Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Parking

• 28-02-2007 9:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭

just thought I'd start a thread like 'what I saw today' but for bad parking... just for a laugh.

dsc01sj5.jpgdsc02pz4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,474 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

i was in a normal car park yesterday, all the cars parked along side at an angle. come back to find some idiot has parked in at an angle that blocks the back of my car. carparKK.jpg

so if you came back to your car yesterday and saw piece of paper with "PLEASE LEARN TO PARK" under your wiper, yes you really are a stupid person and please learn to park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

Why not go out an buy a permanent marker and write "Learn to park a**hole!" on their windshield. Write it backwards so they can read it from inside the car when they are driving :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

hmmm, @ steve06 - now it may be pure coincidence, but both your piccies show cars from a certain Bavarian manufacturer....are they being true to type? I was kinda hopin' that eolhc's attachment would show another, maybe this could be clarified ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

http://www.youparklikeanasshole.com/

also, rofl @ Drax idea...

parking properly and with consideration for others is really not that hard to do, really annoys me when people dont know how to park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Good idea steve06, although I should expect that reg plates should be blanked out on any photos posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Not too sure which one was there first, but both entered a who can take up the most spaces competition!!

parkhe6.th.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

ye I didn't show any reg plates there... nice pic gatecrash, haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭littlejukka

the entrance to my basement carpark (serving over 100 apartments, about 150 cars) was blocked recently by a discovery 3 TD6. i pulled in past the entrance and took a photo on my camera. the driver came out, saw me and went BALLISTIC. threatened to call the gardai on me and the whole lot, called my car a bucket and regressed from D14 posh accent to her native skanger drawl in the space of a few seconds. made my week, that did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

My favourite is one wheel up on the kerb and the corresponding wheel on the other side floating in mid air.

Usually the back wheel, usually a Zafira, and usually a woman driver.

I don't think I'd be able to park with only 3 wheels on the ground if I tried!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

You guys should come to UL any given morning (or any time of day between 9 and 5:30) and see the abundance of sh1te parking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭littlejukka

this is the only image i have an issue with, the rest really are assholes. the smart fortwo is only 2.5 metres long, which means it can fit snugly into a standard parking space like this. a lot of the pickups and hummers in thos pics wouldn't be far short of 2.5 metres WIDE. so long as the smart isn't crammed in so as to hinder adjacent cars getting out of their spot, it's just fine as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

this is the only image i have an issue with, the rest really are assholes. the smart fortwo is only 2.5 metres long, which means it can fit snugly into a standard parking space like this. a lot of the pickups and hummers in thos pics wouldn't be far short of 2.5 metres WIDE. so long as the smart isn't crammed in so as to hinder adjacent cars getting out of their spot, it's just fine as it is.

I've seen quite a lot of people parking their Smart Fortwo's like that, great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

KTRIC wrote:
    I've seen quite a lot of people parking their Smart Fortwo's like that, great idea.

Unless you come back and find the cars in front and behind are parked up close to your doors so that you cannot open them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Narrow street in Cork. (Red Abbey St for those who know).

People often park on a double yellow line rendering the street impassible to anything wider than a Seicento. Regularly happens, the stupidity is baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

My mate forgot to put the handbrake on the other night. His car rolled out and blocked the only entrance into the car park.

He got a call from the Gardai because an irate crowd had gathered. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

ballooba wrote:
    My mate forgot to put the handbrake on the other night. His car rolled out and blocked the only entrance into the car park.

Classic

The thing I hate about bad parking from people, is wondering if they will hit my car with their door, infact that's from anybody. If a carpark is full of spaces ie. Liffey Valley 9am, i'll pretty much take up two spaces. I know that's going to annoy some people on here, but I don't really care.

I can park, and I pride myself on my parking most of the time.

But at the end of the day, people who just swing the door of their car open and hit yours, and generally not giving a toss about anyone or anything around them are WORSE than bad parkers.

Oh, and bad parkers haven't a clue what's going on, and probably hit you anyway, hense not being able to park or drive.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

The thing I hate about bad parking from people, is wondering if they will hit my car with their door, infact that's from anybody. If a carpark is full of spaces ie. Liffey Valley 9am, i'll pretty much take up two spaces. I know that's going to annoy some people on here, but I don't really care.

But at the end of the day, people who just swing the door of their car open and hit yours, and generally not giving a toss about anyone or anything around them are WORSE than bad parkers.

Oh, and bad parkers haven't a clue what's going on, and probably hit you anyway, hense not being able to park or drive.

One of these days karma is going to come back and bite you on the ass. I can't believe you're so car proud you think you deserve two spaces. You should be fined.

MarkR wrote:
    One of these days karma is going to come back and bite you on the ass. I can't believe you're so car proud you think you deserve two spaces. You should be fined.

I do it when it's not going to effect other drivers. Doing it without regard to others is worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,837 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I do it when it's not going to effect other drivers. Doing it without regard to others is worse.
    cause the Liffey Valley car park is never hard to find a space in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

If it's a situation where it's not going to affect other drivers, it means the car park is not full and you don't need to do it anyway. Just park far away from the door of the establishment the car park is part of, as most people seem to be afraid their legs will wear out if they have to walk anywhere.

The car park at B&Q on the Belgard Road is hilarious. I park the Herald in the deserted wilderness that is 50 metres from the entrance.

I used to wonder at the mentality of someone who would straddle two spaces. Now I know, thanks for clearing that up, neuromancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

overdriver wrote:
    Just park far away from the door of the establishment the car park is part of, as most people seem to be afraid their legs will wear out if they have to walk anywhere.

Ha ha so true.........i would rather park in a safe spot away from all the yummy mummies with their infamous dented cars from banging doors into other cars.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BnA

Whenever I pull in beside someone like you who I think has parked selfishly, I will always hit their car with my door on purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

One of these days the car park is going to start charging automatically for two parking sessions if you take up two spaces!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

luckat wrote:
    One of these days the car park is going to start charging automatically for two parking sessions if you take up two spaces!

Already happening, seen a BMW a few years ago in a carpark being clamped, asked the guy why as the driver would have to pay for the parking, I was told that it was because the car was in 2 parking spots, i.e. white line under the middle of the car, they were going to charge the person for 2 spaces. Funny thing was the carpark was near empty so the clown could have parked in one spot.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

BnA wrote:
    Whenever I pull in beside someone like you who I think has parked selfishly, I will always hit their car with my door on purpose.
    The scarlet pimpernel of bad parking. Whilst others merely think about damaging the total stupid ****ing asshole that parked across two spaces, you take it that one step further. Too right. I couldn't agree more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

neuromancer....I wonder now that you've pointed it out, and where, what you'll do if, if taking two spaces, that someone would - gosh - even cynically park right up against your drivers door anyway....?? - now, that would be terrible :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

especially if it the other parker was in a, say, decrepid old LandRover, and you can bang away at that if you like..........

sounds like a plan, to me...........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

KTRIC wrote:

To be fair, the Smart was designed to be parked like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

galwaytt wrote:
    neuromancer....I wonder now that you've pointed it out, and where, what you'll do if, if taking two spaces, that someone would - gosh - even cynically park right up against your drivers door anyway....?? - now, that would be terrible :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Ahem, I've often done that at our local shops where there's always a shortage of spaces, people park across 2 spaces, I squeeze mine in to the only bit of space left to the detriment of the drivers door of the other car being impossible to open. One evening as I got out of my car the owner of one car parked in such a way came back and looked as it she was about to give out to me but didn't, she got in through her passenger door and and crawled across to the drivers side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Jip wrote:
    Ahem, I've often done that at our local shops where there's always a shortage of spaces, people park across 2 spaces, I squeeze mine in to the only bit of space left to the detriment of the drivers door of the other car being impossible to open. One evening as I got out of my car the owner of one car parked in such a way came back and looked as it she was about to give out to me but didn't, she got in through her passenger door and and crawled across to the drivers side.

I did the same once. Guy was parked with his Landcruiser Amazon drivers side into the next bay, so i slipped my dad's dented mondeo into it, making sure i was between the white lines. I went into the shops and came back out and he started berating me for daring to park so close to him. I told him to check was i in between the white lines, and if he couldn't park the fkn thing, he shouldn't be driving it. He was not amused. I was though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

aye, sure ye can:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

gatecrash wrote:
    Not too sure which one was there first, but both entered a who can take up the most spaces competition!!

parkhe6.th.jpg
    Awh, one of my pet hates. Ever notice how the person taking up two spaces is either an SUV, a people carrier or a Yaris (except in this case!!)????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Personally, what drives me mad is when people can't park on the side of a street without being 3 feet from the car in front's bumper. I have to use on-street parking where I live now, and it regularly amazes me how people cannot judge the distance between their car and the car in front.

So much so that when I once asked a guy, who was exiting his SUV, to move up just a tad more so that I could squeeze in behind his monstrosity, he went mad and asked me how I thought I could fit into that space.
    Honestly, it's not bloody rocket science, parallel parking is not that hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

we used to care so much about the disabled in maynooth, that we parked like this http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?MemberId=219404706&PhotoAlbumId=302827666&PhotoId=2344549652

before the backlash, it wasnt for too long........ 4 hours max :D joke

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

ballooba wrote:

Wouldnt you think one of them would've tried pushing it back?! :D:D:D

Finally got the bluetooth goin

The pic actually makes the gap look bigger....no way that Bora could have gotten out!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭trant

Saw this in Liffey Valley last Friday evening.. Got a good laugh out of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

BnA wrote:

That is vandalism, and one of the lowest scummy things a 'person' can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

trant wrote:
    Saw this in Liffey Valley last Friday evening.. Got a good laugh out of it!

LOL.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

See attached...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

joe316 wrote:
    we used to care so much about the disabled in maynooth, that we parked like this http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?MemberId=219404706&PhotoAlbumId=302827666&PhotoId=2344549652

before the backlash, it wasnt for too long........ 4 hours max :D joke

sorry, how is that funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Friend of mine told me about a guy he worked with who was in Liffey Valley just after it opened. He said there was literally no other cars in the car park when he parked his car. As he was walking toward the centre, there was an unmerciful bang, and when he looked round, this woman who was trying to park next to him in a completely empty car park had hit his car. Her excuse was she didn't see him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Idiots!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Ah now lads, in defence of some of the maneouvers there, I am of the school of thought that once you stop the engine and engage the handbrake then its parked, anything more is just gettin fancy about it. yes I'm one of those people who pulls up outside the newsagents and just hops out. cant believe some of ye get so worked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Well, think about it. What if everyone did as you do? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

blastman wrote:
    Friend of mine told me about a guy he worked with who was in Liffey Valley just after it opened. He said there was literally no other cars in the car park when he parked his car. As he was walking toward the centre, there was an unmerciful bang, and when he looked round, this woman who was trying to park next to him in a completely empty car park had hit his car. Her excuse was she didn't see him! :D

Aye... reminds me of the time (also if Liffey Valley actually) I was waiting for my friend outside Halfords. I parked in the middle of the car park away from any cars. Next thing this woman pulls up right beside me and as she gets out she whacks her car door against my passenger door. It was only then that she saw me sitting in the car. I was close to getting out but she gave me a wave. I let her off. She was a lot more careful getting back into her car 5 minutes later!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Slow coach wrote:
    Well, think about it. What if everyone did as you do? :rolleyes:

You ever been down the country ??:D

bigkev49 wrote:
    Is that Thurles, parking is scarce enough around there without eejits like that havin a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO