Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema Etiquette

• 06-02-2007 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭

so anyways, i went to see the departed last weekend(long over due but oh so worth it!).

stupidly i thought "leave this movie towards the last couple of weeks of screening to get a nice quiet, relaxed environment.

dundrum cinema was quite empty 5mins before the lights went out. i was in one of the screen's downstairs, think it was number 11. took my seat about four rows from the back and to the 3/4 the way into the row.

what happens i hear you ask? well only 2 polish guys walk in and BAM, i got two heads partially blocking my view. then to rub salt in the womb, a woman sits one seat BESIDE ME.. FFS, the damn place is emtpy-ish (about 20 ppl sitting in various locations), why must they invade my personal space.
    thinkin of sitting in the front row from now on!

oh and dont EVEN get me started on the never-ending bags of skittles/sweets that they noisily have to keep digging into long into the second hour of the movie!

AAAAGGGGHHHHHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Was there was nothing stopping you from moving? I mean, when the two guys sat infront of you, was there someone behind you with a gun to your head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

1) Get up.
    2) Move your prefered number of seats in your prefered direction.
    3) Sit down.
    4) Relax, and enjoy the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

While I totally agree with Karl and Aidan on this I do wonder was it sheep mentality that caused them to sit near you, or was it that you had chosen the perfect seat for eye level, distance from screen etc, and they were getting as close to perfect as possible?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

We're you wearing Lynx? Or as our Dutch friends call it, "Axe"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

As others have so subtly said you could of moved but maybe your post was more of a rant if anything and outlining the major negatives that we incur when we go to the cinema, no matter what time I seem to go at these days there always seem to either be loud messy teenagers or people just being loud and annoying in general. I have lost count on the amount of times i have told people to shut up and even threatened one or two, granted they were around 12 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Agreed. You should have moved. If the cinema was relatively empty there was nothing stopping you moving.

However, one thing that bugs me in the cinema, and this is too common a complaint, and one not easily solved... it's people who make goddamn noise during a film. Talking, eating loud, snorting, whatever it is, it makes me want to kill kill kill! I'm beginning to think that maybe there is a case to be made for banning food during films. Nothing takes you out of a film like some ****wit rustling a bag or chomping on handfulls of popcorn, the most baffling foodstuff to be served during a film. Maybe I'm going overboard, but making noise during a film should be grounds for torture and execution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

as a man, I have no idea what it's like to have salt in your womb but I do sympathise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Maybe all of ye were trying for that ultimate cinema position - MIDDLE CENTRE!!!!

I don't see why you didn't just move. You're worse of a grouch than me.

Sat through a while of some teenagers talking during Bobby the weekend before last before moving a few seats over beside them and telling them all in no uncertain terms that they were going to shut the **** up right now.

Lo and behold they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Mordeth wrote:
    as a man, I have no idea what it's like to have salt in your womb but I do sympathise.

I missed that in the OP's post - I think my brain automatically corrected it. Brilliant - I'm using that in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Petey2006 wrote:
    Maybe I'm going overboard...

D'ya think? :D

Maybe just a little...but munching food loudly is nowhere near annoying to me as the guys who snort derisively and say stuff like:

"Yeah, you see that couldn't happen because the molecular structure of DNA can't be altered in that way without destroying the underlying histone core...blah, blah, blah..."

It winds me up because you just know the tosser is deliberately saying it loudly enough to show off their knowledge :rolleyes: We could all do that kind of thing at some point in almost any film :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

There's some reason why you couldn't just SBD and clear the place...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭iremex

of course i could have moved. that would not of have had prevented this "rant" now would it. maybe it would have started "oh some fcukers started moving onto my turf so i had to relocate" but the basis was still going to be there.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

most annoying without doubt is the teenager who speaks loudly on purpose just to be cool and break the rules.

If you don't get what i am talking about go to a cinema in Limerick

damn my stupid autocorrecting incorrectly brain.!

i would sympathise with me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,470 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

anyone causing distraction during a movie bugs me, the people who laugh too hard annoy me, the people who kick the back of the seat in the row behind me really annoy me as do the people who stick their feet up on the seats in front of themselves.

i'd be slightly annoyed if somebody sat straight in front of me or beside me if the place was empty, but yeah like said above it's easy enough to move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Maybe all of ye were trying for that ultimate cinema position - MIDDLE CENTRE!!!!
    Nope, the ultimate cinema position is - AT HOME IN FRONT OF YOUR WIDE SCREEN SURROUND SOUND SYSTEM!!!

OP, I can sympathise. I rarely go to Cinemas these days for the reason you mentioned. The last time I went was about 2 years ago and the exact same thing happened. Plus you get the predictible bunch of noisy bovine teens, txting each other like gimps all film long and generally acting like they've run out of Ritalin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I hate it when my view is blocked by a pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

^
    Lawl

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

iremex wrote:
    of course i could have moved. that would not of have had prevented this "rant" now would it. maybe it would have started "oh some fcukers started moving onto my turf so i had to relocate" but the basis was still going to be there.!

"Iremex, this is not gang warfare, this is the cinema. We have rules."

(Yeah yeah, I know, I'll go sit in the corner now...it was worth it, damnit!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

If ye guys want total peace and quiet, wait until the movie hits DVDs and watch it at home, problem solved. You're never going to get peace and quiet in a cinema screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭MrAbc

I saw Groundhog Day in a cinema at the time it was released. Great film, really enjoyed it, however...

...to this day it makes me laugh to recall the woman behind me who seemed to be genuinely hating the film. The whole basis for humour in the film was Bill Murray's repeating day but this woman would loudly moan or groan to her companion with lines like: "Oh God, not again!!" ...then: "Oh Jesus!!" ...then: "Oh for fux sake!!!"

Her misery made that particular film all the funnier :D

[Worst of all, though, is when a chorus of other people start complaining about noise with their own "all-powerful" tut-tutting and rolling of eyes!! :rolleyes: Particularly if the original offender can't hear or see them and it all drags on interminably with a four minute finale of "Shhhhhh....." from twenty different people. Makes you want to jump up and scream, "Would you all shut the FCUK UP", though I rarely do --- okay, read that as 'never do' :-) ]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭The Denouncer

A few cinema going annoyances that must be denounced:

The seat kickers. Damn them seat kickers.

The empty-drink straw suckers, as if trying to suck the ice up the straw.

The teenagers trying to "you know, cool" in front of their friends laughing at bare bums in Apocalypto etc.

The late arrivers, who come in just as the movie is starting and <Jaws theme> eye the seat in front of you..and approach..your perfect view is spoiled.

The big heads, tend to miss me but plonk themselves in front of 5' 2" wife. I'm too much of a gentleman though to swap seats, in case I ruin it for people behind us.

The scumbags "ah jaysus its just a dog for f**s sake bleedin' load of crap".

The phone fiddlers.

The up-and-downers, always on your row and on the inside, have a very small bladder or some such problem. Up and down every 10 minutes.

The cold cinema. You're sitting in the cinema and gradually feel colder and colder, until you're tempted to put your jacket back on.

The warm cinema. See - cold cinema -, and do the opposite.

The wrong cinema. People who jump up ten minutes into a film and shout "jaysus its da wrong film!"

The wrong seat. 10 minutes of seat swapping ensues right in front of you, all because people can't read their ticket, or don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Monkeyto

I can understand the guys sitting in front of you would be alittle irritating, but someone sitting beside you? Whats the problem? This little phobia tends to happen on Buses and trains as well. When Someone sits beside them on the train, if an empty two seater becomes availible they'll move...but will only take up one space of the two seater :S Just seems odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Got a similar story from last night, went to see Blood Diamond with the other half and being a Tuesday evening the cinema was fairly quite.

Film was on in Screen 1 in Ster Century, the Big Fella, so we picked a row about 10 down from the back and sat in seat 1 and 2 next to the wall - now this isnt peak times so you sit where you like.

2 minutes before the film begins (our row empty apart from us) an older couple start making their way down our row looking at their tickets and the man goes to me "those are our seats but i'll let you stay there" and continues to sit down in the seat right beside me. I mean WTF!!!!?

A half empty cinema with plenty of seats, better seats at that available. So for the duration of the film they stay there sitting beside us - what goes through their minds? Why would anyone do that.... I can not understand it.

^

oh the pain of it all.! so you got 2 outta the 12 irks of the denouncer?
    its the blatent disregard of disregarding cinema rules...

what they need to do is create a cinema with partitions between seats, make them soundproof and slightly elavated. something a la "amsterdam red light district shows". omitting the red carpets and roll of bounty on the walls of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,592 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Went to see Apocolypto last week. sitting in grand seats, thoroughly enjoying the movie, gettin really into it, really careing about the characters and such, when, all of a sudden a couple with armfulls of popcorn, sweets and drinks come down and sit 2 seats away. OVER AN HOUR INTO THE FILM! Seriously, it was at the point where
    the heads are rolling down the temple, just before the eclipse
    . This was ok, it was kinda like WTF is the point, but anyway. Low and Behold they start talking. Not whispering, actually talking at normal volume, laughing at the most inappropriate stuff such as
    the guy who helps Jaguar Paw when running to reach the corn, and subsequently gets his head bashed in and killed, this after we've seen what he's gone through and his wife being raped and killed
    was just really disconcerting to hear the 2 of em gaffawing at it. Most ignorant bastards ever seen i'd say!