Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free flights - no taxes/charges.

• 12-01-2007 1:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭

Free flights from Ryanair!!

You have to travel before Feb 8th, but here is a good deal.

Go to http://www.ryanair.com/member/freeflights.html and type in any 6 digit number as password. You will gain access to the booking page. From there, search for any flight and it'll come up with no tax. I haven't booked anything, but I saw that it worked for others.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Smiley012

this does seem like an amazing deal! any idea if ryanair could cancel your ticket if they found out though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

Smiley012 wrote:
    this does seem like an amazing deal! any idea if ryanair could cancel your ticket if they found out though?

Absolutely no idea. I went all the way to the Credit Card page to test it. Total Charge of €12.04 for TWO people to Brussels (return) :D

I'm not going anywhere, so I didnt put the booking through. I presume if it goes though that they'd have to honour it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Absolut

You only have to pay for online check in/luggage. Although it would be a bit annoying if you book and then find out it's not valid since you didn't actually book a flight in the first place to get the free offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭themonk

holy **** thats some bargain:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

holy *hit thats real, i booked dub - luton and it came up as charges €0.02, total charges €0.00, fook me
    this potentially is thread of the centuary

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

if you have a look at the terms and conditions at the bottom of the page it seems you've just lose €0.02 admiralgar
    Passengers booking any return flight on the Ryanair website www.ryanair.com in the period 11 January 2007 to 18 January 2007 will be permitted to book a second return flight for Free (Taxes reduced to Zero) through a password protected page. Free flights are only available to passengers making a booking in this period who enter their qualifying Booking Reference Number on the password protected page. http://www.ryanair.com/member/freeflights.html

the six digit number you enter has to be a valid qaulifying reference number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's 'free' except for the 5 euro credit card fee and the 5 euro '02 Day Europe Irish Resident' charge. Whatever the hell that is.

Still a good deal though

[edit] Wait. I think I just booked a return flight to London for 5 euro.[/edit]

Looks like I'm going to London for 2 nights. Well if they don't honour it at least I'll get a call in to Joe Duffy and it was only 5 euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

miju wrote:
    the six digit number you enter has to be a valid qaulifying reference number

Yeah I see what you're saying. However, seeing as anyone can access the pages, and get to booking flights, would they have to honour it? Especially if a confirmation email was sent?

Having said that, it is Ryanair we're talking about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

they might , but then again they clearly say it in their terms and conditions so they may well tell you to fook off , stranger things have happened though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Just booked return flights to turin, €14. Nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The Boards Bargain team strike again. :) Hope it works for ye, if so then fair play OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭themonk

this bit looks particularily worrying from T & C

# The Free flights are restricted to certain routes and days and are subject to availability. Please note a Free flight may not be available on the same route as the qualifying flight booked. Ryanair cannot guarantee that a seat will be available on an individual flight even if the flight route/date is included in the promotion.
    # Once flights have been booked, any amendments or changes thereafter will be subject to Ryanair’s normal terms and conditions.

So once its booked it got normal terms and conditions ...
    but ryan air cannot guarantee a seat will be available on a flight even if its in the promotion ... this seems like an easy way to say your return leg flight was cancelled ... but you can always pay full price to get back home ... and we need the publicity as its always raining in january .... and no i dont work for aer lingus ... but it is a bargain for sure :D i hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Well I've just booked 2 adults and 1 child to Rome:

Total for 3 Passengers
    Fare Price 0.06 EUR
    Credit card fee 15.00 EUR
    EUR Web Baggage Fe 9.00 EUR
    Taxes, Fees & Charges 0.00 EUR
    Insurance
    Total Price 24.06 EUR

Frankly the credit card charges are rediculous. I shall be writing a letter of complaint to Ryanair.

Seriously though whats the story? Are these flights valid?

I just rang Ryanair. Gave my confirmation number and she checked my details. Everything is valid!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Has anyone any idea when this deal will expire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

hmmm i tried it but cant actually find a date in Feb with any actual flights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

thats mad, i reckon ryanair will cop it fairly soon tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

I'd be utterly paranoid, right up until the return gate !!!
    Would RyanAir (of all companies ;) ) honour this ???? Somehow i'm not quite sure... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Maybe they've already caught on. I can't find any availability on any route at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

yeah, I was getting a return flight to london and it was there when I went back to book it was not available.

Anyone who got a booking my advice would be to turn up very early for your flights as you can guarantee that these flights have been overbooked (more than usual).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Tazz T wrote:
    Maybe they've already caught on. I can't find any availability on any route at any time.

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

I was tempted, got a booking allright at the time, just have this feeling that some Ryanair flight attendant person / check in person / baggage handler / customer service person (the one and the same person clearly) would be tapping me on the shoulder when I went to board !!! :eek: ....

Couldn't go thru with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 ape_doc

The only route I can get a quote on is Dublin to London Stansted. (9.00 EUR with one bag and no travel insurance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

Well nothing too glamourous, but I'm booked Dublin-Cork return for 12 quid. Sweet. We'll see what happens now when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

dublin to frankfurt return for two people €37. not too shabby.

As per my previous post I rang Ryanaire. They check my reservation and said everything was ok. I asked were the flights def valid both outward and return and she said yes. My eTicket is same as any other type which I would imagine is my contract. I'm confident it'll be honoured. Otherwise my wife will f*cking kill me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

They've stopped all the non "British Isles" flights by the looks of it.
    You can still get flights to UK and Scotland for 0.02 cents return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Shannon to venice for €43 total. Sweet - Thank you OP.

So whos the boardsie with the earliest travel dates ? First to go has to let us know of any airport problems !

Mine are Feb 2nd - Feb 5th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

just booked return flight from milan-shannon for the grand total of €0.02 :D
    (I love my girlfriend and her Visa Electron!)

there's obviously some risk involved so as it gets closer to the flight date I'll call Ryanair booking to make sure everything is legit but as far as I can see it's looking good. Usually once you have your confirmation number you're sorted...

I must admit I did feel a little guilty at costing Ryanair money but then I came to my senses, said screw it... Now it's time to see what weekends I have nothing planned for the duration of the offer.

MANY MANY THANKS TO THE OP! NICELY SPOTTED :)

c - 13 wrote:
    Shannon to venice for €43 total. Sweet - Thank you OP.

So whos the boardsie with the earliest travel dates ? First to go has to let us know of any airport problems !

Mine are Feb 2nd - Feb 5th.

Was thinking the same. I fly Feb 1st. Anyone fly sooner to verify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

Flying out on Jan 26th

Know I know why I couldn't get a flight to Barcelona or Madrid then :(

From Dublin to:

Aberdeen
    Birmingham
    Biarritz
    Blackpool
    Bournemouth
    Bristol
    Brussels (Charleroi)
    Doncaster (Sheffield)
    Edinburgh
    Eindhoven
    East Midlands
    Friedrichshafen
    Karlsruhe-Baden
    Frankfurt (Hahn)
    Leeds Bradford
    Hamburg (Lübeck)
    London (Gatwick)
    London (Luton)
    Manchester
    Durham (Tees Valley)
    Malmo (Sturup)
    Newcastle
    Porto
    Cork
    Glasgow (Prestwick)
    London (Stansted)
    Turin
    Vitoria/Gasteiz *starts 24th Jan '07
    Valencia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Booked two flights to Cork in two weeks time, total charge €10.04 of which €10 was a credit card charge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭mollser

same to London...

Haven't received the confirmation email yet though, hmmmm :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

mollser wrote:
    same to London...

Haven't received the confirmation email yet though, hmmmm :o

Yeah I haven't received the email yet either and they are usually pretty quick with that. Should we be suspicous or is it to be expected with so many people booking?!!!

E-mail received :) but only flying to UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

My registration took ~10 - 15 mins to get to me so I wouldnt worry about it taking too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Tazz T wrote:
    Just booked Cork - Dublin for first weekend in Feb for €10.04 (€10 credit card 'fee')! Major kudos to the OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

Am booking 2 flights now but have to pay for luggage even if I don't have any! Either 9 for a bag or 6 for no bag with priority boarding (which I don't want!). No way around this it seems. Total cost for 2 people 28.04.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Am booking 2 flights now but have to pay for luggage even if I don't have any! Either 9 for a bag or 6 for no bag with priority boarding (which I don't want!). No way around this it seems. Total cost for 2 people 28.04.

there's some way of getting rid of the priority boarding. Think you have to select it first then say you don't want it.

and the 5 euro '02 Day Europe Irish Resident' charge. Whatever the hell that is.

That's insurance click on it and hit no insyrance required.

Very smart of Ryanair but there's a link on the left hand side when you click on it REMOVE and it will show zero.
    Not easy to spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭mollser

confirmation received, took about 1.5 hours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

Confirmation received immediately. For future reference, where is the link to remove baggage? Can't see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Booked last night but haven't received any confirmation email so I don't know if it's valid. Got a confirmation code though so must check it out later.

When u click 0 bags to check in, it comes up just under
    Confirm country of Residence

You have selected our Online Check-In/Priority Boarding service, passengers who qualify for this service can avoid check-in queues and be priority boarded onto the aircraft. Don’t forget to check-in online from 2 days up to 4 hours prior to the scheduled flight departure time. Click to Remove this service and just travel with 0 bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

There's a link below where your name where you can cancel the priority boarding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 dublin16

just booked 3 different flights total of 8 passengers no problem.

Click the remove button to remove the 6euro charge for priority booking.
    ( you may want to leave this in for a 6.30am flight so you can checkin via the web the night before )

You only pay 1 cent per flight and 5 euro credit card charge per flight

so a return flight for 1 person = 10.02 eur
    for 2 people 10.04 euro
    for 3 people 10.06 euro
    etc
    etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

For those who are going to Brussels you can stay in a 5* hotel in the centre of Brussels for €94.50 for 2 people for 2 nights.

go to www.hotels.nl

In the search box select Brussels, Belgium check in Feb 9th (Friday), Check out Feb 11th. Select 2 people and 5 from the Star Class. On the results returned look for the Royal Windsor hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Damn it! Why must I get paid at the end of the month??!! :mad:

I had 2 flights to Edinburgh for €0.04 total (excl bags and cc charge) and a double room in the Travel Lodge on St. Mary's street for £49 per night.

Sigh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

I keep getting a credit card payment error saying the details i have typed in are incorrect even though they are perfect!! ahhh so close!