Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CherryBombs Shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Nice stuff there -- really like the last one -- touch of the Sophie Dahl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

A 99cent version of Sophie Dahl, she looks like she belongs in the eurosaver menu.....Not bad pic's though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭mervifwdc

Looks cool to me, but it's not what I was expecting. I've a cherrybomb exaust on my truck........

Sorry :-)

Merv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Yer a feckin natural, which is more than can be said for at least one of the subjects ;) 2nd time in the studio!! It doesn't show. Fine work Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

I really like the 1st and 2nd shot. I think the tatoo in #1
    makes the photo & the way she's positioned/faced away
    look back at you. #2 is just a cool angle and well taken.
    How did you go about the studio if you don't mind me
    asking? Was it a job or like a camera club type thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Great shots, did ye feel the pressure.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I think they are pretty cool too, composition wise they are all good images. For the 2nd one I might have positioned the models slightly differently or perhaps tried a different crop. The third is a very strong image but the lighting seems a bit understrength. The focus appears on the necklace instead of the eyes and also the models hand is a different colour to the rest of her. I have had that happen before in portraits and usually a feathered selection on the hand and some slight hue adjusting can make the hands look more typically flesh coloured. That would probably fall under the 'beautifying portraits' category and is totally optional but for publicity shots might be worth giving a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Cheers all.

Kjt, it was in Dublin Camera Club, both myself and Sebzy are members, and he had time booked in, so we pretty much did it together (except I had the benefit of his lighting experience). I have a studio in the college too, which I used again yesterday...so spoilt for choice really :p

Cheers Morlar, do you think a curves adjust in the 3rd would sort out the lighting? I'll give the hands a bit of a play about with too.

How would you have modeled them in the second?

(Advice is really appreciated :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I would have slightly elevated the head of the girl furthest away from camera to give the appearance that both heads are at an even level (even though they probably were irl I think in the picture they look slightly un-even) - or perhaps a different angle. Also maybe would have had the eye levels more aligned. Re the curves level I would probably take the 3rd from raw and process again (perhaps merging a couple at different raw exposures with a layer mask gradient) rather than a curves level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭FreeAnd..

great shots Al, last one is favourite for me because of the colours..2 and 3 could do with a bit of a boost on the skin tones as they appear on the dull side. I agree with Morlar on the second one and not sure if the third one could be improved by a slightly wider crop with both hands removed so that it is just the two head shots. This might not be too balanced though because of the angle so maybe the hands might be a good idea. Love the last one, could be superb if the facial expression was slightly less uneasy.

All in all great work, have to get myself into a studio sometime and give it a whizz...How are you enjoying it?

Cheers Morlar and FreeAnd...!

It's definitly worth your while checking out a studio, it really isn't as hard as one might think. Once your lights are set up, you're off!

Morlar uses Dublin Studios quite often, so he might be able to tell you what the craic is there. The studio in Dublin Camera Club is pretty decent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

love the last one, her jacket has a great texture to it.. Did you crop it much? I think a teeny bit of space would look nice on top of her hat would look good.

Just wondering... How many photos did you take altogether and were you always positioning the models, or were you like "go wild, girls" ?

You're a master, Al!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Tarakiwa

1 & 2 are the ones for me!
    Really great shots!

Cheers Tarakiwa & Rojo!

As far as I remember, all the above weren't cropped, I pretty much tried to get it right in camera!

Telling them what to do, I kinda set them up in a position, and told them to either look somewhere else, or to look at me, and I'd move about to see what works then! Luckily I had Seb to bounce ideas off :p

Took about 62 or 63 photos all in all, and have about 14 or 15 that are good for posters and whatnot, and I have about 10 more that I like for being portraits, but havn't gotten around to processing them yet (I'm hungover and my laptop broke!) .

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

really great work there, ya use the lighting book :p ? i'd nearly join just for studio access, i'm moving into modelling more now and it'd help alot, are lights provided?

Yep, there's a large softbox, small soft box, and several other lights, and a black and white background...

Didn't use the lighting book though :p

Fajitas! wrote:
    Cheers Tarakiwa & Rojo!

As far as I remember, all the above weren't cropped, I pretty much tried to get it right in camera!

Telling them what to do, I kinda set them up in a position, and told them to either look somewhere else, or to look at me, and I'd move about to see what works then! Luckily I had Seb to bounce ideas off :p

Took about 62 or 63 photos all in all, and have about 14 or 15 that are good for posters and whatnot, and I have about 10 more that I like for being portraits, but havn't gotten around to processing them yet (I'm hungover and my laptop broke!) .

I see! Where they ok with the direction and stuff? I'm taking photos of one of my sister's friend in London in a month, she's a part-time model (total babe) so just wondering how I'm gonna go about it... :)

Well done with the shots, I'm impressed to say the least!

Ah yeah.

I know the blonde one fairly well, so like, that was handy enough for telling her what to do.

What kinda shots are you gonna do? Any pics of her? Inspire me! :D

Fajitas! wrote:
    Ah yeah.

I know the blonde one fairly well, so like, that was handy enough for telling her what to do.

What kinda shots are you gonna do? Any pics of her? Inspire me! :D

Just portraits and fashion shots hopefully, she wants to do more outdoor shots, whereas I'd prefer to go into the studio, more control over light and stuff..

Haven't any proper shots, so here's just a snap of her:

model.jpg

Cool.

Just go for it I guess! I'm gonna head to the great outdoors soon enough (We got 2 complete portable lighting kits in college).

Do you know of a studio you can use in London?

Fajitas! wrote:
    Cool.

Just go for it I guess! I'm gonna head to the great outdoors soon enough (We got 2 complete portable lighting kits in college).

Do you know of a studio you can use in London?

totally hijacking your thread, Al!!

Don't know any studios, but she's keen on taking outdoor shots, so I might just buy a reflector... I have another while to think about it anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

Great shots there Al. Sorry about nearly cloaking you to death with the smoke. But good news found the rest of my smoke machine and it still works so no more spray. Going to post up a few shots from the shoot after I have these wedding shots out of the way.

Again great shots.

Seb.

Cheers Seb - The smoke spray wasn't all that bad after the walls stopped changing colour :p

Looking forward to your shots, can't wait wait to play with the proper smoke machine at some stage too! Hehe...