Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chipped Tooth

• 17-02-2007 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

you know the way o1s1n said a while ago that he saw a thread on some foreign site where a guy, knew a guy, who's room mate's brother got his tooth chipped playing airsoft? so you hear that and go ahh sure that's just hearsay it never happens!! i'll just wear glasses! i did and then i got a tooth chipped today in HRTA.

to be honest it is a really flucky thing to happen, one guy there from ASI said he'd been playing a few years and had never seen it, (until today of course).

i was playing a CQB as you know and i probably had my mouth open for some really strange reason and the bb went straight into one of my incisors, it chipped it a little, it's one of the pointier incisors on the left and the point came of so that now it has an upside down point. (basically a square of tooth came out if you can imagine that). that is all that you can see when i smile, well ssee missing, but almost all of the back of the tooth is misshing so that it is now rasor sharp and REALLY sensitive!!!!!!! (i have to drink sideways!)

any way just thought you should know this and i'll be wearing a full face mask from now on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Still can't believe you didn't catch it between your teeth :rolleyes: Wuss! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Now there is an advert for a full face mask if I ever saw one. If the tooth is that sensitive I would get to a dentist on monday to have it checked out. I hope it gets better for you either way.
    Pity I missed out on the day though, from the other post it sounds like it was a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

i'm off to france in a few hours so no time for a dentist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭EyesOnly

lmao, was this after i left? pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

i only have safety glasses, but i'm definatly getting a full mask, it just hasnt arrieved yet in the post, must renember to keep my mouth shut tommorow

it was the second last game and after that we sprayed paddy (the chipper) in an execution!!

no pics yet and i'm off to france in the morning (actually should leave in a few hours) so i can't post them up, i'll have my psp thugh so if there is interweb i'll post stuff

edit, yeah skatedude my mouth was probably open then and loads of others got hit in the mouth, so you should be fine

yeah was gonna say, Paul got a burst lip even though he was barely participating (only fired the odd covering burst, cos he was marshalling), and another guy (can't remember your name mate sorry!) bought a neophrene mask off me cos he was sick of being shot in the face.

It seems glasses are not recommended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Ahhh sounds like it was great day.

Hey Dave, was it a full or half mask and how did he find it?

MaxForce wrote:
    Ahhh sounds like it was great day.

Hey Dave, was it a full or half mask and how did he find it?
    It was a full neophrene mask (this one) and he was wearing glasses with it. He seemed to find it quite good, that's why he bought it off me! But I found it really sh*t, that's why I sold it ;) I'm sure he'd let you try it on for a while at the next skirmish (prob next weekend! :D) and you could see if you like it before you order it. Ya could just wear a mesh mask til then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Thanks. Dont know weather to get that one or the full mask with the mesh goggles.

I got the full mask with mesh goggles and I find it perfect. Not everyone likes them, but it suits me down to the ground. Don't have to worry about anything fogging up, that makes me a happy guy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

If you're going with just googles.....don't smile!

Anyone who goes to a Close-Quarters game without full face mask is nuts in my humble opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

lol ... I was the one who bought the mask and I'm also the guy who got shot in the mush too.

Seriously Whupy .... that was a nasty hit, I'm sorry I laughed and made jokes but it was absolutely hilarious ... right up until I go shot myself. Karam is a b*itch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I can't believe you chipped a tooth. Not only chipped a tooth, but took a large chunk out of one. Totally freak accident. And on our first game.

I think I might opt for a full face mask in CQB myself from now on.

Hope you're okay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

that bb had my name on it to :p , was pure fluke ya just took 1 peak around the corner and bamm, seriously though get that mask post-haste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

karam? yeah karma kinda sucks too :)

Seriously though kudos to you whuppy for sticking around after that and I would also like to say well done to everyone else for their conduct when it happened, as soon as you got shot you had 2 or 3 guys on your back to make sure you didn't get hit again and everyone called a halt to the game. Thats the way Airsoft should be played, well done lads that was well cool :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭NakedHedgehog

I usually play with glasses, too and I almost did again yesterday. But after having one look inside the warehouse/barn I changed my mind. It would have been accident waiting to happen.

Seriously, I would go as far as saying that facemasks (or full face protection) should be required at HRTA in it's current form.

Also (and this is serious): ALOT more adherence to safe zone rules and enforcement of those rules needs to happen. The safe-zone inside doesn't work (ricochets off the ceiling) and when told it's now outside there were still a bunch of people running around with mags in their guns and even shooting (one guy even shot at me and I didn't have my face mask on - almost decked him...but he was too young).
    Safezones cannot be allowed to have live weapons in them, unless you're willing to get sued when someone's eye is put out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

nhedge wrote:
    I usually play with glasses, too and I almost did again yesterday. But after having one look inside the warehouse/barn I changed my mind. It would have been accident waiting to happen.

Seriously, I would go as far as saying that facemasks (or full face protection) should be required at HRTA in it's current form.

Also (and this is serious): ALOT more adherence to safe zone rules and enforcement of those rules needs to happen. The safe-zone inside doesn't work (ricochets off the ceiling) and when told it's now outside there were still a bunch of people running around with mags in their guns and even shooting (one guy even shot at me and I didn't have my face mask on - almost decked him...but he was too young).
    Safezones cannot be allowed to have live weapons in them, unless you're willing to get sued when someone's eye is put out.

Some very good points there. I was beside u when that guy shot the gun, the safe zone wasnt very safe in any respect during a game. Even on the little shooting range some people were were firing the wrong way and up at the car park.
    As for the face protection I had strong goggles, thick scarf, wooly hat and hood up and that gave me fairly decent if not basic face/head protection.

Oh and thats for the lift back to swords Hedge! :)

Master of the Universe

There was a bb dent mark in the laminated rules on the wall in the safe zone. Says it all really.

I don't think it's possible for the indoor section to be considered safe. Glasses or masks should be kept on at all times.

Netting also needs to be put up between that little firing range and the carpark. I think I remember Nonex saying he'd be doing this sometime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Harlequin Wolf

The gunfire was pretty indescriminate alright, the whole shed was rattling like a red cross collection tin at one point.

ya lol i remeber we were wondering what was taking the swat team so long and then they just start sprayin the place for like a full 2 minutes or something, madness

Master of the Universe

You talking about when we were spraying the outside of the shed while the other guys attacked? That was great fun. I held my Famas in one hand while continually winding the high cap with the other :D

ya,have to say its the most effective thing ye can do since only a handful of peeps can fit in that little entry point, that constant gunfire was distracting and just a tad unnerving lol especially when ya just got a scatter gun in your hand :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭KutjeBef

Dudes, its been said before several times: If you only wear goggles/glasses there is a chance you get a chipped tooth. Especially in CQB.
    Happened twice that I know of in the last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Red Yama

You'd be insane not to wear a full face mask in that site I have to say. Also, I definitely agree with nhedge on the safe zone, too many people were casually waving loaded AEGs in unprotected faces.

Say what you like about the safe zone but remember it was also the staging area for combat and the ammount of space is limited. Provided people have their sfeties on and no one is acting the maggot there should be a problem - but that might be too much to hope for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Yeah, should have the safe zone separate otherwise people going in the door risk shooting "civilians"

It's not so much a separate zone that's the problem, it's people acting the maggot. Safeties on doesn't really cut it, they can fail or be accidentally turned off, you really need to take the mags out. There shouldn't really be any argument about it, from READ CAREFULLY (I assume you did :P):
    2. REMOVE THE MAGAZINE FROM THE WEAPON, DISCHARGE ANY CHAMBERED ROUNDS
    AND TURN THE SELECTOR TO SAFE.
    Magazines should be removed, selectors should be on safe while in the staging and parking areas,
    before and after choreographing and target shooting in the chronograph & target range and before
    and after the game in the battle zone. If you leave your magazine engaged, the weapon in fire mode
    in these areas and/or at these times you are risking accidental discharge of your weapon. Any
    participant found with a magazine engaged, a weapon not selected to safe in these areas and/or at
    these times will be warned. If this happens twice the participant will be removed permanently for the
    day without refund.
    3. NO DISCHARGING OF WEAPONS EXCEPT INSIDE THE CHRONOGRAPH AND TARGET
    RANGE AND IN THE BATTLE ZONE.
    Weapons should not be discharged in the staging or parking areas. This also means no discharging
    blank shots. If you discharge your weapon in these areas you are risking accidentally shooting a
    participant who is not wearing eye protection. Any participant found discharging his weapon in these
    areas will be warned. If this happens twice the participant will be removed permanently for the day
    without refund.

The rules are there, we just need to abide by them. Paul doesn't have eyes on the back of his head, so we need to police ourselves as well. If you see a guy with his mag loaded, just point it out politely. I did for a while but eventually gave up, if everyone watches out for it we soon won't have to ask.

I agree with you in principal Red Yama but realistically it would not have worked that way with the best of intentions. the staging area was very crowded and it was the place where combatants had to go and wait before re-entering the fray. If you had to keep your mag out until you entered that chocke point would have been even more of a skeet shoot than it already was.

A little netting between active and non-weapon areas would solve a lot of problems and provide the needed physical reminder to make sure your gun is inert. Forcing folk to do it any other way with such limited space is not feasable.

Perhaps wearing glasses or face masks should be enforced at all time during the day? If not the perfect solution it would help prevent punctured eyeballs and chipped teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭NakedHedgehog

That's why the safe zone was moved outside though - and it still was happening.

I'm not even talking about during the game, I had AEGS pointed at me with mags in at the break times when there were no games going on. During the game everyone going in and out had goggles/masks on anyway.

Master of the Universe

There were several times when in the safe zone I had to point the muzzle of someones guns away from my face. Scary stuff.

In future there's going to have to be a strict mags out of guns rule. It's a much better way of seeing if guns are disarmed. Can't exactly be walking around looking at everyones fire selector.

Yeah that's basically it. Gotta police ourselves if we don't want to get policed.

i wouldn't like a gun pointed at me even if i knew that the safety was on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Most guns still have one round chambered, even with the mag out.

-All guns must be on safety in the safe-zone and staging area.
    -All guns must be kept pointed downwards when outside the game area.
    -No gun must ever be aimed in the direction of another persons face when in the safe zone.

There is also the option of everyone having to use those protective plastic/rubber caps that fit to the end of the barrel. They are a visible and effective safety measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

-All guns must be on safety in the safe-zone and staging area.
    -All guns must be kept pointed downwards when outside the game area.
    -No gun must ever be aimed in the direction of another persons face when in the safe zone.

There is also the option of everyone having to use those protective plastic/rubber caps that fit to the end of the barrel. They are a visible and effective safety measure.

You can't enforce a rule that all guns must be pointed downwards. Some guns are more comfortable to hold upwards, especially if you don't have a sling. Mag out, safety on and don't point directly at other people is more then sufficient safety precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭KutjeBef

Basically handle your weapon as if it was a real steel one.
    I agree completely that safety has to come first.
    If accidents are going to happen because of bad safety procedures, it'll be another way to get bad publicity.

Its up to all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    You can't enforce a rule that all guns must be pointed downwards.

Why not? What gun is hard to point at the ground???? I own a shotgun, a .223 rifle and a .22 air rifle and they are all pretty simple to point at the ground

Also be very careful guys some of the talk in here scares the sh1t out of me, not becuase its scary but because how relaxed safety seems to be. Its a big dirty cliche but "safety first" definitely apllies. Nearly all of you here are on the ball but should continue to make your sport safer and safer.

The idea of staring at the muzzle of someone elses gun is crazy(unless of course he/she is legally engaging you). Should never ever happen especially in a safe zone. People who regularly do this should not be allowed to participate, simple as, if you cant play safe you shouldn't play at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Jebus whuppy your gonna make some orthadontist very happy, presuming you are getting it fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Vegeta wrote:
    Why not? What gun is hard to point at the ground???? I own a shotgun, a .223 rifle and a .22 air rifle and they are all pretty simple to point at the ground

Also be very careful guys some of the talk in here scares the sh1t out of me, not becuase its scary but because how relaxed safety seems to be. Its a big dirty cliche but "safety first" definitely apllies. Nearly all of you here are on the ball but should continue to make your sport safer and safer.

The idea of staring at the muzzle of someone elses gun is crazy(unless of course he/she is legally engaging you). Should never ever happen especially in a safe zone. People who regularly do this should not be allowed to participate, simple as, if you cant play safe you shouldn't play at all.

For a start my FN SCAR is uncomfortable to hold with barrel down one handed. It can't take a sling unless you are a lefty. And I do take safety seriously. My mag was always out in the safe zone, my safety was always on unlike some people. As I said, mag out safety on and don't point the barrel directly at other people. If it's good enough for real military's it's good enough for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

simple solution... before entering the safe zone, remove mag, fire once to clear the round in the hopup...

I've lost a tooth in the past (second ever game in fact) it's not pleasant (nor was the trip to the dentist afterwards ;)) . full face all the way for me since then...

Master of the Universe

The muzzle in the air issue in the safe zone really does have to be addressed. As I mentioned earlier I think, there were a couple of times when I had to push someones gun down out of my face.

Pointing your gun at the ground can't really be an enforced rule. But it is something many of us can abide by just to keep things safer. I know I try and hold mine like that as much as I can.

There's no real reason for people to be walking around with guns in the safe zone anyway. Should probably just put them down against a wall somewhere once they come out of the battle zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

besides, pointing a gun at the ground isnt a fix, if i shoot my aug at the ground,espicially on concret, the bb round shatters and ricochets everywhere with a whine, still quite dangerous as the bits fly up at an angle which will get under eye glasses,
    it should be as the rules state, remove the clip at least, and possible(i'd recommend) cover the safe area floor with cheap industrial carpet, it would cost about 30 quid for the area that sized, (probably already planed for)

Master of the Universe

Before you reach the safe zone, take the mag out and fire off any bbs left in the barrel. Safety on too. That's the gun secure before you even get there.

Upon arrival, try and keep the gun aimed at the floor while you find a nice spot to rest it against. No walking around with it under your arm.

If everyone did this, there would be no accidental shots in the safe zone.

Anyway, we've highjacked poor Whoopy's chipped tooth thread. When do we get some pictures?! :D

I'd like to see somethin like this up on the wall in HRTA ;)

(only better! I just did that on my laptop!)

Master of the Universe

Ow!

I feel silly for not wearing one now. Think of the AEG you could buy with the money you'd have to spend on the dentists bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Haha dave were you really that bored? :D

Master of the Universe

He has 11.07 posts a day, what do you think? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

o1s1n wrote:
    He has 11.07 posts a day, what do you think? ;)
    Lol i guess :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭EyesOnly

it that a pic of whuppys tooth? cos i aint seen the 25mb vid, i get an error half way through the download :/