Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urinals in the home

• 08-03-2007 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭

Following recent threads about de lads pissing in the shower and de wimmin giving out because the seat is always up a question springs to mind, why not have a urinal in a domestic bathroom? I'm not talking about a 10 willy stainless stell tough with pineapple chunks and butts in the bottom but a nice handbasinish sized piece of porceline with a push to flush or perhaps a proximity sensor. Would it be better than "splish-splash mop the floor" or not as the case may be? Before de wimmin start giving out without thinking it through, why not? Men are physically different to women, we don't expect you to stand so why should we sit? What do you think?

Urinals in the home, yay or nay 52 votes

Yes, it seems sensible
    0% 0 votes
    No, it's yucky
    44% 23 votes
    Why didn't someone think of this before
    19% 10 votes
    Why is anyone thinking of it now
    13% 7 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    23% 12 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've already got it planned for the house I intend to build.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I never for the life of me understood the toilet seat up / down thing. Just - push it- down.

Simple as.

Yep, support ++ for urinals though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Great Idea Hagar. Personally I'd love to have one in the bathroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭ircoha

ned78 wrote:
    I've already got it planned for the house I intend to build.

they have nice ones c/w lids of their own, just make sure it[ the lid] stays up while u are using it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hagar, from waht I've read here before, I get your point. I love your reasoning, but you are quite mad. Madness like yours is worth following so for what it's worth count me in. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

that would be brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hmm well I am remodelling the half bathroom to the house shortly. :) *rubs chin* Yesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Bean_Ghrinn

"Hey! Hey!"
    *Raises hand from the back of the room, trying to get the OPs attention*
    "How about a bidet too?"

Hang a sign over the bidet "Hers"? Over the other thingy "His"? Just so he doesn't get confused?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

I've seen jacks seats which are operated by the foot, a la pedal bin.

Urinals always have a few pubes stuck to the front.

Deeeesgusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

If you want a urinal, just piss in the sink.

Urinals always have a few pubes stuck to the front.

Isn't that half the fun though, pushing them down the drain with your pee? It's like Asteroids, but with pee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I think it's a great idea! I'd like to have his & hers bathrooms & that way as I'll only be using/responsible for cleaning my bathroom, he can piss in the sink, shower, floor, whatever! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Hagar wrote:
    I'm not talking about a 10 willy stainless steel trough
    Is that how they measure them? More appropriate than feet, I suppose. Would it not lead to a certain amount of inconsistency, though? :confused:
    Hagar wrote:
    we don't expect you to stand so why should we sit?
    Hagar, you sit down to pi$$ unless an actual urinal is provided in a bathroom? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Your not going to let houseguests go into a bathroom and see a urinal, its disrespectful. Urinals are dirty things associated with pubs and the like, I like the idea but I dont think the women would like a stinking urinal beside them when there taking a whizz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Urinals the same a toilet, it's not dirtier or disrespectful, as long as the bathroom is big and the urinal isn't the central feature or too close to sink, toilet etc. Your man face from the a-team apparently installed urinals in his house, if that means anything

always loved this sketch

plonk wrote:
    Your not going to let houseguests go into a bathroom and see a urinal, its disrespectful. Urinals are dirty things associated with pubs and the like, I like the idea but I dont think the women would like a stinking urinal beside them when there taking a whizz

Wow, if you get freaked about Urinals, do you think Bidet's are acceptable? Personally, I don't have a problem with either, but when you think about it, the Bidet is probably more vulgar, yet it's widely accepted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Bean_Ghrinn

ned78 wrote:
    the Bidet is probably more vulgar
    Ye thinks? What about if she doesn't bother before he... ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

<from trainspotting - though not the original quote - dunno??>
    What we have right now was invented by the victorians (I'm only going to furnish this debate with accuracy - it doesn't matter)

Why can't we just have in every public venue - 2 unisex bogs - the crapper and the pisser?

Anyone who has ever been to the point theatre has seen women invade the mens bogs.

The urinals will just need a wider lip and an optional seat-cover dispenser and bog roll for the girls...

A simple panel blocking view of what's going on has to be cheaper than a cubicle - so whats wrong with this?

I honestly think the reason for this is inherited from victorian times - and that no-one would want his ma to have to endure a unisex urinal/crapper situation.

Ultimately, this has to happen however.

In a religious context - it makes as much sense as keeping a dairy/non-dairy appliances regimen on a household where your children are (pick from anything but jewish) and just impose values of your ancestors without any knowledge why.

Anyhoo... just hope I haven't turned this into a feminist debate or anything...

My motivation was to improve the crap bog facilities ... in... everywhere...
    Reckon women's toilets are always more plush - but inadequate - mens toilets are less than plush- just adequate for a piss - but a **** can often beyond their scope!

That's just my 5c!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

People sit to piss???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Hagar, you sit down to pi$$ unless an actual urinal is provided in a bathroom? :eek:
    Hell no, I usually stand on the toilet seat as a personal challange to increase the difficulty and improve my accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

I think its a quality idea.
    I remember seeing it in Shaq's house on cribs.

I understand why he needs it....he's tall.
    I'm 6ft6in and its a long way to the toilet bowl when i'm standing (a couple of feet i'd say), so how can it all go in the bowl if I happen to have a multistreamer coming out, splashes to the left and to the right, and only a man understands he can never know the speed its going to shoot out at, one step to far back and wet shoes, one too far forward and wet seat (and thats when the seats up girls ;) ).

Whats a guy gonna do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

25 years ago we put on an extension complete with shower room and urinal, nothing too strange about that.

And the "put the seat down" debate, just tell her to put it up when she is finished...........2 standers in my house and only 1 sitter, majority rules !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Install a swivel toilet!

One side the toilet, the other a urinal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Overheal wrote:
    People sit to piss???

Yep, apparently the ladies Do

...also physically possible for lads to "sit piss" too, but why sit when you can stand and control/hold it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Cool idea. You could also install a shitapult as well, so when you've done your nasty, you can just release a lever and flick it over the back wall. No longer your problem, save water wastage and in conunciton with urinals, means we never have to use that silly contraption "the toilet" again. I'm all for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I was in a colleagues house in the UK some time ago and went to use the bog.
    What intrigued me was this item shaped like a big bike saddle on an adjustable stand (up & down). basically it was a porcelain bike saddle,with a drain-off.

Inquiring discreetly later I established it was a "unisex urinal!.

Apparently if you were a woman you kind of adjusted it to height and kinda "backed onto it". Couldn't se our sisters taking to that in my opinion.

males just did what they normally ,piss in the general direction.

Never saw one before and since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl