Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime classes in Dublin city?

• 28-02-2007 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭

Are there any lunchtime MMA / MT / BJJ / Judo classes on in Dublin city?

We had our baby girl a few weeks ago and training in the evenings is a REAL luxury at the moment, but I'd happily give up my lunch 3 days a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Can't help you with the city centre. Baldoyle SBGN has lunchtime classes and I may do something informal myself during the summer.

Congrats on the new arrival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

http://martialartsinc.com in Smithfield run lunch time kickboxing classes. I know it's not what your looking for, putting it out there anyway as it's handy if your looking for something in the city centre.

You could always do lunch time private classes with them, with just yourself or more and make it specific to ground work like grappling and BJJ.

Theres BJJ and grappling in martialartsinc???

yep there's grappling and mixed martial arts claases on, check their timetable for days and times, not sure myself.

I've done some grappling with 1 or 2 of their instructors, picked up a lot of ground skills, passing guards, locks, submissions and all that stuff.. very intense and enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

http://martialartsinc.com in Smithfield run lunch time kickboxing classes. I know it's not what your looking for, putting it out there anyway as it's handy if your looking for something in the city centre.

Thanks for that. You're right, not exactly what I'm looking for but it's very close to where I work. Could the more experienced among you tell me if this would be worthwhile doing if I want to train for MT? Or are they sufficiently different that it might be a hinderence?

At a tenner a class, it's a fair bit more expensive than bridgestone too.
    Roper wrote:
    Congrats on the new arrival.

:D Cheers. She's beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

Roper wrote:
    Theres BJJ and grappling in martialartsinc???

had a look at the site and heres a link to some pictures of their mma stuff

http://martialartsinc.com/photos.php

theres also some clips of training, including ground and "no rules" training, but I haven't looked at them yet myself

http://martialartsinc.com/clips.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

There mmatraining link doesn't work.

Well, fair play to them for including it in their curriculum... I haven't seen anyone from that gym in the MMA League or ROT promotions or any grappling tournament, so I didn't know they did that type of training there. I can tell you that the "hanging armbar technique is they wrong way around though ;). Anyone been down and have any thoughts on it?

MMA and Grappling certainly are becoming very important to marketing aren't they?

Khannie,
    As someone put it to me recently, "the essence of having kids is never finishing a cup of tea again":D

Roper wrote:
    Khannie,
    As someone put it to me recently, "the essence of having kids is never finishing a cup of tea again":D

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. So so true. Jesus, I'm f*ckin' WRECKED. Doing well just to maintain some kind of fitness level atm. Was supposed to start back at MT last night, then had to cancel, same for tonight, now have to cancel. It's non-stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

Roper wrote:

MMA and Grappling certainly are becoming very important to marketing aren't they?

bandwagon-sm.gif

It’s true, martial arts inc, is slightly more expensive then brigestone, but you have to remember, It’s a full time gym opened 10am to 10pm 7 days a week and employees full time instructors.

The extra little bit of cash isn’t a problem when you have such open access to a gym for classes, weights or open training.

It’s a great size dojo with 10 + hanging bags, full size ring and weights area.
    So it all balances out if ya ask me.

As regards to their grappling classes, as I said before, I’ve done 1 or 2 and found them very informative and enjoyable and would and have recommend them to others.

But I’m not an expert on grappling or BJJ in any way shape or form, so that’s all I can say.

Your best bet is to give the gym a call and speak to an instructor for yourself, they’d be able to fill you in on how’s and why’s of the grappling classes much better then me..

If you want to learn BJJ go find a club with a good coach and start training (SBG for example)
    If you want to learn Muay Thai go find a club with a good coach and start traininig (Bridgestone, Chupsart)
    If you want to Judo go find a club with a good coach and start training (Coolmine etc. etc.)
    If you want to spend 10 euro learning something some gy just looked up then ight before on the internet go to Martialartsinc
    If you want to learn semi contact point based kickboxing go to martial arts inc.

If you want to spend 10 euro learning something some gy just looked up then ight before on the internet go to Martialartsinc
    If you want to learn semi contact point based kickboxing go to martial arts inc.

You CLEARLY have never trained in martial arts inc!!

Your making some bold statements about a gym you have never crossed the door off!

Martial arts inc is primarily a kick-boxing gym (both points AND continuous)

The first thing you’ll see on their signage is KICK BOXING in big bold letters… because yes, it’s a kick boxing gym, and a very good one at that.

It branches out and does a few grappling classes, once or twice a week, as well as other things.

Martial arts inc has never claimed to be a grappling or BJJ gym.. EVER!

A user asked about gyms around the city centre running grappling, and I suggested martial arts inc as option.. Case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Robert Devane

John Kavanagh, I’m surprised at you posting a pic that implies Martial Arts Incorporated are getting on the mma ‘bandwagon’.

It’s funny because every generation reckons they invented fighting and the truth is that so many clubs in Ireland and around the world have been mixing it up in their sparring sessions for years, it is just becoming more organized now with TV, DVD’s, Internet etc. So no single club or person has the sole patent on mma.

And John, of all people you know that we have been doing mma long before SBG and long before it was popular. We just didn’t commercially teach it because the demand wasn’t there.

Just to jog your long term memory a bit: You trained with us and you were a member of the Hitmen Squad for several years (whether you choose to admit or deny that now!). We did practice points and continuous and if you can remember sometimes we also did mma sparring although we probably called it ‘total fighting’ or ‘no rules’ or something like that. You were also a student of mine for a couple of years before that in Rathfarnham and I can distinctly remember introducing you to grappling and being the first to ever grapple with you and teach you submissions.

I’m not much surprised by an ‘unknown’ person talking about us when they have no experience of us but it does amuse me to think that you may have forgotten where you have come from. I understand that you have gone on and done many things as have we so a bit of credit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

I’m surprised at you posting a pic that implies Martial Arts Incorporated are getting on the mma ‘bandwagon’.!

hey rob the pic was not actually directed at MAI but rather ropers general remark that MMA/Grappling are becoming important for marketing. all you have to do is pick up irish fighter to see every other club now has a mma/grappling/bjj program on offer now.

most of these guys have no idea what they are doing and it worries me that someone will be hurt training which will make it harder for the rest of us insurance wise.

as for yourself you'll see on the 'self defence' thread i wrote
    there's obviously MMA gyms in Dublin with better track records, in fact don't remember anyone from Martial arts inc competing in MMA? but i've no doubt that if rob devane devoted himself to it he would be very competent very quick. he is a fantastic athlete and trains very hard.

Just to jog your long term memory a bit: You trained with us and you were a member of the Hitmen Squad for several years (whether you choose to admit or deny that now!).

lol no problem admitting that! i learned a lot of good things such as training hard like an athlete, dealing with competition nerves etc
    We did practice points and continuous and if you can remember sometimes we also did mma sparring although we probably called it ‘total fighting’ or ‘no rules’ or something like that

honestly i dont remember doing that - MMA sparring. i remember points, continuous, forms and sometimes rolling (on the wooden floor in Quakers!). however when the team started training in DCU i wasn't able to make many of the sessions so it was probably then?
    You were also a student of mine for a couple of years before that in Rathfarnham and I can distinctly remember introducing you to grappling and being the first to ever grapple with you and teach you submissions

true and like i said above i learnt a lot of good things in those days about being an 'athlete'. however 'MAIs' training was for the most part points, forms, continous and mine was towards mma/bjj. huge benefits health wise for both types of training

good luck and continued success for your club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 ernieb

"Hey Jealousy" ... Who wrote that song? I thought it was the Gin Blossoms but looks like it might have been one of you guys on here.

I train with martial arts inc almost on a daily basis now (Its open 7 days a week!). The guys train Full contact, Semi contact & Points Kickboxing, Grappling, Boxing, MMA, Weapons, Self Defense I mean the list goes on. All are taught to an excellent level by the clubs instructors.

I have trained in a host of other clubs around this country and no other club can offer this, or even come close! To top that off the Dojo in Brunswick st is massive (As is their new studio in Rosemount) and has fantastic amenities available. A full size boxing ring, matts, A host of different size hanging bags, weights, changing rooms, showers and a club shop with equipment to cater for all needs.

You should pop in, At least take a look or is it so much easier to be bitter and snipe from behind your computer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

At this point this is taking the piss.....
    Look if Martial Arts Inc is as great as you think, then why care about the opnions of people you don't know on the internet regarding it? If you just ignore them they kinda run out of reasons to talk about it.

Again- to repeat this- no one questions the facilities, professionalism or dedication of martial arts inc. I'm sure they're wonderful folks there and very hard working. Also nobody questions their ability at points kickboxing and forms, as they have a huge reputation in this field. The question was that since no one has ever seen anyone from that gym compete in MMA, grappling or any such competition, or ever heard of any of the guys who coach there on the grappling circuit, whats the story with the grappling classes?

For example: Me. I run an SBG Training Group, my grappling coaching comes from John Kavanagh, BJJ Black Belt (he was purple at the time:)) and Andy Ryan, BJJ 3 stripe Purple Belt. I've competed (not that it really matters) in sub wrestling, MMA and BJJ with some wins, some losses. If anyone asks, thats what I'd tell them and I wouldn't get uppity and defensive.

So whats wrong with asking where the grappling training in MAI comes from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

Roper wrote:
    Again- to repeat this- no one questions the facilities, professionalism or dedication of martial arts inc. I'm sure they're wonderful folks there and very hard working. Also nobody questions their ability at points kickboxing and forms, as they have a huge reputation in this field. The question was that since no one has ever seen anyone from that gym compete in MMA, grappling or any such competition, or ever heard of any of the guys who coach there on the grappling circuit, whats the story with the grappling classes?

For example: Me. I run an SBG Training Group, my grappling coaching comes from John Kavanagh, BJJ Black Belt (he was purple at the time:)) and Andy Ryan, BJJ 3 stripe Purple Belt. I've competed (not that it really matters) in sub wrestling, MMA and BJJ with some wins, some losses. If anyone asks, thats what I'd tell them and I wouldn't get uppity and defensive.

So whats wrong with asking where the grappling training in MAI comes from?

But....but.....you can't be rational on the internet! Dammit man, think of the thrill of the web hunt, the joys of forum sniping!
    There's nothing like bad grammar and comments about a strangers mother to make you feel like a real man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

So are there any mma classes on in the city centre during the day? I would really like to know

and perhaps Roy Baker will pipe in here too about his mma clubs!!! LOL KIDDING

ernieb wrote:
    "Hey Jealousy" ... Who wrote that song? I thought it was the Gin Blossoms but looks like it might have been one of you guys on here.

I train with martial arts inc almost on a daily basis now (Its open 7 days a week!). The guys train Full contact, Semi contact & Points Kickboxing, Grappling, Boxing, MMA, Weapons, Self Defense I mean the list goes on. All are taught to an excellent level by the clubs instructors.

Hey, how much do you spend on your training? How much per class or do you pay by the week? How much? 70 euro? 100 euro? Is the one hour streching class the same as an MMA class in terms of price? Do you take privates? How many? How much are your gradings? Who grades you?

I've been to MAI a couple of times, lovely place, I'd love to take it over myself and teach MMA :). I'd probably just as qualified as some MAI brown belt.

Just to point out the obvious, no one is taking a personal snipe at any one in MAI I'm just hilighting that the people that pay to train there are grossly naive , the people that run the place exploit naive people and they have good facilities. It's a trade off I'm not willing to take but I appreciate some people think it is.

I will speculate that the reason Rob Devane is on this board defending MAI is not because he gives a **** what people say about his club but rather it will lead to bad PR, bad marketing and a slump in sales to kickboxing middle class teenagers.

Here are some reasons I think it's worthwhile to train in MAI.

The club is run by a group of professional and athletic lads. The facilities are high standard, rings, heavy bags, a shop. It's open full time and has a gym. You can train 5/6 times a week no problem. You don't need to look outside the club for different ranges of training, they do, to a limited extent, most forms of Martial Art training. The 2/3 people I know who train there for a long time seem to really enjoy the comradiraie the club seems to offer. They really enjoy the training and commit themselves to it. They get good exercise and an opportunity to teach and instruct people coming through the ranks.

Just to point out the obvious, no one is taking a personal snipe at any one in MAI

TBH, it's clear that you're taking multiple snipes at MAI, personal or otherwise, it appears that you have some kind of vendetta against the place. I, for one, am sick of listening to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Cog

As someone who has trained with Martial Arts Inc for quite a while now, I can tell you the price is worth every cent.

I've learned far more than just semi contact or points. Full contact fighters don't spar full contact in training. If they did, they wouldn't make it to their first fight.

In my few years of training there, I've learned points and continuous kickboxing, (with and without leg kicks), MMA and grappling, weapons training and most importantly, self-defence.

Most of us start training to gain confidence and protect ourselves on the street. If we just learn to strike, who's to say someone won't grab us when we don't expect it? And vice versa, if we just grapple, who's to say the most appropriate thing to do will always be covered?
    In my opinion, to be able to defend yourself on the street in the best way possible, you need striking AND grappling skills, along with a lot of common sense. This is how I see Martial Arts Inc to approach Martial Arts, and they teach all three of these, insofar as they can be taught.

For those that do wish to train for sport, the facilities are there. And even though it's a semi-contact club, I've often heard instructors offer to organise and train people for full contact fights if they do choose to go down that path.

As for the fact that you haven't seen the club in many grappling competitions, consider that there are a lot of people who aren't interested in competing all of the time. The way I see it, I train for self defence first, and then maybe branch into the competitive side. This is a philosophy I've heard in the club (with relevance to all aspects of Kickboxing and Martial Arts), so perhaps there is just more emphasis on another side of the Art to competing.

Finally, don't knock it 'till you've tried it. The classes provided in Martial Arts Inc are excellent, and the instructors are experienced, able and helpful. I've all too often hear the club being described as 'more professional' than others and while I amen't about to get into an argument over which club is better than which at whatever aspects of training, I will say that in my opinion, you get what you pay for at Martial Arts Inc.

Khannie wrote:
    TBH, it's clear that you're taking multiple snipes at MAI, personal or otherwise, it appears that you have some kind of vendetta against the place. I, for one, am sick of listening to it.

Ignore me then?

Jaysus, let's hope it doesn't come to that. :)

I've no real feelings about MAI one way or the other. It just seemed to me that you've attacked the place a fair bit (and fairly agressively) over the past 24-36 hours.

Khannie wrote:
    Jaysus, let's hope it doesn't come to that. :)

I've no real feelings about MAI one way or the other. It just seemed to me that you've attacked the place a fair bit (and fairly agressively) over the past 24-36 hours.

ok fair enough. Cheers.

I'm yet to hear back from the BJJ guy about the classes in camden street hopefully they'll get going over the next couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Cog

To get back to the subject at hand, Why not try a few different places, and make a decision based on that?

There are plentea of BJJ and Grappling specific clubs around, as are there strike and grappling. I'd spend a while trying a few out then make an informed decision. I wouldn't rule anywhere out based on anything but experience. You'd never buy a car without test driving it, so why not spend a month or two test driving gyms? (or test training, as it were.) No one's going to blame you for looking at another gym, and if they did, I wouldn't want to train with them anyway.

I'm yet to hear back from the BJJ guy about the classes in camden street hopefully they'll get going over the next couple of weeks.

Great stuff. I'd definitely be interested. I emailed the address someone posted (pretty sure it was you) but didn't hear back either.