Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hersonissos - Crete

• 13-03-2007 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

Anybody going this summer? Its going to be the best summer so far. Star Beach lining up some great acts over July and August.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭saviourgirl

Yep I'm heading over. Should be a great summer!!:D :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

Anyone else headin over in late May?? It's been four years! Haven't had a gyros in AGESSSSSSS!!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

And some Raki and Ouzo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm going the first week in May (it was super cheap!). Will it be really quiet do you think?

I could make my own fun with the ouzo though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Kids, stay away from Malia tho :eek:

Yeah watna it wont be the busiest but you'll still have all the bars open. July and August are the mental months.
    Yep tend away from Malia, lot of English scumbags. It does depend on who your with, if its just yourself and bf/gf then its grand but a big group of lads can walk into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭foxy_19-89

hey
    me and 10 of my friends (all fellas!) are goin 2 hersonissos in crete from 24th june for a week. just wondering if anyone can throw out any advice bout it. were all 18/19, finshed the LC and some finished 1st yr clg. wondering about prices of drink, food, basic supplies, entertainment etc. and if its dodgey. should we take a trip to malia(the british part) for a night or not?

cheers for any replies! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

You gotta try Malia once. Yeah the Brits can be a bit dodgy but if you keep your wits about you and get out before closing time (when I was there everywhere seemed to stop at once = trouble on streets) ya should be fine. Plus it makes a change from all the "Oirish" bars in Hersonnissos.

Price wise is ok. Drink is slightly cheaper than ireland and eating out is pretty good value.

im goin on june 24th with ten of d lads. guna b off d hook!! cant shaggn wait!! how do u no the line up 4 the clubs, like the djs and if theres nethin big on???????

Hey foxy, first time to Hersonissos! Your going to have a deadly time, great place. I've been there now every summer for years I'm a local!

As far as DJ's go this summer I've heard Marco V (hes there every year), Luna, Chuckie and possibly Tiesto. They'll all be playing Star Beach.

Its rare that the big DJ's will play June but you might catch them first week of July at the opening party for 'Beach Flirt', thats one of the big parties so your bound to see some good DJ's that night. They do be on Wednesday nights so it will be the 4th July for you.

Also Paddy Casey and Aslan have made appearances over the last few summers so they could play aswell.

What appartments are you staying in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I've been twice and liked it but don't think ill be back for a few years yet as i wanna visit other places.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Threads merged.

me and 4 others are stayin in the Evangelia Apartments and my other like 6 friends are in the Elpida Apartments. you know much about them? the description from the travel agent was pretty basic! and tips on beaches/quad bikes/drinking there/going 2 malia? help is really appreciated!! and alos one of d lads is askin how dar away are our apartments from the clubs/pubs/beaches etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭redman

'mazin - 17 years since I was there and even then Malia hasn't changed by the sound of it.

God time sure fecking flies.......

foxy_19-89 wrote:
    me and 4 others are stayin in the Evangelia Apartments and my other like 6 friends are in the Elpida Apartments. you know much about them? the description from the travel agent was pretty basic! and tips on beaches/quad bikes/drinking there/going 2 malia? help is really appreciated!! and alos one of d lads is askin how dar away are our apartments from the clubs/pubs/beaches etc?

Yeah the Elpida are up in a place called Gouves I think, its just before you come to Hersonissos, I'd say that would be a 15 minute walk. I know the Evangelia alright, thats right in the middle of the town nearly so all the pubs clubs etc are 2-5 minutes away.

I rented a scooter there 2 years ago, crashed into a bin, skidded on loose stones, every day was an adventure so stick with quads and anything with four wheels. Most of the rent places are on the main street, they will just ask for a look at passport and your hotel number etc, very relaxed about it.

As far as drinking goes, what can I say, its cheaper in most places, some of the trendier places will charge you normal prices coz they've copped on. Places like Players though have buy 2 get two free of anything. So for around 6 euro you'll be getting four of anythings its class.

Hersonissos and Malia are the same except more English in Malia and more Irish in Hersonissos, thats it. By all means go up there for a night but you'll realise its better local. If your looking for the difference between the two, basically Malia is has more proper clubs like for people who are into their dance etc whereas Hersonissos has more of a mixture of pubs and clubs.

All the beaches are pretty good but the best by far is Star Beach (make sure you do the bungee!)
    Check out the website: http://www.starbeach.gr/

yea iv been to that website. its deadly, cant waaait!! but when do they announce whats on for this summer?? how far away are our two appartment blocks? the travel agent told us that the Evangelia Apartments are further away from the centre than the other one. >:( hate travel agents!! this is deadly help, thanks a mil mate, iv been full of questions since we booked it. Speaking of, i gotta find €400 by next week! :-o

Nah I think she got them mixed up, see I've never heard of the Elpida but I know for defo that the Evangelia are right down in the town. I stay up in the hill area. I'd say its about 5-10 minute walk between the two apartments. Nothing is really far in crete.

Mostly alot of the dj's etc are announced a few weeks before hand, just keep an eye on the website or when you head over pop down to star beach and ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Botany Bay

Hey Foxy, I was there a few years ago, in the Evangelia apts. When we booked initially we were a little worried as it had no pool and seemed rather small. Never fear its actually pretty great. Its on the main street, down near the Star beach end, which means that unlike everybody else you won't have a long trek down to the place. The main action at night is down the opposite end from Star beach and the walk is maybe 5-10 mins max from the Evangelia apts. Evangelia is in fact pretty perfectly suited for a lads holiday. You won't get many families in it and anyway theyd up and leave if they did stay there. The music from every room is pumpin all hours of the day or night, and the place is usually full of 18-20 year olds anyway. I think everyone there i met was Irish, so you'll get to know loads of people and will probably end up drinking with them most nights.

If you can, try and get a first floor apartment, as it has access to the ground terrace area, which means for a group of lads, you can sit outside the apartment at night drinking, still the balconies are probably more than adequate. You'll pay a deposit when you arrive so try not to break anything as the one who runs the place is pretty pedantic about everything and will keep your deposit if anything is in any way damaged. You should also try the restaurant thats part of the place, as its pretty good and open 24hr, it does everything and the freshly squezzed orange juice is great. It literally kept me alive when i was there. Theres an off licence next door with a collection of well known and rather dodgy types of drink, i suggest you try them all;) The reason the off licence is such a good idea is that Crete has coped on to its drink pricing in clubs and pubs and the prices aren't far off what youd pay here:mad: Most nights we'd be drinking on the terrace til about 1 or 2 in the morning before heading to the pubs/clubs. You'll save a fortune this way.

As for Hersonissos, its not bad, personally id prefer other destinations to it, but you'll have a great time no doubt. Players does cheap drinks but a lot of places water down their spirits or serve you wicked in a shot glass:mad: so watch them!!! The place is basically full of Irish and Dutch which is pretty good as the dutch are generally a pretty sound lot. You'll find as you get further down the main "strip" you'll start coming across more dutch run apartments and bars which are actually probably cheaper than places like New York Club and Temple Bar.

If you have any questions just ask, and ENJOY;)

Hey Botany, good call about the orange juice, stock up on it coz u walk around like a zombie after a session the nite before. Sometimes I needed the juice to be hooked up to an I.V fluid drip I was so out of it!

Yeah New York has lost the Irish crowd they used to have, every year I see less and less Irish in the place coz they've jacked the prices up. Has more of a chilled out atmosphere now.

PCros and Botany Bay, the two of ye are legends, thanks a mil for all the advice, you have no idea how excited i am (lsitenin to boten anna - Basshunters just gets you in the mood doesnt it?!)

so bassically ive gatherd that th Evangelia appartments are close to like star beach centre of town and the other ones are close to the strip. im sure il be back on here soon when the lads come up with more questions to ask! the quality of the apartments dont really bother me that much as long as they are sleepable and dont have cockroaches or something runnnin around in them!

were thining that 24th june wil be a little busy but not mental, kind of the better time in my eyes? beaches wont b impossible to get through and clubs wont be wedged!!

i shall be back with more questions soon lads! ;) cheers!! :P

jus rememberd one question! :D ATM's? many over there, nearby??

foxy_19-89 wrote:
    jus rememberd one question! :D ATM's? many over there, nearby??

Yeah theres a few around. Two banks on the main street.

how much are addmisson prices into clubs/late bars? and if your drunk will you still get in???

foxy_19-89 wrote:
    how much are addmisson prices into clubs/late bars? and if your drunk will you still get in???

Yeah they don't care how drunk you are, unless your causing trouble then they'll refuse you. You'll find that you will end up heading out at around 12 even 1 in the morning after beers in your appartment, everyone ends up doing it. Most bars are open until 6am and New York still opens till 8am so you'll be going home alot when the sun is coming up. A few of the Irish bars do lock ins aswell. Oh yeah its harder to get drunk over there because of the heat and you sweat most of the alcohol out, not in a messy smelly arm pit way, but you'll understand when your there.

Nowhere will really charge you, some of the big clubs will, like a 5er with two free shots. Every bar/club you walk past you will be flagged down by reps and they'll tell you 2 free drinks if ya come in etc. Since there are ten or so of you, make sure to seek out a bargain because they'll be happy to get that many of a group in. Try get a free beach bowl (4 litre glass filled with sex on the beach) or something, you'll cop it on once you've been out for a nite or two.

hahahahaaaaaa! sweeeeeet! can - not feckin wait!! :D:D:D:D cheers man im sure il b back again!

No prob. PM me with questions if this thread ever expires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

PCros wrote:
    No prob. PM me with questions if this thread ever expires.
    Threads don't expire on boards.

Bluetonic wrote:
    Threads don't expire on boards.

Yeah I meant as in you have to search for them. They wont be visible in the forum as time passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭keltoms

foxy_19-89 wrote:

hows it going foxy? im heading over to crete on the 18th of august with 5 of my mates. was there in 2004 aswell, and its savage!! in hersonnissos they dont care if ur drunk or wat ur wearing its great! we were over there for one of the ireland matches and went into one of the clubs after. i was wearing no top with just a flag around my neck, 3 quarter length trousers and runners while holding a bottle of fat frog and they didnt care!:D

oh good times, cant wait to go back. most of the time we would start drinking in the apartment, then head out at about 12-1 (everywhere is dead b4 dat) hit a pub/club called templebar for a few fishbowls (lethal!) and then up to boomerangs night club! great spot:D cannot wait for it now, need anymore info let me know!

keltoms wrote:
    hows it going foxy? im heading over to crete on the 18th of august with 5 of my mates. was there in 2004 aswell, and its savage!! in hersonnissos they dont care if ur drunk or wat ur wearing its great! we were over there for one of the ireland matches and went into one of the clubs after. i was wearing no top with just a flag around my neck, 3 quarter length trousers and runners while holding a bottle of fat frog and they didnt care!:D

oh good times, cant wait to go back. most of the time we would start drinking in the apartment, then head out at about 12-1 (everywhere is dead b4 dat) hit a pub/club called templebar for a few fishbowls (lethal!) and then up to boomerangs night club! great spot:D cannot wait for it now, need anymore info let me know!

nice one dude. pretty sweet! soudn deadly! cant wait now. august is a sweeeet time to head over id say. full of LC's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Does Hersonissos shut down in September? Ive noticed Star Beach have their closing party on the last week of August.

PS - would this place appeal to a bunch of lads aged around 28?

Does Hersonissos shut down in September? Ive noticed Star Beach have their closing party on the last week of August.

PS - would this place appeal to a bunch of lads aged around 28?

Hey, yeah most of the big name DJ's playing Star Beach will end at the end of August but the beach will still be open until end September or early October.

Hersonissos's main months are July and August with the biggest amount of people visiting at this stage. September gets quiter as the month goes on with more older people/families visiting the Island. Pubs and clubs are all still open.

Yeah its probably the best place in europe to go on a lads holiday, enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭thecutter

Id definitly go to Malia!!! Yes, there is a lot of English, but ive never had an ounce of hassle. Been there for 4 weeks in total.
    I used to start off in 'The Loft' in Malia... vodka Red bull only a euro!!! Strong stuff too!! Then up to Club uk for some oldschool dance!!! Great place!!!

Imo, Hersonnissos in the day, Malia in the night!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 lor1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I am not heading to that resort but i am heading to the Elunda resort Crete in August for a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Alz®

Oh Crete is like a second home to me, my bro told me so much about it when he went in 98 & 99 that i went in 2004, 05 & 06...

Havent been since but will defo go again for sure!!

Theo that runs Shennanigans & Pog Mahones in Hersonissos is a leg end thru and thru...

New york was a bar we went to end of the nite usually, Hated Temple bar cos of that gimp who used to whistle at us like dogs til i pulled him aside one nite and told him i'd feed him his broken teeth to him with broken fingers :D

Players and Blarney stone were two other good spots...

Any good stories to tell..