Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it right that it's easier to get tickets to away matches?

• 07-02-2007 11:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭

As 6 nations rugby looks to become another corporate day out in Croke Park, surely there's something wrong with a system where it's easier to get tickets for away matches than home?

Have seen Ireland in Paris, Twickenham, Cardiff, Wembley and Edinburg with no problems getting tickets (all bar Twickenham were sold on the net/through the main Welsh newspaper) yet the only home 6 nations match I've got to was Italy a couple of years ago.

Doesn't seem right that all it takes is a big fat chequebook to get the tickets for home matches, whether you're a fan or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

athtrasna wrote:
    As 6 nations rugby looks to become another corporate day out in Croke Park, surely there's something wrong with a system where it's easier to get tickets for away matches than home?

Have seen Ireland in Paris, Twickenham, Cardiff, Wembley and Edinburg with no problems getting tickets (all bar Twickenham were sold on the net/through the main Welsh newspaper) yet the only home 6 nations match I've got to was Italy a couple of years ago.

Doesn't seem right that all it takes is a big fat chequebook to get the tickets for home matches, whether you're a fan or not.

Unless you are involved with a club its always goin to be hard to get tickets. Like yourself the only 6 nations ive been at was the Italian match last yr. Going to the Scotland match in march and hopefully by then we will be able to celebrate the grand slam!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

daveirl wrote:

maybe evryone you know got sorted but that still dont mean that a fat cheque book wont sort you out either!!

Anyway anyone who can find a reasonable way to Rome for Paddys can easily get tickets on www.ticketone.it Italian site has full rangte on sale this AM.

Flights however 600e return region:mad: Illoked to book this in NOv and even then it was that price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

daveirl wrote:

I think you will find as I have that in Dublin anyway it has been very hard to get your hands on a ticket. I know people who have been members of Rugby clubs for years and never had a problem getting a ticket who cant get one for this. Its an absolute sham of a system that denies the real fans a chance to get to go to the match. In years gone by if you wanted to go to a match you had to que up outside Elverys the day they went on sale and were limited to 2 tickets a person. I say bring that system back. It will seperate the real fans from the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

It's very difficult to get them through the clubs in Dublin. Most of the people I know who got tickets got them from friends/relatives working in Croke Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

MikeHoncho wrote:
    I think you will find as I have that in Dublin anyway it has been very hard to get your hands on a ticket. I know people who have been members of Rugby clubs for years and never had a problem getting a ticket who cant get one for this. Its an absolute sham of a system that denies the real fans a chance to get to go to the match. In years gone by if you wanted to go to a match you had to que up outside Elverys the day they went on sale and were limited to 2 tickets a person. I say bring that system back. It will seperate the real fans from the rest.
    Real fans are the ones who queue for tickets?

I would have said some real fans queue for tickets, the rest of the people in the queue are usually touts.

The idea of allocating the tickets to clubs for distribution to membership is a great one. If some clubs chose not to pass the tickets on to the people who make up those clubs, that is not the fault of the IRFU, but of the clubs who feel that making money is more important than allowing the grass roots of the sport to be part of the big occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

MikeHoncho wrote:

What a load of uttter bull, you dont know what you are talking about. The real fans are the clubs,you know nothing.

"Behind every great player is a great club" is the latest advertisement promoting club rugby.

If you are a real fan of rugby join a club,support that club,play for that club and help out in that club.
    This is where all these players come from - THe CLUBS.

Im a member of a well known Leinster Club and i know what our allocation is and other clubs is and let me tell you its not what you think for the members we have in our club.

As for queuing up outside Elverys - get the boat would you. Any Tom,Dick or Harry can get a ticket then.These casual supporters who only go to an Irish game,the real supporters of rugby are guys like me who do loads of work for my club all voluntary may i ad and all the other members who play,train,coach the 400 + mini rugby kids every sunday - who will be the stars of the future that you wish to watch.

Let me suggest you go join a club and be a REAL rugby supporter and get invovled and do work and dont worry you will be looked after for tickets if you do the work in the club.

Let me know your area in Dublin and i will recommend a suitable club for you to join and help out.

Im a big fan of GAA and Football and i would love to get tickets to a big Dubs match or an Ireland football match but i know its hard to get them even though i really want one and yes i know alot of the tickets go through the clubs and i applaud that and thats fair,if i really want a ticket for all Dubs or Ireland football matches,i can go and join a club in that sport and do some work and i have no problem with that.

The amount of people that have jumped on this Irish rugby bandwagon over the last few years is a joke.

Amz wrote:
    It's very difficult to get them through the clubs in Dublin. Most of the people I know who got tickets got them from friends/relatives working in Croke Park.

As i have said in a previous post im a member of a well known Leinster Senior Rugby Club.

First off the demand is huge and the supply is absolutely tiny.
    If members do work in their clubs they will get tickets. Most members of clubs do nothing - dont even watch any of the teams in the club play,dont go down to the club to support its functions and do nothing but criticise it.

The members who will get tickets are those who do the voluntary work in the clubs - the coaches,the guys on the sponsorship committe,the programme committee,the guys who do the gate at big games,the guys who buy draw tickets and do other stuff.

Other members (the majority) do nothing at all and even join clubs just for tickets, they will get a ticket for 1/2 of the home matches but not all of them.

The truth is, if you are a member of a club and want to be sure of tickets, support your club and put a bit of time and effort in and you will be rewarded.

The biggest joke is guys that just join a club so they can get International Tickets.

People listen to someone who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

LFC5Times wrote:
    What a load of uttter bull, you dont know what you are talking about. The real fans are the clubs,you know nothing.

"Behind every great player is a great club" is the latest advertisement promoting club rugby.

If you are a real fan of rugby join a club,support that club,play for that club and help out in that club.

Im a member of a well known Leinster Club and i know what our allocation is and other clubs is and let me tell you its not what you think for the members we have in our club.

As for queuing up outside Elverys - get the boat would you. Any Tom,Dick or Harry can get a ticket then.These casual supporters who only go to an Irish game,the real supporters of rugby are guys like me who do loads of work for my club all voluntary may i ad and all the other members who play,train,coach the 400 + mini rugby kids every sunday - who will be the stars of the future that you wish to watch.

Let me suggest you go join a club and be a REAL rugby supporter and get invovled and do work and dont worry you will be looked after for tickets if you do the work in the club.

Let me know your area in Dublin and i will recommend a suitable club for you to join and help out.

Im a big fan of GAA and Football and i would love to get tickets to a big Dubs match or an Ireland football match but i know its hard to get them even though i really want one and yes i know alot of the tickets go through the clubs and i applaud that and thats fair,if i really want a ticket for all Dubs or Ireland football matches,i can go and join a club in that sport and do some work and i have no problem with that.

The amount of people that have jumped on this Irish rugby bandwagon over the last few years is a joke.

Very well said!! Not a member of club anymore but ST holder at leinster and go to clubs games when can get back home. Everybody that wanted/deserved ticket at the club was sorted. I think club distribution is an excellent system but realise that alot of corporate muppets get their hands on tickets too. My pet hate in life is bandwagon supporters, rugby seems to be attracting record numbers of these now that we have successful proviences/national team. I have absolutely nothing against new people going to games but most of these people have zero interest in supporting the grassroots game, they just want to turn for the glamour games in 6N/WC etc. I have been an active supporter of rugby for years now and have managed to get tickets for England game but if I dont get one for France I'll accept the fact that I wouldve if I played for or was a member of a club, just because you want to go to the game doesnt mean you deserve a ticket....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

I still think that if you have enough money you can get any tickets you want. Check out Buy & Sell and you'll see people offering €500 for 2 tickets, and tbh it's probably not enough compared to what they'll make.

I was offered €400 for my ticket for Ireland v the All Blacks on their previous tour (not last season) but money could not buy that precious ticket from me. I'd got it as part of a 3 match deal, and it was a dream come true. Since then I've travelled all over to see Ireland. I'd rather spend the money on travel and hotels than line the pockets of a tout.

Club allocations are not always what people imagine they are and in the smaller clubs more people are disappointed than get tickets.

athtrasna wrote:
    I still think that if you have enough money you can get any tickets you want. Check out Buy & Sell and you'll see people offering €500 for 2 tickets, and tbh it's probably not enough compared to what they'll make.

I was offered €400 for my ticket for Ireland v the All Blacks on their previous tour (not last season) but money could not buy that precious ticket from me. I'd got it as part of a 3 match deal, and it was a dream come true. Since then I've travelled all over to see Ireland. I'd rather spend the money on travel and hotels than line the pockets of a tout.

Club allocations are not always what people imagine they are and in the smaller clubs more people are disappointed than get tickets.

Well i know excatly the allocation of what every club in Leinster(and all clubs know what the others get) re: International Tickets and its not enough at all to please every single member and thats the same for alot of sports - Football,GAA etc.

Trust me no club is selling their tickets through the Buy and Sell they are a bit more classy than that.
    Those people are more than likely the odd club member or tout who has managed to get their hands on a ticket. At the end of the day IF (and thats a big if) its a club member there is no way the club can police that,but if the IRFU find out where the ticket is from they will inform the club and let the club deal with that individual which will result in expulsion from the club, which is the fair thing to do.

As regards finding it easier to get an away ticket than a home ticket, thats not true in our club, our demand for away matches makes it harder to provide away tickets than home tickets and we are a big club.

Alot of the smaller clubs and may have only 1/2 teams and about 15 non playing members,the members there are more likely to get tickets than those in bigger clubs, i have heard this from players i know who have gone to other clubs.

At the end of the day it simple if anybody wants tickets for Dublin,Ireland (football or rugby) match,join a club, help out voluntary, just do some work.
    The people who do the work will be rewarded and that will be a real true reflection of your love for rugby,football or gaelic.

LFC5Times wrote:

Who the hell do you think you are to assume what kind of supporter I am. The fact of the matter is this. I have been attending rugby matchs at all levels of the game since I was a child. I played Rugby from the age of 9 untill due to Injury in school I was forced to give up. I was never very good so when it came to end of school I didnt join a club as I had other things to concentrate on. I have travelled all over Europe for International and Leinster matchs. How can you say I am not a real fan? Do you think its fair that I wont get a ticket while some eejit in Senior managment for Bank of Whatever and has no interest in rugby will get to go? Do you think that its fair that someone who is a member of a GAA club in the bog arse of Mayo and has no interest in rugby will have found it easier to get his hands on a ticket than me.

Maybe since you are all knowing you could breakdown the ticket allocations for us all and put it to rest in my mind. Then maybe I can worship at your alter as you are a true rugby fan. I do not need your advice on what club to join as I already support a club and have an association with one through school. I have just never felt the need to join and go talk crap in the members bar with all the elitist idiots that attend it. This game needs to be changed from the boys club that it is in this country and I think we can all recognise this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

LFC5Times wrote:
    As regards finding it easier to get an away ticket than a home ticket, thats not true in our club, our demand for away matches makes it harder to provide away tickets than home tickets and we are a big club.

You don't need to go through a club to get away tickets. Most other federations sell at least some of their tickets online. Got numerous emails from the SRU about tickets for Murrayfield and ditto from France Billet about French internationals.

Used to live in Wales so had contacts there for matches, the Wembley tickets were sold through The Western Mail, the Welsh newspaper! Having a best friend called Evans made sure we got great tickets!

MikeHoncho wrote:
    Who the hell do you think you are to assume what kind of supporter I am. The fact of the matter is this. I have been attending rugby matchs at all levels of the game since I was a child. I played Rugby from the age of 9 untill due to Injury in school I was forced to give up. I was never very good so when it came to end of school I didnt join a club as I had other things to concentrate on. I have travelled all over Europe for International and Leinster matchs. How can you say I am not a real fan? Do you think its fair that I wont get a ticket while some eejit in Senior managment for Bank of Whatever and has no interest in rugby will get to go? Do you think that its fair that someone who is a member of a GAA club in the bog arse of Mayo and has no interest in rugby will have found it easier to get his hands on a ticket than me.

Maybe since you are all knowing you could breakdown the ticket allocations for us all and put it to rest in my mind. Then maybe I can worship at your alter as you are a true rugby fan. I do not need your advice on what club to join as I already support a club and have an association with one through school. I have just never felt the need to join and go talk crap in the members bar with all the elitist idiots that attend it. This game needs to be changed from the boys club that it is in this country and I think we can all recognise this.

Your comment says it all about you really.
    Dont bring the hard luck story in - i got injured and cant play anymore - i dont care. You can still contribute to a club.

I notice how jealous you are of the fact that i know the way the tickets are allocated and now for being a smart arse i wont tell you how its broken down.
    People like you who dont know are the fools we are talking about.

What are you giving out for over tickets if you have "travelled all over Europe for International matches" you obviously can get them or is this you spoofing and lying again ?

Just because you support Leinster or Ireland doesnt make you a real fan no, where have all these players that play for Leinster come from ? yes the clubs the likes of UCD,Lansdowne,Marys,Rock,Nure. These are the clubs that coaches these young fellas some from mini rugby some from the age of 18 +
    Also the junior clubs like Stillorgan,Parkmore, and loads more other small clubs who may not provide the International players but provide an outlet for people of all standards are just as important to the game of rugby.

Jumping on the Leinster/Ireland bandwagon doesnt make you a true supporter .

How do you know that a member of a GAA club in Mayo will find it easier to get a ticket than you ? stop talking through your rear will you.

As to why all these sponsors like Bank of Whatever whom you mention to name, all purchase tickets through the IRFU who flog them to them at inflated prices so as to make money to keep rugby alive in this country , the money they recieve from the Government is not enough and these sponsors etc are willing to pay these prices - be grateful as the IRFU wouldnt have the money to pay the players and keep them playing for the provinces if they didnt sell a small % to big corporate sponsors.
    Its the same in all sports like GAA and Soccer.

Well if you are a member of a club(and i dont believe you cos you wouldnt go on like a raving lunatic who doesnt know what he is talking about) do some work for your club because then you will have no problem getting tickets but obviously you do f-all but moan like your comments calling all club members elitist idiots .
    If you dont want to drink in the bar you dont have to but you can still do some work for the club and earn your tickets instead of thinking you have some divine right to receive them.

I doubt half your story because of some of the bull you are coming out with is insane and gives the impression of some guy who reads the Ross O'Caroll Kelly articles and books and forms judgement from them.

Also dont be ignorant of what you dont know and have some respect for someone who does know what they are talking about maybe than you may get some friends who like you and will give you a ticket but obviously your persona is that of someone that nobody wants to be stuck sitting beside you at a match.

athtrasna wrote:
    You don't need to go through a club to get away tickets. Most other federations sell at least some of their tickets online. Got numerous emails from the SRU about tickets for Murrayfield and ditto from France Billet about French internationals.

Used to live in Wales so had contacts there for matches, the Wembley tickets were sold through The Western Mail, the Welsh newspaper! Having a best friend called Evans made sure we got great tickets!

Well i guess thats a question for the Welsh Union and the SRU. Pity countries like Wales and Scotland cant sell all their own tickets especially Wales whose national sport is rugby.

Its just that with the provinces doing so well and Ireland over the last few years the demand has increased for tickets and not all these excess tickets go to guys with big chequebooks hardly any in fact.

But people should understand how much it costs to keep the game of rugby alive in schools,clubs and provincial level and whatever way you look at it,selling a small
    % of tickets to corporate sponsors at inflated prices is the only way to provide the income to keep clubs and provinces aflot and its the same in GAA and Football.

Its a non profit making organisation,its just there to provide an outlet for people to play sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

LFC5Times, please try and restrain yourself.

I don't want to have to ban such a model rugby supporter from the forum.

I helped set up a rugby team and I've been playing for over four years, done fundraising, participated in calendars etc. "for the cause", yet I have never received a ticket from a club. Can you explain this to me if you feel that that's the best and most noble way of getting a ticket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

LFC5Times wrote:
    Just because you support Leinster or Ireland doesnt make you a real fan no.
    That is the biggest load of elitest Crap I have ever had the displeasure to read. Firstly, everyone has the right to support their country, regardless of how involved they are in the sport.
    Secondly, not everybody becomes a rugby fan through school's Rugby (this is the case on the planet I live on anyway). I didn't come from a Rugby playing School or background. I am a Rugby fan (a huge one) who got into Rugby watching Ireland on TV, and being brought to Leinster games when I was younger. None of this has changed, and i am not going to start travelling the length of breadth of the country to watch Buccaneers play Cork Con, just to fit into a model you have deemed acceptable.
    Thirdly, your name is LFC5Times, I presume this means you're a staunch Liverpool fan, so how often do you head out to watch the Liverpool youth team? 'where all these players come from' (your words!) And would you expect a 'Real' soccer fan to do so in order to prove himself?
    Your a snob, LFC5times - part of the reason why Rugby has spent so long as a minority Sport, behind Soccer and GAA. You speak of its rising popularity as 'jumping on the bandwagon', as though it's your country, because you're a member of some club that happens to play the same sport.

LFC5Times wrote:
    Your comment says it all about you really.
    Dont bring the hard luck story in - i got injured and cant play anymore - i dont care. You can still contribute to a club.

I notice how jealous you are of the fact that i know the way the tickets are allocated and now for being a smart arse i wont tell you how its broken down.
    People like you who dont know are the fools we are talking about.

What are you giving out for over tickets if you have "travelled all over Europe for International matches" you obviously can get them or is this you spoofing and lying again ?

Just because you support Leinster or Ireland doesnt make you a real fan no, where have all these players that play for Leinster come from ? yes the clubs the likes of UCD,Lansdowne,Marys,Rock,Nure. These are the clubs that coaches these young fellas some from mini rugby some from the age of 18 +
    Also the junior clubs like Stillorgan,Parkmore, and loads more other small clubs who may not provide the International players but provide an outlet for people of all standards are just as important to the game of rugby.

Jumping on the Leinster/Ireland bandwagon doesnt make you a true supporter .

How do you know that a member of a GAA club in Mayo will find it easier to get a ticket than you ? stop talking through your rear will you.

As to why all these sponsors like Bank of Whatever whom you mention to name, all purchase tickets through the IRFU who flog them to them at inflated prices so as to make money to keep rugby alive in this country , the money they recieve from the Government is not enough and these sponsors etc are willing to pay these prices - be grateful as the IRFU wouldnt have the money to pay the players and keep them playing for the provinces if they didnt sell a small % to big corporate sponsors.
    Its the same in all sports like GAA and Soccer.

Well if you are a member of a club(and i dont believe you cos you wouldnt go on like a raving lunatic who doesnt know what he is talking about) do some work for your club because then you will have no problem getting tickets but obviously you do f-all but moan like your comments calling all club members elitist idiots .
    If you dont want to drink in the bar you dont have to but you can still do some work for the club and earn your tickets instead of thinking you have some divine right to receive them.

I doubt half your story because of some of the bull you are coming out with is insane and gives the impression of some guy who reads the Ross O'Caroll Kelly articles and books and forms judgement from them.

Also dont be ignorant of what you dont know and have some respect for someone who does know what they are talking about maybe than you may get some friends who like you and will give you a ticket but obviously your persona is that of someone that nobody wants to be stuck sitting beside you at a match.

The injury thing is irrelevant. As I stated I was never good enough anyway. All im saying is this. There should be another avenue for people like me, who consider themselves to be rugby fans (even if you dont think so) to get our hands on tickets for big games. If you look up the definition of fan in the dictionary I dont think it says anything about doing volunteer work for a club.

I respect the work that is done at clubs all around Ireland. As you rightly said this is how this great team has been born. I think its great that you can find the spare time to help out at your local club and are a passionate supporter of the game. But you dont have the right to decide who is worthy of a ticket and who is not. Neither do I and looking back over some of my comments maybe I went a bit far. Im just frustrated as I havent missed a match in a long long time and really would liked to have been in croker on Sunday.

davyjose wrote:
    Thirdly, your name is LFC5Times, I presume this means you're a staunch Liverpool fan, so how often do you head out to watch the Liverpool youth team? 'where all these players come from' (your words!) And would you expect a 'Real' soccer fan to do so in order to prove himself?
    Your a snob, LFC5times - part of the reason why Rugby has spent so long as a minority Sport, behind Soccer and GAA. You speak of its rising popularity as 'jumping on the bandwagon', as though it's your country, because you're a member of some club that happens to play the same sport.

Well said.

Amz wrote:
    LFC5Times, please try and restrain yourself.

I don't want to have to ban such a model rugby supporter from the forum.

I helped set up a rugby team and I've been playing for over four years, done fundraising, participated in calendars etc. "for the cause", yet I have never received a ticket from a club. Can you explain this to me if you feel that that's the best and most noble way of getting a ticket?

Id suggest the people looking after the distribution of tickets in your club obviously dont know what they are up - simple really.
    Maybe leave that club and join a proper fair club where any work you will do will be appreciated and rewarded.

I can tell you that wouldnt happen in our club,pm me the name of this club if you like.

davyjose wrote:
    That is the biggest load of elitest Crap I have ever had the displeasure to read. Firstly, everyone has the right to support their country, regardless of how involved they are in the sport.
    Secondly, not everybody becomes a rugby fan through school's Rugby (this is the case on the planet I live on anyway). I didn't come from a Rugby playing School or background. I am a Rugby fan (a huge one) who got into Rugby watching Ireland on TV, and being brought to Leinster games when I was younger. None of this has changed, and i am not going to start travelling the length of breadth of the country to watch Buccaneers play Cork Con, just to fit into a model you have deemed acceptable.

I wouldnt even lower myself to to your nonsense and level.
    Hiding behind a computer screen calling me a snob.

Your just bitter because you cant get tickets - get over it would you.

If you deserve tickets or are a REAL supporter you will get them obviously you are not so TOUGH.

As to being a Liverpool supporter yes i am as well as Dublin supporter and a Shelbourne supporter.

And yes i try and go to Dublin games if i can get tickets, if i cant fine - im not a member of a GAA club i know when there is a big demand i most likely wont get any.

Yes i support an Irish soccer team to,pay my money to go to their game and last season went to about 6/7 games, im also not a member of their club,i at least contribute money to an Irish soccer team unlike most people who support an English team and watch the Irish league suffer due to poor attendances etc.

As for Liverpool i went to 2 matches last season and one youth match - the Youth Cup final away leg played on the friday night (against Man City) before the match V Chelsea FA Cup semi final in Old Toilet(on the Saturday) so there you go,im also a student so dont have that much money but its expensive going over to England,so i support youth where possible.
    This year i havent been to a Liverpool game but will be going to the Barcelona game.

Hope your happy,and i look forward to going to Croke Park and thinking if you me aul flower

And jose all i said was join your local club and do some work you dont have to travel the length and breadth of the country,you can stay in your local club and help out with the mini rugby on a sunday or join one of the may committees.
    At the end of the day that is the only way and the FAIR way in which you will get tickets so im just letting you know the way it works, -tough if you dont like it - i do and so do most club members who do the work those who dont expect to be handed everything and im afraid jose thats not the case.

Obviously all you who say( some lie) that you are members of clubs and get no tickets are doing nothing in your club or else your club is poorly run and maybe you should join a proper club.

MikeHoncho wrote:
    The injury thing is irrelevant. As I stated I was never good enough anyway. All im saying is this. There should be another avenue for people like me, who consider themselves to be rugby fans (even if you dont think so) to get our hands on tickets for big games. If you look up the definition of fan in the dictionary I dont think it says anything about doing volunteer work for a club.

I respect the work that is done at clubs all around Ireland. As you rightly said this is how this great team has been born. I think its great that you can find the spare time to help out at your local club and are a passionate supporter of the game. But you dont have the right to decide who is worthy of a ticket and who is not. Neither do I and looking back over some of my comments maybe I went a bit far. Im just frustrated as I havent missed a match in a long long time and really would liked to have been in croker on Sunday.

Just because you where not good at rugby makes no difference,there will always be a level for you or anybody of any standard.
    And i can tell you its the guys who are not the best at rugby who play on the junior teams in a club who are the most likely to support the club and help out and receive tickets and thats a fact.
    Its the guys who are better at rugby that tend to do little or nothing and want want want, that end up getting no tickets or anything.

Im not telling you the fairest way to receive tickets but im just explaining to you the way it operates and im afraid if you dont agree fair enough but i think its fair and its the people at grassroots level who do the real work who get the tickets and i think its fair,thats all im saying and i think it should stay that way.

But seriously i guarantee you if you have something to offer or are willing to help out in a club you will be rewarded and you will gain alot of satisfaction and respect out of it.

Good Luck

LFC5Times wrote:
    I wouldnt even lower myself to to your nonsense and level.
    Hiding behind a computer screen calling me a snob.

Your just bitter because you cant get tickets - get over it would you.

If you deserve tickets or are a REAL supporter you will get them obviously you are not so TOUGH.

As to being a Liverpool supporter yes i am as well as Dublin supporter and a Shelbourne supporter.

And yes i try and go to Dublin games if i can get tickets, if i cant fine - im not a member of a GAA club i know when there is a big demand i most likely wont get any.

Yes i support an Irish soccer team to,pay my money to go to their game and last season went to about 6/7 games, im also not a member of their club,i at least contribute money to an Irish soccer team unlike most people who support an English team and watch the Irish league suffer due to poor attendances etc.

As for Liverpool i went to 2 matches last season and one youth match - the Youth Cup final away leg played on the friday night (against Man City) before the match V Chelsea FA Cup semi final in Old Toilet(on the Saturday) so there you go,im also a student so dont have that much money but its expensive going over to England,so i support youth where possible.
    This year i havent been to a Liverpool game but will be going to the Barcelona game.

Hope your happy,and i look forward to going to Croke Park and thinking if you me aul flower

And jose all i said was join your local club and do some work you dont have to travel the length and breadth of the country,you can stay in your local club and help out with the mini rugby on a sunday or join one of the may committees.
    At the end of the day that is the only way and the FAIR way in which you will get tickets so im just letting you know the way it works, -tough if you dont like it - i do and so do most club members who do the work those who dont expect to be handed everything and im afraid jose thats not the case.

Obviously all you who say( some lie) that you are members of clubs and get no tickets are doing nothing in your club or else your club is poorly run and maybe you should join a proper club.

That was a very long post for someone that refused to 'lower' themselves to my level.
    Hiding behind a computer screen? Hello, it's an internet forum!! I think you are a snob for what you said, where else should I say it?
    LFC I'm not at all bitter about not getting tickets - I resigned myself to that fact months ago. As it is I'm absolutely beside myself with excitement looking forward to watching it in the pub (and i know for a FACT there are people who will be Croke Park at 3PM for whom it will be nothing more than an interesting diversion for the afternoon)!
    Fair play to you giving support to the teams you support, but it's clearly given you a distorted view of the commitment a fan needs in order to be considered 'REAL'. Why should I have to support an entirely different team so that I can watch my country play? And not just support them, but join their club. Leinster are my local team. I go to every home game, and if I could, I'd go to more. So why should I have to support a third team, just so I have a chance of getting an Ireland ticket? It seems a very long-winded way of doing so.
    (I really hope nobody thinks I'm looking down on club Rugby - quite the opposite. But as I said, I didn't go to a Rugby School; I didn't play Rugby as a kid. I got into Rugby through watching - some might say that makes me a bandwagoner, however)

Last thing LFC, if you are 'thinking [of] me' when you're at the match, then you're a loser as well as a snob. But I suspect you were just being nasty, not literal.

davyjose wrote:
    That was a very long post for someone that refused to 'lower' themselves to my level.
    Hiding behind a computer screen? Hello, it's an internet forum!! I think you are a snob for what you said, where else should I say it?
    LFC I'm not at all bitter about not getting tickets - I resigned myself to that fact months ago. As it is I'm absolutely beside myself with excitement looking forward to watching it in the pub (and i know for a FACT there are people who will be Croke Park at 3PM for whom it will be nothing more than an interesting diversion for the afternoon)!
    Fair play to you giving support to the teams you support, but it's clearly given you a distorted view of the commitment a fan needs in order to be considered 'REAL'. Why should I have to support an entirely different team so that I can watch my country play? And not just support them, but join their club. Leinster are my local team. I go to every home game, and if I could, I'd go to more. So why should I have to support a third team, just so I have a chance of getting an Ireland ticket? It seems a very long-winded way of doing so.
    (I really hope nobody thinks I'm looking down on club Rugby - quite the opposite. But as I said, I didn't go to a Rugby School; I didn't play Rugby as a kid. I got into Rugby through watching - some might say that makes me a bandwagoner, however)

Last thing LFC, if you are 'thinking [of] me' when you're at the match, then you're a loser as well as a snob. But I suspect you were just being nasty, not literal.

No id rather youy called me a snob to my face because it would be funny to see you saying it to my face instead of saying it behind a computer screen.

Your comments about whom i support in football was so far off the point it shows how deluded you are that you have to slag off the football team i support and my username.

"Absolutely beside myself with excitement being able to watch the match in the pub" - god you must not get out much.

No all im saying is that the way tickets are distributed is fair and its through the clubs - the grassroots levels of the game and i think its a great and fair way and i can tell you it wont be changing so get used to watching it in the pub.

Just because you have jumped on the Leinster bandwagon means nothing to me because there is loads like you and none of you deserve the tickets, join a club and get the tickets thats the only way you will get tickets get used to it.

90% of Leinster supporters dont be along to a club according to a document from the Leinster Branch and it certainly rings through when you watch the muppets who follow them singing Molly Malone and they know nothing about rugby and are a poor mans Munster fans.

I will be thinking of you at the match and having a good laugh because i have informed you of how to go about getting tickets and the way its done and if you got up off ur rear and did something about it instead of moaning you could have been at the match.

By Bye baby :D

Also if you cant join a club and still want tickets maybe join the Irish Supporters club and have a chance to get tickets.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/220_639.php?PHPSESSID=5739256123ab7bd1efd976c42230212f

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

I got tickets from my club last year. I didn't apply this year because I'm not totally active in my club playing wise (injured) and can't make it to all the matches that i'd like to because of studying. I will make it to all the AIL games though. And a few of the J2's and J3's. S

So I looked elsewhere and just now confirmed my tickets.

But yes, usually clubs are the way to go for tickets.

LFC5Times wrote:
    No id rather youy called me a snob to my face because it would be funny to see you saying it to my face instead of saying it behind a computer screen.
    you say ... from behind a computer screen
    LFC5Times wrote:
    Your comments about whom i support in football was so far off the point it shows how deluded you are that you have to slag off the football team i support and my username.
    It's not off the point. I would say 99% of soccer fans aren't members of a local club, yet aren't subject to the elitest drivel that people such as yourself offer, when they go to Arsenal, or Man Utd, or liverpool - you know, clubs from a different country, yet I'm a bandwagoner for going to see Leinster play - and I live in dublin. i never once slagged off Liverpool or your name, I used them as examples to state my point
    LFC5Times wrote:
    "Absolutely beside myself with excitement being able to watch the match in the pub" - god you must not get out much.
    Ireland don't play France, in a world cup year, favourites for the 6Nations, in Croke Park ... much!
    LFC5Times wrote:
    No all im saying is that the way tickets are distributed is fair and its through the clubs - the grassroots levels of the game and i think its a great and fair way and i can tell you it wont be changing so get used to watching it in the pub.
    You said a lot more than that, which is what got people's backs up.
    LFC5Times wrote:
    Just because you have jumped on the Leinster bandwagon means nothing to me because there is loads like you and none of you deserve the tickets, join a club and get the tickets thats the only way you will get tickets get used to it.
    Again, supporting a team named "Leinster" when I come from "Leinster" makes me a bandwagoner. And what part of Liverpool are you from? By the way, who are you to tell me I don't deserve a ticket? and you say your not a snob? :rolleyes:
    LFC5Times wrote:
    90% of Leinster supporters dont be along to a club according to a document from the Leinster Branch and it certainly rings through when you watch the muppets who follow them singing Molly Malone and they know nothing about rugby and are a poor mans Munster fans.
    So what? they are allowed support their team. I didn't realise their was some 'old boy's' initiation involved
    LFC5Times wrote:
    I will be thinking of you at the match and having a good laugh because i have informed you of how to go about getting tickets and the way its done and if you got up off ur rear and did something about it instead of moaning you could have been at the match.
    then you're a fool, because I sure as hell won't be thinking of you.
    LFC5Times wrote:
    Also if you cant join a club and still want tickets maybe join the Irish Supporters club and have a chance to get tickets.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/220_639.php?PHPSESSID=5739256123ab7bd1efd976c42230212f
    You just contradicted what you said 3 paragraphs ago (and the whole basis of your [very mature] argument), that tickets will only ever go to Club members.

I'm a bit tired of this LFC5Times and I don't want a ban, so we'll have to agree to disagree - Enjoy the match!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

LFC5Times wrote:

If LFC only played 5 games in the PL you too should be absolutely excited about every match on TV or not.
    If you aint you dont have very much passion and would not make much of a fan.

Passion is sport, sport is excitement, sport is life!
    What I love about sport is that it can reduce grown men, as myseflf, to weeping, driveling fools or excitable school boys !
    If Im not going to a big match it IS a big deal watching it on TV.
    Just ask the missus...........weeklly form depends on results.
    God shes gonna have to be a patient lady when Irish rugby goes into its Scotland phase:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭netvista

hey tried that italian site http://www.ticketone.it/ for tickets but it's saying it's sold out. can anyone confirm this for me as the french match are still selling?

netvista wrote:
    hey tried that italian site http://www.ticketone.it/ for tickets but it's saying it's sold out. can anyone confirm this for me as the french match are still selling?

I dont know but i wouldnt be suprised as its a popular enough trip especially with couples and as its the Paddys weekend even more so.

Plus the stadium is not that big think it only holds around 25,000.

davyjose wrote:

I'm a bit tired of this LFC5Times and I don't want a ban, so we'll have to agree to disagree - Enjoy the match!!!

Thats what forums can be Jose - a complete difference of opinions and not everybody agrees,so lets leave it at that.

Match was good atmosphere , crap result,think we all realised how important O'Driscoll is (even those who try to say Darcy is better than him nowadays).