Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GARDA Theft Outrage

• 09-03-2007 5:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭

Garda accused of stealing biros from shop
    Friday, 9 March 2007 15:28
    An investigation is underway into allegations that a serving member of An Garda Síochána was caught stealing biros from a shop in Co Monaghan.

A senior garda has been appointed to head the investigation which will be both criminal and disciplinary.

It is not known if the garda in question has been suspended.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0309/monaghan.html?rss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

well done, if your gonna get publicly humiliated for stealing something, at least let it be a harrier jump jet or something cool...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

There must be some mistake, why would anyone steal a pen??

And an investigation both criminal and disciplinary; don't get me wrong, theft is of course bad, very bad; but does this warrant a criminal investigation? I suppose it depends on the extent they'll go to in order to get the truth. I can see how justice must be "seen to be done" if indeed the garda is guilty, the problem is that there are far worse injustices that are not seen to be corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

HEll no; I could respect a cop if he stole a jet...this is more entertaining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

Goes to show that the pen is still mightier than the sword ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

maybe it was a very expensive biro....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Schlemm wrote:
    Mightier than the harrier anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

He's innocent until proven guilty. If he'd stolen a jet I'd promote him, man with a criminal mind like that is handy to have in a police force. When the rest of you law-abiding detectives are sitting around wondering what's going on in a case he'd have it sorted before you could say "Where's my car?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Judt wrote:
    He's innocent until proven guilty. If he'd stolen a jet I'd promote him, man with a criminal mind like that is handy to have in a police force. When the rest of you law-abiding detectives are sitting around wondering what's going on in a case he'd have it sorted before you could say "Where's my car?"

I doubt there's many cops that could steal a jet atm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

nevf wrote:
    I doubt there's many cops that could steal a jet atm!
    that's cuz they're all investigating the great biro heist of 2007:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I really hope, for his sake, that he badly needed a pen to write down the details of a crime that had just been commited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Ciara22

Oh Lord, a Garda stealing a biro? He was probably just trying to fit in, although with some of the inside stories I have heard - he is positively small fry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

Ciara22 wrote:
    Oh Lord, a Garda stealing a biro? He was probably just trying to fit in, although with some of the inside stories I have heard - he is positively small fry!

You mean there are Penali Pen Sets being lifted as well as humble biros???

Holy mother of jaysus!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I worked in a cafe once and we had this regular guy who used to come in on Tuesdays and Thursdays, nick a couple of jam tarts, take them outside and throw them in the bin. We knew he was at it and his wife used to come in on a Friday afternoon and pay for what he'd nicked.

I think these sort of shop-lifters have a mental illness and are not just thieving scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

why does this make national news??

its a few pens not worth anthing much.
    the gard should have just got some in his garda station,

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Judt wrote:
    He's innocent until proven guilty.
    No he is not! It was in the news so (s)he must have done it!
    Judt wrote:
    If he'd stolen a jet I'd promote him, man with a criminal mind like that is handy to have in a police force. When the rest of you law-abiding detectives are sitting around wondering what's going on in a case he'd have it sorted before you could say "Where's my car?"
    A harrier is of sweet FA use when investigating shoplifting cases!
    timmywex wrote:
    Why not?
    timmywex wrote:
    Exactly. There was absolutley no need for the theft. Would the garda have been as lenient if it had been you that was caught shoplifting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

He was probably in the shop arresting someone for shop lifting and needed a pen to note some details down in the all important notepad. Then upon his business being done, pocketed the pen without thinking and walked out the door..

Conceivable ;) haha the silly ****!! Could have easily walked out of the Garda Station with a box of pens if he wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

you think he would have leaned how to steal something properly what with being a guard and all! like i'm sure he's seen all the tricks people do to try and get away with robbing and he couldn't use any of that to get himself a pen??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Schlemm wrote:
    What? Is that supposed to be funny?
    My turn. I wonder will the investigative reports be written down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

timmywex wrote:

It's national news because it's a disgusting waste of public money that our police force are investigating the theft of a 30c pen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭topdog8

kbannon wrote:

Anyone who commits a crime in this country either it be stealing pens or for murdering somebody is innocent till they are proven guilty by a court of law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

topdog8 wrote:
    kbannon wrote:

Anyone who commits a crime in this country either it be stealing pens or for murdering somebody is innocent till they are proven guilty by a court of law

You really missed that one didn't you...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

^^he really did you know :p

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

topdog8 wrote:
    kbannon wrote:

sarcasm is lost I see.
    Anyhow, going off topic, there are many offences in this country where you are uilty until proven innocent (especially when it comes to taxation and motoring offences).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

kbannon wrote:
    there are many offences in this country where you are uilty until proven innocent (especially when it comes to taxation and motoring offences).

as far as i know you are innocent until proven guilty i all criminal procedings whereas the opposite is the case in civil proceedings.

But how is it that all sorts of crime goes on day in and day out but once a garda is involved a full scale enquiry must be set up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Christ Almighty it must be some slow arsed news day when all we have to talk about is a Garda stealing pens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

Going a bit of topic. I realise that all of our police are not out of the top drawer, but that’s probably the same for most police forces in Europe. But, I would like to complement them on their quick arrest of the two animals that allegedly almost killed that unfortunate Norwegian. Well done.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

He's probably just suffering from kleptomania,

lets just hope he is now taking something for it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

^^ Heh

i read it was something like 40 euro worth of pens. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

kbannon wrote:

erhm :D

You are missing out a very important word.

In the eyes of the law, you are presumed innocent until proven guilty.

You are not actually innocent if you are guilty :D, purely because you haven't yet had your day in court.

You are either innocent or guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

andrew wrote:
    ^^ Heh

i read it was something like 40 euro worth of pens. :eek:

lol reading that myself in the paper today....when stopped by a store detective he turned round and said "Don't worry, it's alright I'm a garda" :D

Well then that's okay...would he like to help himself to the contents of the till as well?

Sorry to see that a story like this get's discussed to 2 pages in length on AH ,yet there wasn't so much as a murmur about that poor guy that got run over and killed in Lucan last w/e (allegedly) by a car full of cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Wertz wrote:
    Sorry to see that a story like this get's discussed to 2 pages in length on AH ,yet there wasn't so much as a murmur about that poor guy that got run over and killed in Lucan last w/e (allegedly) by a car full of cops.
    Big thread about that in News & Media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Ah, a forum I don't often visit, especially the way things have been with the shortcuts of late...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Apparntly it was €40 worth of pens and the guy has lost the plot.