Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker show on CH. 4 now!!!!

• 24-01-2007 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭

It's called "£50 Says You'll Watch This."

Just flicking through and came across it, so watch it at your peril if you want!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭Mr. Flibble

Just flicked on now. Looks interesting. Who's the guy playing on Tribeca, is he a big 20/40 name?

Some idiot who says that to be a good poker player at times you have to be able to bet your whole net worth on a hand.

Wow, Hellmuth got half of a True/False quiz right. Wish I could be taught to do that.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

At least is being made from the point of view of someone who likes poker even if it is not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Yeah it wasn't too bad. A bit of fun, I suppose and some star spotting. It didn't go mad with alterior motives. Although I only really had one eye on it while 4-tabling. [Thank god for boards and my previous thread today... :D:D]

Actually does anyone know who that Tribeca player is, "JP" or whatever his name was, apparently he's sponsored by someone??

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

His bluesq hoodie and the fact that he was playing on bluesq may have been a hint in that respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Wow, Hellmuth got half of a True/False quiz right. Wish I could be taught to do that.

that was great the guy was amazed at hellmuths reading skills after he got 50% of ten true or false questions right:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

nicnicnic wrote:
    that was great the guy was amazed at hellmuths reading skills after he got 50% of ten true or false questions right:rolleyes:

I was looking at this part thinking it was a p1ss take. FFS. 10 random events and he get 50% of them right and then talks about how reading people is one of his key skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    However, the consternation created by Phil Laak over the bit of bad language was hilarious.

Was he serious?. I always thought he seemed a chilled-out bloke who wouldn't be upset over an f-word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

5starpool wrote:
    His bluesq hoodie and the fact that he was playing on bluesq may have been a hint in that respect.
    Not really, I don't know what players are sponsored by Bluesq....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Was he serious?.

He was and i dont blame him. It wasnt about the curse it was about taking liberties. You cant just let outsiders get away with things easily. You have to keep them in their place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

Does anyone know if this will be shown again (E4/More4) or is there anywhere online to watch this? That Hellmuth piece sounds brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

delanec8 wrote:
    Does anyone know if this will be shown again (E4/More4) or is there anywhere online to watch this? That Hellmuth piece sounds brilliant!

think C4 are showing most of there schedule online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

He was and i dont blame him. It wasnt about the curse it was about taking liberties. You cant just let outsiders get away with things easily. You have to keep them in their place.

What happened there exactly I was flicking around during the ad break and so I missed that part, I only saw where he looked really embarrassed. Did he say something to Laak's missus, that actor one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

homerjk wrote:
    What happened there exactly I was flicking around during the ad break and so I missed that part, I only saw where he looked really embarrassed. Did he say something to Laak's missus, that actor one?

I think yer man went "Fcuking hell" or something like that, and Laak said he didn't want to hear any profanities at the table in case his mother would see it. I really doubt Laak was serious, but if the effect was to unsettle the hero, then it worked. He was a mess in that game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

dont know if ye the saw the one on tuesday nite.

but he was interviewing this guy in Vegas who got Breasts for a year on a 100K bet.

The dude decided to keep the breasts as it became a good money earner to have them lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

Ah cheers. Thats a pity, I liked him, he was quite funny I thought and he didnt like the atmosphere at the table at all. The episode the night before was very funny too, esperciallly when Esfandiari made him go into the pool with his clothes on.
    He also seemed to be taken quite aback by how nice Negreanu is. Man i love that guy, he talks so much during a game its mental. Did you see the epsiode of High Stakes Poker where some guy went mental at Negreanu? it was some funny ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I think yer man went "Fcuking hell" or something like that, and Laak said he didn't want to hear any profanities at the table in case his mother would see it. I really doubt Laak was serious, but if the effect was to unsettle the hero, then it worked. He was a mess in that game!
    Yeah, got to see a bit of this myself last night and when the hero was sitting at the table, he looked extremely uncomfortable and as though he really wasn't enjoying himself.
    Thought it was actually a good programme, not too serious and certainly didn't have an alterior motive to it. An entertaining watch.

BTW, for those who were wondering, the BlueSq guy was JP Kelly (I think) [Interview] [Hendon Mob Profile]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

delanec8 wrote:

Channel4 have an on demand online service for the UK and Ireland where you can pay 99p to watch a show, you have to download a piece of software for it:
    http://www.channel4.com/4od/