Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mickk new gym "Pinnacle Gym"

• 19-02-2007 12:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭

Well I don't know if Mickk wanted to post about his new gym himself, but eh as some of us had the privilege of trying it out over the last couple of weeks we might as well let you know about it.

Ok just so you know the gym would be more geared towards weights then it would be cardio, even though he has a section for cardio upstairs in the gym. But the main selling point of it is is that it is a lifter's gym designed by a lifter and it shows and is situated just around the corner from his supplement store on camden street.

So what does it have, well it has alot of the usual stuff the general weight machines, then flat bench stations, incline and decline stations, plate loaded stations, a 3 way dip station (yes you can have a dip off with your friends if you really want), utility benches, calf machines, a leg press machine that takes some stupid amount of weight (i think it can take of 3000lbs) then it also has power rack, squat rack and smith machine that can also be used as a rack.
    To add to this he has standard oly bars, then a thick bar for grip training, a REALLY thick bar which is a monster of a bar, a buffalo bar (which is pretty cool), ez curl bar, oly DB and some other weird squat bar with paddign around the neck area??
    He then also has plenty of fixed weight straight and ez curl bars ranging from 5-55or60ish kg, and the max DB size is 57.5kg, but as you have oly DB you can maybe make them heavier.
    He is also going to be putting in a ring for boxing/MA,an oly lifting platform and will have a sauna in the summer as well to make it even better.

Truthfully when I got to train there I really felt like a kid in a candy shop it was so cool as cause he has such a range of good equipment no matter whether you are a beginner or have been doing it for years there is plenty to suit everybody.

Damage wise as far as I know it is €450 for the year or €50 per month.
    Location wise it is down the lane that connects camdem street (by ladbrookes) to harcourt street (by copper face jacks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Cant say i'd be ready for this heavy lifting yet me self. but i have met mickk a few times and he's a nice friendly bloke. so i'll stop in 4 a look any way..

whats the opening times ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

The gym is the mutts nuts it has to be said.

It's already seen some nice feats of strength and will see many more so i suggest the people join up and start training there little peaches off!!! :D

Oh yeah, and i made 75kilos dumbells in there one day for one arm rows.....i reckon you could fit anywhere up to 120 kilos on the Olympic Dumbell Handles. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

This sounds like exactly the type of gym I am looking for.. I was going to take a trip over to Powerhouse later in the week but Mickk's gym would be handier as I work in Georges St.. What hours is the gym open?? Also I would be looking to get some sort of workout program to work off to bulk up. Its 5 months since I was last in the gym (after going for 10 months)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

gazzer wrote:
    This sounds like exactly the type of gym I am looking for.. I was going to take a trip over to Powerhouse later in the week but Mickk's gym would be handier as I work in Georges St.. What hours is the gym open?? Also I would be looking to get some sort of workout program to work off to bulk up. Its 5 months since I was last in the gym (after going for 10 months)

truthfully I can't remember the opening hours of the gym I will try and find out for you though, but it would probably be to nearer the end of the week by the time I get it.

Programme wise, I would generally try and look up a programme on the net or even post up a new thread here looking for ideas on bulking programmes cause no matter what gym you go to the programmes they give you are generally not the best. That said Mickk himself is going to be working sundays AFAIK, and he would be able to give you some good bulking tips

edit: oh and if anyone can't find it just pop into the supplement store beside flannerys and they will be able to tell you where exactly it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

Thanks JSB I appreciate the thread.
    Here is a link to the poster for anyone who is interested (one pdf and one jpg)
    http://www.irish-lifting.com/a3_pinnacle.jpg
    http://www.irish-lifting.com/a3_pinnacle.pdf

Hours are 11-10 mon-fri, 11-7 sat and 12-6 sun.
    I am actually thinking about moving in upstairs so I might be there a hell of a lot more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Really nice gym. Been in and it's got all top class equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Well i took a walk up to the gym after work today and i was very impressed. Loads of equipment and tons of room. Im going to join tomorrow..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

mickk what times is the BJJ on in your gym?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 CRUMDUB12

Is their a glute hamstroc machine there ???

http://www.biggerfasterstronger.com/uploads/Glute-Ham%20Book.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭JayRoc

CRUMDUB12 wrote:
    Is their a glute hamstroc machine there ???

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Dragan wrote:
    i reckon you could fit anywhere up to 120 kilos on the Olympic Dumbell Handles. :D
    Plus the weight of the handles (maybe 5kg?).

...ain't nothin' but a peanut :rolleyes:

I'll just chime in too & say that this is exactly the kind of place I like to train in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Looks the part. Its exactly what Dublin needs a hardcore lifting gym that's clean and safe!

What martial arts are being taught there Mick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I was in there myself the other day, just having a look around. Nice clean place, with good amount of machines and looks coming along nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

mickk what times is the BJJ on in your gym?
    I would also like to know the same....
    Also is the price of MA classes included in the 450 for the year?

MA classes have yet to begin, as the finishing touches are being applied to the Martial Arts room upstairs.
    PMing Mick for further info (if needed) would probably be advised as he doesn't always have the time to browse boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

hmmm sounds good... the journey to and from for me though would add almost 2 hours onto my training time though... might get in for a few sessions over the summer if i can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Yes but the quality of sessions would make up for it!

I'll be joining in the summer even though I've to get into town and then have a 25min walk each way - well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Is there an option to pay as you go? I'm reasonably happy with where I am now (WestWood Leopardstown) and it'd be a bit of a trek for me to get in but I'd like to drop in for a session with some of the heavyweights some time!

Unfortunately there isn't a pay-as-you-go option.
    Just do what many of us did: Join Pinnacle as a second gym! :D
    I always say €50 would go fairly rapidly on a night in the pub, so for a months membership to one of the best damn gyms in Dublin it's a steal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Damn I was hoping to try it out before I go home for the summer. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I bought a bench and weight set off Mick a few weeks ago and he was kind enough to show me around the gym too. Was well impressed, nice guy, big thumbs up here too.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Would did be a good place for someone who is only starting out? I mean would guidance be available? I'm looking into starting something this summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I'm sure Mickk and several of the members here who train there would be happy to help you out with anything.

Boston wrote:
    Would did be a good place for someone who is only starting out? I mean would guidance be available? I'm looking into starting something this summer.

Well we could do you up a Program and Diet here, and there is generally someone from TT and Fitness in Pinnacle everyday, and we have big sessions on Saturday mornings should you ever need help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 schmooFlan

Boston wrote:

I started there a few weeks ago and have found it great. Mickk is usually
    around to give advice if you ask for it. The only problem is feeling a bit weedy next to some of the behemoths, but I guess that's the point of going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

Ah not to worry, I've joined, everyone looks big and strong next to me :)

It's a nice place to train, very friendly, it's great to be in a gym where people will say hello to the n00b.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

schmooFlan wrote:
    around to give advice if you ask for it. The only problem is feeling a bit weedy next to some of the behemoths, but I guess that's the point of going :)

ooh, like Dragan said, there's usually a group of us there on Saturday mornings (except this Sat, we're invading another gym ;) ) so you should say hi if you see us there, or drop one of us a PM to say you'll be around!!

I'll be finished exams in about a month so I'll will get back to this forum and talk to people about doing up fitness and diet plans, I'm just posting now as the thread was here. It more of a case that I've worked in construction so I know the importance of lifting things properly and using equipment properly. I've not a clue on how to lift weights, and I've no clue as to how to use the equipment, so is that type of thing catered for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

I travel up from Wicklow to train in Pinnacle its that damn GOOD! As G'em said Boston most of us have a session on a saturday so drop on in and we'll help ya out, or give me a PM if you want to head up and train sometime ill help go through some of the exercises with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

So gem which gym are ye all hijacking this sat just as a matter of interest!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Dragan wrote:
    Well we could do you up a Program and Diet here, and there is generally someone from TT and Fitness in Pinnacle everyday, and we have big sessions on Saturday mornings should you ever need help.

Is Mickk open to occasional Saturday-session joining or does one have to be a member? Or is there a daily charge? Or perhaps a special boards rate? :p

Shame I can't check one of these out for the next few months, although it gives me some time to hopefully not be the scrawniest Mo-Fo in the joint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 schmooFlan

g'em wrote:
    ooh, like Dragan said, there's usually a group of us there on Saturday mornings (except this Sat, we're invading another gym ;) ) so you should say hi if you see us there, or drop one of us a PM to say you'll be around!!

Cool :) I'm usually not around on saturdays, but I'll try and make a trip over
    some time :)

Dubdude wrote:
    So gem which gym are ye all hijacking this sat just as a matter of interest!!
    ah now... I couldn't say.... it would be a TOTAL breach of my FITNESS ethics to divulge those detailS AND FOR Democratic reasons it's not fair on the others I'll be training with....

If anyone points out that I missed a "Y" I'll feickin murder them :p

@ schmooFlan - definitely!! drop me a PM and we'll sort something :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

schmooFlan wrote:
    I dunno, I find that the behemoths tend to be the best people to work out around. Just watching what they can lift is inspirational and most of the really big guys tend to judge you on your effort rather than the numbers on the side of your iron.

Very few people in bodybuilding/powerlifting were massive or in fantastic shape themselves when they started out and they tend to recognise that when dealing with n00bs like us. :)

Is Mickk open to occasional Saturday-session joining or does one have to be a member? Or is there a daily charge? Or perhaps a special boards rate? :p

Shame I can't check one of these out for the next few months, although it gives me some time to hopefully not be the scrawniest Mo-Fo in the joint.

Sorry bout the delay getting back to you I checked with the insurance company and they only got back to me now. I can do a guest rate of 12euro per visit but I can't do daily visits. Guest rate is ONLY for members bringing guests...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Cool, thanks Mickk.

I just noticed the flyer, what kind of martial arts do you do?

edit, and whats this about student discounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Frederick

Im moving to Dublin shortly, and am looking to take up where I left off in UL as regards Overhead squats, and the olympic lifts. Are there any Olympic platforms in the gym? The gym itself sounds great, with the lack of cardio machines taking up space!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

sounds like a nice gym
    mickk is sound so i reckon his gym is probably good sounds like good value at €450

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Frederick wrote: »
    Im moving to Dublin shortly, and am looking to take up where I left off in UL as regards Overhead squats, and the olympic lifts. Are there any Olympic platforms in the gym? The gym itself sounds great, with the lack of cardio machines taking up space!

I heard there's a sheltered outdoor platform...

Hanley wrote: »
    I heard there's a sheltered outdoor platform...

Yip, sheltered outdoor platform in the same area as the boxing ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

Sounds like a great gym.
    Are there any heavybags or speedbags around the boxing ring ?

There's a heavy bag and a maize bag in the the ring/platform area.

Thanks for the comments lads, as for the martial arts Dave Hedges is doing Escrima on a monday at half 4 and I hopefully on a thursday at 6 I have someone lined up for mma.
    I will post up as soon as its definate.
    Also from monday Pinnacle will be opening at 7am.

Mickk wrote: »
    Fantastic. What about weekend opening hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

Nice, that could come in very handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Excellent Mickk :D, what are the membership fees ??

Its 450 for the full year, 300 for 6 months and there is no joining fees with them or its 55 a month direct debit with a 70 joining fee or 50 for boards or teamtesters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

Best of luck with the gym, if ya ever do decide to go down the pay as you visit road please let us know would love to pop in sometime when im in dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ricksmith

hhh