Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pre-Booking with GAME?

• 07-02-2007 12:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else here getting a pre-booking in with GAME?
    Have you registered your interest?And what do you think to their approach to pre-booking this time around?I'm first on the list in GAME on Dawson Street.
    Do you think they will do a midnight launch again?And if they do will you go?
    I also started this thread so as if me or anyone else here gets the word that they're taking deposits we can post it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Bananna man

Have they not started already? I have my pre order done with xtravision since last september :) No. 1 on list. I would have thought they would be taking deposits at this stage with all the launch details confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

Tomorrow, or Friday week?I spoke to the manager in GAME on Dawson Street and he said it should be in the next day or so.Oh and a little word of advice, if you ring a GAME store don't speak to whoever answers the phone, ask for a manger.It saves your head some hurt!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

screw you man. managers throw out more crap than anyone in the shops its just the public are fools who buy it because he wears a shirt.

oh and just for that im gonna scribble your name off ;)

evad_lhorg wrote:
    screw you man. managers throw out more crap than anyone in the shops its just the public are fools who buy it because he wears a shirt.

oh and just for that im gonna scribble your name off

Rightio...So when I come in I'll just say I'm that big squiggle at the top.:D
    So who are you then?I have been in enough I'd say I'll remember you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

Game are taking preorders from Tuesday 13th.. €50 deposit, no bundle requirement. Just announced today.

Yeah Just found that out there also, you beat me too it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Kevin2006

Game are taking preorders from Tuesday 13th.. €50 deposit, no bundle requirement. Just announced today.

Is that every Game shop in Ireland? Im down in Limerick, it might be different in Dublin

Well considering the UK GAME stores are taking their pre-orders from tomorrow (saturday 10th) it looks like it's a bit all over the place.Although I would think all their Irish stores would do it the same.Ring your local store and ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

UK stores start tomorrow (including Northern Ireland) Republic stores all start on Tuesday.

Rightio...So when I come in I'll just say I'm that big squiggle at the top.:D
    So who are you then?I have been in enough I'd say I'll remember you.

that stunningly handsome fellow:D

So can evad_lhorg re-confirm that it is in-fact Tuesday that GAME will start taking pre-orders?

ill tell you tomorrow

It's tomorrow now!!!!:D ***Sits waiting patiently***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I can confirm it.
    Preorders start tuesday at 50 bones. everyone who gets a deposit is guaranteed a console on launch.
    Also you will need a reward card to make a pre-order but we are giving reward cards for free with the deposit.

Good luck all!

So who's going to GAME on Tuesday?And do you reckon it would be worth getting in for opening?

I would advise it. But then you're looking at going very early to beat the crowds, all very messy :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭abcxyz123

yeah, they rang me 2day...defo in early. what time wud ye say?!

Which store gave you a call?
    Also for Slurms and evad_lhorg, have they got official pre-order tickets then or what?
    Like with the Wii?With your number and everything? ***Admires the professionalism***

Yeah I assume we'll be using the same tickets. I'm not in on tuesday (thank God) so I'm not definite on that, but the system worked well so i can't see why we wouldnt use it again.
    Though apparently there's gonna be alot of the consoles available so going very early might not be a necessity.

hi, it was the patrick street game in cork, they said once they gave you a ticket/pre-order receipt, ure guaranteed one, and that theres no real point to come in that early, also any joe-soap cant just walk in, you have to have previously registered your interest and she said she had 4 a4 pages,30 a page is only 120 people.

Yeah I was told pretty much the same thing, they said they won't be taking pre-orders from people who come in off the street until they have everyone on their interest list sorted out.And that's assuming they have any consoles left after that.
    (This is GAME on Dawson Street in Dublin)

Jaysus only 5 weeks til launch. Dunno if I can afford it! :p Meh a pre-order is still goin down! Apparently stock of the controller will be limited...

So were are you going to stick your order down Slurms?
    I'm assuming you can't put one down in your own store?
    And in GAME in the UK you get to book games and peripherals with the console pre-order, do you know if that's the case here?I want something official with the number 1 written on it as my place in line!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Guys,
    just pre-ordered a system with GAME (as a present for someone, already have a Jap one)..
    Not sure where the story about GAME only allowing pre-orders for pre-registered people at first came from, as I know 3 lads who just walked in and pre-ordered one no problem. GAME are not going to ignore people just walking in......their money is as good as anyone elses.
    Fairly limited uptake in Liffey Valley this morning, but no worse than the 360 or Wii at the same stage.
    As has been reported, GAME will only hold onto the reservation (if you get one, not 100% guaranteed) for 3 days from launch with games ranging from €75-80 (not confirmed) but I'm sure GAME will add on an extra fiver or so for the launch window going on their past history...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭fdevine

As far as I know, and as far as I have been led to believe, a deposit in GAME is supposed to guarantee a PS3. I was told they are only pre-booking as many as they are guaranteed to get at launch. This may have changed since though.

I went to GAME, Dawson Street and booked mine at lunchtime anyway. €50 down, €580 minimum to find in 5 weeks.:eek:

Games and accessories are available to pre-order and a note of your games and accessories is on your pre-book sheet.

Well as fdevine says,
    if your amongst the very first few pre-ordering, there won't be an issue.......but GAME, Smyths, Xtra-Vision etc. can only see into the future with a certain degree of uncertainty.
    No doubt they have been informed by their head offices of how many systems they have requested, but as we've seen in the past there are always instances of disappointed people on launch day.
    All that is known at the moment is that the consoles are on their way from China via boat to be ready for launch, however Sony's original 1m estimate for EU is by all accounts, way over the actual units available on launch.
    There is also final quality checks to be performed by Sony Europe on said units, so there are a few more obstacles in the way before launch.
    Any of these factors could limit units shipped to stores, regardless of how many people have been sold pre-orders.
    Of course, GAME always cover themselves by not explictly stating in the T&C that you have a system, only that you'll be informed when its available for collection, and that they can cancel your pre-order at any time (such as when they don't have enough!).
    Personally I think the PS3 will be seen in stores a few weeks after the launch window, as the price is still prohibative for Joe Public and Sony have been doing an excellent job with production since January.

Having said that, I'd expect all you early adoptors out there with pre-orders will be OK come launch, only you'll have a massive hole in your wallet:D

I'm one of the people with a ticking time bomb in my wallet.:D
    I'm number 2 in GAME on Dawson street, I couldn't believe it when I got there at 8.25am and there was someone there before me.Ah well who cares, that's a second console guaranteed.:)

I also pre-booked Sonic The Hedgehog and Resistance, and I booked and extra pad and the memory card adaptor if it's available at launch.
    And they literally used the words, "You are guaranteed a console on launch day"

i also, prebooked...no games tho...i'll prob jus buy em off ebay anyway..i cud get resistence now for around 65. and the controllers are goin for about 45. cheaper than what can be expected in game.

True, although you don't know what crap GAME are going to try to drop on us at the last minute.For example you have to buy at least one game or if they force something else stupid.I'm going to just wait it out and pay the price at first, then once I have my PS3 snug beside my Wii I'll get things the cheap way.

yeah......i can pre-empt the phone call...'yes we will have your console..but you'll also have to buy a psp':D :D i rang them there and added a controller..
    what game r u getting?? i was thinking resistence fall of man..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 endahehir

I was in the Limerick Game this morning at 8am as I was on my way to work (handy) and there were 5 people there. Not sure how many came after that but I know that I'm number 2 on the list :) They said that they would get in around 100 PS3's. They also said that Gamestop would be getting ZERO! And HMV in Limerick would be only getting 2!!!!!! Not sure if can believe that but if thats true.......mamma pajamma :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

hey guys..can any of yous confirm that places like xtra-vision,game on north side of dublin or symths are still taking pre-orders?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Slurms wrote:
    Apparently stock of the controller will be limited...
    Wha?

i'm assuming we're talking about a 2nd controller in addition to the one in the box?
    before i go and pre-order one and get it home to find no controller with it! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Got a call as well €50 deposit out March.
    Only launching the bigger Hard Disk model.

But €630!!!!!!!!!! ffs lads, figured on 600 but the extra €30 is taking the mick, VAT rate my arse. Every other EU country has(on average) a 20% rate but only Ireland get a 630 rate.
    WE SHOULD GET IT AT €599 LIKE THE REST OF EUROPE.

IRISH CONSOLE RETAILERS AT TAKING A MASSIVE LIBERTY BY ADDING ON THEIR OWN €30, (WHICH IS NOT FOR VAT)
    :mad:
    *see VAT rates for europe in the other PS3 launch cost thread

Every other EU country has(on average) a 20% rate but only Ireland get a 630 rate.

Actually a majority of Europe's tax rate is 16%.
    I'm not about to cry over €30 to be honest, it's not going to change anything, it's €630 and that's that.I was expecting €650 so I'm happy with the price.
    vibe666 wrote:
    Wha?

i'm assuming we're talking about a 2nd controller in addition to the one in the box?
    before i go and pre-order one and get it home to find no controller with it!

They meant extra controllers, one will come in the box guaranteed.:)
    I'm glad I put down a pre-order for my second pad.:)
    endahehir wrote:
    I know that I'm number 2 on the list

Snap!:)
    I'm number 2 also in GAME, and number 1 in my local Xtra Vision, so that's two consoles guaranteed.:D
    abcxyz123 wrote:
    what game r u getting?? i was thinking resistance fall of man..

I booked Sonic The Hedgehog and Resistance Fall Of Man.
    Resistance looks deadly, can't wait to have a shot online, it and Sonic are the best titles on release in my opinion, with call of duty and oblivion being my next priority.
    After I register for my free copy of Casino Royale I'm heading straight to download GT-HD.

Resistance is meant to be awful, a mate of mine played it in the States. i'll be buying Virtua Fighter 5 and dunno what else with mine. Oh and also the HDMI cable (stoopid scabby Sony)

Resistance is definitely worth a pop if your a FPS fan....even loaned it to my brother who didn't like the look of it at all in the first few levels, and he came away saying it was one of the best FPS of the last few years..
    Sonic on the other hand, is as bad as the 360 one........but if anyone liked/bought that, there's no point in going with the PS3 version..
    From what I heard in-store yesterday, people are pre-ordering Resistance and Motorstorm the most..
    Motorstorm is great fun and any racing fan should pick it up, certainly in its new and improved multiplayer version (if implemented properly anyway)
    No doubt everybody will test the PS Store by downloading GTHD, but don't forget that Tekken DR should alo be available in the store at a budget price.....the Hong Kong version is excellent, the Euro version should be the improved version the US are getting later in the month....especially as it seems VF5 will not make it out for launch (30th Mar at last reckoning, although you could import the Jap/US version by then)..
    Virtua Tennis fans may also go for it on launch, but if online play is important to people you're better off waiting for the 360 version..

The rest of the games are pretty standard fair, with the cross-platform games being the same or slightly worse than the 360 versions.......Oblivion is looking like it'll have a slight edge on the 360 one, but its old news, especially if you're playing on PC..
    The likes of Genji, NFS etc. are bargain basement releases that wouldn't look out of place on the last gen machines..

For those pre-ordering 2nd pads, there was talk of a shortage for launch, but don't forget that you're looking at €55-60 going on Komplett prices, and thats approching the price of a game. Better off looking at importing a pad, no reason why they shouldn't work (US one working with my Jap system) and could be found for closer to €40..

Noticed that GAME avoided the €630 word yesterday, judging by the Wii, I wouldn't be surprised to see them bump it upto €650, if only to make their bundles seem more attractive........not fair and shouldn't be allowed of course, but its not unprecedented..

McDermotX wrote:
    Noticed that GAME avoided the €630 word yesterday, judging by the Wii, I wouldn't be surprised to see them bump it upto €650, if only to make their bundles seem more attractive........not fair and shouldn't be allowed of course, but its not unprecedented..
    Nope, everyone we rang were informed of the €630 price.

acecard, I did put my pre-order down in my store. Nothing wrong with that, Staff are customers aswell.

Slurms wrote:
    Nope, everyone we rang were informed of the €630 price.

acecard, I did put my pre-order down in my store. Nothing wrong with that, Staff are customers aswell.

That's good to hear Slurms......I assume you work in GAME ?
    What happened with the Wii price hike?... In all fairness, it wasn't just GAME who latched on €20 onto Nintendo's RRP of €250, but they are as guilty as everyone who did.
    Likewise Sony's RRP is €630, it is up to the retailer's to enforce this price, or to try and increase their margin, and that is something GAME has done in the past on hardware and software.

Well I'm a mark for Sonic so I'll love this one just like I loved the other ones that got a crap score, I also think Resistance looks class!And I will definitely be giving GT-HD a go after I register the PS3 for my free Casino Royale movie.
    And when I booked in GAME they said the console was €629.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭pete

Slurms wrote:
    Resistance is meant to be awful

It's not. Having just finished GoW, i'll admit my first reaction when i started playing Resistance was "uhhhh...... ", but once it kicks off it's pretty awesome. The sheer scale of some of the firefights is incredible. One bad thing about it is an absolutely atrocious Irish accent bang in the middle of the game. Woeful.

The Motorstorm demo is indeed fantastic, too bad it's just the one track.

I think one problem with people being disappointed with Fall of Man is that people who like gears play it thinking it's similar when to me they look completely different.I may be wrong, but a lot of the reviews I read(which were mostly good by the way) kept comparing it to Gears and Halo in nearly every paragraph.

True,
    the fact they came out the same time, lead to this Resistance Vs. GOW mentality....that and people had PS3 Vs. 360 on the brain..
    FoM is much closer to a typical FPS (Call of Duty etc) and therefore does nothing more than a traditional style FPS. BUT it does do it very well..
    For me, Gears of War became a very average game about 20mins into it, and didn't improve much throughout the game.
    FoM on the other hand, improved exponentially as the levels wore on (massive game by the way), and the 40player multiplayer is excellent. Very similar to the old PC deathmatch games, with no lag at all over wifi, if you've a decent connection anyway.
    What Gears of War done well is on the presentation front, but they forgot to add a core game with playability, variety and length. They aren't really similar games, and I'm sure there are people who'll not take to FoM in much the same way I didn't take to GoW.
    Personal opinion, which I'm entitled to, I'm sure there's a lot of people out there who feel the same way about GoW and just as many who love it, so lets leave it at that.

As it stands, its certainly in the top 3 launch titles and FPS fans shouldn't have a second thought about picking it up (certainly over the boring COD3)

On the plus side,
    GAME are now listing Virtua Fighter 5 as a launch title (23rd), so that should be an automatic purchase for a lot of you..
    Have the Jap version here myself, but haven't had a chance to play it, but any reviews so far have been overwhelmingly positive.
    I was a big fan of 1 and 2 on the Saturn, but lost the desire around the time of 3tb on the Dreamcast, lost interest with 4.............so I'm hoping to get back into the fifth with any luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Virtua Fighter 5 is coming out on the 20th of this month in America

ill be getting it

looking forward to it

reviews are very good so far

and pete you should get the jap version of motorstorm its just mouth watering
    it doesnt have multiplayer but its still class

Ok after reading reviews Resistance is definitely being bought.

As for the Wii price thing, I dunno what happened there. We were just given the price no explanation.

That was a very quick mind changing decision there Slurms.:)
    That's one more person I'll be playing with online now.:D
    Also which branch are you at?

I work in Blanchardstown. I'm hoping staff are allowed buy before 9 like with the Wii so I can skive off college and play all day!! :D
    Yeah very quick change of mind, but I cant think of another game to buy with VF5 so Resistance it is.

Provided GAME on Dawson Street do a midnight launch I'll still have a few hours in before you!:p And I'll have secured my Copy of Bond.
    Please tell me the friends list with the PS3 is easier to handle than with the Wii...

Yeah I'd say they will and all. I'd hate to be involved in all the madness though!!

Just traded in my PSP, Gamecube and a few games got myself €270 in vouchers. This PS3 ain't gonna be so expensive :p
    Yeah hope the friends list is easy like the 360. The Wii's one is so ridiculously complicated, awkward and time-consuming.
    I'm actually getting really excited about this now! VF5 will be godly! Heavenly Sword looks good too.

EDIT: Talked to my mate, he said the PS3 friend system is similar to the 360's. Good stuff!!