Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you........?

• 13-01-2007 3:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

Wash your hands? I do it as a matter of Hygiene and just common sense but ive seen people just plain ignore to do it and go back dealing with Customers:mad: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A Yes/No poll would be good.
    And Yes, I do.

Do you mean "working in food industry after a visit to the toilet?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Of course. Strongly dislike people that don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

I presume you mean after being to the Jacks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Yep, I sure do!
    Hate the feeling of having unclean hands..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I often wash before i go to the jacks. As god knows whats on your hands when you go to whip the awuld fella out. Everytime before food too. And ofcourse after using the jacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Why I'm washing them right now!
    Only another 37 times to wash them today and then I'll be able to leave the house...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Of course, but I actually think it's more important to wash your hands before things like eating and preparing food. It isn't that hard to wash before dinner. That's where you see most people not washing their hands, and is the greater danger imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

petes wrote:
    Of course. Strongly dislike people that don't.

Same, a bit more info on the topic at hand (eh, see what I done there?) would be nice OP. How d'ya mean loike?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It annoys me when I see people not washing their hands, especially in the place I play poker, and then they go out and handle the chips and cards again. Not happy :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Recently when visiting a relative in hospital, I was making sure to use the sterile hand wash thats outside every ward. Some old woman started laughng at me and called me a ponce because she thought it was hand cream. "isnt it good to see a big lad like you looking after your hands" she giggled at me. She refused to believe me when I said what it was really for and she walked off cackling.

Though yes, probably wash them about 25 times a day. Owning dogs means even more hand washes per 24 hour period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Well I wash my hands after the jacks etc... but I hate people pretending to be Extremely hygeneic. Washing your hands after the toilet is as important as washing your hands after handling money... handrails... doorhandles... you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

I think iv actually developed a bit of an obsession :o , i probably wash my hands 20 times a day which cant really be normal. Also extremely fussy about my mouse and keyboard, they have to be spotless or a hit a small rage.
    I try and steer clear of all public hand rails, doors ect, usually use my clothing to open doors ><.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

When you are about to do something that hygenie is important for like cooking or something similar I will wash my hands.

I have to admit though after taking a piss I dont really consider it that important. My reasoning being that 1) I dont piss on my hands 2) I shower every morning so my dick isint dirty.

I'm failing to see the logic that says thats it very important after taking a piss (assuming that the person keeps basic personal hygenie).

Does anybody feel the need to wash their hands after handling cash?? If not why not in keeping with the same logic your hands are now filthy compared to taking a piss (this is all from a male point of view btw).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I think iv actually developed a bit of an obsession :o , i probably wash my hands 20 times a day which cant really be normal. Also extremely fussy about my mouse and keyboard, they have to be spotless or a hit a small rage.
    I try and steer clear of all public hand rails, doors ect, usually use my clothing to open doors ><.

Im the same. I never touch them with skin. Ill use a elbow or foot. Same with tiolet handles. i will never touch one. ever.And the doors into the jacks, Their disguting.

But, How many of you here sit and eat and sandwich or a pack of crips or whatever at your keyboard. All of you correct ?

And the keyboard is the dirtied most unhygenic object in yoru house. It holds more bacteria then the underside of your toilet seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

my mothers thinks im preparing for surgery or something the way I wash my hands so thoroughly:D..can't help it, if im washing them, I might aswell do it properly.
    Ya, i never touch bathroom doors either..just defeated the purpose of washing my hands in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I scratch myself, type away at the keyboard, and eat a sandwich, all without washing my hands, and I haven't had so much as a minor illness in donkey's years. Would never fail to wash my hands after going to the toilet obviously, but apart from that it's open season for the handies. :) As the people feely admit themselves, anyone who washes their hands purely out of some compunction, have an unhealthy habit.

Bateman wrote:
    I scratch myself, type away at the keyboard, and eat a sandwich, all without washing my hands, and I haven't had so much as a minor illness in donkey's years. Would never fail to wash my hands after going to the toilet obviously, but apart from that it's open season for the handies. :) As the people feely admit themselves, anyone who washes their hands purely out of some compunction, have an unhealthy habit.

I dont really see how its unhealthy, it just takes a few minutes from your day. I may be a bit obsessed with it but i doubt its gonna do me any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

What happens if you eat at the keyboard? Nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Wertz wrote:
    Why I'm washing them right now!
    Only another 37 times to wash them today and then I'll be able to leave the house...

Thats some feat - Washing hands whilst typing on keyboard , WOW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Aye it's one of those waterproof roll up jobbies...has a soap tray and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

ChRoMe wrote:
    My reasoning being that 1) I dont piss on my hands 2) I shower every morning so my dick isint dirty.

Would you be OK about touching a stranger's dick?

Cake Fiend wrote:

Haha ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭greine

ChRoMe wrote:
    I dont piss on my hands
    Hands up who does!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What was it Grampa Simpson used to say? "I never once washed my hands - That's YOUR policy, not MINE!!"

Beyond that, I'm probably the most messiest person going, not the most unhygenic, but not the most hygenic off, but still general manage the odd rinse at the least. Haven't been sick since I was 3 and I'm mid 30s now. We're a bunch of wimps when it comes to a couple of little germs...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Cake Fiend wrote:

Im not homosexual so to be honest so I've not given it much thought. Im taking a guess that your comment is trying to make the point (badly)that If I was for example to shake hands with someone who had just touched their dick without washing it would I have a problem with it?

I guess in general I wouldnt have a problem with it (again this is under the assumption that people maintain a reasonable level of personal hygenie). As I posted earlyier on the thread I dont feel the need to wash my hands after handling cash which would be accepted is very dirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I keep my knob clean and tidy...bottle brush and clean wipes.. that way I don't have to wash my hands,every time .

Makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

ChRoMe wrote:

I have to admit though after taking a piss I dont really consider it that important. My reasoning being that 1) I dont piss on my hands 2) I shower every morning so my dick isint dirty.

I'm failing to see the logic that says thats it very important after taking a piss (assuming that the person keeps basic personal hygenie).

Does anybody feel the need to wash their hands after handling cash?? If not why not in keeping with the same logic your hands are now filthy compared to taking a piss (this is all from a male point of view btw).

It is possible to have a piss without touching "anything". Open your trousers and pull down your underwear and let your bladder empty itself and then pull up and zip up and your hands are as clean as they were when you started. That being the case I may not wash my hands after having a piss.

As to not touching door handles and all that, well that is going a bit over the top. You won't get many germs off that and it is good to expose yourself to some germs anyway, as it helps build your immune system.

As to toilet bowls, well I hate finding a dirty toilet, but I also hate leaving one. I have no problem in cleaning a dirty toilet that I find. Obviously I won't do it with my bare hands, but there is always plenty of loo roll about. Some people would freak at the very thought of removing a leftover of a deposit left by someone else in a bowl, but the only thing I actually touch is a piece of tissue, so what is the problem? It is no more than you do when you wipe your own arse. In fact it is easier to see what you are cleaning than when doing your arse! So it is less risky. :)

So, if you do leave a mess in the loo, clean it up before you go. You may have to wait a minute or two for the cistern to refill, for a second flush, but so what? Don't just leave it there. If you find a mess, clean it up. Remember, the only thing you will have to touch is a bit of tissue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

when people wash their hands after handling
    money then i will wash my hands after taking a piss,id rather pick my nose after going to the jacks than pick my nose after handling money,ye bunch of women!!

Flukey wrote:
    As to toilet bowls, well I hate finding a dirty toilet, but I also hate leaving one. I have no problem in cleaning a dirty toilet that I find. Obviously I won't do it with my bare hands, but there is always plenty of loo roll about. Some people would freak at the very thought of removing a leftover of a deposit left by someone else in a bowl, but the only thing I actually touch is a piece of tissue, so what is the problem? It is no more than you do when you wipe your own arse. In fact it is easier to see what you are cleaning than when doing your arse! So it is less risky. :)

So, if you do leave a mess in the loo, clean it up before you go. You may have to wait a minute or two for the cistern to refill, for a second flush, but so what? Don't just leave it there. If you find a mess, clean it up. Remember, the only thing you will have to touch is a bit of tissue!

I think that was a very well written piece of advice, which should be posted in most public bathrooms! Touching handles at home or at a friends is one thing, but I would never touch the door handles of public bathrooms. You might as well not be washing your hands at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I think a couple of you might possibly have OCD. Yis might wanna get that checked out loike. ;)

InFront wrote:
    Touching handles at home or at a friends is one thing, but I would never touch the door handles of public bathrooms. You might as well not be washing your hands at all.

Well if your being so obessive about it what on earth is the difference between your friends door handle and a public one?

What are your talking about has no basis in logical at all.

Furthermore the majority of public bathroom handles are metal which arnt capable of providing a place for germs to live (I think mythbusters did a piece on it actually)

Of course it's logical: my friends' houses are clean because the vast majority of us live with our mothers. I don't know about your case, but most families tend to keep their bathrooms cleaner than public toilets in universities or public buildings.:p There's also the fact that less people will have used the bathroom since the last time it was cleaned, and the fact that I happen to know they are hygienic people.

And of course germs live on metal. According to this pretty credible source, they seem to live on metal/ nonporous surfaces better than other places. scary or wot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

I admit to having mild OCD about handwashing.

Then again I know why - I had a part-time job as a teenager behind a meat and deli counter serving meat, hot foot, making breakfast rolls, sandwiches etc, developed the habit and it's stayed with me ever since.

The guy at the till of a shop I went to near my office the other day was wearing disposable gloves to handle money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Always, I used to play alot of poker in a casino, pretty horrible to think of handling all the chips and cards after people haven't washed their hands. especially when u end up riffling the chips outta bordem, i used to feel like a left handed arab, playing with the chips with the right hand and eating with the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

see i have a theory. ppl who are too concerned with washing hands are missing the point. the more times your body has to deal with germs the better your immune system is, so deal with it.

though washing your hands must be done after going to the toilet or before messing with food. i just dont agree with washing your hands every feckin hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

InFront wrote:
    most families tend to keep their bathrooms cleaner than public toilets in universities or public buildings.:p

BS! Dolores doesnt come into my bathroom and clean it every 2 hours and sign the sheet on the back of the door. Most public jackses are cleaned multiple times a day, I know mine isn't.
    As for handwashing, I do it out of pure habit, but thats what your immune system is for. Looking at my keyboard, its not hard to believe that it harbours more bacteria than a 3 week old sandwich (in fact thats what its partly compried of :) )

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Washing hands is overated. We use anti bacterial soaps far too often so our bodies. i reckon it actually makes us more prone to illness as we dont get a level of not-so-nice-bacteria everyday as a result, thus resulting in our immune system not being prepared....

if that makes sense??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Yes.... only when I use the toilet. Or prepare food. I think people who over watch are leading themselves into problems! As faceman said out immune system is weakened if we over wash and use too much dissinfectant.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I'll always wash my hands!

All this toilet talk got me thinking, which is worse? To poop in a urinal or to poop on the floor of a toilet near the corner? I'd imagine it'd be easier for custodians to clean up the one on the floor but then you'd run the risk of someone perhaps stepping on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

I work at a hospital. I wash my hands all day long after touching each patient.
    And I wipe down my keyboard mouse and phone at least 3 times during my shift cuz I never know what germs I'm dealing with.

AND I wash my hands at every restroom visit.

Now if only I could sterilize the clipboards we hand to the patients in some way. Ewwwwwwww!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Archeron wrote:
    Recently when visiting a relative in hospital, I was making sure to use the sterile hand wash thats outside every ward. .
    Good on you, Acheron. I'm a hospital worker that goes from ward to ward who has close contact with patients, and I ALWAYS use the sterile hand wash before entering each ward, but I often think I'm one of few as I see other staff, including Consultants, walk past it and straight into the ward.

My motto is, if you're unsure whether your hands are clean, always wash them and wash away doubt.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Always!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

I mean after coming from the toilet or working wherever you work and its time for lunch etc basically wherever, there is 1 guy i know who doesnt wash his full stop no matter how black they are and when on break he tries to take a chip or two off people and the looks he gets like he has been reported already but not fired yet its sick.

zuutroy wrote:
    BS! Dolores doesnt come into my bathroom and clean it every 2 hours and sign the sheet on the back of the door

Well there is a traffic difference in the two bathrooms, and the fact that most public bathrooms are not cleaned in that way, and even where they are, you have to question whether or not they are wiping down the handles - or just picking up the rubbish and mopping the floor. I would guess the latter. And at least in your bathroom, you know whose been in there before you, so you have an idea at least of how hygienic/ healthy they are.

Most mothers will have cleaner bathrooms than most public bathrooms. That's my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Archeron wrote:
    Recently when visiting a relative in hospital, I was making sure to use the sterile hand wash thats outside every ward. Some old woman started laughng at me and called me a ponce because she thought it was hand cream. "isnt it good to see a big lad like you looking after your hands" she giggled at me. She refused to believe me when I said what it was really for and she walked off cackling.

Though yes, probably wash them about 25 times a day. Owning dogs means even more hand washes per 24 hour period.

Disgraceful.
    You should have called her a homophobic c*nthole bitch.

Being old is no excuse for hate crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Steyr wrote:
    I mean after coming from the toilet or working wherever you work and its time for lunch etc basically wherever, there is 1 guy i know who doesnt wash his full stop no matter how black they are and when on break he tries to take a chip or two off people and the looks he gets like he has been reported already but not fired yet its sick.

What's his job?

Sometimes I wash my hands WHILST I'm going to the toilet..........but it's usually accidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

In the process, with that powerful hose we all have :), we can even do a bit of cleaning. Good aim and plenty of power can remove or at least loosen some dirt, or clear the drain of a blockage, so everything can flow away freely. Those little blue cubes often group together and form a dam, but a carefully aimed water cannon can solve that one! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Lump wrote:
    What's his job?

I aint gonna say but it is Customer Based.