Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky fecking sports

• 13-01-2007 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭

I had to watch the match on Sky this evening for various reasons, but was very close to switching off and waiting for the replay on RTE.

The commentator insisted on calling Contipomi "Contiponi" and Shane Horgan "Hogan".

VERY annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Easterby will also be pleased when he hears the news he has captained Wales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I missed that. I tuned out after a while and just watched in silence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I was at the game with an FM-only radio. RTE decided it would be a good idea to give us the first twenty minutes on FM and leave it at that. Nice one Lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Davy, I was there trying to tune in to 106 which was broadcasting just fine, I think

But my wireless sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Best option is to tune in to the radio while watching Sky's pictures; I'm hoping the pub will do that tomorrow, coz I'll scream if I have to put up with hearing that Donnaga O Callaggan has won the lineout again!!!!

Then contact Sky and tell 'em you want a partial refund coz their audio feed was crap!

They say you don't know what you've got til it's gone, and rugby coverage is a perfect example; people who whinge about the TV licence fee were getting all Munster, Leinster and Irish matches - if nothing else - fon RTE or that cost, and now they'll gladly pay Sky extra for a much worse coverage :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Trojan wrote:
    Davy, I was there trying to tune in to 106 which was broadcasting just fine, I think

But my wireless sucks.
    Are you sure? I tried but could only get it on Radio 1 - for twenty minutes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I noticed the Horgan/Hogan thing and it bugged me, the "Contiponi" thing has been going on for months with the Sky commentators. They're useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭An Tarbh

sorry double post

I find Sky's rugby coverage generally better than RTÉ but there is a natural resentment that Irish teams are being shown on foreign channels in our own countries. The HEC is something that RTÉ should have spent the money on but they were too cheap to do so.

Now back to yesterday's commentary and coverage yeah it gets annoying, espeically when that Welsh gimp made the point, the silence is almost of Thomond Park proportions, ALMOST, you wouldn't have heard a pin drop and silence for the kicker is not just a Munster provision, it's an Irish thing, there's always been silence at Leinster and Ulster matches.

Michael Lynagh really needs to work on his prononciation as well, it's Con-teh-pomy, not contenponi but that's just a small thing that annoys me like when they call Paris, Stade and not Stade Français, it's the equivalent of calling Liverpool, FC, but they don't seem to realise this, it's the same on RTÉ by the way, they're no angels either, just look at Ryle's prononciation of Castres, there's an r there Ryle and it's not silent.

So both can be equally as bad as each other but Sky deliver more rugby, RTÉ weren't even that bothered when they had the coverage for the last 3 seasons to try and get the away games, it was pitiful coverage and they almost deserved to lose it cause they treated the competition and the viewers with contempt.

Oh and the radio commentary and the tv doesn't really work for me cause the tv is always about 5 seconds behind the radio so it's not in sync.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

with regard to the tv, do you really need tv commentators tomenjoy the match? just turn down the volume

it's not really the commentary you need unless you're someone who is new to the game and needs a bit of help but turning down the volume is pretty pointless as well, you lose the noise, you lose the atmosphere, you lose what the pedantic calls are, it'd be great if there was an option to have the sound but no commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

An Tarbh wrote:
    it's not really the commentary you need unless you're someone who is new to the game and needs a bit of help but turning down the volume is pretty pointless as well, you lose the noise, you lose the atmosphere, you lose what the pedantic calls are, it'd be great if there was an option to have the sound but no commentary.

BBC's digital coverage has that option. Not really needed though as I dont mind BBC's commentators.

unfortunately there's no interactive option with NTL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

Missed that commentary as I was at the match, it certainly sounds very irritating. However, it has to be said that Sky's match coverage and rugby coverage in general is miles ahead of anything RTE or BBC has offerred; not surprising from a dedicated sports channel of course, but one poor commentator shouldn't ruin the overall picture!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

An Tarbh wrote:

ye i suppose i do agree. i tried it once, not nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

eh Castres is pronounced Cast, well it is by the french anyway, and there way of saying it is the one that counts dont you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

My personal thing is that the advantage of commentary is clarification over calls - sometimes its handy to hear something other than myself, my father and my brother arguing over what exactly the referee gave it for.

eh Castres is pronounced Cast, well it is by the french anyway, and there way of saying it is the one that counts dont you think?

I speak extremely good French and have spent enough time in France to know that they don't pronounce it Cast, it's just harder for an anglophone to hear the r being pronounced. But you're right we should be saying it the way the French do and that should apply for other teams as well, no one in France calls Stade Français, Stade, they call them Paris or Stade Français but never Stade. I know I'm extremely sad that I let trivial things like this get under my skin but no doubt we'd be whingeing if we heard some of their ways of saying our teams and players names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭chicoben

I had to watch the match on Sky this evening for various reasons, but was very close to switching off and waiting for the replay on RTE.

The commentator insisted on calling Contipomi "Contiponi" and Shane Horgan "Hogan".

VERY annoying.
    yeah dewi morris wrecks my buzz too, dont mind stuart barnes, morris thinks hes a god of commentary or something(notice how irish commentators never get any of the english players names wrong?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

An Tarbh wrote:
    they don't pronounce it Cast, it's just harder for an anglophone to hear the r being pronounced.

Its sort of like Cast-followed by a clearing of the throat type noise isn't it?
    Hippo wrote:
    However, it has to be said that Sky's match coverage and rugby coverage in general is miles ahead of anything RTE or BBC has offerred

IMO Sky do NOTHING well. I wouldn't mind paying for sport on TV if it was even remotely good. But all of Sky's commentators, presenters, and analysts are drab, grey, bores. More concerned with selling the current event as match of the century than getting to the heart of the matter. RTE and BBC are much more lively and entertaining.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 jancav

regarding Castres, Tarbh is right: the R is in there, we just can't pronounce it, so we also have a tendency not to hear it.

Re Sky vs RTE, I much prefer Sky for the during match commentary - Ryle really riles me: I can't stand his crappy accent, and false excitement.

But I love RTE for half time. When the games were on terrestrial I used to watch Beeb for the match and then switch over to RTE for the George, Brent and Tom show: hilarious! Found the Sky team at half time really boring last week so found something else to do for 10 minutes.