Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could only have one airsoft rifle...

• 12-01-2007 1:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭
    Master of the Universe

Okay, I usually find threads like this silly. But what the hell. If you could only have one rifle, but it could be anything, what would it be?

The Fal's still my baby.

http://www.wolfarmouries.co.uk/airsoft/bb/product.asp?page=product&id=KAAG02

Not totally overpriced. (well, not counting wolf) hmmm. Maybe some day.

Just edited the title to include all those poor left out paintballers ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

The Heckler & Koch G11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

If I could only have one i'd have to say my M733, its great for close to medium range and with a few upgrades I can turn it into a kickass sniper or support weapon. I love my gun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Gotta keep my P90!

well, on a more rested thought, if there was no mention of the power limit id want a vulcan minigun, just cant beat the sheer devastation that thing causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Mmm... I think i would go with the L85.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

A, the old FN. I remember using real ones during my earlier FCA training as a teenager. Got to shoot it several times on the range. I could strip and assemle it blindfolded after my recruit camp!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

hmm i like the p90 but it just couldn't go long range, it's great in CQBs though,

maybe a Steyr AUG or M16, i'll get back to ya

I'm supprised nobody mention the reliability of the Fa-Mas.

whupass wrote:
    hmm i like the p90 but it just couldn't go long range, it's great in CQBs though,

maybe a Steyr AUG or M16, i'll get back to ya
    The P90 due to its bullpup design has the same barrell length and sometimes a longer barrell than nearly all AEGS. Plus it fires the same stock so saying you cant do it long range is rubbish.

Its merely a "human-error" my dear boy!

its great in CQB and when manuvering through bushes due to the small size. it could have needed the hop up adjusted when you used it whupass. it has a grand range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm supprised nobody mention the reliability of the Fa-Mas.

It IS a great gun. Especially for the price. But when you could have any airsoft gun in the world? ;) I think I'd go with something a little less...made of plastic.

Master of the Universe

LIGHTNING wrote:
    The Famas is such a good weapon, its never given a good look at depsite the fact it out peforms many other rifles that are in service.Plus it has muzzle loaded greandes!!!

I think its basically because most people don't like the look of the carry handle. Plain and simple. Plus not too many are fond of bullpup guns either. Meh, I'm happy with mine. Love the way you can hear it over all the other AEGs.

Feels like I'm holding a support weapon!

Master of the Universe

LIGHTNING wrote:
    Yes there is a certain amount of snobbery regarding bullpup guns. Personally if I had to run into combat I`d take a Famas over a M4/M16 any day of the week.

As would I. Although, I do want to get myself something "fancier" at some point. More then likely that FAL. Although, I can imagine it being a bit of a beast to wield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

ive come in to this thread twice and i still cant make up my mind :rolleyes: . Just 1 gun aye id never be able 2 decide :o

Oisin, You have a PM

Master of the Universe

ive come in to this thread twice and i still cant make up my mind :rolleyes: . Just 1 gun aye id never be able 2 decide :o

So there isnt one gun out there that you like, even a tiny bit more then the rest? ;)

nope id feel naked without a bit of variety :o . well **** it maybe a sr25 or 1 of them.

Master of the Universe

ah yes, sr25...one of my favorites too. Could imagine that costing you a few €€€

more than the four i have now put together id say. sig 550 is another nice semi auto sniper alright *licks lips*

Master of the Universe

ow wow, I forgot about the Sig-550.

So many guns out there! No wonder there are so many wars :eek:

Can I juyst point out that very few of your answers are guns you actually own...so I ask myself...why did you's buy the guns you have?!

Master of the Universe

Well, I bought a Famas as Its the cheapest Marui AEG, yet one of the most reliable. So it'll tide me over perfectly till I get a job and can actually afford something flashy.

Maybe I should have kept all my money. If i hadn't have bought those three guns then I'd have been able to afford something at the higher end of the list.

But, bah, impatience got the better of me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Hagakure_irl

Considering the Famas now after what you guys said, and the price is very appealing. But my " dream " gun would, as dorky and nerdy as i am, it would have to be the Aliens Pulse Rifle :cool:

Master of the Universe

Well, if you have the money, you could always buy a nice Thompson and get the pulse rifle conversion kit for it. It even has a little digital round count that counts down when you fire. ;)

im afraid id be forced to kill any1 would befoul thompson in a such away *shudders* im sorry but it just aint right

Master of the Universe

Thompson is one gun I'm not mad on. Red digital clocks I love. So yeah, pulse rifle wins :p

*pistol whips Oisin to death* blasphemy i say blasphemy!!!!!!!!

Master of the Universe

Bah, I'm not very fond of any American WWII era stuff...well..apart from the 1911. They all just look too angular.

well its probably cos of about 6 or 7 years playin Dod but i always liked the look af the tommygun, ill never get 1 though

Master of the Universe

Ah, I was always a B.A.R man myself in DOD. ;)

Prefer German guns of that time myself.

well i was far from a tommygunner myself [except for beta 1.3 *gets all nostalgic* ] i love that gun though

Master of the Universe

Does the drum mag offend your eyes? ;)

nope :p , the front handle that usually accompanies it does a tad, though i know its useful

Master of the Universe

that a tippy 98 :D and shes not looking to bad for a paintball "marker" either, i prefer the mp5 kind of look they give em sometimes, id hardly think of a tommygun looking at that yoke :rolleyes:

Master of the Universe

Hoppers still look odd to me. How are you meant to aim it properly?

their kind of ofset ,some are fairly out of the way Ditpaintball would be the man to ask, the tippmann 98's i used were very hard 2 line the site's up, im pretty sure im the only 1 even attempted it [holding it fully outstreched so the canister isnt even touching my arm or shoulder :rolleyes: and they wont go wer ya aim so it didnt matter, pretty much had 2 "walk the paintballs" to the target [i think thats they call it] just firing and adjusting until ya get closer :rolleyes:

"walk the trigger" = use both fingers on a double fingered trigger, you kind of make a walking motion with them and you shoot MUCH faster.

some woodsball markers have the hopper to the side i.e. the tippman 98 and A5. but speedball markers are lighter and look much less like real guns, they're made to be small and light so the hopper isn't offset, you just spray and pray 20-30 times a second!!

by the way the tippy in that pic only has two extras i can see, a flatline barrel which improves range and accuracy, and a stock which does.. should i insult your intelligence and finish the sentence?

ohh another thing, you can get a warp feed

http://www.airgun.com/warp_feed.shtml

Wow lads, off topic or what?

ha ohh yeah sorry