Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does this girl fancy me?

• 14-03-2007 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys, regular poster, going unregged. This is a bit long.

OK, I'm just looking for a bit of perspective on this, I don't even know if I want to ask this girl out, although some advice might swing me either way. I've put in as many details as I think necessary. Apologies for the length.

Anyway, late last October or early November I met a girl, by accident I suppose is the best was you could describe it. We both wanted to go to an event(please forgive me here, any more detail and I might be recognised) that was on pretty far away, and we ended up getting a lift from a friend of a mutual friend that neither of us knew the other knew. It was a long drive, and of course we chatted away in the car. Went to the event, then came back in the car again.

The following week was another event, this time closer, and we both went. I was involved with the running of this one, but after it was over and I had finished up with my part of it I headed to the local bar, where a lot of others who had attended the event were. She was there with a few other mutual friends. The event had gone quite well to say the least so everyone was in a celebratory mood. I ended up chatting to her for most of the night, we had a really good laugh.

Now, because it was getting into the Xmas period and that the events came to a stop, there was no opportunity to see her again. All of the mutual friends are friends made from going to these events, so I would only see them at the events aswell. So I wouldn't even have been going out with them ordinarily anyway. I have my other circle of friends away from the events.

So, just after Xmas I got an email in my inbox from this girl. I was surprised to see the email from her, but she had gotten my email address from an online profile on a forum we both use. I didn't mind. In the email was a picture of the two of us from the last night I had seen her. We had been having a great laugh, and this was quite clear from the picture. Two happy people smiling.

In the normal use of that forum I'd go about my normal business, maybe taking slightly more of an interest in her posts, nothing unhealthy like cyber stalking, just replying jokingly or light-heartedly to her posts the odd time.

The organisation of the events started up again, and she wanted to get involved, so I let her have my gmail address so we could communicate about the different aspect of the events etc. Every day, as a matter of course, when I come to work I always log in to gmail, and gtalk. So since then, about mid-January I suppose, we have been chatting on gtalk. Sometimes I see her online and start the chat, sometimes she starts the chat. It doesn't really matter anyway.

So, the events started up again, and we arranged to meet early for the first one, she brought a few other friends with her, and we had a good night. A week later, the same again. For the third one there weren't many of our mutual frineds there, so it was just the two of us for a while. Again, a good laugh was had. For the next one, however, I was part of the organisation so I wouldn't have been able to see her. She asked if I'd be around before the event and if I'd like to go for a drink before. I, as it turned out, was going to be at the event location a good hour before I was needed, so I agreed to meet her for that drink. After a while some more friends started arriving, and I had to head off, and she asked if I was around later. I said I would, and we arranged to meet in the bar afterwards. Because I was involved with the organisation of the event I'd ba a bit later to the bar than the rest of them. When I arrived she was there by herself, the others had had to head off, but she said she waited for me. Grand so, we had a couple of more drinks, and another fella arrived. I had to head off, so I said to her I was heading, and she said she was too, that she didn't want to stay there with just the other fella. So I headed off to do my thing, and she went off to do whatever it was she was doing.

Now, this week there is an event in a remote location. She asked was I going, and I said I might not be able to get time off work, and she said that was a pity. She then told me a couple of options available for me to get there.

So that's it. Thanks for reading this far.

Does she fancy me, are we just friends?

If it matters, I'm 26, she's 29.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Geez man, at 26, you're old enough to ask her out if you fancy her!
    Oh and yes, I'd say she's interested.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

sweet jesus man what do you want her to do turn up at your door with nothing on but a raincoat?

You are so in there it is unbelievable, although she is probably starting to wonder are you dumb or playing for the other team!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Yeah, I agree. Ye seem to get along. If you fancy her, then ask her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

From reading that, i would say YES she is interested in you. If you like her, then ask her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

She is interested, Go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

Is the pope for celibacy in the church???

As said above do you want her to turn up in a rain coat and nothing else???
    ask the girl out!! before someone else does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

Strike while the iron is hot, or else she'll start to doubt you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

If I were you, I'd have asked her out long ago! All the signs are there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Get in there my son !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

She likes you. Ask her out. It sounds like she has already asked you out though, asking you to go for a drink etc.? Also, if you're not sure if you want to ask her out then maybe you shouldn't just because you think she likes you.