Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leap Castle

• 03-03-2007 12:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

Hola!

We're off on a trip to Leap Castle at the end of the month. ANyone been there on a hunt? If so, what were your experiences? I am NOT looking forward to facing the elemental though, a mate of mine who's a medium was pysically sick there after getting the smell of it (rotting flesh) eww.

Any info we should hear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Don't worry I'll mind you. As you there there is a handful coming with me and we're very glad to be tagging along.

Anyway we can do to prepare for any plans your team have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

As it turns out it looks like i wont be able to make this trip after all, hope everyone has a great time and i am sure we will hear all about the highsand lows of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭dib

Looking forward to this. I'll have the camera in tow and will be as snap happy as I was on the last trip!

Ok the Boardsies going on this are:

6th
    Monkeyfudge
    Grimes
    Stoner
    Dib

Though note this is not a usually Boards trip but an Investigation being carried out by Psychic Sense Investigation - Sarah (mwah) was just nice enough to ask me along with a small group.

I'm going to see if I can get a loan of a decent mini dv camera for this. I'd like to get some decent video and as usual, as many photos as possible!! :)

Bit of history and information:
    Leap Castle. Nr. Birr. Co. Offally

The Most Haunted Castle In Ireland.

In May 2002 Sean Ryan, a world-class musician, and along with his wife Anne, owner of Leap Castle, found a ghostly old man sitting in a chair by a downstairs fireplace. Having bade his phantom guest “good day”, Sean continued about his business. After all, a new ghost dropping by unannounced, is just part of life’s rich tapestry, when you happen to live in what has long been considered Ireland’s most haunted castle.

Standing upon a vast throne of solid rock, Leap Castle was once the stronghold of the warlike O’Carrolls and its eventful history is mostly written in their blood. In the 16th century, O’Carroll of the Leap held a lavish banquet at his family fortress and invited a rural branch of his own sept to partake of his hospitality. No sooner had the unfortunate guests sat down to dinner, than he massacred everyone one of them. Inter-clan bloodshed was a common occurrence and members of the tribe, attended family get togethers or re-unions at their peril! Following the death of Mulrooney O’Carroll in 1532, a bitter dispute over succession arose. As siblings battled each other for leadership of the clan, “one-eyed” Teige O’carroll is said to have slain his own brother, who was also a priest, as he celebrated Mass in “The Bloody Chapel”.

However, the days of O’Carroll occupancy were drawing to a close, and they were about to lose possession in a suitably blood- thirsty manner. A 17th century daughter of the clan fell in love with an English soldier named Captain Darby, who was being held prisoner in the castle dungeons. She smuggled food to him and eventually engineered his escape. As they were making their way down the staircase, her brother suddenly confronted them, and the captain silenced him with a single sword thrust. Since his lover then became the heiress to Leap Castle, it passed into the ownership of the captain’s family when the two were later married.

The last of the family to own Leap Castle was Jonathan Charles Darby who arrived here on 16th July 1880. In 1909, his wife Mildred wrote an article for the Occult Review describing how she had held several séances at the castle during which she had attracted the unwelcome attentions of an elemental – a primitive and malevolent force that attaches itself to a particular place. Mildred Darby described how she was “standing in the Gallery looking down at the main floor, when I felt somebody put a hand on my shoulder. The thing was the size of a sheep. Thin gaunt and shadowy… its eyes which seemed half decomposed in black cavities stared into mine. The horrible smell...gave me a deadly nausea. It was the smell of a decomposing corpse…”. Mildred’s occult dabbling also appears to have awoken other malevolent forces within the walls of Leap Castle, and it was at this time that the its fearsome reputation became firmly established.

Following its destruction by fire in 1922, workmen who had commenced gutting the interior, discovered an oubliette – a small dungeon whose name, derived from the French oublier, meaning “forget”, says it all – behind a wall of the bloody chapel. This sinister little room was crammed with the mortal remains of the unfortunate victims of Leap Castle’s bloody and brutal past and three cartloads of human bones were eventually cleared away from this ghastly charnel house.

Over the next seventy years, it remained an empty shell, its fearsome reputation ensuring that the locals shunned it, particularly at night when all manner of ghostly activity was known to stir within its moss clad walls. From across the fields people would watch the window of the “Bloody Chapel” suddenly light up, as though hundreds of flickering candles were blazing within. Some, who dared walk amongst the ruins, experienced alarming encounters with a lustrous lady wearing a billowing red gown.

In 1972 the castle was purchased by an Australian of Irish decent who sold it to Sean and Anne Ryan in 1991 and Sean set about converting the ruin into a habitable family home. Shortly afterwards, restoration was suddenly halted when the ladder he was working from was inexplicably pushed away from the wall forcing him to jump several stories and sustain a fractured knee. No sooner had he resumed work, than another freak accident caused him to break an ankle. “We began to think that we weren’t welcome here”, Anne Ryan stoically observed.

Today though, the spirits have come to accept the latest inhabitants of the castle and appear contented to exist alongside Sean and Anne. They may, occasionally, make nuisances of themselves but, on the whole, they are no longer malevolent. The sound of traditional music now wafts beneath the rafters as Sean entertains guests and visitors both on tours and at storytelling nights. And, should a stray sprite or forlorn phantom chose to make an appearance, they are more than welcome to pull up a chair and enjoy the atmosphere of the place that they have helped imbue with the reputation of being Ireland’s most haunted castle.

Great youtube clip from the guys at TAPS

See lads its not just me that uses foul language as an Investigation tool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

I can't wait to see the photos for this one :D

Thanks 6th!! That is some history! Made for great reading and hopefully we will capture some interesting images and video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭sensitive_soul

6th wrote:
    Ok the Boardsies going on this are:

6th
    Monkeyfudge
    Grimes
    Stoner
    Dib

Though note this is not a usually Boards trip but an Investigation being carried out by Psychic Sense Investigation - Sarah (mwah) was just nice enough to ask me along with a small group.

Great!! WIll be great to meet you all, if I havn't before at Charleville¿ I will be organizing a hunt every 2-3 months after Leap if anyone is interested¿ Kinnitty Castle will be next, then possibly Renville House in Galway here, supposedly haunted by W.B YEATS himself.

Also...... another member of Psychic Senses, is from Devon, UK and she is eager to go to........*drum roll* Berry Polmeroy in Devon *featured in Most Haunted Live a few years back. Our medium will NOT go there because, after meditating on it, she experienced eelings of evil, devil worship and a demonic presence.......ah if you can survive Leap, you'll survive Berry.

My group wont just focus on Ireland, I plan on trips to places such as Corvin Castle in Transylvania (MOS HAUNTED LIVE covered it), Chillingham Castle in Northumberland, UK, Edinburgh Vaults.

IF ANYONE would like to come, you're more than welcome :)

BTW Mark mate, can you e-mail me the phone numbers & e-mails of your friends coming?

I hope to begin things by about 9pm. Sean and his family seem very welcoming and obliging, we just have to bare in mind, that it IS a family home so we have to respect, Sean, Anne and Ciara's privacy and the fact they live there.

Sean usually doesnt like people trying to provoke the elemental, so also please respect his wishes, if anything negative is dredged up, they're the ones that have to live there :) Its also a shape shifter and tries to play with your head!
    it1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

thank you for the invitations sensitive_soul and also 6th, they are very much appreciated

Stoner, lets hope there's a better chipper this time around!!

indeed dib, this time I'm going to check the place out first, rather then going for the first place monkeyfudge points at, I'm going to write to them and tell them what ghost hunters expect in a snack box, and what a reasonable price is to pay to upgrade to two breast bits.

I could bring the thermal imaging camera to this one if people think it would be of any use?

Oh yeah bring it ... Leap deserves to be done properly.

Eeeeew, chippers! GREASE MONKEY, NOT MUNKEYFUDGE, LMAO! Greasy spoon meals make me retch! Ahhh I remember me Dublin days...a battered burger from Aprile in Stillorgan, Absolutely drowned in Vinegar, aaaaaaaaaw jesus, yum......I MEAN YUK! ;)

Ok with 3 weeks to go we really need to get a bit more organised ... so SS, whats the plan?

6th wrote:
    Ok with 3 weeks to go we really need to get a bit more organised ... so SS, whats the plan?

ORGANIZED???!!!! WHO YOU CALLING UNORGANIZED!!!!! ;)......Theeeeee CHEEK! :O

IM just off to work, I'll let you know tonight :)

Ok so as I said before the guys from here going are:

Stoner
    Dib
    MonkeyFudge
    Grimes +1
    6th
    Lou

So thats 7.

6th wrote:
    Ok so as I said before the guys from here going are:

Stoner
    Dib
    MonkeyFudge
    Grimes +1
    6th
    Lou

So thats 7.

Spanks Mark,
    Emails too lads!!! I'm sending the emails out tonight.

They are not all on here and infact one doesnt get online for email much either. Drop me a mail and I'll either hand them a printed copy or forward it on.

Who are the other 3 places? You, Sarah éile, agus?

Mise, Sarah eile, Cathy & our medium cant come :( (her kiddies birthday :( )

*damn it anyway!

Ok well I will post up a list of what I will be bringing along and I'm sure some of the others will too.

Sean and his family seem very welcoming and obliging, we just have to bare in mind, that it IS a family home so we have to respect, Sean, Anne and Ciara's privacy and the fact they live there.

Sean usually doesnt like people trying to provoke the elemental, so also please respect his wishes, if anything negative is dredged up, they're the ones that have to live there :) Its also a shape shifter and tries to play with your head!

Sorry should have replied to this comment earlier but just to put your mind at ease I will be as respectful as always and am confident that we will live 'everything' as we found it ... including the mood of any of the spectral residents ;)

Mark has my email address SS but I'll PM it to you anyway.

I'll be bringing down the following:

Camera
    Mini DV camera (Hopefully, if I can borrow one).
    MP3 recorder
    Laptop

and maybe some more bits and bobs.

Check your e-mails and pass it on to your friends coming.

All received and understood.

So I will be bringing:

Digital Voice Recorder
    Castle Recorder
    Sony HandyCam with NightVision
    Digital Camera
    EMF Meter
    Lazer Thermometer
    Dowsing Rods

Other than that the usual stuff like torch etc.

SS, any experiments you want to try out?

Also have you been to Leap before and do you have a good idea of the layout?

Nope. I haven't been before, very very nervous.

Going to try a saence, MAYBEEEEEEE a ouiga, definately scrying, tapbe tippling, glass tipping and open to suggestions.

Like yours Mark, this is about fun-to a degree. No over seriousness of other groups, monotiny isnt fun!:rolleyes:

Ok will we get a tour of the place by someone when we get there? A tour would be a great help but would seriously eat into our time if we start at 9pm

Btw my usual trips arent all about fun ... I do shout alot, and not just at the dead!

LMAO!!!! So you think you're scary? I think you were more like Maggie simpson, no words, all you hear is a faint little noise, lmao! Ah but shouting "SHUT THE F***ING DOOR" at the spirits was hysterical, I had to cross my legs as not to pee myself!

Well....Sarah eile, finishes work at 6, I'LL BE OFF, as I do on weekends, I want to go earlier but I cant leave her getting the train to Tullamore by herself and I'd drive, but I dont think 'Golightly' would survive past Ballinasloe. How far is Birr from Tullamore anyway????¿¿¿¿ Anyone passing by that could pick up a pair of ghostie girlies?? Course we'll get a tour gobsheen.

Less of the insults and you might get a lift ;)

You do that and you got a Ouija board-just a short one!

Any of you guys -apart fron Dave (I have his) have MYSPACE???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭purplekitty

hi guys,

long time reader and relativly new poster!!Myself and the boyfriend would be really interested in joining you guys on the hunt.We've never done anything similar but are very interested in the paranormal and such.Is there any chance we could tag along????

Thanks in advance

Purplekitty

Hi Purplekitty,

This trip is full up now I am afraid, its a family home we're going to and theres limited spaces.

If you like, you can come on our next trip?? It will be in May, just watch here and Ill post when we're going and where.

Sorry again!

Sar:(

Sar can you find out if its possible to get access to the oubliette, even just to pop a recorder down there?

btw click this: http://www.gabbly.com/http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055060763

For the record I dont like the term 'hunt', its disrespectful.

6th wrote:
    For the record I dont like the term 'hunt', its disrespectful.

I second that.

Yes you can, theres a ladder. I want to sit own there for about 30 mins if anyone wants to join me? Might do it alone if I dont cack yself.:eek:

I'm definately up for going down there, how much space is there? Will Stoner and me need a stick of butter to get out if we go down together?

.... so much to giggle at in that post.

6th wrote:
    How much space is there? Will Stoner and me need a stick of butter to get out if we go down together?

Ahem..................
    .........................I'm saying nothing to that Mark *pisses herself laughing in a corner*

... seriously, how much space?

I havn't been there before but Mark...it was basically a death hole, they didnt leave room for picnic....... they fell....they died..... we sit.....we listen

ok so when someone say 5'6" was thrown down and landed on the spikes could they lie flat? Thinking I might take a nap down there.

Any chance of a floor plan of the place like we have of Charleville?

6th wrote:
    Any chance of a floor plan of the place like we have of Charleville?

I'll see what I can do, I will have poor Sean knackared, lol we arranged I'd call him closer to the time to confirm our arrival time 'n' stuff.

Ok this is the only photo I can find of the oubliette - from the TAPS website:

leap4.jpg
    From TAPS: The Oubliette is located in the back section of the room behind where the altar once stood. Originally was a shaft with spikes located at the bottom and people were mercilessly thrown into the dungeon to die from impaling. The lucky ones died instantly, but those who survived died slow, painful deaths from exposure, starvation, and disease while smelling the food of the living and hearing the mass from the chapel above. It’s unknown how many people died this way, but three cartloads of bones were removed from the shaft.

6th wrote:
    I'm definately up for going down there, how much space is there? Will Stoner and me need a stick of butter to get out if we go down together.

so long as its Flora Healty Heart I have no objections,

I thought there was a tiny window in the end of the oubliett, this was to let you see others coming and going while you die slowly. Do they still have the spike in the castle somewhere? that would be interesing to get some gifted person to touch.

Interesting idea about the spikes.

Yeah there is meant to be a slit window but hopefully its been covered over. Dont want any external factors influencing any recordings.

Wow. That's an interesting looking place. A ladder or some rope would be a good idea then...!! I think it would be good to get some recordings in that area.

Leap Investigation: Saturday 31st March 2007

Arrive @ Castle by 8.45pm

As for getting there, Stoner and Grimes any chance you guys are driving and might be able to provide lifts?

Stoner if I'm going down with you I call Shotgun - especially if its the new car!

Sarah, I know you and Sarah Carr need to be picked up from Tullamore so I'm sure that wont be a problem as Leap isnt far from there afaik.