Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Scooters/Motorbikes pay to use toll bridge.

• 07-02-2007 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭

I just got a scooter a couple of weeks ago and I took it to work for the first time today.
    Went from Whitehall to Sandymount via Griffith AVE and Marino then onto Pearse St and through Irish Town.

I was thinking of using the east link on the way home.
    I've seen bikes there before but never paid attention to whether they paid or not.

I don't mind paying, just wanna know in advance so I can be ready.

I'm leaving in 30mins so if anyone could maybe give me an answer before then I would really, really appreciate it.

Thanks a million!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

East link is free for bikes according to http://www.eazypass.ie/?sec=rates

but if it is a motorway (which i am not sure of), you are not allowed on it on a bike of 50cc or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Ok, cool, thanks for that. My bike is only 50cc, so would I be a fool to chance it?

No problems if its a no go, I can always go home the way I cam in. Just chancing my arm is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

Go that way every day, scooters do not have to pay for eastlink. THere is also a small hole in the wall that bikes go through about 200m before too bridge, just after the bridge coming from the Northside. If you go through this go right follow road around it brings you to the church in ringsend/irishtown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

There's no fee for motorcycles/scooters on the east link. Just use the slip lane on the very left handside of the toll bridge. It's not a motorway either, so you're fully entitled to use it on your 50cc scooter...

Enjoy your 'free'dom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

What happens if a motorcyclist doesn't pay and slips through the barrier on the M1 or westlink?

but if it is a motorway (which i am not sure of), you are not allowed on it on a bike of 50cc or less.

I used to use the M50 when I had a moped. The way I looked at it I was allowed as the motorway regulation sign stated:
    No vehicles under 50cc - my moped was 50cc so was not under 50cc
    SLow vehicles (under 30mph) - my moped could do between 40 & 50mph (depending on wind direction!!)

motorway1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I used to use the M50 when I had a moped. The way I looked at it I was allowed as the motorway regulation sign stated:
    No vehicles under 50cc - my moped was 50cc so was not under 50cc
    SLow vehicles (under 30mph) - my moped could do between 40 & 50mph (depending on wind direction!!)

motorway1.gif
    Just make sure that your moped isn't under 50cc. Typically 50cc mopeds/scooters are around 47cc-49cc. You also need a full license for the category of vehicle you intend to drive on the motorway.

Oh yeah, forgot that one, I did have a provisional at the time. Good thing I wasn't caught!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I think you will find that all scooters are 49cc for this reason.

Luckycharm wrote:
    Go that way every day, scooters do not have to pay for eastlink. THere is also a small hole in the wall that bikes go through about 200m before too bridge, just after the bridge coming from the Northside. If you go through this go right follow road around it brings you to the church in ringsend/irishtown.

Hey. I am going to try the East Link again today. The last time I used it (the only time I used it) I hovered between the left lane and the middle lane till it was too late and had to take the middle lane as another car paid the toll!
    Totally fricking stupid of me, I know, and I don't want to make the same mistake twice, but I find going through town way too scary, so wanna give the East Link another go.

So, I am coming from Southside, going Northside... can some incredibly patient and understanding poster please take me through it, step by step?

Do I go up the East Link and keep to the left the whole way? When I get to the top, what do I do? Now I know that sounds totally backward, but I have never used it before and never paid much attention to bikes who are using it.

Is there a gap that bikes can fit through on the inside without waiting for the bar to rise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Stick to the left lane by the roadside. There's a painted lane for both bicycles and motorbikes. The barrier doesn't come across the lane completely so you can fit comfortably. I wouldn't advise going too fast through this and if there's a truck/van don't go up the inside as you won't fit at the same time. Ignore the information boards at the top of the plaza as it doesn't apply to bike.

Where are you coming from in the southside if town go up pearse st up past Shelbourne park go over narrow bridge at church go left. Follow road around it veers right- there is a hole in the wall there you can go through. It brings you out in front of the Toll bridge just before the bridge itself.
    If not keep to the left always barrier does not come fully across and you can drive straight through no problem. Then it is a race not to get squashed as 3 lanes become one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

A couple of slightly stupid, slightly off topic questions.

When using tolls how do you guys work it? Do you have to take your glove off and stuff? Where do you keep your money? Basically, operationally, how do you deal with tolls.?

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Dr Pepper

I find them to be a pain in the ass to be honest (esp if very cold or wet)! Never manage to get everything tucked back in properly after removing gloves and rooting through my pockets, etc

I usually just avoid them if it doesn't take me too far out of my way. (e.g) Dunboyne -> M50 southbound via lucan.... Drogheda via the old road (Julianstown).

Hey I used the East Link on the way home yesterday, and on the way in this morning, and it was great. Feel so much safe avoiding the city centre altogether.

I missed the 'hole in the wall' you mentioned, and just kept to the left, but I spotted it as I went through the toll and I will definitely be using it this afternoon.

I probably wouldn't be brave enough to use it when coming form North to South though... don't think I have the balls to cut across oncoming traffic to get into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

The barrier in the far left lane on the east link sticks out alot and is kind of dangerous, careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

MrPudding wrote:

When using tolls how do you guys work it? Do you have to take your glove off and stuff? Where do you keep your money? Basically, operationally, how do you deal with tolls.?

MrP

I only use the M50 toll bridge if I have to, or when I feel it is safer to do so - for example during the icy weather.

On occasion, if I have to get home or to work quickly I will go that way.

I have two ways of dealing with the Toll Bridge.
    1) the quick way - I have a tank bag, in which I generally have a couple of €1 coins, and I can fish them out with my new gloves still on - not my winter ones though.

2) the slow way - which I employ when I have time, am too cold and need a rest to warm up etc. Here I take off the gloves - both because I can't open the zip on my wallet with them both on, and fish out the coins.

Sometimes (actually only when I have no time), I arrive up at the booth and see loads of coins on the ground. I am very tempted to get off the bike and pick them up and hand them in as the toll, but like I say, I only seem to see them when I am in a rush to get through and have already skipped 300m of cars to jump the queue...

L.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭saobh_ie

MrPudding wrote:

MrP

Eastlink Toll Procedure:
    - Big Cheesy Grin
    - Ride on

Westlink Toll Procedure:
    - Filter to almost the top of the queue, on the left where the trucks go, queue looks long but its actually short. Slot in in front of a car or van, never a truck.
    - Stop at barrier.
    - Open visor.
    - Find neutral.
    - Sidestand down.
    - Say hello to boothie.
    - Remove gloves.
    - Remove undergloves.
    - Unzip high vis jacket.
    - Unzip rain jacket.
    - Unzip bike jacket.
    - Unzip pocket.
    - Take out €1 coin.
    - Get 20 cent change.
    - Thank boothie.
    - Put change in pocket.
    - Zip up pocket.
    - Zip up jacket.
    - Zip up rain gear.
    - Zip up high vis.
    - Put back on undergloves. (Difficult)
    - Adjust gloves and cuffs.
    - Put on gloves.
    - Adjust gloves till comfortable.
    - Side stand up.
    - Rear observations.
    - Select gear.
    - Left and right shoulder check.
    - Pull away slowly, with further rear observation.
    - Clear booth.
    - Accelerate to making swift progress.
    - Close visor.
    - Head for the M7 toll bridge to do it all again.

Emergency Westlink Toll Bridge Procedure
    - Hide behind a van.
    - Big cheesy grin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

The trick is to take a much time as possible to get that little 80c out. Make them wait for their blood money, shower of c*nts :mad:

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I missed the 'hole in the wall' you mentioned, and just kept to the left, but I spotted it as I went through the toll and I will definitely be using it this afternoon.

I probably wouldn't be brave enough to use it when coming form North to South though... don't think I have the balls to cut across oncoming traffic to get into it.

It is fine go home that way- normally the traffic is at a standstill so just indicate and they will normally let you through as it is not as if you are holding them up. IF you are going into town it is much quicker!! Can bikes use that buslane beside Pearse st garda station instead of going around by the quays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

saobh_ie, you forgot about getting off your bike! Yes, it can be dragged out even longer. Did you ever notice the way the ground beside some of the booths isn't level? When you stop, neutral, take hands off the brake, and the bike rolls back! Much safer to dismount the bike!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Bikes can use the buslanes at Pearse st, turn right at Georges St onto Dame st and go down O'Connell St from Parnell Square. This is all marked on the signs near these spots. There's a few more of these around but I can't think of them at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

saobh_ie wrote:
    Westlink Toll Procedure:
    - Filter to almost the top of the queue, on the left where the trucks go, queue looks long but its actually short. Slot in in front of a car or van, never a truck.
    - Stop at barrier.
    - Open visor.
    - Find neutral.
    - Sidestand down.
    - Say hello to boothie...............
    - Close visor.
    - Head for the M7 toll bridge to do it all again.

Seen a guy one morning, bout 2am. There was only one cashier booth open, so cars had little choice to go behind him. I was in no rush, so sat back and had a good laugh (was in the cage).
    He really dragged it out, he got off the bike, took his helmet off (a flip up!!), fished around for change, then decided he didnt have any. Got his wallet out, gave in a note. Then I reckon he asked the boothie how he was...and hows the missus...etc..
    Put all his gear back on, gave his head light a wipe, and away he went.
    People behind were loosin the rag altogether, beepin an shoutin. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭selephonic

Bikes can use the buslanes at Pearse st, turn right at Georges St onto Dame st and go down O'Connell St from Parnell Square. This is all marked on the signs near these spots. There's a few more of these around but I can't think of them at the moment.

Left from Dawson St to nassau, although private cars tend to do it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

there is no need to pay for the west link. None. Simply drive up on the left hand side of whatever lane you choose,slow down when approaching the barrier and drive around it. there is Ample gap between where the barrier ends and the next toll booth in order for you to do this. it is a disgrace that bikers are made pay for this stupid toll (especially when you consider the hassle of taking out the money etc). to hell with them and their toll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭saobh_ie

The Doktor wrote:
    Seen a guy one morning, bout 2am. There was only one cashier booth open, so cars had little choice to go behind him. I was in no rush, so sat back and had a good laugh (was in the cage).
    He really dragged it out, he got off the bike, took his helmet off (a flip up!!), fished around for change, then decided he didnt have any. Got his wallet out, gave in a note. Then I reckon he asked the boothie how he was...and hows the missus...etc..
    Put all his gear back on, gave his head light a wipe, and away he went.
    People behind were loosin the rag altogether, beepin an shoutin. :D

Mhuhahahaha!!! Was this about two months before Christmas heading in the Limerick direction... red flip up lid... red bike... clear plastic rain jacket (possibly with yellow high-vis underneath)? On the M7 of course? I used to have a bit of a thing for one of the booth girls there.

Also, was it here that some dude posted about dropping his change at the toll booth and getting off the bike to pick it up and then left the toll booth about 14 euros better off from all the change he picked up?

@romperstomper, you never warned people about the big assed siern that go's off when you do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

@saobh
    fair enough, but we hear fire engine sirens, ambulance etc all the time. they are such a daily occurance on the road that it didn't occur to me to mention them. nothing to do with the paltry 80c, but i get a small sense of satisfaction everytime i go through those barries. there is another thread in motors about how those gangsters (the government) allow NTR to build the bridge on a road built by taxpayers money and then take all the tolls for 30 years. you can't blame NTR. like any other company there are out to make money. if you were the ceo of a company and we're offered such a guaranteed winner would you turn it down? and why should they change anything? they are making money.

if you want to blame someone blame the government of the day and every one since that put up with this farce. about the best jo average can do is vote them out and tell them where to go when they come round canvassing.

on the other hand the people of bolivia took to the streets when their government sold them out (privatised the drinking water), so I think over 15 years of this crap warrants a protest in the form of a blocade. there must be tens of thousands of disgruntled M50 users out there, it surely won't take more than a few hours to get the point across................

in the meantime i'll keep burning through there and they can keep blaring that horn

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

Im afraid your Moped could be 49cc, check the log book. the reason the size of the bore is smaller than specified is to allow for oversizing the cylinder, ie. re bore and fitting an oversize piston when the cylinder gets worn. If it was exactly 50cc a re bore would bring it over the specified size size, Insurance companies are aware of this. My Honda Bros Specifies 398cc on the log book. You would probably get away with it but in the case of an accident on the M50 your insurance could be null & void!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Bradidup wrote:
    Im afraid your Moped could be 49cc, check the log book. the reason the size of the bore is smaller than specified is to allow for oversizing the cylinder, ie. re bore and fitting an oversize piston when the cylinder gets worn. If it was exactly 50cc a re bore would bring it over the specified size size, Insurance companies are aware of this. My Honda Bros Specifies 398cc on the log book. You would probably get away with it but in the case of an accident on the M50 your insurance could be null & void!!.
    The person with the scooter wants to use the east link...so shes grand.