Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playa Del Ingles - Gran Canaria

• 14-03-2007 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭

Has anyone been there around end june/july? would it be as good as it would be in late july and august? Like the night life etc? Any info wud b great :D xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

yea great pick been there 4 times best time of your life enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Pez

Great!:D anyone else been there around this time
    any advice on the best places to go etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Was there 2 years ago in augest with familiy and stayed at the sun wing hotel .There are two main shopping / eating areas with plenty of variety and quite reasonable prices.If you get the chance to go on the texas wild west show then do so, its a great night out . Another thing to look for if shopping is the prices,,,,,, the shop next to the one your in might be selling the same item for 5 euros less, and the sellers like to bargin with you so look around first , and remember avoid the time share/scratch card guy/gals like the plague,

cheers .

any1 else? lol
    has anyone been to the koka apartments?
    xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Sm0ke

savage spot mate!

was there last year and the year before. it was better the first year because u got pulled into bars and plyd with free booze! but the laws changed apparently and this didnt happen as openly the secound time we were there

Cream was a cool club, its near the english centre, prices are very close to home in that one tho!

have a great one we were there end of August and the place was jumping.

Sm0ke wrote:
    savage spot mate!

was there last year and the year before. it was better the first year because u got pulled into bars and plyd with free booze! but the laws changed apparently and this didnt happen as openly the secound time we were there

Cream was a cool club, its near the english centre, prices are very close to home in that one tho!

have a great one we were there end of August and the place was jumping.

deadly :D thanks!!
    Ill look out for that club! only heard of the irish centre being close have no idea where the english centre is.. hopefully they'll be giving out free drink again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

im going there with 6 of my mates the first 2 weeks of august, sounds like a good spot!! who did you book with pez?

are you? :) deadly! i booked with budget travel :p who u book with? ill be going before you and can fill ya in on what the place is like haha u stayin in koka apartments?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

I was there last Yr and had a great laugh - stayed in the Green fields apts, straight across from the Irish Center.
    Pubs are good and there are some great ones in the English center.

Watch out for the African Ladies selling bracelets - they WILL Fleece you if given half a chance.

One word of Warning though - DON'T Go near the pool after a night out.
    Accidents can happen very easily - and did when I was there :(

But apart from that it is a good spot if you are looking for a fun booze filled holiday :D

Mik

Pez wrote:
    are you? :) deadly! i booked with budget travel :p who u book with? ill be going before you and can fill ya in on what the place is like haha u stayin in koka apartments?

we havnt actually booked yet, we only decided last week lol!! ye definetly fill me in, always good to here about the sessions:D

how much was your holiday....we are hoping to pay around 600

mik_da_man wrote:
    I was there last Yr and had a great laugh - stayed in the Green fields apts, straight across from the Irish Center.

Watch out for the African Ladies selling bracelets - they WILL Fleece you if given half a chance.

But apart from that it is a good spot if you are looking for a fun booze filled holiday :D

Mik

would you recommend the green field apartments?

we havnt actually booked yet, we only decided last week lol!! ye definetly fill me in, always good to here about the sessions:D

how much was your holiday....we are hoping to pay around 600
    ye mine was just over 500 for 2 weeks. not bad! haha :D

mik_da_man wrote:

Mik

lol!! where abouts is the english centre? in kasbah or anything?
    ill look out for the african ladies :eek:

any know where abouts it is?

Yep the English center is kasbah.
    It's about a 10 Min walk from the Irish center (when not fully sober;) )

The green field apts are pretty good. In the heart of the Irish center and were kept very well when I was there.
    The pool and bar is nice too.

Is a group of you going?
    Lads / lassies

I have some advice from the lads - Via PM

mik_da_man wrote:

The green field apts are pretty good. In the heart of the Irish center and were kept very well when I was there.

Is a group of you going?
    Lads / lassies

Haha deadly thanks :D well im going with a group of girls :D:p

mik_da_man wrote:

Is a group of you going?
    Lads / lassies

theres 2 girls and 5 lads going with us.......

just got quoted €610 for the green park apartments, know what they are like?

im intrigued....send me the PM:D

The Green Park are fine.
    Just beside the Green Field but AFAIK the pool isn't much use (if they have one)
    When I was booking I asked a few people and they said Green Field were the best.
    The were a bit more expensive but worth it IMO.

Defo go on the Booze Cruize if you get a chance it's a real good laugh.
    There is a half decent Go-Karting track a short trip away too, good for a break from the boozing.
    You can go on a off road trip on Quads which is good Also Para gliding and jet ski's are a must.

PM Sent;)

mik_da_man wrote:
    The Green Park are fine.
    Just beside the Green Field but AFAIK the pool isn't much use (if they have one)
    When I was booking I asked a few people and they said Green Field were the best.
    The were a bit more expensive but worth it IMO.

Defo go on the Booze Cruize if you get a chance it's a real good laugh.
    There is a half decent Go-Karting track a short trip away too, good for a break from the boozing.
    You can go on a off road trip on Quads which is good Also Para gliding and jet ski's are a must.

PM Sent;)

Was the booze cruise 40euro?
    whats this PM about :eek: lol!
    The koka apartments are cheaper:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 rooney8

im going over mid july for 3 weeks, staying in the vista oasis apartments. cannot wait for it!! wat date did u book ur holiday for PEZ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭dublad23

rooney8 wrote:
    im going over mid july for 3 weeks, staying in the vista oasis apartments. cannot wait for it!! wat date did u book ur holiday for PEZ??

Stayed there last year! It's actually in Maspalomas but it's only about €5 in a cab to Playa De Ingles and would be too far to walk.

There is a bus from outside that brings you to the beach for free.

Food in the Hotel is alright but there is a lovely Chinese about 5 mins Walk down the Road.

The Hotel Staff aren't the friendliest either and don't seem to like opening the doors after 1am ha ha especially to drunks!

Weather was absolutely lovely!

There is nothing to do in Maspalomas so you will need to go into Playa!

ah cheers, ye because were going for 3 weeks we didnt want to be in the middle of it all for 3 weeks !! our heads would be melted!! any recommendations of where to rent out quads by the way??? cheers

haha! How much is entrance into the clubs?? and wat 1s are the best?:D cheap drink etc? lol

anyone? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭dublad23

Well I hung out a lot in the Irish Centre and this was last July and we were dragged in and ploughed with free Drink.

Different Offers mainly buy one get two :)

One place was buy one get three and then a guy came around with a bottle of peach schnapps and poured it down our gobs ha ha!

I dont think they have cut down that much on free drink

Keep in that area and you can go out on less than €40 a night easy!

Clubs differ - They all want to get people in so it's usually around €10 or less with drink offers!!

I forgot names of everywhere to be honest but there is a goodish one across from the Irish Centre and next to the Greenfield Aprts ??

The Yumbo Centre is ok - They have Free Fall and other entertainment - Very Gay Though but sure it's a bit of a laugh! Lots of families with young kids though there too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭DO0GLE

Don't buy any electronic goods from any of the shops over there. Bloody con men. Went to buy a camcorder which seemed dirt cheap, as soon as the cash was paid, they then demanded a CE tax to be paid aswell. After alot of arguing and hardship, we got our money back. Also witnessed pick pocketing.
    Some dodgy people going aroud but a great holiday for a young people looking for good nightlife.

dublad23 wrote:
    Well I hung out a lot in the Irish Centre and this was last July and we were dragged in and ploughed with free Drink.

Different Offers mainly buy one get two :)

One place was buy one get three and then a guy came around with a bottle of peach schnapps and poured it down our gobs ha ha!

I dont think they have cut down that much on free drink

Keep in that area and you can go out on less than €40 a night easy!

Clubs differ - They all want to get people in so it's usually around €10 or less with drink offers!!

I forgot names of everywhere to be honest but there is a goodish one across from the Irish Centre and next to the Greenfield Aprts ??

The Yumbo Centre is ok - They have Free Fall and other entertainment - Very Gay Though but sure it's a bit of a laugh! Lots of families with young kids though there too!

oh wow free drink! :D:D hopefully they'll have those deals again this year! lol! a tenner into the clubs, not bad! :cool:

after reading the last comment i dont think ill buy anything over there:eek:

Pez wrote:
    oh wow free drink! :D:D hopefully they'll have those deals again this year! lol! a tenner into the clubs, not bad! :cool:

after reading the last comment i dont think ill buy anything over there:eek:

yeah its always dodgey getting stuff like that abroad. ye im sure they will have deals again, the one thing i hate is when they pull u into clubs promising 3 free shots and the shots are all watered down!!:mad:

Anyone know wat time the clubs close at?? Last year in portugal they didnt close until 9 in the morning!!:D

id say they prob close about 6am? not too sure tho..