pair of earphones that has an inbuilt alarm so you dont sleep in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

#Elites wrote:
    its a bit harsh calling him a "Retard" ..hate that word.. just walk past and ignore him.
    He said he reckoned he might be retarded. There isn't anything wrong with that. It's just a term for a person with a particularly low IQ.

But in this case it might be something more along the lines of tourettes syndrome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

What about asking the guy what his problem is ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

invite him in for a game of cards

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

He said he reckoned he might be retarded. There isn't anything wrong with that. It's just a term for a person with a particularly low IQ.

It's not just that though is it, it's now an abusive term.

Next you will be saying that idiot, cretin, imbecile and moron are just terms for
    a person with a low IQ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

The word spa is derogatory afaik. If the guy is really retarded then this would be considered very offensive.

Can you not report him to the health board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Keep pestering the guards about picking him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Stop thinking it. You'd never find somewhere to buy maggots at that time :D
    Binomate wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

can u throw stuff at him on the sly? are u high up in the building or ground floor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

There's a guy who comes up to the door I work on every so often. I must presume that he's homeless, he seems constantly drunk and I'd wager that he is mentally damaged in some way.

He stands at the bottom of the steps and hurls abuse at us and at everyone coming out of the pub. He threatens violence on everyone and picks on people who will hopefully react to him in a violent manner.

Last weekend he was at the same thing, when a patron and his partner left the pub. The drunk was quick to spot that the leaving patron was of asian and shouted out F&ck!n P@ki! The patron absolutely belted him in the face, causing the drunk to fall back and crack his head off the sidewalk harder that I've ever seen before.

We called the cops/ambo and two Guards were quickly on the scene. The drunk was a bit disorientated and got talking to the Guards and then moved on after a while. They let us know that he often does this as he hopes to get hurt enough to be put in hospital for a couple of days.

I've seen this guy at a couple of venues I've worked and can only presume that its the same guy, as some of the places would be up around the Leeson St direction. He had his routine down to a tee and I could nearly predict when he'd be around. I've seen him ranting and raving at a wall before, and I've seen him hurl awful abuse at 14-15 year old kids.

What an awful state to be in :(

The guards probably did try to do something about him in the beginning, but when a guy like him is going to do the same thing every night, you'd quickly get tired of hauling him in. They'd probably only respond if he was seriously injured or acting in some criminal behaviour. If he's causing a racket, they'll probably just move him along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭nicolo

hey i live up there is it the fat guy who begs like "here go get uis a few cans" or get us some smokes" instead of the traditional "spare change" route?
    or is it the little beardy guy in a million coats with the soiled pants? my advice is ask your land lord to get onto the guarsd, theymight have more luck then you. unless you live in my building cos i think my land lords is insane, hey it might be him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Spread a rumor that he's actualy a traveller.

then

when he crosses the threshold of your property

Shoot him in the back and beat him like a badger,

works down the country, no appologies if it take more than one trial to get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

maybe people shouldn't be on your property illegally.

I'm sure we have managed to turn this thread into about 12 different topics but I have zero sympathy for anyone who gets shot while robbing someones house, traveller or not.

If you are in someones house trying to steal their sh1t, you are fair game, call it a working hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

copacetic wrote:

Next you will be saying that idiot, cretin, imbecile and moron are just terms for
    a person with a low IQ?

Er. They are. Can't remember which categorisation is which but they each refer to people with a measurable IQ below 80. I think Moron is 70-80, Imbecile 60-70 and idiot lower still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hey!!! There's a Health & Safety issue here.

Er. They are. Can't remember which categorisation is which but they each refer to people with a measurable IQ below 80. I think Moron is 70-80, Imbecile 60-70 and idiot lower still.

Where does gobsh1te fit in? I'd say 81-90

I think Moron is 70-80, Imbecile 60-70
    Surely this would mean you can be a moron and an imbecile at the same time if your IQ is 70, this is a hard burden to shoulder.

Hey!!! There's a Health & Safety issue here.

I don't think they are unionised! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

copacetic wrote:

a person with a low IQ?

An 'idiot' is classified as a feeble-minded person who performs at the potential age of 3 years old
    An 'imbecile' displays a mental age of 3 to 7 years;
    A 'moron' has the potential age of between 8 to 12 years.

humanji wrote:
    An 'idiot' is classified as a feeble-minded person who performs at the potential age of 3 years old
    An 'imbecile' displays a mental age of 3 to 7 years;
    A 'moron' has the potential age of between 8 to 12 years.

bit insulting to the kids, plenty of them are smart ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

So 70 on the button is a moronbecile? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Mr Hyde

connundrum wrote:
    There's a guy who comes up to the door I work on every so often. I must presume that he's homeless, he seems constantly drunk and I'd wager that he is mentally damaged in some way.

He stands at the bottom of the steps and hurls abuse at us and at everyone coming out of the pub. He threatens violence on everyone and picks on people who will hopefully react to him in a violent manner.

Last weekend he was at the same thing, when a patron and his partner left the pub. The drunk was quick to spot that the leaving patron was of asian and shouted out F&ck!n P@ki! The patron absolutely belted him in the face, causing the drunk to fall back and crack his head off the sidewalk harder that I've ever seen before.

We called the cops/ambo and two Guards were quickly on the scene. The drunk was a bit disorientated and got talking to the Guards and then moved on after a while. They let us know that he often does this as he hopes to get hurt enough to be put in hospital for a couple of days.

I've seen this guy at a couple of venues I've worked and can only presume that its the same guy, as some of the places would be up around the Leeson St direction. He had his routine down to a tee and I could nearly predict when he'd be around. I've seen him ranting and raving at a wall before, and I've seen him hurl awful abuse at 14-15 year old kids.

What an awful state to be in :(

The guards probably did try to do something about him in the beginning, but when a guy like him is going to do the same thing every night, you'd quickly get tired of hauling him in. They'd probably only respond if he was seriously injured or acting in some criminal behaviour. If he's causing a racket, they'll probably just move him along.

Sure enough, this sounds like the guy. What a horror story. Poor chap. Thankfully the Leeson st crowd aren't rising to his bait. This lad has a big booming American voice (otherwise there wouldn't be problem, I'm well used to city sounds at this stage) that you can't miss.
    And I'm oh so dreadfully sorry about offending the precious types on this forum with my choice of words but you really would wish agonizing death on someone keeping you up like this for weeks on end. I've called him a lot worse at 3am.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Go out and cold-cock him with a right hook.How does he expect to be dealt with???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Degsy wrote:
    Go out and cold-cock him with a right hook.How does he expect to be dealt with???

I'm sure that isn't what it sounds like :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Just seagull him a couple of time, he'll get the message.

-Funk

funk-you wrote:
    Just seagull him a couple of time, he'll get the message.

-Funk

Fly over him and crap on his head whilst sqwaking??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Degsy wrote:
    Fly over him and crap on his head whilst sqwaking??

Not quite, seagulling is a little bit more vulgar and disgusting.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

the last few weekends there has been the same kid shouting in the courtyard of my apartment complex in royal canal park (dub 15) all day

the kid keeps shouting the same crap over and over again and it echos around the whole place.. theres loads of apartment bedrooms facing on to the countryard and some of us are tryin to sleep

soooooo annoying

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

No, they used to be. Now they are much more than just terms for people with low IQ.

funk-you wrote:
    Not quite, seagulling is a little bit more vulgar and disgusting.

-Funk

DO tell..i'm allways on the look out for unpleasant things to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

When in doubt Degsy, it's a very good idea to see what our friend urban dictionary has to say on the matter.

Seagulling: When you whack off and cum in your hand, then you run up to someone, slap them in the face with your salty hand and shout "Seagulled!"

Here's a sample sentence:

I sure do love seagulling. Matt seagulled me and now my cheek feels so fertile.

grimloch wrote:
    When in doubt Degsy, it's a very good idea to see what our friend urban dictionary has to say on the matter.

Seagulling: When you whack off and cum in your hand, then you run up to someone, slap them in the face with your salty hand and shout "Seagulled!"

Here's a sample sentence:

I sure do love seagulling. Matt seagulled me and now my cheek feels so fertile.

Lovely,just lovely!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

the last few weekends there has been the same kid shouting in the courtyard of my apartment complex in royal canal park (dub 15) all day

the kid keeps shouting the same crap over and over again and it echos around the whole place.. theres loads of apartment bedrooms facing on to the countryard and some of us are tryin to sleep

soooooo annoying

Maybe it's the son of the guy up in Leeson St.

The next generation!.......run in fear!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

What town is Lesson street in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

None. It's in a city

A great big city called Dublin.Its the capital,country folk,whereas not allways welcome,are entitled to come and visit and marvel at the sights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Mr Hyde

You'll forgive me, I trust, for not spelling out that I was in Dublin on account of my not realising this forum was populated with so many unwashed muck savages.
    In the future I'll go out of my way to take into consideration that there are also those among us still reading at a senior infants level and try and include pictures of beach balls and happy animals for their benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Spread a rumor that he's actualy a traveller.

then

when he crosses the threshold of your property

Shoot him in the back and beat him like a badger,

works down the country, no appologies if it take more than one trial to get away with it.

Lolz. Its events like that that make me think about changing my surname though.:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Mr Hyde wrote:
    Seems to be some kind of spa evrey night come 2.30am on leeson st shouting at everyone. this has gone on for weeks. I reckon he's retarded as no one beats the lard out of him despite his constant abuse of everyone.
    Cops keep picking him up but he keeps coming back.
    any tips on what we can do???

is he really a spastic?

Why do we constantly call people spastics - when they aren't?

And when we're confronted with a real spastic nobody has the balls to say anything or slag them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

And when we're confronted with a real spastic nobody has the balls to say anything or slag them off.
    :eek: x 100

A good few of the people using this forum are disabled. Just remember that.