Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rdf

• 11-02-2007 8:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

So i was on the Range on Saturday and could not help but notice the amount of people who didnt have tight/neat haircuts and not fully shaven, like come on if your gonna wear the Uniform and be on duty no matter where it is at least look the part, although it did come out ok as the offenders got a bollockin from the BS and were told to not turn up again unless they had a neat haircut and were clean shaven, any thoughts on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Proper order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Steyr I take it you were down in Battalion shoot too...cluster f**k does not even come close to describing it..but anyway I must agree with you there were certain individuals that had mops on their head I just wanted to do a DIY barbers job with my leatherman on one particular specimen. What happened to the good owl days of "if i can pull it theres too much"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Complete Twats i was on Oranmore Range, Galway @ 9AM. Very VERY cold day, i had the first Steyr go U/S on me and then i got a S Steyr so that was grand except for when loading as normal i cocked the Rifle and FFS a bad Round in the Chamber, the 5.56mm round looked like a 9mm :eek:!! Anyway round was considered safe for use by my OIC so i used it as Normal and it fired perfectly , all in all a good day.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Was that Gormo range? Was that the muppet with the mop and the brown satchel bag that looked like his grandfathers from the great war!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

I was on Kilworth range Sunday for my annual range practice. I had'nt shot the Styer in a good while so I really enjoyed it. I got to shoot around 80 rounds, not sure of the exact amount I was trying to count up all the varations of 5, 7, 8 and 15 and could'nt remember exactly. I was plesently surprized with my shot, I was spot on for most shots and did well in the pop up target section. Someone swapped around the rifle on my position while the other section were shooting though and I had a rifle that was shooting WAYY out for a while so I got swapped back for an accurate one.

As for styers point, I would always have a tightly shaved head anyway and would be clean shaven for any RDF training. I could understand why certain people would not have the head shaved for one day of training, but a generally untidy appearence is not on. I know we are only the reserves but I still get a major sense of pride when I put on the uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 cardtrick

its cos of this stupid attitude that people dont get invovled be more reasonable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Cardtrick if you signed up just to spam this forum you will have a very short career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

i'm out this weekend and i am intending on bollocking anyone that isnt tidy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Steyr: Wasn't Oranmore closed a few years ago? Is it open again?

Nope its alive and well and in constant use monday to sunday by my RDF Unit on the weekends and the PDF during the week. There is also a FIBUA area behind the Mounds.

cardtrick wrote:
    its cos of this stupid attitude that people dont get invovled be more reasonable

Its not a stupid attitude its about Pride and Respect and Honour and common sense have some cop on, shape up or ship out, If you have none of the above for yourself and your Unit and for the PDF,RDF as a whole then please just go.

babybundy wrote:
    i'm out this weekend and i am intending on bollocking anyone that isnt tidy

Pass it on!

Being clean shaven and having short hair is nothing to do with pride and respect etc. Its to do with higiene, try fitting a gas mask over 4 day old stubble or trying to treat a head wound with a mass of hair matted into it.

This is basic, these guys should be told when they are being recruited, what the regulations are. They make the rest of us look like fools. My unit inform recruits what haircuts to have, to be clean shaven, how to dress properly and if they dont like it, they wont come back.

Its because of people like that previous troll posters attitude that people dont take the reserves seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 DarkMuse

Morph&#233 wrote: »
    Being clean shaven and having short hair is nothing to do with pride and respect etc. Its to do with higiene, try fitting a gas mask over 4 day old stubble or trying to treat a head wound with a mass of hair matted into it.

Talking to someone in the Reserve at a carears day the other day and he said the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I think at times the importance of strict grooming standards can get out of hand.Having a fully beard and hair that could star in a Pantene commercial obviously isn't on,but theirs more to Army life than having a haircut that wouldn't look out of place on a cancer patient.I'm being a bit facetious i know but theirs more to being a good soldier than how you look,IMO appearance has very little to do with it.How well you do you're able to do your job is a bit more important than when you're last haircut took place.Range time is about how well you shoot,not how presentable you'd look on a parade ground.Or it should be,again IMO

its disipline before higiene as far as i am concerned and anyone who is in the reserves more than 6 years will remember that on tactics we would never need helmets and all of a sudden everyone had to wear one it was because a young private got a FN into the back of the head and split him open

unfortunatlly it was me :o:o:o:o:o:o

Where did I said you had to look like youve had 5 treatments of khaemo?

You just keep it cleanly short, i mean mines short back and sides (blade 2 or 3) and i can still gel and style the top if i want.

this guy looked completly out of place in a uniform with a rifle and he wasnt alone. It is a discipline thing too, the type of soldier you are is reflected in how well you look after your gear etc, ergo your appearance too. In my book anyway.

Your also in the Public eye, when going home etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

babybundy wrote:
    its disipline before higiene as far as i am concerned and anyone who is in the reserves more than 6 years will remember that on tactics we would never need helmets and all of a sudden everyone had to wear one it was because a young private got a FN into the back of the head and split him open

unfortunatlly it was me :o:o:o:o:o:o

Babybundy, didn't you just do the Junior Cert, or am I mistaken?

Morph&#233 wrote: »
    Where did I said you had to look like youve had 5 treatments of khaemo?

You just keep it cleanly short, i mean mines short back and sides (blade 2 or 3) and i can still gel and style the top if i want.

this guy looked completly out of place in a uniform with a rifle and he wasnt alone. It is a discipline thing too, the type of soldier you are is reflected in how well you look after your gear etc, ergo your appearance too. In my book anyway.

Well i'm not going to argue with what you saw,but i know i've been at the range and had the SGM come out and act like a tool,complaining about haircuts and shaving etc.This after a field exercise and sleeping at the range for a couple of days.Garrison is one world,doing fieldwork is another and IMO the focus should be on the task at hand.Troops should have discipline independant of their appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 DarkMuse

sunnyjim wrote:

Perhaps in whatever comment led you to believe this he was pretending to be a 15 year old girl?

sunnyjim wrote:
    where did you get that idea from

Troops should have discipline independant of their appearance.
    Yes the dress doth not maketh the man, some of the best lads on the ground I know look like worsel gummich in a sandstorm...but its hard to advocate dreadlocks and untidyness as uniform does not just apply to the clothing on your back it relates the "uniform" appearance of all!!!

And yes morpheus that is the very same muppet...scruffiest excuse of a soldier I have ever seen. It would need a bath in industrial Cilit Bang to sort that poor soul out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

What if a man were to have a cleanly kept Long hair, I.e past his chin at least. Is that allowed??

Troops should have discipline independant of their appearance.
    Yes the dress doth not maketh the man, some of the best lads on the ground I know look like worsel gummich in a sandstorm...but its hard to advocate significant untidyness, as uniform does not just apply to the clothing on your back it relates the "uniform" appearance of all. discipline is set down for all to adhere to (ideally).And discipline in your appearance is meant to reflect on back to your over-all self discipline and unfortunately some peoples ideas of independent discipline vary significantly!Leading to major barneys allround.

And yes morpheus that is the very same muppet...scruffiest excuse of a soldier I have ever seen. It would need a bath in industrial Cilit Bang to sort that poor soul out.

What if a man were to have a cleanly kept Long hair, I.e past his chin at least. Is that allowed??

Not really no.

I understand your point about uniformity and such,i guess at heart i've always been partial to being a bit scruffy myself.Also i look very frightening with a shaved head,and not in a good way ;)

So a man is not allowed to have long hair? But isnt a womena allowed to have long hair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

So a man is not allowed to have long hair? But isnt a womena allowed to have long hair?

Yes, but it must be tied up, and placed in a black or brown hairnet bob thing.

Ok so shouldnt men be allowed to do the same?

women in the DF where also allowed to wear dresses...but not many lads are demanding the same treatment :p

but no its just never going to happen soldiers shouldn't have long hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 xXOdysseyXx

Just thought I'd throw in my two cents here lads, I had long hair up until about 5 weeks ago when I signed up for the RDF, and I have to say, I don't regret it one bit! And if I see someone else with long hair, or a face of fuzz, I wont be too long about telling them to get rid of it! I was told that there's certain regulations in place, not only to keep the unit looking clean and respectful, but to perform at our best! and like what Morphéus said, it must be a pain trying to threat someone with a split open head with all that hair matted to the open wound! lol.

Short/tight hair FTW! :P

women in the DF where also allowed to wear dresses...but not many lads are demanding the same treatment

Actually BigDuffman, I know one! lol - But for his own safety, I'll keep him anonymous!

and like what Morphéus said, it must be a pain trying to threat someone with a split open head with all that hair matted to the open wound! lol.

O yeah I would completely agree. I was just making the point that since women are allowed long hair men should be allowed too.

Personally I think everyone that joins the army(soldiers) should have to shave their heads including women, but that will never happen. But then againn this is just my oppinion froma practicle veiw. And who am I to say anything, I have never been in the army .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Bam Bam

I have actually thought about this hair issue too.

And sooner or later someone will sprout on about equal rights and all that jazz and a male recruit will someday request his hair remain long. Now when you think about it theres nothing the army can do if he ties it in a bob. Now it'll look stupid but with this political correctness and moral relativity that we in the west suffer from I have a feeling the army may back down on this issue and eventually allow male members of the DF to have long hair as long as its kept in a bob while in uniform.

Yeah and I think thats only right as long as the women are allowed to do it, dont you?

on that issue the female fought long enough to be allowed where a pants with the no 1s so why cant the lads where a skirt:D :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

BigDuffman wrote:
    women in the DF where also allowed to wear dresses...but not many lads are demanding the same treatment :p

but no its just never going to happen soldiers shouldn't have long hair.

Didn't you ever watch MASH? Remember that Corporal Klinger who always wore dresses to get a phsycho discharge from the army?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Yeah and I think thats only right as long as the women are allowed to do it, dont you?

Thinking like that nearly ruined the Dutch armed forces in the 1970's. The conscripts were allowed have long hair, then they complained about saluting, then they complained about general discipline & the end result was that the Dutch ended up with an uneffective defence force.

Whatever about conscripts not being happy with the constraints of service, volunteers should be well aware of these before they join. If they're not happy with those constraints they shouldn't join.