Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RDS bike show - deals to be had?

• 27-02-2007 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭

I'm in the market for some new gear - helmet & jacket to be precise.

I'm going to the bike show on sat anyway - is it worth bringing some cash for the items? or is it all catalog/small amount of samples? or is there a decent selection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

colm_c wrote:
    I'm in the market for some new gear - helmet & jacket to be precise.

I'm going to the bike show on sat anyway - is it worth bringing some cash for the items? or is it all catalog/small amount of samples? or is there a decent selection?

I got a RX7 and a pair of alpinestar star boots last year. The RX7 was €395 (a saving of €255) and the boots where just under €200 (at the time they where 260 normally) So yep, some good deals to be had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭colm_c

Just checking the list of exhibitors and from their websites they seem to have some good deals on helmets alright, can seem to find any that sell Dainese jackets though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

I'm at the Gamecon LAN this week-end so I'm gutted I'll miss it... Mind you, there's nothing stopping me from taking a few hours out from gaming to check it out. Wouldn't mind a new helmet myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

How come Helmets are particularly cheap at this? Surely they still have to pay the same VAT etc etc?

I need new leggings, only just bought a new helmet ... but I'll more than likely come out of there thinking a need a whole new bike! :o

I know Arai sell the helmets for the show to the retailers for extra cheap in some cases. So It means that they have a good stock just for sale in the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Anyone going out?

Dragula ya whore, will your grunt be fixed by the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'll be going :D

Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Niall06

Cotters will have a stand and will be selling lots of gear at bargain prices, so I have heard anyway:D

Source please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

what days you going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

art wrote:
    How come Helmets are particularly cheap at this? Surely they still have to pay the same VAT etc etc?

The cheapest helmets there will be sold by English companys who don't pay tax on safety equipment.

For anybody wanting a new helmet....look out for Ernie Cotes stand (i think that's the right one i'm thinking about!). I bought an arai rx7 there 2 years ago, in the shops it cost €725 - €750, i got it for €500, and i got a tinted visor for €30 aswell, they are normally €80 - €90

I'll be going on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Anyone going out?

Dragula ya whore, will your grunt be fixed by the weekend?

no idea, but i might go, dont have a ticket though, where can u get them ?and what time are we thinking ?also i have no money as the repairs to the engine will cost me no doubt

€15,pay at the door.

grand grand, it's only wednesday so i'll see if there is any update to morrow, i really hope they dont need new jets for the carbs...i wont be paying any way fecking eejits

/endrant

how does 12 sound on saturday ?

Might I suggest people join this meet up and ride in?
    The more the merrier like ;)

Hmmm, quite a few people on that thread worried about theft. Now me rothar is only a Burgman 125 but she's all I gots ;) and don't want to lose her so as K-Tric suggested, I might drop her into town and walk/46A it out.

I'm under strict instructions from the "powers that be" that I am to leave Betsy (my bike) at home on saturday :(

I have a sh!t load of new parts for her and I wanted to show them off :mad:

KTRIC wrote:
    powers that be

Are you sure you're allowed go? :p

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Are you sure you're allowed go? :p

* goes off to check

meet in town so, as i still have no wheels and it's safer, location to be disclosed after breaky :D

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    meet in town so, as i still have no wheels and it's safer, location to be disclosed after breaky :D

Sounds good Dave

ure damn right.

so location location location !!!

im feeling the bottom of Grafton st people ? near the busses so maybe if keyser has problems we can get the bus, ( he's not the smallest lad ever ;) )

or it's still a little jaunt on foot if not ?? shall we say 11 am ish as i maybe hungover and vomiting who knows ? also it depends if i get the bill 4 the bike between now and then i may be crying. i wont promice any thing though.

any 1 know what madrab is doing ?

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    im feeling the bottom of Grafton st people ? near the busses so maybe if keyser has problems we can get the bus, ( he's not the smallest lad ever ;) )

Sounds good but if I don't shake off this flu I'll be going nowhere :mad:

im probably gonna hed in on friday, my dad managed to swipe 2 free tickets for friday form a suzuki dealer

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Sounds good but if I don't shake off this flu I'll be going nowhere :mad:

Man flu ehh tis a killer alright

madrab wrote:
    im probably gonna hed in on friday, my dad managed to swipe 2 free tickets for friday form a suzuki dealer

Well la de da "Mr. I got a free ticket", see if we care if ya don't wanna go saturday!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I'm there tomorrow for Le Grand Opening, or something...........me and the 4 free VIP tickets that is....:D :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Ok confirmations people who is going to be @ the bottom of graton st to morrow @ 11 am i need to know now as alcohol will be consumed soon

See you there at 11 Dave.

KTRIC wrote:
    See you there at 11 Dave.

rgr blondie

p.s. jaysus isnt boards fast now

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    rgr blondie

p.s. jaysus isnt boards fast now

I know, I click on something and as if by magic I'm taken to a new page !!!! :eek:

KTRIC wrote:
    I know, I click on something and as if by magic I'm taken to a new page !!!! :eek:
    Fastest reply ever TBH

this digiweb hosting seems good

Still dunno,will let you know tonight or the morning.

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Still dunno,will let you know tonight or the morning.

listen here ya fat **** u'd wanna turn up or me and ure misses will be having words

Lol, that's more than I get, what's your secret? :p

Will know in the morning lad, will drop ya a text. Presume you're getting the 16 into town?

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Lol, that's more than I get, what's your secret? :p

Will know in the morning lad, will drop ya a text. Presume you're getting the 16 into town?

the 16a bi-atch

* clicks fingers n walks off *

whats wrong with ure msn by da way? 2 good ta use it yer

Ah I'll probably go..............just to infect the rest of you mofos with the bird flu I caught ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

As a regular to the Bike Show at the NEC I suppose I shouldnt be comparing it to the RDS? but ........................

Its much smallar than I expected, good in parts but missing a lot also, a bit like the Belfast Show I suppose?

I went along to throw me leg over the New 1050 Tiger but to my surprise there were No Triumph Bikes at all ~ Zilch ~ Not even one!

Are 'Triumph' banned or something :confused:

Roll on Birmingham.

yeah there has never been official triumph support at the show, probably because bikeworld is the only dealer & they arent arsed with the show

well im back also from it. over all not incredibly impressedover, first time i sat on a honda cbr though. omfg it's so low, was a very weird moment.

other wise the booth "babes" ( i'll use that term loosely ) were pretty nasty over all.

there was some nice bits to look at, there was a big custom feel to it over all. and some great bike were brought along.

I felt that if you walked through the bike park, you would have seen just as good though .

Ktric apologies,impretty sure i saw you for like a split second down at the bottom of grafton st. but iwas waiting for kenny to walk down to meet me also. kinda stuck between a rock and a hard place

Twas a load of me hoop.

Booth babes were barely legal and I've seen more curves on a ****ing ruler :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Cassiel

madrab wrote:
    yeah there has never been official triumph support at the show, probably because bikeworld is the only dealer & they arent arsed with the show

Guess that means f all Kawasaki at the show either?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I went yesterday and enjoyed it, altho it was first ever bike show, eh ever! I got freebie tickets tho which helped add to the enjoyment! There were loads of bikes parked at the rds which added to the coolness.

my credit card is a bit melty now after it tho!!

i atually thought that this year was a fair bit better than the last few years, still not a patch on birmingham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

I went hoping to get trousers and a new lid. Did just that! Got Richa trousers that go with my jacket (zip together and look the same) for €75 EUR (never saw these trousers at less than €130~150 before!) and a new Nitro N800-V helmet with a really cool mat black finish for €70 EUR!
    Can't go wrong at these kind of prices AFAIC! ;) Nearly went mad and bought a pair of Puma 1000 boot also but I really had to stop myself from spending money like this!

Wasn't really interested in anything else TBH. Didn't bother listening to that guy who did the Long Way Round with Ewan McGregor... The birds weren't great although it's always nice to see a bit of flesh. Was happy to see the new Ducati 1098-S. Looked really nice... So did a lot of other bikes!

I hate places packed with people so I left quite fast. Must have stayed 1 hour max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

madrab wrote:
    i atually thought that this year was a fair bit better than the last few years, still not a patch on birmingham

Any exhausts for sale at the show? and/or other bits n bobs? Don't need gear so just swag for the bike...

Might head over tomorrow...

L.

Yeah there was one or two stands with some end cans. But dont know for what. Laura got some leather pants in World of Leather and a helmet from Megabikes. She is getting the boots tomorrow as one of the places is gonna bring some down for her. I just got me an iridium visor and will be getting some tools tomorrow as I had no room for them on the bike today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

The gf got my daughter Forma MX Cub Youth Boots at the show for €50. She wanted them cos they look like my couriers. They are £67 on this site:

http://www.racespec.co.uk/rs_shop_final/en-gb/dept_366.html

So a fairly good deal. She also got her a jacket and trousers for less than 100 for both. Fully waterproof, removable thermal liner and ce armour. Another good deal I think.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Picked up boots and trousers at the show on Friday.. T'was better than the last one I was at... Missed the stunt shows unfortunately, as I had to run in and out..

Liked:
    The new model Tuono... Oh, if only we had the weather for it..
    The BMW G650X moto.
    Charlie Boorman - good, if a little rehearsed/staged.
    Seeing female bikers.. Still a rarity..
    The customs..
    That girl with the [Jack] and [Daniels] tattoos (you'd know where they were, if you saw her).

Didn't like:
    The price of the BMW G650X (10 grand!)
    The heat...
    Trying to leave the carpark with my BFO chain still wrapped around my front wheel :o