Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got Talent?

• 28-02-2007 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Anti wrote:
    Can any of us actually sing ?

Ok so Anti asked the above over on the Boards.ie Idol thread and it got me wondering ... with so many memebers on here we must have a vast pool of weird and varied talents.

So what are you good at?

Personally I can sing pretty well and having studied Art/Sculpture I'm handy enough with a pencil etc.

The stranger the talent the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Am ... I can play Violin, Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drums, and Flute. My other talents include Photography, speaking French & Irish fairly fluently, electronic aptitude to design and build my own projects, natural aptitude towards computers, a mechanical aptitude to work on my own cars n bikes, and I can fly a plane and bumble about in a Heli. That's about it. But do you think I can dance? Oh no. Not a hope. Mr Bean does a better job.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

emm juggling and play with firestaff and poi etc so thats pretty unique...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I can sing, and act, and I am good writer.

I would love to make a career out of any of the above, but I am starting to face the fact that I might be good at those things when compared to my mates, but probably no where near good enough to do any of them professionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Does posting on boards count as a talent? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Yeah I couldnt dance in a fit ... actually a fit might be the closest I get. Its weird being able to sing and unable to move is a really bad mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I've strong interest in both writing and playing music, especially trad music. Play loadsa instruments including button accordion, guitar, harmonica, piano and keyboards. Got alota certificates, medals and awards for both solo singing and playing keyboards when I was younger.

Im a perfectionist when it comes to making french toast and rice crispy buns

Kojak wrote:
    Does posting on boards count as a talent? :D

Not how you do it :D

Trilla wrote:
    Im a perfectionist when it comes to making .... rice crispy buns

Prove it ... I expect them at the Boards Beers in April.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I can change channels on my tv without using my fingers.
    Giggidy giggidy giggidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I was once a fantastic singer. Then my voice broke. It was all down hill from there.
    My real lasting talent is whistling in a weird way that involves curling my tongue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

The only talent I have is that I can put my whole fist in my mouth. Unfortunately though, I cleverly did it at a work function last weekend at about 4 am. There was a photo taken and distributed by email on Monday. My (male) colleagues were amazed and now think I'm a legend!

I wonder why?!!!....... ;)

Huehuehue.
    Yeah that is by far the best talent so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've never been particularly talented at anything. :(

EDIT: Just remembered - I do very well in IQ tests/exams of virtually any kind. Usually better than I should do. Does that count as a talent?

watna, is your real name Gemma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I can literally and metaphorically put my foot in my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I think my only talent is that I can do "flair bartending" just like (or probably better than) in the movie Cocktail, thank to having done barwork in my late teens to mid twenties!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I suppose there is just a knack to taking them, as well as being able to mechanically do them.
    Last few I did I got nothing wrong.

I have no talents, just warcraft, maths, bad singing etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I can change channels on my tv without using my fingers.
    Giggidy giggidy giggidy.

I use my thumbs also...weird eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

No sleepy my name is not Gemma....

I am upset though that someone else out there has my wonderful talent!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Cant sing, but wanna learn!

My sopposed talents:

Art
    Technology
    Fixin things
    Cooking
    Comp games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Opening jars, no jar to big no jar to small!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

bah i hate to resort to this...

yore ma is my talent...

also have a fantastic knack for remember song titles...

I can sing. Been doing the piano and cello for many years. Am a good writer, though have been neglecting that lately.

...I can get 23/30 on the wii baseball training? >.< :D

Er, I can't think of much else right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

i've been know to have revealed quite a few 'talents' when the drink is in....namely singing (apparently i can remember the words of 'Black is the Colour when palatic:D), Irish Dancing..did that for 14yrs, fiddle and tinwhistle(but who cant play that now??)

Hate calling them talents..they are things i just do..it causes a bit of embarrasment when people use the old 'you're talented' line!!

Next mission is the Guitar!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I can play four or five musical instruments (ranging from "not very well" to "reasonably well").

Eh..

Oh, I can get out of a pair of handcuffs in under 10 seconds armed only with a hairpin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Meh, I'm average at most things, crap at even more. Crucifix, I was also once a great singer... then my voice broke.

I'm a decent chef :p

I'm top if the Irish Gauntlet XBLA points board by virtue of my gamertag. *snort*

I want to see someone post their talent as being 5 staring Jordan on Expert... Hell, I'd settle for someone beating it on expert.

I've never found an instrument I couldn't play something on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Ive been told Im a good actor. It stems from my friends birthday (god, ive mentioned this only a few days ago), after his malignant cnut of a (now ex) girlfriend turned off the tv and took the plug from the stereo during the celebrations (for being drunk and having a bit of fun. Seemingly nobody had told her it was his birthday, not his funeral).

In a part joke, part lets terrify the bitch, me and one of the lads in attendance staged a pretty vicious fight, with the other participants pullign us back at just the right moment. I was rather chuffed when the lads told me that at one point they werent sure if I had lost the plot midway through, that I was in such a Joe-Pesci-Shinebox-Incident state of mind in terms of physical force and language they thought I had actually turned serious, and I gave a blinding performance! :D:)

Needless to say, the bitch threw the lot of us out of the gaff. Which didnt really bother us, seeing as we were able to finally head out and away from her vile presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I can kill a man in 20 different places. More if I have taxi fair!

And for some reason I can sing now. I never could before (my voice could only hit one note before cracking) and now suddenly I'm a karaoke king. I can also do card tricks.

Plus, my mates nicknamed me Google because of the amount of pointless/useless trivia I come up with about every subject without ever being able to give people the info they need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

splinter wrote:
    emm juggling and play with firestaff and poi etc so thats pretty unique...

You should move to Galway if you think that's unique.

I'm a decent writer. I can direct and edit fairly well.

I can't dance for **** but I can make people laugh.

Poi isnt unique. It's not a talent. It's a retarded and annoying crusty habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭zam

I can speak Irish and know the words to EVERY song!!! And....that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 nomadchef

well i could sing and dance and cook!;)

Poi isnt unique. It's not a talent. It's a retarded and annoying crusty habit.

Oi, naming our talents is meant to make us feel good and special so be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

I can sleep for longer than most people......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 bikini

I can dislocate my toe:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

bikini wrote:
    I can dislocate my toe:)
    That's not special.
    I can dislocate your shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I've been known to sing a few songs at a sing song and even do recitations. Unfortunately they are dying a bit now, but a good Irish sing song is hard to beat. Karaoke without having the words in front of you, but in your memory, and some great songs that you never hear, not just the old favourites that we can all sing along to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

I can sing well enough, fit my entire fist in my mouth, do the Elvis lip curl, but probably my weirdest 'talent' if you could call it that is the ability to lift eggs with my teeth and not break them (amazing what you'll discover). I can transfer 6 from one box to another without getting egg on my face. Useless, useless ability tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I can play the whole song "No limits" by 2 unlimited on my throat by opening my mouth in a certain way and flicking just above my adams apple. Its highly entertaining, and I would guess potentially dangerous. I can also make long annoying high pitched noises by forcing air out of my ears at high speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

dont you sound a treat to be around??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I can sing. Draw, paint, can't dance for ****e, I can dislocate both of my thumbs, double jointed in a few places. Can't write or act heh. I attached 2 of my sketches, it's a while since I sketched at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I'm medically diagnosed as hypermobile, and growing up I did rhythmic gymnastics, so I became really freakishly flexible. Rhythmic gymnastics is a kind of talent, too, I guess.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

I can trun my eyelids inside out with the flick of a finger

i can touch my elbows behind my back (give that one a try ladies ;) )

and i can debate, and am pretty good at english.

Cant draw or dance worth a shite tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I'm not sure if any of these things would be classed as talents but,

I can tell the weight of things to within 0.1 of a gram with around a 99% hit rate just by holding them.

Using only one hand and nothing else I can remove and light all the matches in a matchbox one by one in under 60 seconds.

I can speak fluently backwards, like Regan in The Exorcist, have been able to since I was about 9 or 10.

I can do that thing where you roll a two euro coin across your knuckles repeatedly pretty quick.

I can roll a 2(3) skinner hash joint from scratch in about 25 seconds.

I can volley a football presumably non-stop with out dropping it swaping from foot to knee to head to shoulder ect, the most I ever counted myself doing was about 1500 and then I just stopped, but I'm pretty sure I could do over 10,000 if I had any reason to.

I can ehh disasemble a pint glass fairly quicky only using my teeth.

And I can smoke a whole smoke without the ash falling off of it.

Thats about it, all extremely useless, now if I could only figure out a way to do all those things at the same time, I'm pretty sure I could make a few quid on Graffton Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

I'm a decent photographer. I'm a great cook. I can crochet. And I can talk in this really weird deep voice. Oh, and I'm a pretty good shot with a .22 :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

gaelic football goalkeeper extraordinaire, and I've also been known to do a bit of writing :) . I play the guitar too, but I'm by no means talented at it (by comparison to slash, hendrix, brian may, etc...)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'm fluent in french and can hold a pretty good conversation in Spanish (a language I've never studied)...when drunk. Eh, no seriously, I'm pretty good at learning languages, when I want to. I can read at a ridiculously high speed. I can apply liquid eyeliner flawlessly. I can remember the most inane and random facts. Some people claim I'm a good singer, but I don't believe them. I think I can act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Photographic memory, my only braggable talent - kinda sad really ;)
    Other than that I play guitar, bagpipes and harmonica and can kinda hold a note.

I can masturbate three... no ... four! times a day. Does that count as a talent?

Erm, I.. think .. I'm a good writer. I like to dabble in almost every genre possible. It's more fun that way.

What else? Oh. I can forget things really easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pigheads crap at everything so I'm gonna have to claim my sisters talent as my own. She's a bit like Rainman.

If you said to her "Hello my name is Pighead and I love to frolic through the meadows during the long summer evenings. Making daisy chains makes me smile"

109 letters she'll say in a flash. Don't know how she does it (maybe shes a bit autistic) but she counts up those letters quicker than a pentium processor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Pighead has a great voice for singing, very much like Celine Dion! :eek: