Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People parking on disabled parking spots.

• 04-03-2007 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭

So ok, I was coming out of my local Lidl earlier this afternoon and I noticed 4 cars parked on the disabled parking spaces outside the shop. The thing is, as far as I could see not one of them was displaying a disabled sticker. The two people carriers from the left definetly weren't.
    It really pisses me off how some people can be so careless/selfish about stuff of that nature. I'd pay to see the bastards getting clamped.
    My two cents.
    See the attached photo.

<photos removed as plates were visible and could identify people>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

If that's the lidl in ballinteer I think you'll find that not all of those spaces are disabled spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

It's the one in Tallaght, and as far as i know all four of the spots are disabled, tho I'm open to correction. The two on the left certainly are, and I have yet to see a disabled sticker on display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What are you on about??? Sure isn't this Ireland?I was in a hurry and there were four spaces there. Is'nt that what they are there for,and anyway who enforces it .Its only me and I left three spaces free for people who really needed them. I couldn't be arsed parking in a proper space 25 yards away.
    Get a grip there OP and don't be so picky.

I'm not picky, but I dont take spots that are reserved for people with disabilities.
    What's your problem with that other than laziness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

What are you on about??? Sure isn't this Ireland?I was in a hurry and there were four spaces there. Is'nt that what they are there for,and anyway who enforces it .Its only me and I left three spaces free for people who really needed them. I couldn't be arsed parking in a proper space 25 yards away.

FlutterinBantam that's completely the WRONG attitude to have. It's people like YOU who make me sic (sic). Too up your own arse to give a damn about anybody ELSE. If everyone had your attitude where would we BE?

Where would we BE?

I have no problem other than people not recognising irony even though its fcukin shovelled on:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Laziness could be considered a disability!! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I have no problem other than people not recognising irony even though its fcukin shovelled on:rolleyes:

Don't worry, I got you.

I think its one of the most low-down, dirty, disgraceful things I've ever encountered.

My solution is having a guy with a lump hammer standing there. If they want to park in the disabled spot, then they can park there legitimately.

I agree totally Silverfish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

My mum broke her neck 2 years ago, she's able to drive and can walk short distances (couple metres). I'm always with her whenever we're going shopping or whatever, and I have to say, using a disabled space when you're not disabled, it's totally unjustifiable. Up until she had her accident, she was a very independant person, but now little things like not having a disabled parking spot to use is a major inconvenience. Even when using some of those spots, people parking too close makes it much more difficult to get the chair in and out (even for me, and I'm a completely able bodied person).

In my oppinion, anybody who's in a wheelchair deserves this 'benefit' after what they've all gone through.

FlutterinBantam: You're making yourself sound like a complete tosser there, sounds like you're being sarcastic (hope you are!). If not, I suggest you take a trip out to the rehab in Glenageary and speak to some of the people who've become disabled. Maybe then you'll realise how hard there lives have recently become and little things like parking spots can make such a difference to their freedom. You've got working legs, USE THEM and be grateful you can!

imo.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Ya iv spotted this a few times, but I just make sure they see me glancing at the window for a badge and then staring at them. Id love to go up and ask them for their permit, and if they didnt have one, tell them to move off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

what's worse is in dundrum i always see on the level 2m car park there's a silver merc slk convertable type jobbies parking in the disabled spaces. there's no sticker on the car saying the person is disabled.

in fact i'd be surprised if they could even fit a weelchair into the car.

it's just pure selfishness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

i used to work in a company in Cork (based in McCurtain Street) and the owner of this company, although in perfect health, had a disabled badge on his dashboard so he could avoid paying for parking. i regret not notifying the police...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The few disabled people I've ever met have never wanted anything more than to be treated equally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

touche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

It will always be the way, plenty of laws but zero enforcement.

I recently have started phoning local Garda stations when I see something amiss - people doing drugs on a street, speeding, dangerous driving and parking in disabled spaces - and they always thank me for doing it. They mightn't be able to do anything about it straight away, but they at least have the call logged and can refer to it later if something else arises.

I'm so tired of giving out about people acting like arseholes and not doing anything about it. So this is me being proactive, I'd suggest everyone does it. Then slowly we'll make this world better.

/Group hug :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This sort of thing used to make me mad but now I just dont bother.
    I once passed some middle-aged women parking her Toyota Yaris in the disabled spot outside my local Tesco.

No disc and I gave a dirty look in her direction, especially as there were loads of space about 20 seconds walk away.

She hopped out the car and demanded to know was I as a Garda. When I said "no", she starting tapping me on the shoulder, asking what business was it of mine,bla bla, bla, pays motor tax so entitled to park where ever, bla bla bla.
    I stayed still taking all this-it went on for quite a while.

Walked away but she followed me into shop mouthing off to mind my own business. She eventually got lost after me swearing at her.

Now I don't bother getting involved. Besides, I've a moped and always park on the footpath beside the door. It's not a parking space but it's not in anyones way either.

If the shopping centre had a clamper van onsite and charged whatever the standard rate is (€120 I think )they'd make thousands per week.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

connundrum wrote:

I recently have started phoning local Garda stations when I see something amiss - people doing drugs on a street, speeding, dangerous driving and parking in disabled spaces - and they always thank me for doing it. They mightn't be able to do anything about it straight away, but they at least have the call logged and can refer to it later if something else arises.

I'm so tired of giving out about people acting like arseholes and not doing anything about it. So this is me being proactive, I'd suggest everyone does it. Then slowly we'll make this world better.

you beat me to it!
    OP, if you felt strongly about it you should have said something to the store management or even the offenders themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭flossie

MrFloss's sister looks in perfect health, but she has a broken back, so cannot walk too far or carry anything (she has also jst gotten over her second bout of cancer, but that's not the point here). Due to her back problems she has a disabled badge for herself. She receives a lot of hassle sometimes when people see her parking in a disabled spot (in a nice car i might add) and then walking off. Because they cannot see a disability, i.e a wheelchair they automatically presume that somebody isn't.....this can be anoing too.

I agree completely that people who show no respect for parking in disabled bays should be punished - maybe a name and shame, or have wardens who can put fines on cars parking in these bays?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

flossie wrote:
    MrFloss's sister looks in perfect health, but she has a broken back, so cannot walk too far or carry anything (she has also jst gotten over her second bout of cancer, but that's not the point here). Due to her back problems she has a disabled badge for herself. She receives a lot of hassle sometimes when people see her parking in a disabled spot (in a nice car i might add) and then walking off. Because they cannot see a disability, i.e a wheelchair they automatically presume that somebody isn't.....this can be anoing too.

I agree completely that people who show no respect for parking in disabled bays should be punished - maybe a name and shame, or have wardens who can put fines on cars parking in these bays?

yes but the difference between ur sis n the OP's pic is that your sis has the badge.

Heavy fine and a tow would be sufficient in my eyes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

It really annoys me to see people parking in disabled spaces. It's particularly bed at our local Tesco even though there's a huge carpark and I've never yet seen the place full. It's just pure laziness that people park there. I've seen plenty of young guys in BMW's, yummy-mummies (without the kids) in their 4x4's, learner driver's in their Micra's etc. all doing it. :mad:

What I suggest is using big stickers like Iarnród Eireann do and slapping them on a window of the car. Maybe having to drive around with "PLEASE REFRAIN FROM PARKING IN A DISABLED PARKING SPACE" will shame them into not doing it again. Those stickers you get in the train station are so hard to get off, they might even have to drive around like that for a couple of days!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Fines seem to be enforced by local authorities and rightly so. I have seen tickets given out in towns in North Dublin and also Drogheda and Dundalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

I don't think anyone enforces it in carparks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

tallus wrote:
    It's the one in Tallaght, and as far as i know all four of the spots are disabled, tho I'm open to correction. The two on the left certainly are, and I have yet to see a disabled sticker on display.

Is it the one just up past molly (dolly?) heffernans, just before you get into citywest? If it is and these are the spaces facing you as you come in the gate then at least 2 (the 2 on the right) are "parent and child" spaces.

Stekelly wrote:
    Is it the one just up past molly (dolly?) heffernans, just before you get into citywest? If it is and these are the spaces facing you as you come in the gate then at least 2 (the 2 on the right) are "parent and child" spaces.
    It is Stekelly, you're correct about the parent and child spaces too. The two people carriers were definetly parked on disabled spaces and not displaying stickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

faceman wrote:
    you beat me to it!
    OP, if you felt strongly about it you should have said something to the store management or even the offenders themselves.

I absolutely agree with everything said about parking in disabled bays, but have you ever tried to convey anything to management (or anybody else) in Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

You'd think the "Sure isn't this Ireland?" part would have been a dead giveaway to the ironic content as well. It was for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

connundrum wrote:

What a motivational post - I feel like lifting up something really heavy now!

sceptre wrote:
    You'd think the "Sure isn't this Ireland?" part would have been a dead giveaway to the ironic content as well. It was for me.

That was it!!!!
    Good man good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I am surprised your story didn't include you parking sideways to ensure no one else could ding your car (especially if they were in a wheel chair).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

micmclo wrote:
    If the shopping centre had a clamper van onsite and charged whatever the standard rate is (€120 I think )they'd make thousands per week.
    No they wouldn't. Business would dry up after the first few days when people realise the consequences of inappropriate parking.

Able bodied motorists are probably tempted to park in spaces reserved for disabled drivers because so many of them seem to be empty most of the time. Perhaps the ratio of disabled to normal spaces in incorrect. There is a disabled parking space in my workplace. In my 18 years there, I can't ever recall it being used by a person with a disability.

Although selfish and inconsiderate, it is not illegal to park in a disabled space on private property (eg. shopping centre, train station, airport etc.)
    micmclo wrote:
    I've a moped and always park on the footpath beside the door.
    If it's a public footpath parking your moped there is illegal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Brick in their window or at least kick their wing mirror off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I never see anyone using this spots without a permit in town getting clamped of fined at all. Last Friday I pulled into my local Esso to find some chick in the disabled spot waiting on someone inside. I casually blocked her in and put my disabled permit on the dash while I went inside and took my time going about my business. She looked pretty pissed off but it was her own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

FX Meister wrote:
    I casually blocked her in and put my disabled permit on the dash while I went inside and took my time
    ....... causing the disabled space to be blocked for longer. That's really helpful! What if another disabled motorist wished to use it while you were taking your time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Hey, don't you be taking up those ironic spaces. They're not meant for the likes of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

My dads disabled and this drives me mad. Best thing to say to someone parking in a disabled space, who is not disabled is "Is this the only time you'd like to swop places with a disabled person"?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Taking a spot when you are not handicapped? That's really lame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Usually if you confront them they go red and embarrassed and move the car. Not always though.

As someone who is not disabled but often needs to use these spaces with disabled passengers it tends to boil my blood a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Most of the time if I see someone that is fully abled with no disabled permit parking in a disabled spot I take the time to politely point it out to them. Most just tell me "I'll only be a minute" or "I'm just getting a newspaper" or some other such story. After I explain that a disabled person could possibly arrive during that minute, they usually start to get all confrontational - at which point I usually just (sarcastically) say "Sorry I forgot, you're always right" and walk away. Very few will actually move their car - most people dig their heel in rather than admit they are parking incorrectly - a kind of 'I'll do what I like attitude'. I've even alerted staff in the shop (or whatever) to the fact that a disabled space is being inappropriately used - most don't even care. Sometimes I feel like not bothering, but it annoys me so much..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

tallus wrote:

<photos removed as plates were visible and could identify people>

Why did you remove the photos? If they were clearly breaking the law and parked in a disabled spot what's the problem with showing a pic of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I presume you all have cammera phones, so just take a picture. If the resolution is to low do a video and get right up and move along the number plate and show the disabled sign. To me that seems like enough evidence to prove the driver broke the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Although selfish and inconsiderate, it is not illegal to park in a disabled space on private property (eg. shopping centre, train station, airport etc.)

If it's a public footpath parking your moped there is illegal!
    True. Afaik, it's up to businesses to decide what, if any disabled spaces they provide. They can put a policy in place to enforce compliance though. As someone else mentioned, clamping would be an extreme measure, likely to damage business (though personally, they’re not the sort of customers I'd like to have!). Used to have a bunch of “This space is reserved for disabled motorists” leaflets that I'd place under offending cars' wipers, whenever I saw people misusing disabled spaces. When they ran out, I tried to get my hands on the adhesive ones, but kind of forgot about it then.

Disabled parking space compliance seems to be well enforced by local authorities, in public places. However, my anger is mainly directed at private car parks. Very few places seem to even use "stickering" as a deterrant anymore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

Some times I leave a note on the window of the offending car saying...

"Stupidity is not a disability!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

I work in a supermarket and we've called people up to Custoemr Service before to ask them to move their car out of the disabled spaces. Uusally yummy mummy types in their big 4 x 4's, not even with little Oisin and Sorcha in tow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Nala wrote:
    I work in a supermarket and we've called people up to Custoemr Service before to ask them to move their car out of the disabled spaces. Uusally yummy mummy types in their big 4 x 4's, not even with little Oisin and Sorcha in tow.
    Nice idea, pity more places don't do that. If people's cars are described over the tannoy and they must undergo a walk of shame to the customer services desk, they might think twice about doing it again.

Grr.

*shakes fist at arrogant owners of needlessly oversized vehicles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Slow coach wrote:
    Hey, don't you be taking up those ironic spaces. They're not meant for the likes of you.

LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

This is something that really gets me :mad:
    Usually when i see it happen i'll just stand and stare at the offender as they run, skip and jump out of their car, and shake my head. On occasion i have mentioned if they noticed they had parked in a disabled spot, and as previously posted here, they go on the defensive ("I'll only be a minute" and all that)
    However the most obnoxious and ignorant response was from a woman (im not saying women do it more). I drove down to greystones dart station to meet herself from the train. Parking in the immediate vacinity is somewhat restricted, but i got a space no more than 2mins walk away. Outside the station there are 2 disabled spots, and beside them 2 taxi spots. So yer wan parks in one of the disabled spots (both were free), im standing outside the station entrance (theres also a bus stop there), see what shes doing, and casually walk round the car to see if she has a permit (No)
    Now i understand that in some cases the driver themselves may not be disabled, and therefore not have a permit, but they might be collecting someone who is elderly or infirm. Thats cool, so i thought id hold my horses.
    Anyways i start looking at yer wan, and then looking at the oh so obvious sign
    and shaking my head til she twigged. I went over in a non-threatening manner
    and was about to say "you know where your parked..." when she put up the window. So i said "shame on you", you know what she does?
    Points to the other free spot beside her and smiles :mad:
    Theres not much i could do short of doing something id regret so i just continued to stare at her and pretended to note down her reg.
    So the train comes in, and her two kids jump in the car. So yes i do know your reg Mrs silver Mazda estate, and i hope your car breaks down, your spare tyre is flat, your mobile battery dies, the weather is ****, and this happens in the middle of nowhere.
    Rant over, im going for a walk.
    God help anyone i see today parked where they shouldn't be!!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Heh, this is also one of my pet hates. My dad's in a wheelchair, and many's the time we've been looking for a space for him, and either someone has taken the space outright, or there's someone "just stopped there for a minute while I pop to the shop which must be about a fifteen minute walk away".

Anyway, they're really strict in UCD about people parking in the wrong place. Typically, if you don't park in a designated space, no matter how clever your parking, or how neatly tucked away you are, you'll get clamped. Obviously, the same applies to people who park in disabled spaces. None of this comes as a surprise because clampers get paid for this.

However, why they clamped my dad will always vex me. I must admit that I laughed and laughed when he came around the corner to see the clamper's face when he realised his mistake. Priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

I know someone who cut off his clamp in UCD with a bone cutter, apparently it's very easy to do. He wasn't parked in a disabled spot though, I'd never associate with that sort of a fiend.