Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost writers may soon know where they're going.

• 15-01-2007 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭

Apparently the producers of Lost are having a meeting with the network to set a date to finish the series. It's going to be a few years down the line but they want concrete plans so they can write the outliine to the mysteries correctly and not mess about draging it out.

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2007/0115/lost.html

IMO it's a good idea as The X-Files definetly suffered and the can now plan when they are going to release certain information, plan cliffhangers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

yes sounds good but TBH lost is not as interesting as it was, BSG and dexter are far more interesting/entertaining.

Part of me is considering leaving lost and not watching any more, id only have to wait about 3 years maybe 4 then i could just watch every single episode back to back with none of these stupid breaks that happen far too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Harsh about the breaks. It was nuts for the last 2 years, but they're on the right track this year with 2 distinct episode runs. When it comes back on Feb 7th, it will be an episode a week until the end. Rumour has it that next year they'll be starting Season 4 in January with a straight run through (like 24).

Sound good to me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

As long as they've enough time to tie up some of the bigger issues then I'd be happy with that two.

Also it doesnt need to be rushed. A nice steady pace of answers will do me fine!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Zap2it has a more detailed version of this article URL="http://www.zap2it.com/tv/news/zap-story-lostwillend-damonlindelof,0,182283.story?coll=zap-tv-headlines"]link[/URL.

In a nutshell, they've got 100 episodes, or so, to fill out with their planned story arc that would take place over 5 seasons. It's clear (to me) that going beyond this would be at the behest of greedy network execs looking for more advertising revenue rather than an actual need for the story.

I really really hope they don't drag it out. 'The X-Files' is the best example out there of a prolonged story arc but it's not the only one. 5 seasons ftw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,197 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Also news-worthy is that looks like they may start and run Season 4 straight-through from January next year (a lá 24).

See here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Yeah 5 seasons would be good, hope it doesn't go beyond that.

Though on the Luas today I strained to see an article in some guy's paper which said something along the lines of ''Lost may end pretty soon due to a fall in viewers..''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

any news on that supposed movie? i can see it now , to end it all off.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

This is good news if it happens. just look at x files as an example of not what to do.

I would rather have five seasons of solid programming than 10 seasons where half was filler crap dragged out to the last.

Is it true that they've given a possible date as to when they'll finish Lost completely.. something along the lines of 2011?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Nooooo....are you all saying 5 seasons in total? As in only 2 and 1/2 more seasons? I don't care what everyone says I want them to drag it out forever........

....ok maybe not but still...I'll miss Lost...

NO show can go for that long[8,9,10 seasons around or plus] and still maintain consistant goodness
    just look at x-files,buffy [even though only 7] , simpsons, south park[ well its getting better but it was awful for a good long while]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

ya Lost as much as we enjoy it should go on for like 5 or 7 seasons

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

NO show can go for that long[8,9,10 seasons around or plus] and still maintain consistant goodness

What?
    Coronation Street is around for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

Jello wrote:
    Yeah 5 seasons would be good, hope it doesn't go beyond that.

Though on the Luas today I strained to see an article in some guy's paper which said something along the lines of ''Lost may end pretty soon due to a fall in viewers..''[/QUOTE

a fall in viewers for lost isnt really that bad for them. even if half the people stop watching they'll still have an audience bigger than most shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

just look at x-files,buffy [even though only 7] , simpsons, south park[ well its getting better but it was awful for a good long while]
    south park has been pure gold up until the last 6 episodes of season ten.

a prime example of a show that can't retain it's goodness of the past is the simpsons.

true.......and corrennation street?even though i personally hate it,i bet it wouldnt appeal to you over some periods of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Stargate SG1 is in it's 10th series and it still works, but I still agree that 5 seasons would be just about right for Lost.

Stargate is one of the worst programmes ever but that is another debate! I think Lost could go on for a while in terms of entertainment because of the great writers and actors. And theres oppurtunity to go in any direction with the plot. I find that in certain episodes, when I think about them afterwords, I wonder why i wasnt bored. Even the episodes where you get no answers or plot advancement i still love!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

It's hard for us to say when it should end. But it's right for us to say that it should end at a certain time. Most good shows end after ~7 seasons. There's probably exceptions but if they kept it between 5 and 7 seasons depending on what their writing and what their plans are that should be about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

thier are no words available to express my hatred of the show LOST

it is thee most tedious , monatanous show ive ever seen
    nothing ever happens , all we get is the pre plane crash story of every single charechter
    pretty soon i expect them to devote an entire eppisode to not only how the plane itself was built in boeing in seattle but also how the parts for the plane were made in taiwan

i have occasionally gone back to it so as to give it another chance
    every time it has let me down
    has to be thee most over rated tv show ever

while i have yet to see season 2 of prison break
    in my opinion , the 1st series was the best i have ever seen in a tv show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

irish_bob wrote:
    pretty soon i expect them to devote an entire eppisode to not only how the plane itself was built in boeing in seattle

It was a Lockheed plane tbh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Gwynston

abelard wrote:
    It was a Lockheed plane tbh ;)
    Actually, the plane parts they used for the beach crash scenes were from a Lockheed L-1011, but the plane is supposed to be a Boeing 777, and is depicted as such in all other footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

it needs to be given a solid outline for a finish date i think..

all the speculation of 5,6,7 series or maybe finishing with a film is what makes it annoying..

if they said right 5 seasons and thats it. we could accept the fact that some episodes are completly uneventful or that some of the back stories give us feck all insight into the actual story and are just that,a flashback.

still tho i enjoy it and hope its not a dissapointment

irish_bob wrote:
    thier are no words available to express my hatred of the show LOST

it is thee most tedious , monatanous show ive ever seen
    nothing ever happens , all we get is the pre plane crash story of every single charechter
    pretty soon i expect them to devote an entire eppisode to not only how the plane itself was built in boeing in seattle but also how the parts for the plane were made in taiwan

i have occasionally gone back to it so as to give it another chance
    every time it has let me down
    has to be thee most over rated tv show ever

while i have yet to see season 2 of prison break
    in my opinion , the 1st series was the best i have ever seen in a tv show

Why is it the most overrated show? I didn't get much from that post apart from a load of waffle about the plane...? :confused:

If it's the flashbacks you don't like, than I don't see how you ever liked Lost and if that's the case than fine, your opinion is your opinion. But if you're a former fan of Lost and have now "given up on it even though I've tried to give it another chance..." (for **** sake don't give it another chance. If you don't like it don't watch it. you're missing out!)

The flashbacks are an essential part to the show. Otherwise it would be boring. And to say that nothing happens is a bit....odd. If anything too much random stuff happens and not enough answers. That's what most people are annoyed about....

...which is also pretty stupid IMO. Although I agree that season 1 was probably better than the two follow ups, I don't see a problem with season2+3 (so far). You're slowly getting answers, yet you're not getting them fast enough...is that the problem? But most of you will say that season 1 was better because of the mystery. It's a very difficult thing to do - to keep mystery and answer questions....so which one do you want?

Btw this whole post isn't addressed to you irish_bob, just shouting it out to the average Lost watcher!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Richard W

The flashbacks are an essential part to the show. Otherwise it would be boring.

Don't suppose you saw the 8th episode of the third series with Jack's flashback? One of the most blatant pieces of filler I've ever seen. The whole thing was absolutely ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Episode 9 of series 3 even.

And I know that it seems kinda pointless now, but I'm betting that it has some relevance in the future, same as I'm thinking that the one with Locke living in the commune will have future relevance.

Yeah, my mistake.

Don't know about tying this stuff up though.
    Why was jack getting so angry when yer one didn't give him a tattoo? It was completely irrational. Just drama for the sake of it. Grabbing her because she wouldn't tell him who he is? Anyone else think this flashback just sucked?

At first I liked the flashbacks, seeing peoples back stories. But they seem to throw in the strangest coincidences, like this whole libby thing. Giving a boat to Des, and being in the same institute as Hurley? Now she's dead, so that plot line isn't going to be tied up immediately.

[rant]Come to think of it, how many plot lines haven't been tied up in this show? Locks' walking, Rose's cancer disappearing, the freaking Polar Bear? And don't tell me that's been tied up by the fact that there's a research station on the island, because that's just one plot line being replaced by another.[/rant]

Richard W wrote:
    Don't suppose you saw the 8th episode of the third series with Jack's flashback? One of the most blatant pieces of filler I've ever seen. The whole thing was absolutely ridiculous.

No I haven't. And I would appreciate if you didn't post spoilers of it.

....oops too late.

I'm not saying all flashbacks are interesting. In fact, the last flashback we got of Jack was excrutiatingly boring. But what are you suggesting....no flashbacks at all? :rolleyes: In case you haven't noticed this has been the idea since series 1 and it worked then, and IMO it still works now. Let's not forget this is a drama show not an action show.

I'm not saying all flashbacks are interesting. In fact, the last flashback we got of Jack was excrutiatingly boring. But what are you suggesting....no flashbacks at all? :rolleyes: .

Why does it have to be all or nothing? They don't have to do flashbacks every episode y'know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I think it's just that people are getting annoyed with waiting a week at a time and at this stage, really want some answers, so now, any episode without answers is deemed crap because it's not what people want right now.

Also, some episodes HAVE to be filler, because with the popularity of the show, it has to run longer to make more money, so they have to flesh out the long-term storyline with initially unintended minor storylines to make the show run longer. I think the begrudgers have to accept this, and I think people who begrudge the begrudgers have to accept it too.

I think if they answered ONE big question NOW, it would calm the viewers down, and subsequent episodes wouldn't be so frustratedly watched in expectation of answers (for a while)

(the underlined words are my subliminal messages to the writers, just in case they read it:rolleyes: )

Richard W wrote:
    Why does it have to be all or nothing? They don't have to do flashbacks every episode y'know?

I think they do!
    But better ones, that directly relate to the story like in the old days.
    Of course, they could be setting something up for later episodes, but at the time of watching, it does seem a bit pointless.

On the other hand, the Desmond 'flashback' was the first time they did an episode in a different way, and it was a great episode imo.

SumGuy wrote:
    Also, some episodes HAVE to be filler, because with the popularity of the show, it has to run longer to make more money, so they have to flesh out the long-term storyline with initially unintended minor storylines to make the show run longer. I think the begrudgers have to accept this, and I think people who begrudge the begrudgers have to accept it too.

Yeah, but I can still criticise it if I think it's poorly written. I don't mind an episode going away from the main story arc at all. But I thought that jacks flashback in the most recent episode was just
    poor. That guy is randomly angry. Honestly like, grabbing the girl like that?

Richard W wrote:
    Yeah, but I can still criticise it if I think it's poorly written.

Absolutely.
    I've just noticed people giving out for seemingly no other reason than the lack of answers, even if the show is still well written

Also
    I think his anger is supposed to be traced to his issues with his Dad, and his divorce(getting screwed around by women) so i don't think it's random anger. Or else it's just cos he's so intense maaaaan :P