Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Poker Player? *****You Must Read This*****

• 07-03-2007 11:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭

OK. Would you like to play for free in the PP Irish Open €1000+€100 side event?

Here's the deal.

A Boards Poker poster (who is well known but not a prolific poster) has given me a full entry for the above event. Someone from here is going to play for free......

The Rules:

The Boardster's identity will be known by me (and the winner) only. They do not want to be identified.

2. Any winnings will be split as follows:

40% to Player
    20%to Backer
    40% to The Jack and Jill Foundation (www.jackandjill.ie) on behalf of the Backer/Player/1PP (The reason for this direct donation is due to the endless red tape bolloxxx 1PP are going through at the moment)

The player must be a boardster of good standing (over 200 Poker posts and a member over 6 months). Basically you must be fairly well known for your posts on here.

4. You must not be playing the Main Event or be entered in the €1k event already.

5. You must not have played a WSOP, EPT or the Irish Open (or the like) before. We want people with skills but not the bankroll.

How we will chose

1. You must nominate youself in this thread. Then 10 nominee players will be choosen for a poll to be held on Boards.

2. That will be an open poll where recognised Boards posters can vote for their choice. This will be an open poll so we can see who voted for who (i.e. your mates can't hijack the vote)

3. Campaigning is only allowed via PM (i.e. NO 'Vote for Me' posts)

4. The nomination period is for about 10 days. I will announce the closing about 2 days beforehand....just to give people a chance to see this.

This should be fun..... :D

A big thanks to the donator. Also, if you want to know who it is don't bother asking me. I'm sworn to secrecy, so don't be offended if I don't tell.

PS My decision is final in ANY disputes or rulings to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Ok, I nominate myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

careca wrote:
    Ok, I nominate myself.
    Thank you for starting the ball rolling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I would imagine it will be some ball by the end of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

This is a great jesture by the anonomous donor. I hope he decides to out himself/herself at a later date.

I'll also nominate myself.

Have you thought about what you're going to do when you get 40 nominations. Some sort of seconded system, or a preliminary poll to reduce the numbers down to 10?

Ste05 wrote:
    This is a great jesture by the anonomous donor. I hope he decides to out himself/herself at a later date.

I'll also nominate myself.

Have you thought about what you're going to do when you get 40 nominations. Some sort of seconded system, or a preliminary poll to reduce the numbers down to 10?

Yeah. There will be a judgement on skill level. I will ask a few 'big names' to help whittle it down. There will be no voting for 'mates' so I wont say who will help me on here. The final 10 may be 12 or 14 etc. We'll see. At the moment we want nominations first.

No bribery allowed...Im off the booze and on a diet. :o:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I'm in. Very generous of the donor! And as BCOOP Champion ive got teh mad pokah skillz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

What a cool idea. I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

im in too.
    i have played the IO last year though does that mean i cant go for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

I am playing in the main event myself but would like to nominate 2 people (assuming they are not playing that is so if they are just put it down as a Smurph waffling on about nothing thread again.

1. Marq - did brilliantly in the Drogheda tournament and only for being so card dead could have been a serious contender.

2. Bohsman, did really well in the student poker championship.

Lastly Please give a big thank you to the sponsor.

we all play poker to win money, but the jack & Jill foundation and Santa Strike force that Tom runs aswell sometimes get overlooked, and are great charities that more and more people should give money to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I will nominate myself too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I nominate myself, cos I'm great.
    I won't rig any polls either. Honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Banter!Ill throw my name in the hat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

i am in 2

Gholimoli wrote:
    im in too.
    i have played the IO last year though does that mean i cant go for this?
    Sorry mate. We want someone to experience a big buy-in event for the first time and be part of the buzz. There are plenty like you on boards but there are a rack of players that could not come close to paying €1000 but would play very well. So, we want them to have a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

I would nominate myself, however...
    BigDragon wrote:
    5. You must not have played a WSOP, EPT or the Irish Open (or the like) before. We want people with skills but not the bankroll.
    I did play in the WSOP last year because I won a seat on PokerStars. lol
    I do not have the bankroll.....hmmm actually, also not too many skills come to think of it, just ambitions.
    I'll go now. :D

jacQues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

I'm nominating myself, mostly because I'm confident enough to believe I can win it given a bit of luck along the way. :D no slagging allowed!

sidenote: I would be happy to donate 60% to The Jack and Jill foundation and take the same payout as the backer. but whatever you've agreed as your split is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

I would like to stand in the forthcoming election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

I'll nominate myself :)

Just a wee quicky on who i am since im more of a lurker reading everyday

1st in boards.ie heads up championship
    3rd(joint), in the 2nd boards.ie HU championship
    I qualified to play for NI in the paddypower grandslam, and finished top for my country (dont know if this rules me out, but i did win via a sat. and was over a year ago)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Does the first IPC event rule me out? The one Flipper won? If not, then I also nominate myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

I like the cut of that fellows jip. I will probably try to qualify for the big one, maybe just one satelitte attempt ....not paying the 3 grand anyway..

So I nominate myself but I will only charge 20% If I win anything. (for my time etc)
    Would feel bad taking 40% from a freeroll with a charity involved.. Either way I may just play in this side event anyway. I'd say there will be some good opposition.

Nice job Mr Anonymous (if that's your real name)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

nominate myself and/or aodea.

As a thought is there not more potential return in putting 3 players in the 300 game?!??!

I duly second the nomination of that genius Solksjaer. Is Gerry Mandering playing in this event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

I can think of no finer candidate than myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Fair play to the backer.

I'll nominate myself, like most student players I haven't played in any big events because I can't afford it. But this is a great chance for who ever gets it.

Solksjaer wrote:
    I duly second the nomination of that genius Solksjaer. Is Gerry Mandering playing in this event?
    No self promotion after original post nominating yourself.......AT ALL ..............PLEASE

Ooops Apologies, Wasn't trying to do that. As punishment for upsetting the rules. I withdraw my self nomination.
    However seen as I'm going to win this event anyway, I will offer 5% to the same charity.

Good luck with it.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

i would like to nominate myself for this too please. would be great to play this type of an event.

also did anyoen else think there was swearing involved in the title at first?lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

If I'm eligible I'll nominate myself for whatever it's worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

rounders123 please?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I would like to nominate myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

super idea
    I will also throw my name into the proverbial hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I nominate myself.

My 40% cut to be donated to the 1% pledge fund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Why not.

It's a great idea and for a good cause. Fair play to the donator, let's hope the real winner is the charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

HalfBaked you sooooo cheeeezy.

(Edit on account of Lloyds greatness) I'd no longer like to nominate Phantom Lord as he is playing the main event, however the few times ive played with him live ive been quite impressed. BTW he is a poor studenty type i'm sure he would appreciate any monitary tips....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

shoutman wrote:
    HalfBaked you sooooo cheeeezy.

I'd like to nominate Phantom Lord, the few times ive played with him live ive been quite impressed and we all know how broke he is ;)

Upon rereading it does look that way. I think I missed a career in politics :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Jimmy Hoffa

What a sickening bunch all nominating themselves , I nominate MARQ o neill good player probably broke again and has more chance of cashing then the rest of the self promoting parasitic vultures here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

1. You must nominate youself in this thread. Then 10 nominee players will be choosen for a poll to be held on Borads.
    Keep taking those reading lessons JimmyHoffa.

Everyone else keep the spam to a minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

I have a couple of comments on this

1. Fair play to the donor its a really nice gesture to both the charity and to Boards.

2. Is donating directly to the charity not more +EV?? :p The person who qualifies to play will have to have a pretty good edge. I really hope they do!!
    However, I can see the craic from the donors point of view doing it this way. With a bit of luck they'll be frerolling the charity donation if the stake horse has some luck on the day.

3. I think a vote is messy and a little bit unfair to lesser known boardsters but a mtt for the ticket would have a short run luck component I guess.

4. I don't think there should be a race to the bottom from people looking to donate a slice of their proposed action to the charity. If you want to make a donation after you've won a few bob than that's time to do it. People play better when they have a decent stake in themselves so a "dutch" auction giving away some or all of your percentage in the hope of garnering votes feels wrong. I think nominees should stick to the split as set out by BigD and if they feel like making a donation afterwards do it then.

5. I was going to stick my hat in the ring but I think being honest I could play an event such as this if I wanted to (even though I wouldn't be remotely bankrolled for it) so I'm going to rule myself out.

I was going to nominate a few people (in case they are bashful) but they know who they are and to be honest I'd hate to leave people out!!

Good luck to the winner!

PS
    There may be a tax angle on this to increase the impact of the donors contribution btw. I know from another boardster that a ticket was put up for a charity auction previously (IPC or something) and despite the eventual purchaser paying more then face value after offsetting their "donation" against income tax the person was playing for less than a buy in to the game. So the charity got more cash than the face value of the ticket and the player got +EV. Win Win baby. :p Its the best angle shooting story I've ever heard on the Irish Poker scene and all in a good cause!!

PPS Bohsman and Marq are great mtt players but they have both played big events as I recall so that would have to rule them out. If we were going for the best player on Boards then it would be different

Ollyk1

1. Agreed

2. We are gamblers...are we not?

3. Messy or not, any other way is too much hassle....and less fun.

4. 100% agreed and will not be allowed mentioned again by nominees in the poll or be taken into consideration in choosing nominees.

5. Up to you.

Re: The PS Can you find oput more on that

Re: PPS Yes, you are correct, hence the need for people to nominate THEMSELVES (Sorry Smurph!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Who the fcuk are you btw?
    dont you know thats Marqs spare account?

ollyk1 wrote:
    I have a couple of comments on this

1. Fair play to the donor its a really nice gesture to both the charity and to Boards.

2. Is donating directly to the charity not more +EV?? :p The person who qualifies to play will have to have a pretty good edge. I really hope they do!!
    However, I can see the craic from the donors point of view doing it this way. With a bit of luck they'll be frerolling the charity donation if the stake horse has some luck on the day.

3. I think a vote is messy and a little bit unfair to lesser known boardsters but a mtt for the ticket would have a short run luck component I guess.

4. I don't think there should be a race to the bottom from people looking to donate a slice of their proposed action to the charity. If you want to make a donation after you've won a few bob than that's time to do it. People play better when they have a decent stake in themselves so a "dutch" auction giving away some or all of your percentage in the hope of garnering votes feels wrong. I think nominees should stick to the split as set out by BigD and if they feel like making a donation afterwards do it then.

5. I was going to stick my hat in the ring but I think being honest I could play an event such as this if I wanted to (even though I wouldn't be remotely bankrolled for it) so I'm going to rule myself out.

I was going to nominate a few people (in case they are bashful) but they know who they are and to be honest I'd hate to leave people out!!

Good luck to the winner!

PS
    There may be a tax angle on this to increase the impact of the donors contribution btw. I know from another boardster that a ticket was put up for a charity auction previously (IPC or something) and despite the eventual purchaser paying more then face value after offsetting their "donation" against income tax the person was playing for less than a buy in to the game. So the charity got more cash than the face value of the ticket and the player got +EV. Win Win baby. :p Its the best angle shooting story I've ever heard on the Irish Poker scene and all in a good cause!!

PPS Bohsman and Marq are great mtt players but they have both played big events as I recall so that would have to rule them out. If we were going for the best player on Boards then it would be different

Whilst I hate to admit it publicly Olly talks a lot of sense.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I've watched big events and I'm skint so I think I'm eligible. I will throw my name in the hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Realistically I dont see myself getting enough votes or making the cut to the last ten for that matter but I might as well nominate myself! I've never played a tournement with a buy-in larger than 150e and I defo dont have anywhere near the bankroll for a tournement like this, I do however think i have the skills... This is gunna be fun to follow none the less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

BigDragon wrote:
    Ollyk1

1. Agreed

Damn straight! :D

I reluctantly agree sir.

4. 100% agreed and will not be allowed mentioned again by nominees in the poll or be taken into consideration in choosing nominees.

I knew we'd be on te same wavelength on that one lol

5. Up to you.

As they say in all the intriguing posts, PM sent!

Re: PPS Yes, you are correct, hence the need for people to nominate THEMSELVES (Sorry Smurph!)

By the way Peter I can't believe you finally admitted it. There is no living that one down!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

i'm in if you pick me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

BigDragon wrote:
    Ollyk1

1. Agreed

5. Up to you.

Sorry, didn't pick up on that.

ollyk1 wrote:

By the way Peter I can't believe you finally admitted it. There is no living that one down!! :p

I'm sure it was a once off event cause by some crazy cosmic alignment, the frequency of which is in line with that of pigs flying :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

Would definitely like to stick my name in the hat for this.